DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 18, 2024 and July 9, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 17, 19, 22-24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220394768 A1 (hereinafter Niu).
Regarding Claim 1, Niu discloses a wireless communication device configured for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory (e.g., FIGS. 1, 2, UE 110; FIG.13, device 1300 with application circuitry, baseband circuitry, memory, antenna(s)), the processor and the memory configured to: receive a channel occupancy time (COT) structure indication via the transceiver from a network access node for a COT initiated by the network access node on an unlicensed carrier (e.g., ¶ [0021] solutions for UEs to obtain channel occupancy times (COTs) for SL communications, and rules for sharing COTs with other UEs, and rules for CG uplink control information (UCI) of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH) transmissions for NR in the unlicensed spectrum (NR-U); ¶ [0031] a downlink resource grid may be used for downlink transmissions from any of the RAN nodes 122 to UEs 110; e.g., ¶ [0032] RAN nodes 122 may be configured to wirelessly communicate with UEs 110, and/or one another, over a licensed medium (also referred to as the “licensed spectrum” and/or the “licensed band”), an unlicensed shared medium (also referred to as the “unlicensed spectrum” and/or the “unlicensed band”), or combination thereof; e.g., ¶ [0046] Process 300 may include receiving a CG [grant configuration] for SL communication (block 310). For example, UE 110 may receive information describing wireless resources that UE 110 may use to communicate with another UE 110 via SL communication. As described herein, UE 110 may receive the CG via RRC signaling from base station 122), the COT structure indication indicating COT resources shared between downlink communication and sidelink communication (e.g., FIG. 10, ¶ [0062] FIG. 10 is a diagram of examples 1000 for SL COT sharing with base station-initiated COTs. As described herein, a base station initiated COT may include a scenario in which base station 122 may contend for a COT in a shared radio frequency band (e.g., an unlicensed frequency) by performing a LBT procedure (e.g., a CAT-4 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band; e.g., ¶ [0063] where base station acquired COT is allowed for SL communications, the COT sharing may be enabled via RRC signaling from base station 122 to UE 110 (block 1030). In such scenarios, the RRC signaling may indicate whether SL transmission within the base station acquired COT is enabled or disabled. This may apply to type-1 CG RRC configurations. Additionally, or alternatively, for type-2 CG RRC configurations, base station 122 may indicate whether base station acquired COT sharing is enabled/disabled for SL communications in triggering downlink control information (DCI) and/or RRC configuration information. In some implementations, base station 122 may also, or alternatively, indicate dynamically (e.g., within base station acquired COT signaling, such as DCI 2-0) whether base station acquired COT sharing is enabled/disabled for SL communications); and perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources (e.g., FIG. 10, ¶ [0063] [0064] UE 110 may proceed by engaging in SL communications based on the COT information).
Regarding Claim 4, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Niu discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a message comprising a COT sharing indicator indicating whether COT sidelink sharing is enabled or disabled; and perform the channel access procedure for the sidelink transmission within the COT resources in response to the COT sharing indicator indicating that the COT sidelink sharing is enabled (e.g., ¶ [0064] upon receiving an indication (e.g., an RRC trigger, DCI trigger, etc.) that base station acquired COT sharing is enabled for SL communications, UE 110 may proceed by engaging in SL communications based on the COT information).
Regarding Claim 5, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 4.
Niu discloses wherein the message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message or downlink control information (e.g., ¶ [0064] upon receiving an indication (e.g., an RRC trigger, DCI trigger, etc.) that base station acquired COT sharing is enabled for SL communications, UE 110 may proceed by engaging in SL communications based on the COT information).
Regarding Claim 6, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Niu discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive downlink control information comprising the COT structure indication (e.g., ¶ [0064] upon receiving an indication (e.g., an RRC trigger, DCI trigger, etc.) that base station acquired COT sharing is enabled for SL communications, UE 110 may proceed by engaging in SL communications based on the COT information).
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is directed to a method of wireless communication at a wireless communication device, comprising operations that are functionally similar to those performed by the device of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 17.
Regarding Claim 19, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 19 are similar to claim 4. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 4 shall be applied to claim 19.
Regarding Claim 22, Niu discloses a network access node configured for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory (e.g., FIGS. 1, 2, RAN node 122; FIG.13, device 1300 with application circuitry, baseband circuitry, memory, antenna(s)), the processor and the memory configured to: transmit a message to at least one wireless communication device via the transceiver, the message comprising a channel occupancy time (COT) sharing indicator indicating that COT sidelink sharing is enabled or disabled (e.g., ¶ [0064] base station 122 may also, or alternatively, indicate whether base station acquired COT sharing is enabled/disabled for SL communications for one or more UEs 110 in particular (e.g., a particular UE of a UE pair, UE group, a particular type of UE, etc.); and transmit a COT structure indication via the transceiver to the at least one wireless communication device for a COT initiated by the network access node on an unlicensed carrier (e.g., ¶ [0021] solutions for UEs to obtain channel occupancy times (COTs) for SL communications, and rules for sharing COTs with other UEs, and rules for CG uplink control information (UCI) of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH) transmissions for NR in the unlicensed spectrum (NR-U); ¶ [0031] a downlink resource grid may be used for downlink transmissions from any of the RAN nodes 122 to UEs 110; e.g., ¶ [0032] RAN nodes 122 may be configured to wirelessly communicate with UEs 110, and/or one another, over a licensed medium (also referred to as the “licensed spectrum” and/or the “licensed band”), an unlicensed shared medium (also referred to as the “unlicensed spectrum” and/or the “unlicensed band”), or combination thereof; e.g., ¶ [0046] Process 300 may include receiving a CG [grant configuration] for SL communication (block 310). For example, UE 110 may receive information describing wireless resources that UE 110 may use to communicate with another UE 110 via SL communication. As described herein, UE 110 may receive the CG via RRC signaling from base station 122), the COT structure indication indicating COT resources shared between downlink communication and sidelink communication based on the COT sharing indicator indicating that the COT sidelink sharing is enabled (e.g., FIG. 10, ¶ [0062] FIG. 10 is a diagram of examples 1000 for SL COT sharing with base station-initiated COTs. As described herein, a base station initiated COT may include a scenario in which base station 122 may contend for a COT in a shared radio frequency band (e.g., an unlicensed frequency) by performing a LBT procedure (e.g., a CAT-4 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band; e.g., ¶ [0063] where base station acquired COT is allowed for SL communications, the COT sharing may be enabled via RRC signaling from base station 122 to UE 110 (block 1030). In such scenarios, the RRC signaling may indicate whether SL transmission within the base station acquired COT is enabled or disabled. This may apply to type-1 CG RRC configurations. Additionally, or alternatively, for type-2 CG RRC configurations, base station 122 may indicate whether base station acquired COT sharing is enabled/disabled for SL communications in triggering downlink control information (DCI) and/or RRC configuration information. In some implementations, base station 122 may also, or alternatively, indicate dynamically (e.g., within base station acquired COT signaling, such as DCI 2-0) whether base station acquired COT sharing is enabled/disabled for SL communications).
Regarding Claim 23, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 22.
The functional limitations of Claim 23 are similar to claim 5. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 5 shall be applied to claim 23.
Regarding Claim 24, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 22.
The functional limitations of Claim 24 are similar to claim 6. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 6 shall be applied to claim 24.
Regarding Claim 29, the claim is directed to a method of wireless communication at a network node, comprising operations that are functionally similar to those performed by the network node of claim 22. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 22 shall be applied to claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Huang et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230064680 A1 (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding Claim 2, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: select between a first channel access procedure type for the sidelink transmission outside the COT resources and a second channel access procedure type associated with the COT structure indication for the sidelink transmission within the COT resources in response to receiving the COT structure indication.
Huang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: select between a first channel access procedure type for the sidelink transmission outside the COT resources and a second channel access procedure type associated with the COT structure indication for the sidelink transmission within the COT resources in response to receiving the COT structure indication (e.g., ¶ [0776] for a COT initiated by network, a network may share the COT to one or more UEs using (e.g., based on) common signaling (e.g., group common signaling) such as Downlink Control Information (DCI) format 2_0, uplink grant, Random Access Response (RAR) grant, and/or DL assignment. In an example, a UE of the one or more UEs may receive a DL assignment indicating to use short LBT (e.g., the UE receiving the DL assignment indicating to use short LBT may mean that the UE may perform short LBT before transmitting a signal and/or channel in response to the DL assignment; e.g., ¶ [0531] If a UE determines the duration in time domain and the location in frequency domain of a remaining channel occupancy initiated by the gNB from a DCI format 2_0 as described in clause 11.1.1 of [7], the following is applicable: [0532] The UE may switch from Type 1 channel access procedures as described in clause 4.2.1.1 to Type 2A channel access procedures as described in clause 4.2.1.2.1 for its corresponding UL transmissions within the determined duration in time and location in frequency domain of the remaining channel occupancy [i.e., Type 2A is within COT]; e.g. ¶ [0611] long LBT [when] transmission outside COT; e.g., ¶ [0612] short LBT [when] transmission inside COT; e.g., ¶ [0620] short LBT (e.g., type-2A channel access procedure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of selecting between a first channel access procedure type for the sidelink transmission outside the COT resources and a second channel access procedure type associated with the COT structure indication for the sidelink transmission within the COT resources in response to receiving the COT structure indication, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to support LBT for sidelink transmission (Huang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 3, Niu in view of Huang discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 2.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the second channel access procedure type corresponds to a Type 2A channel access procedure
Huang discloses wherein the second channel access procedure type corresponds to a Type 2A channel access procedure (e.g., ¶ [0620] short LBT (e.g., type-2A channel access procedure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of selecting between a first channel access procedure type for the sidelink transmission outside the COT resources and a second channel access procedure type associated with the COT structure indication for the sidelink transmission within the COT resources in response to receiving the COT structure indication, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to support LBT for sidelink transmission (Huang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 18, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 18 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 18.
Claims 7-9, 20, 25-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Bang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210329608 A1 (hereinafter Bang).
Regarding Claim 7, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive downlink control information comprising sidelink resource information and a channel access cyclic prefix (CP) extension channel access priority class (ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC) field, the ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field indicating a listen-before-talk (LBT) type, a CP extension length, and a channel access priority class (CAPC) for COT sidelink sharing; and perform the channel access procedure based on the LBT type, the CP extension length, and the CAPC.
Bang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive downlink control information comprising sidelink resource information and a channel access cyclic prefix (CP) extension channel access priority class (ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC) field, the ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field indicating a listen-before-talk (LBT) type, a CP extension length, and a channel access priority class (CAPC) for COT sidelink sharing. (e.g., ¶ [0228], Table 20, base sends DCI to terminal, which includes channel access type, CP extension and CAPC; e.g., ¶ [0250] [applicable to NR, as well as] LTE, LTE-A, LTE-A-Pro, and 5G… receiving a signal by using an unlicensed band, but is applicable to a system operating in a licensed band. Furthermore, a base station and a terminal operating in an unlicensed band [and] applicable to the base station and the terminal operating not only in an unlicensed band but also in a licensed band, a shared spectrum, or a sidelink); and perform the channel access procedure based on the LBT type, the CP extension length, and the CAPC (e.g., ¶ [[0218] channel access procedure that… the terminal can perform; e.g., ¶ [0227] The base station may configure channel access procedure performing information required for uplink transmission of the terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of receiving DCi comprising CAPC class, extension information, and LBT type, as disclosed by Bang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a channel access procedure scheme in a wireless communication system (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 7.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a configuration of allowed combinations of the LBT type, the CP extension length, and the CAPC, the ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field indicating one of the allowed combinations.
Bang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a configuration of allowed combinations of the LBT type, the CP extension length, and the CAPC, the ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field indicating one of the allowed combinations (e.g., ¶ [02228], Table 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of receiving DCi comprising CAPC class, extension information, and LBT type, as disclosed by Bang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a channel access procedure scheme in a wireless communication system (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 9, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 7.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the CP extension length comprises one of zero, a first variable multiplied by a symbol length minus 25 microseconds, a second variable multiplied by the symbol length minus 16 microseconds, or a third variable multiplied by the symbol length plus a timing advance minus 25 microseconds.
Bang discloses wherein the CP extension length comprises one of zero, a first variable multiplied by a symbol length minus 25 microseconds, a second variable multiplied by the symbol length minus 16 microseconds, or a third variable multiplied by the symbol length plus a timing advance minus 25 microseconds (e.g., ¶ [02228], Table 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of receiving DCi comprising CAPC class, extension information, and LBT type, as disclosed by Bang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a channel access procedure scheme in a wireless communication system (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 20, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 20 are similar to the combined limitations of claim 7 and claim 8. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claims 7 and 8 shall be applied to claim 20.
Regarding Claim 25, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 22.
The functional limitations of Claim 25 are similar to claim 7. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 7 shall be applied to claim 25.
Regarding Claim 26, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 25.
The functional limitations of Claim 26 are similar to claim 8. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 8 shall be applied to claim 26.
Regarding Claim 27, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 25.
The functional limitations of Claim 27 are similar to claim 9. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 9 shall be applied to claim 27.
Regarding Claim 30, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 29.
The functional limitations of Claim 30 are similar to claim 7. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 7 shall be applied to claim 30.
Claims 10, 12-14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Bang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210329608 A1 (hereinafter Bang).
Regarding Claim 10, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine an energy detection threshold for the channel access procedure.
Wang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine an energy detection threshold for the channel access procedure (e.g., ¶ [0140] performing a channel access procedure, an energy detection threshold may be used to determine if the shared channel is being used before transmission on the channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of determining an energy detection threshold for the channel access procedure, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a solution of transmission of synchronization signal blocks (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 12, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 10.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a sidelink energy detection threshold offset; and adjust a default energy detection threshold by the sidelink energy detection threshold offset to produce the energy detection threshold.
Wang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a sidelink energy detection threshold offset; and adjust a default energy detection threshold by the sidelink energy detection threshold offset to produce the energy detection threshold (e.g., ¶ [0144] In some example embodiments, the network device 110 may adjust an energy detection threshold used for a channel access procedure based on the power-related parameter (which may be a value proportional to the difference of the transmission powers). In some example embodiments, the network device 110 may use the power-related parameter as an offset to adjust the set maximum output power that is used to determine an energy detection threshold according to the communication specifications.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of receiving a sidelink energy detection threshold offset, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a solution of transmission of synchronization signal blocks (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 13, Niu in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 12.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine the default energy detection threshold based on either a single channel LBT bandwidth or a maximum energy detection threshold defined for the unlicensed carrier by a regulatory requirement.
Wang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine the default energy detection threshold based on either a single channel LBT bandwidth or a maximum energy detection threshold defined for the unlicensed carrier by a regulatory requirement (e.g., ¶ [0145] The set maximum output power may be determined as follow: P′.sub.TX=P.sub.TX+D2, where P.sub.TX is the set maximum output power in dBm for the shared channel, and D2 is an offset in dBm determined from the power-related parameter. The network device 110 may use the adjusted maximum output power P′.sub.TX to determine the energy detection threshold. For example, the determination of the energy detection threshold in a specification is as follows: [see Equation 1]
where X.sub.Thresh_max is the energy detection threshold, T.sub.A and P.sub.H is a preset value, BWMHz is the single channel bandwidth in MHz, and P.sub.TX is the set maximum output power, which may be adjusted to be P′.sub.TX as discussed above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu in view of , with the disclosure of receiving receive a sidelink energy detection threshold offset, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a solution of transmission of synchronization signal blocks (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 14, Niu in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 13.
Niu discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive an indication of an absence of any other technology in sidelink on the unlicensed carrier (e.g., FIG. 3, enabling NR SL communications in the unlicensed spectrum; e.g., ¶ [0020] UEs may also be capable of communicating with one another directly via using sidelink (SL) communication; e.g., ¶ [0065] FIG. 11 is a diagram of examples 1100 for CG uplink control information (CG-UCI) for a CG SL in the unlicensed spectrum (CG-Sidelink-U)).
Regarding Claim 15, Niu in view of Wang discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 13.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine the default energy detection threshold based on the single channel LBT bandwidth, a first fixed value, a second fixed value, and a maximum configured transmit power in sidelink for the wireless communication device.
Wang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine the default energy detection threshold based on the single channel LBT bandwidth, a first fixed value, a second fixed value, and a maximum configured transmit power in sidelink for the wireless communication device (e.g., ¶ [0145] The set maximum output power may be determined as follow: P′.sub.TX=P.sub.TX+D2, where P.sub.TX is the set maximum output power in dBm for the shared channel, and D2 is an offset in dBm determined from the power-related parameter. The network device 110 may use the adjusted maximum output power P′.sub.TX to determine the energy detection threshold. For example, the determination of the energy detection threshold in a specification is as follows: [see Equation 1]
where X.sub.Thresh_max is the energy detection threshold, T.sub.A and P.sub.H is a preset value, BWMHz is the single channel bandwidth in MHz, and P.sub.TX is the set maximum output power, which may be adjusted to be P′.sub.TX as discussed above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of receiving a sidelink energy detection threshold offset, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a solution of transmission of synchronization signal blocks (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0004]).
Claims 11, 16, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Wang, in further view of Huang.
Regarding Claim 11, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 10.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a sidelink maximum energy detection threshold; and set the energy detection threshold to the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold.
Huang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a sidelink maximum energy detection threshold; and set the energy detection threshold to the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold (e.g., ¶ [0661] In an example, the first UE indicates the energy threshold as −60 decibels per milliwatt (dBm) (i.e., negative 60 dBm) in the COT sharing information to the second UE (e.g., the first UE may generate the COT sharing information to be indicative of the energy threshold being 60 dBm, and/or the UE may transmit the COT sharing information to the second UE). The second UE may determine (e.g., identify) an energy level with which the first UE accesses the channel. In some examples, the energy threshold is an energy detection threshold. Based on (e.g., in response to) the energy detection threshold (e.g., in response to receiving the COT sharing information indicative of the energy detection threshold), the second UE may determine a sidelink transmission power, for sidelink transmission, that is under −60 dbm (e.g., the energy detection threshold) (e.g., the second UE may determine and/or use the sidelink transmission power when performing sidelink transmission within the shared COT). In some examples, based on (e.g., in response to) the energy detection threshold (e.g., in response to receiving the COT sharing information indicative of the energy detection threshold), the second UE may determine (e.g., derive) a maximum sidelink transmit power (e.g. the second maximum sidelink transmit power) based on the energy detection threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu in view of Wang, with the disclosure of receiving a sidelink maximum energy detection threshold and setting the energy detection threshold to the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to support LBT for sidelink transmission (Huang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 16, Niu discloses all the limitations of the wireless communication device of claim 10.
Niu does not expressly disclose wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine the energy detection threshold based on a maximum configured transmit power in sidelink for the wireless communication device and an occupied bandwidth.
Huang discloses wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: determine the energy detection threshold based on a maximum configured transmit power in sidelink for the wireless communication device and an occupied bandwidth (e.g., ¶ [0661] determine (e.g., derive) a maximum sidelink transmit power… based on the energy detection threshold. In an example, the indicated energy detection threshold is X.sub.Thresh and a bandwidth of the… sidelink transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu in view of Wang, with the disclosure of determining the energy detection threshold based on a maximum configured transmit power in sidelink for the wireless communication device and an occupied bandwidth, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to support LBT for sidelink transmission (Huang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 21, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 17.
Niu does not expressly disclose further comprising: receiving at least one of a sidelink maximum energy detection threshold or a sidelink energy detection threshold offset; setting an energy detection threshold to the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold in response to receiving the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold; and adjusting a default energy detection threshold by the sidelink energy detection threshold offset in response to receiving the sidelink energy detection threshold offset without the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold.
Huang discloses further comprising: receiving at least one of a sidelink maximum energy detection threshold or a sidelink energy detection threshold offset; setting an energy detection threshold to the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold in response to receiving the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold (e.g., ¶ [0661] In an example, the first UE indicates the energy threshold as −60 decibels per milliwatt (dBm) (i.e., negative 60 dBm) in the COT sharing information to the second UE (e.g., the first UE may generate the COT sharing information to be indicative of the energy threshold being 60 dBm, and/or the UE may transmit the COT sharing information to the second UE). The second UE may determine (e.g., identify) an energy level with which the first UE accesses the channel. In some examples, the energy threshold is an energy detection threshold. Based on (e.g., in response to) the energy detection threshold (e.g., in response to receiving the COT sharing information indicative of the energy detection threshold), the second UE may determine a sidelink transmission power, for sidelink transmission, that is under −60 dbm (e.g., the energy detection threshold) (e.g., the second UE may determine and/or use the sidelink transmission power when performing sidelink transmission within the shared COT). In some examples, based on (e.g., in response to) the energy detection threshold (e.g., in response to receiving the COT sharing information indicative of the energy detection threshold), the second UE may determine (e.g., derive) a maximum sidelink transmit power (e.g. the second maximum sidelink transmit power) based on the energy detection threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of perform a channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission within the COT resources when COT is initiated by network, as disclosed by Niu, with the disclosure of receiving a sidelink maximum energy detection threshold and setting the energy detection threshold to the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to support LBT for sidelink transmission (Huang: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Niu in view of Huang does not expressly disclose adjusting a default energy detection threshold by the sidelink energy detection threshold offset in response to receiving the sidelink energy detection threshold offset without the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold.
Wang discloses adjusting a default energy detection threshold by the sidelink energy detection threshold offset in response to receiving the sidelink energy detection threshold offset without the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold (e.g., ¶ [0144] In some example embodiments, the network device 110 may adjust an energy detection threshold used for a channel access procedure based on the power-related parameter (which may be a value proportional to the difference of the transmission powers). In some example embodiments, the network device 110 may use the power-related parameter as an offset to adjust the set maximum output power that is used to determine an energy detection threshold according to the communication specifications.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of receiving at least one of a sidelink maximum energy detection threshold or a sidelink energy detection threshold offset; setting an energy detection threshold to the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold in response to receiving the sidelink maximum energy detection threshold, as disclosed by Niu in view of Huang, with the disclosure of receiving a sidelink energy detection threshold offset, as disclosed by Wang. The motivation to combine would have been to support a solution of transmission of synchronization signal blocks (Bang: e.g., ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 28, Niu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 22.
The functional limitations of Claim 28 are similar to claim 21. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 21 shall be applied to claim 28.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471