Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the varying diameter of the hill portions (as recited in claim 3, see NOTE in the rejection of claim 3 below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification is missing the section “Cross-References to Related Applications”, see 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP 211.
The listing of reference characters at the end of the specification is not complete, either the list should be complete and include all reference characters used or, since the list is not a requirement in US practice, the list can be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsubara, USP 10,415,573.
Regarding claim 1, Komatsubara discloses a fluid dynamic bearing comprising: a sintered body having a cylindrical shape (see figure 3 and at least column 6, lines 1-6), the sintered body (8) being formed with dynamic pressure generating grooves (8a1) on an inner peripheral surface of the sintered body (8), wherein a ratio D2/D1 of an outer diameter D2 to an inner diameter D1 of the sintered body is 2.5 or less (column 10, line 66-column 11, line 25 which discloses D2 as 6mm and D1 as 3mm, this is a ratio of 2 which meets the claim requirement), and differences in relative density among three parts defined by axially trisecting the sintered body are within 3% (the three parts in the instant application is an arbitrary selection of three areas in the sintered body, roughly corresponding to dividing the cylindrical body into three sections, Komatsubara teaches a total density variation within all of the sleeve as being 3% or less, column 12, lines 29-36, regardless how the sleeve is divided if the total fluctuation is controlled to be 3% or less any number of sections compared to each other will have a difference of 3% or less).
Regarding claim 2, Komatsubara discloses that an axial length of the sintered body is 4 mm or less (column 8, lines 30-38 disclose an axial length of 6mm or less which anticipates the range of 4mm or less claimed).
Regarding claim 3, Komatsubara discloses that the sintered body comprises a hill portion (the hill portions in the instant application are the ridges between the groove, these same hill portions are shown in Komatsubara at 8a2) rising radially inward with respect to the dynamic pressure generating grooves, and wherein a difference between a radius of a smallest diameter portion and a radius of a largest diameter portion of an inner surface of the hill portion on the inner peripheral surface of the sintered body is 2 µm or less (the specification discloses the inner peripheral surface as being generally cylindrical with the diameter difference being as small as possible, this appears to be setting this particular dimension as a tolerance value from being purely cylindrical, in this case hills are illustrated as defining the cylindrical inner peripheral surface and thus, in an idea situation would have a variation of zero and thus anticipating the claimed range of 2 µm or less). NOTE: if the intent is to have hill portions purposely made with different diameters this aspect of the invention is not illustrated nor is the specification describing such a device. The specification appears to be suggesting that this is some form of manufacturing tolerance, manufacturing tolerances don’t define or limit the claim to any new or novel structure. It is further noted that the current phrasing of the claim reads as if the hill portions have both the diameter portions, if the intent is to actually define a groove depth there would be a radius difference between the generating grooves and the hill portions, this is currently not clearly supported by the specification, if this is the case this feature would be obvious over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 5, Komatsubara discloses a fluid dynamic bearing device (figure 2) comprising: the fluid dynamic bearing (8) according to claim 1 (see above); a shaft member (11) inserted inside an inner periphery of the fluid dynamic bearing (8); and a radial bearing portion (R1 and/or R2, formed between the bearing and the shaft) configured to support the shaft member in a non-contact manner to allow the shaft member to be relatively rotatable, with dynamic pressure action of a lubricating film formed in a radial bearing gap between an inner peripheral surface of the fluid dynamic bearing and the shaft member (fluid dynamic bearings use a lubricant film in the gap, see column 11, line 59-column 12, line 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsubara, USP 10,415,573, in view of Kokumai, USP 8,864,381.
Regarding claim 4, Komatsubara further discloses that the inner peripheral surface of the sintered body (8) is formed with: a pair of annular hill portions (8a3) provided at two locations axially separated from each other (one in region A1 and one in region A2, the regions being axial spaced); a plurality of inclined hill portions (8a2) extending axially outward from the annular hill portions (specifically 8a2 on the top of region A1 and 8a2 in the bottom of region A2); the dynamic pressure generating grooves (8a1) provided circumferentially between the plurality of inclined hill portions (8a2).
Komatsubara does not disclose that the pressure generation pattern further includes a cylindrical surface provided in an entire area axially between the pair of annular hill portions, the cylindrical surface having a diameter larger than each of respective inner diameters of the annular hill portions. In other words the area between the two annular hills is a cylindrical surface, without grooves or hills.
Kokumai teaches an alternate fluid dynamic bearing groove pattern wherein between axially inner annular hill portions (6 in the middle of the bearing body 3 in figure 4) there is a cylindrical surface (7) provide in an entire area axially between the pair of hill portions (6), the cylindrical surface having a diameter larger than each of the respective inner diameters of the annular portions (diameter at 7 is greater than the hills/ridges, see column 6, lines 40-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Komatsubara and use a groove pattern that further includes a cylindrical surface provided in an entire area axially between the pair of annular hill portions, the cylindrical surface having a diameter larger than each of respective inner diameters of the annular hill portions, as taught by Kokumai, since substituting between different known fluid dynamic groove patterns (inclusive of any feature separating adjacent patterns) provides the same predictable result of generating a pressure/lubricant film to support the rotating component relative to the stationary component in the bearing assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If the intent of claim 3 is to define a groove depth Applicant’s attention is directed to USP 9361932 and USP 8085495 which address setting the groove depth to values including 2 microns and values less than 2 microns.
/JAMES PILKINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617