DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-xxx are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wang et al. (“Channel Estimation for Intelligent Reflecting Surface Assisted Multiuser Communications: Framework, Algorithms, and Analysis”, arXiv:1912.11783v4 [cs.IT] 24 Jun 2020) in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0006845 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. (figure 1) disclose a method performed by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a first reference signal from a terminal; estimating a first channel based on the first reference signal (see page 2, right column, lines 10-13); receiving a second reference signal from a terminal; and estimating a second channel related to a specific element of an intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) based on the first reference signal, the second reference signal, wherein the second reference signal is transmitted based on an IRS element configuration (page 2, right column, lines 13-20; and page 5, section IV. Performance Limits for Case Without Noise). Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose transmitting a third reference signal to the terminal; receiving a feedback signal related to the third reference signal; and estimating the second channel related to the specific element of the IRS based on the first reference signal, the second reference signal and the third reference signal, wherein the third reference signal is transmitted based on the IRS element configuration. However, Kim et al. disclose a method with a base station transmitting a third reference (signal channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)) to the terminal; receiving a feedback signal related to the third reference signal (a channel quality indicator (CQI) calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS); and estimating the second channel (estimating actual downlink channel using downlink channel estimating) related to the specific element of the IRS based on a reference signal (sounding reference signal (SRS) received from a terminal) and CQI of the transmitted CSI-RS (paragraphs [0009], [0153] and [0177]-[0181]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of using the SRS and CQI of the transmitted CSI-RS for estimating second channel of Kim et al. to the method of Wang et al. for more precisely estimating the second channel.
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1. In addition, it would have been obvious for the method of Wang et al. and Kim et al. wherein the estimating the second channel is repeated for every IRS element to complete estimating channel for all IRS elements.
Regarding claim 5 Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1. In addition, Wang et al. disclose wherein the IRS element configuration includes information related to whether the specific element of IRS is turned on, and the specific element of IRS is a passive element alone (see page 2, section C. Main Contributions).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 5. In addition, it would have been obvious for the base station of Wang et al. and Kim et al. to transmit IRS element configuration information to the terminal, and the IRS element configuration information includes information related to a number of the specific IRS elements which are turned on in order for the terminal to know which IRS elements to relay the signal to the base station.
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1. In addition, Kim et al. disclose wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal are sounding reference signals (SRS), and the third reference signal is a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (paragraphs [0009] and [0177]-[0181]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the SRS and CSI-RS of Kim et al. to the first and second reference signals and the third reference signal, respectively to the method of Wang et al. as a system design preference for transmitting reference signals between the base station and terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. (figure 1) disclose a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a first reference signal from a terminal; estimate a first channel based on the first reference signal (see page 2, right column, lines 10-13); receive a second reference signal from a terminal; transmit a third reference signal to the terminal; receive a feedback signal related to the third reference signal; and estimate a second channel related to a specific element of an intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) based on the first reference signal and the second reference signal, wherein the second reference signal is transmitted based on an IRS element configuration (page 2, right column, lines 13-20; and page 5, section IV. Performance Limits for Case Without Noise). Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose the base station transmit a third reference signal to the terminal; receive a feedback signal related to the third reference signal; and estimate the second channel related to the specific element of an IRS based on the first reference signal, the second reference signal and the third reference signal, wherein the third reference signal is transmitted based on the IRS element configuration. However, Kim et al. disclose a base station transmitting a third reference (signal channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)) to the terminal; receiving a feedback signal related to the third reference signal (a channel quality indicator (CQI) calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS); and estimating the second channel (estimating actual downlink channel using downlink channel estimating) related to the specific element of the IRS based on a reference signal (sounding reference signal (SRS) received from a terminal) and CQI of the transmitted CSI-RS (paragraphs [0009], [0153] and [0177]-[0181]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of using the SRS and CQI of the transmitted CSI-RS for estimating second channel of Kim et al. to the base station of Wang et al. for more precisely estimating the second channel.
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the base station of claim 8. In addition, it would have been obvious for the estimating processor of Wang et al. and Kim et al. further configured to repeat the second channel is repeated for every IRS element to complete estimating channel for all IRS elements.
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the base station of claim 8. In addition, Wang et al. disclose wherein the IRS element configuration is a configuration includes information related to whether the in which a specific IRS element is turned on, and the specific IRS element is a passive element alone (see page 2, section C. Main Contributions).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the base station of claim 12. In addition, it would have been obvious for the processor of Wang et al. and Kim et al. further configured to control the transceiver to transmit IRS element configuration information to the terminal and wherein the IRS element configuration information includes information related to a number of IRS elements which are turned on in order for the terminal to know which IRS elements to relay the signal to the base station.
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the base station of claim 8. In addition, Kim et al. disclose wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal are sounding reference signals (SRS), and the third reference signal is a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (paragraphs [0009] and [0177]-[0181]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the SRS and CSI-RS of Kim et al. to the first and second reference signals and the third reference signal, respectively to the base station of Wang et al. as a system design preference for transmitting reference signals between the base station and terminal.
Regarding claim 18, Wang et al. (figure 1) disclose a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to: transmit a first reference signal to a base station, wherein a first channel between the terminal and a base station is estimated based on the first reference signal (see page 2, right column, lines 10-13), transmit a second reference signal to the base station, wherein a second channel corresponding to a specific IRS element is estimated based on the first reference signal and the second reference signal, and the second reference signal is transmitted based on an IRS element configuration (page 2, right column, lines 13-20; and page 5, section IV. Performance Limits for Case Without Noise). Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose the terminal receive a third reference signal from the base station, and transmit a feedback signal related to the third reference signal to the base station, and the third reference signal are transmitted based on an IRS element configuration. However, Kim et al. disclose a base station transmitting a third reference (signal channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)) to the terminal; receiving a feedback signal related to the third reference signal (a channel quality indicator (CQI) calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS); and estimating the second channel (estimating actual downlink channel using downlink channel estimating) related to the specific element of the IRS based on a reference signal (sounding reference signal (SRS) received from a terminal) and CQI of the transmitted CSI-RS (paragraphs [0009], [0153] and [0177]-[0181]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of sending the SRS and CQI of the received CSI-RS for estimating second channel of Kim et al. to the terminal of Wang et al. for more precisely estimating the second channel.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1. However, Wang et al. and Kim et al. fail to further disclose the method above wherein the second channel is estimated by removing a channel impact of the first channel between the terminal and the base station from the second reference signal and by removing the channel impact between the terminal and the base station from the third reference signal.
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1. However, Wang et al. and Kim et al. fail to further disclose the method above wherein the second channel is estimation estimated by removing a channel impact of the first channel between the terminal and the base station from the second reference signal and wherein receives the third feedback signal is determined based on removing the channel impact of the first channel between the terminal and the base station from the third reference signal.
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the base station of claim 8. However, Wang et al. and Kim et al. fail to further disclose the base station above wherein the second channel is estimated by removing a channel impact of the first channel between the terminal and the base station from the second reference signal and by removing a channel impact between the terminal and the base station from the third reference signal.
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al. and Kim et al. disclose the base station of claim 8. However, Wang et al. and Kim et al. fail to further disclose the base station above wherein the second channel is estimated by removing a channel impact of the first channel between the terminal and the base station from the second reference signal and wherein the feedback signal is determined based on removing the channel impact of the first channel between the terminal and the base station from the third reference signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nammi et al. (US 9,674,002 B2) disclose a method performed by a first device for estimating a radio channel between the first device and a second device in a telecommunications system; the first device receives common pilot signals and demodulation signals over the radio channel in transmissions from the second device; the first device estimates the radio channel based on the common pilot signals and the demodulation pilot signals and determines the radio channel based on the common pilot signals and the demodulation pilot signals.
Rimalapudi et al. (US 11,626,909 B2) teach a method for enhancing receiving signal power at a receiver is provided. The method includes estimating a channel gain by transmitting a pilot signal to the receiver through each antenna from a plurality of antennas of a transmitter and an IRS, determining an antenna selection metric based on the channel gain in transmitting the pilot signal to the receiver through each antenna of the transmitter and the IRS, identifying an antenna from the plurality of antennas that causes to provide the largest antenna selection metric, determining a reflection coefficient for each reflector of the IRS based on the identified antenna, configuring the reflectors of the IRS with the reflection coefficient, and transmitting the signal to the receiver through the identified antenna and the configured reflectors.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645