DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/24/2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued the prior art does not teach the newly added limitation. The examiner disagrees with the applicant and has addressed the new limitations in the below office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1: Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0174087 A1 Kim et al in view of US 2020/0186684 A1 Chen et al.
2: As for Claim 1, Kim et al teaches in Paragraph [0024] and depicts in Figures 1-4, camera module comprising: a reinforcing plate (200); a circuit board (100, 102 and 104) disposed on the reinforcing plate (200) and having a first through hole (sensor mounting hole for image sensor 300) and an image sensor (300) disposed in the first through hole (sensor mounting hole) of the circuit board (100, 102 and 104), However, the camera module of Kim et al only depicts and teaches a single sensor chip which further includes driving circuitry (circuitry for controlling the output of the active pixel sensor) to drive the image sensor (see Paragraph [0031]) disposed on the reinforcement plate (200) and does not teach
a driver device disposed in a second through hole of the circuit board, wherein the image sensor and the driver device overlap each other along the horizontal direction.
Chen et al depicts in Figures 1 and 4 and teaches in Paragraphs [0014-0016] a circuit board assembly for a camera module and teaches that it is advantageous when designing camera modules to enable a camera system to include multiple camera modules with multiple image sensors disposed apart from each other in the horizontal direction that are supported by a reinforcement plate in order to provide an imaging system with multiple cameras and therefore, improve image quality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera system of Kim et al to include two image sensors spaced apart from each other disposed in sensor mounting holes resting on the reinforcement plate and spaced apart from each other in the horizontal direction as taught by Chen et al in order to improve image quality. Furthermore, the sensor mounting hole for the first image sensor can be viewed as the claimed first through-hole and the second sensor mounting hole for the second image sensor can be viewed as the second mounting hole for the driver device, since image sensors include driving circuitry and the second image sensor can be viewed as including a driver.
Furthermore, Kim et al teaches in Paragraph [0030] and depicts in Figure 4 a first adhesive member (330) disposed between the reinforcing plate (200) and the image sensor (300). Furthermore, in combination with Chen et al as discussed above, the system includes multiple image sensors within the examiner views the first image sensor as the claimed image sensor and the second image sensor that includes driving circuitry as the claimed driver device. Therefore, the combination teaches a second adhesive member (330 of the second image sensor) disposed between the reinforcing plate (200) and the driver device (driving circuitry within the second image sensor). The examiner asserts that he claim does not specify that the claimed driver device drives the claimed image sensor.
3: As for Claim 2, Chen et al further depicts in Figures 1 and 4 wherein the driver device (viewed as the driving circuitry included in the second image sensor) and the image sensor (viewed as the first image sensor of the two image sensors) are non-overlapping with each other along a vertical direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
Claims 3-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach wherein the reinforcing plate includes a first region overlapping in the vertical direction with the circuit board, a second region overlapping in the vertical direction with the first through hole, and a third region overlapping in the vertical direction with the second through hole, wherein an upper surface of the first region is in contact with the circuit board, wherein an upper surface of the second region is in contact with the first adhesive member, and wherein an upper surface of the third region is in contact with the second adhesive member when taken in combination with all the limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
April 7, 2026