DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to an application filed on March 18, 2024, wherein claims 1-30 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 17, 21, 23, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra et al. (Ramachandra hereafter) (US 20190007881 A1) in view of Xu et al. (Xu hereafter) (US 20220256484 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Ramachandra teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Wireless Device, M); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Wireless Device, P), configured to:
receive, from a base station, an indication (the serving network node configures) of a set of reference signals for measurement (set of serving reference signals such as MRSs) during a small data transfer (SDT) session (uplink data or if a page is received) associated with the UE (to be used in Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations) (Ramachandra; [0041] the serving network node configures the UE with a set of serving reference signals such as MRSs, to be used in Idle/Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations, so that the UE can camp on the serving MRSs. If there is incoming uplink data or if a page is received,); and
Ramachandra fails to explicitly teach, transmit, to the base station and during the SDT session, a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals during the SDT session
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu teaches, transmit, to the base station and during the SDT session (uplink small data transfers), a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals (synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection) during the SDT session (Xu; [0111] Configuration of configured grant (CG) resources for UE uplink small data transfers while in RRC inactive state …There may be an association between CG resources and synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) required for CG based small data transfers, at least in some instances. For example, a synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection, such that a UE can select a SSB with synchronization signal RSRSP above the configured threshold and select the associated CG resource for the uplink data transmission.,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to support at least some data transmissions in the RRC inactive state (Xu; [0111]).
Regarding claim 17 Ramachandra teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
a memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Network Node, M); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Network Node, P), configured to:
transmit , to a user equipment (UE), an indication (the serving network node configures) of a set of reference signals for measurement (set of serving reference signals such as MRSs) during a small data transfer (SDT) session (uplink data or if a page is received) associated with the UE (to be used in Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations) (Ramachandra; [0041] the serving network node configures the UE with a set of serving reference signals such as MRSs, to be used in Idle/Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations, so that the UE can camp on the serving MRSs. If there is incoming uplink data or if a page is received,); and
Ramachandra fails to explicitly teach, receive, from the UE and during the SDT session, a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals during the SDT session
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu teaches, receive , from the UE and during the SDT session (uplink small data transfers), a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals (synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection) during the SDT session (Xu; [0111] Configuration of configured grant (CG) resources for UE uplink small data transfers while in RRC inactive state …There may be an association between CG resources and synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) required for CG based small data transfers, at least in some instances. For example, a synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection, such that a UE can select a SSB with synchronization signal RSRSP above the configured threshold and select the associated CG resource for the uplink data transmission.,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to support at least some data transmissions in the RRC inactive state (Xu; [0111]).
Regarding claim 29 Ramachandra teaches, a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Wireless Device, M); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Wireless Device, P), configured to:
receiving, from a base station, an indication (the serving network node configures) of a set of reference signals for measurement (set of serving reference signals such as MRSs) during a small data transfer (SDT) session (uplink data or if a page is received) associated with the UE (to be used in Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations) (Ramachandra; [0041] the serving network node configures the UE with a set of serving reference signals such as MRSs, to be used in Idle/Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations, so that the UE can camp on the serving MRSs. If there is incoming uplink data or if a page is received,); and
Ramachandra fails to explicitly teach, transmitting, to the base station and during the SDT session, a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals during the SDT session
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu teaches, transmitting, to the base station and during the SDT session (uplink small data transfers), a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals (synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection) during the SDT session (Xu; [0111] Configuration of configured grant (CG) resources for UE uplink small data transfers while in RRC inactive state …There may be an association between CG resources and synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) required for CG based small data transfers, at least in some instances. For example, a synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection, such that a UE can select a SSB with synchronization signal RSRSP above the configured threshold and select the associated CG resource for the uplink data transmission.,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to support at least some data transmissions in the RRC inactive state (Xu; [0111]).
Regarding claim 30 Ramachandra teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
a memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Network Node, M); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Ramachandra; Fig. 7 Network Node, P), configured to:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication (the serving network node configures) of a set of reference signals for measurement (set of serving reference signals such as MRSs) during a small data transfer (SDT) session (uplink data or if a page is received) associated with the UE (to be used in Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations) (Ramachandra; [0041] the serving network node configures the UE with a set of serving reference signals such as MRSs, to be used in Idle/Inactive mode together with their associated PRACH configurations, so that the UE can camp on the serving MRSs. If there is incoming uplink data or if a page is received,); and
Ramachandra fails to explicitly teach, receiving, from the UE and during the SDT session, a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals during the SDT session
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu teaches, receive , from the UE and during the SDT session (uplink small data transfers), a channel state information (CSI) report based at least in part on measuring the set of reference signals (synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection) during the SDT session (Xu; [0111] Configuration of configured grant (CG) resources for UE uplink small data transfers while in RRC inactive state …There may be an association between CG resources and synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) required for CG based small data transfers, at least in some instances. For example, a synchronization signal reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold may be configured for SSB selection, such that a UE can select a SSB with synchronization signal RSRSP above the configured threshold and select the associated CG resource for the uplink data transmission.,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to support at least some data transmissions in the RRC inactive state (Xu; [0111]).
Regarding claim 4 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The apparatus of claim 1,
Ramachandra teaches, wherein the set of reference signals are associated with a periodicity that is longer than a periodicity associated with another set of reference signals (Ramachandra; [0031] the UE monitors a sparse periodic MRS from the serving network node 100 and compares it with similar periodic and sparse MRSs from potential target nodes such as the other network node 102. The transmission of sparse periodic MRSs from network nodes 100 and 102 is indicated by respective dashed ovals and may occur every 100 ms ).
Regarding claim 5 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The apparatus of claim 1,
Ramachandra teaches, wherein the set of reference signals comprise at least one of periodic channel state information reference signals (P-CSI-RSs), semi-persistent CSI-RSs (SP-CSI-RSs), or aperiodic CSI-RSs (AP-CSI-RSs) (Ramachandra; [0035] UE must provide feedback with signal measurements, such as a Channel State Information, CSI, report or MRS report, to the network in order to obtain narrow beams for data reception…MRSs described herein may be CSI-RSs…CSI-RSs may be used as the MRSs).
Regarding claims 6 and 21 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The apparatus of claim 1,
Ramachandra teaches,wherein the set of reference signals comprise one or more reference signals indicated in system information (Ramachandra; [0034] a possible compromised solution would be to use wider beams for SS and system information transmission).
Regarding claims 10 and 23 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The claims 6 and 21,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the base station and after transmitting a request for the SDT session to the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating availability associated with the one or more reference signals
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the base station and after transmitting a request for the SDT session to the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating availability associated with the one or more reference signals (Xu; [0126] the network may provide a TA command to a UE while a RRC connection is established… The UE may acquire the current downlink timing (T2) (e.g., using synchronization signals provided by the network) and may update the TA according to the downlink timing change (e.g., between T1 and T2). The UE may perform a CG small data transfer using the autonomously updated TA value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to support at least some data transmissions in the RRC inactive state (Xu; [0111]).
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra-Xu as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Chin et al. (Chin hereafter) (US 20230141487 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 18 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The claims 1 and 17,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the indication is received during a radio resource control (RRC) release of the UE from a connected state to an inactive state
However, in the same field of endeavor Chin teaches, wherein the indication is received during a radio resource control (RRC) release of the UE from a connected state to an inactive state (Chin; [0277-0283] In action 202, the UE may receive, in an RRC_CONNECTED state, an RRC release message (e.g., RRCRelease message with SuspendConfig) including first information and second information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Chin in order to allocate resources to UE (Chin; [0085]).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra-Xu as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Mu et al. (MU944 hereafter) (US 20240406944 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 19 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The claims 1 and 17,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the indication is received using radio resource control (RRC) signaling after a start of the SDT session
However, in the same field of endeavor MU944 teaches, wherein the indication is received using radio resource control (RRC) signaling after a start of the SDT session (MU944; [0064] indicated via RRC release signaling, or it may also be indicated via indication information sent by the network device to indicate a BWP switching during an SDT execution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by MU944 in order to indicate a BWP switching (MU944; [0085]).
Claim 7-9, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra-Xu as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Saily et al. (Saily hereafter) (US 20230379865 A1).
Regarding claim 7 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The apparatus of claim 6,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the indication includes a same configuration for the one or more reference signals indicated in the system information.
However, in the same field of endeavor Saily teaches,wherein the indication includes a same configuration for the one or more reference signals indicated in the system information (Saily; [0048] UE may determine an association of PRS signals and DL reference signals (e.g., based on indicated quasi-colocation of such signals) via one or more techniques, including one or more of: 1) the UE may be pre-configured with an association between a DL reference signal and a PRS signal; 2) the UE may receive such information via received system information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saily in order to allow the UEs to have wireless access to a network (Saily; [0029]).
Regarding claims 8 and 22 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The claims 6 and 21,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the indication includes a selection, from the one or more reference signals indicated in the system information, that comprise the set of reference signals.
Saily further teaches, wherein the indication includes a selection, from the one or more reference signals indicated in the system information, that comprise the set of reference signals (Saily; [0038] UE may select at least one or one or more DL RS that has/have signal quality (such as RSRP) above a predetermined threshold. This threshold may have relation on the estimated reception level of the positioning reference signal. Threshold may also be a detection threshold, or it may be configured by network (e.g. via system information, via on-demand system information or using dedicated signaling). In some cases, if the signal quality threshold level is not exceeded by any of the DL RS, UE may select any (out of one or more of the) DL RS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saily in order to allow the UEs to have wireless access to a network (Saily; [0029]).
Regarding claim 9 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, The apparatus of claim 6,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the system information further indicates availability associated with the one or more reference signals
Saily further teaches, wherein the system information further indicates availability associated with the one or more reference signals (Saily; [0043] At 524 (FIG. 5), the gNB 510 may send to the UE 410 a response associated with the request, e.g., where the response may include one or more of (for example): 1) a response or information addressed to the identifier (e.g., where a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of such response may be scrambled based on the identifier); 2) information indicating that a positioning reference signal (PRS) (e.g., ATRS) request procedure is completed (e.g., and thus, the UE should expect the PRS (e.g., ATRS) signal transmission as requested); 3) information indicating a configuration of the requested PRS signal (e.g., which may indicate a time period that the PRS signal will be transmitted)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saily in order to allow the UEs to have wireless access to a network (Saily; [0029]).
Claims 11, 13-16, 24 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra-Xu as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of OH et al. (OH hereafter) (US 20240032057 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 24 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, the claims 1 and 17,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, receive, from the base station, an indication of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, wherein the CSI report is transmitted using the PUSCH resources.
However, in the same field of endeavor OH teaches, receive, from the base station, an indication of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, wherein the CSI report is transmitted using the PUSCH resources (OH; [0350] the base station indicates to transmit an aperiodic CSI report #X in an uplink slot n′ through DCI using a DCI format 0_1, a CPU occupation time for a CSI report #X transmitting in the uplink slot n′ may be defined from a next symbol of a last symbol occupied by a PDCCH including DCI indicating an aperiodic CSI report #X to a last symbol occupied by a PUSCH including a CSI report #X transmitted in the uplink slot n′.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by OH in order to support application services such as Internet of Things (IoT) (OH; [0077]).
Regarding claims 13 and 26 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, the claims 1 and 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, receive, from the base station, an activation of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources associated with the set of reference signals, wherein the CSI report is transmitted using the PUSCH resources.
OH further teaches, receive, from the base station, an activation of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources associated with the set of reference signals, wherein the CSI report is transmitted using the PUSCH resources (OH; [0326] The base station sets a report setting including parameters for the periodic CSI report of the UE through higher layer signaling. Parameters for the CSI report may include a slot interval between a slot in which higher layer signaling indicating the CSI report is activated and a PUCCH or PUSCH including the CSI report, a slot interval period of the CSI report, a reference signal ID for channel state measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by OH in order to support application services such as Internet of Things (IoT) (OH; [0077]).
Regarding claims 14 and 27 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, the claims 1 and 17, wherein the CSI report is transmitted periodically, and the one or more processors are further configured to:
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, receive, from the base station, a deactivation of the PUSCH resources; and refrain from transmitting the CSI report after receiving the deactivation.
OH further teaches, wherein the CSI report is transmitted periodically, and the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the base station, a deactivation of the PUSCH resources([0325] the UE may periodically report channel information according to the set slot interval. When the semi-persistent CSI report is deactivated, the UE may stop reporting the activated periodic channel information); and
refrain from transmitting the CSI report after receiving the deactivation (Oh; [0325] The base station may activate or deactivate a semi-persistent CSI report through upper layer signaling including MAC CE signaling or DCI scrambled with an SP-CSI-RNTI. When the semi-persistent CSI report is activated, the UE may periodically report channel information according to the set slot interval. When the semi-persistent CSI report is deactivated, the UE may stop reporting the activated periodic channel information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by OH in order to support application services such as Internet of Things (IoT) (OH; [0077]).
Regarding claims 15 and 28 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, the claims 1 and 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, receive, from the base station, triggering downlink control information (DCI) during the SDT session, wherein the indication is included in the triggering DCI
OH further teaches, receive, from the base station, triggering downlink control information (DCI) during the SDT session, wherein the indication is included in the triggering DCI (OH; {0324]When the base station indicates some of a plurality of CSI report trigger states to the UE through DCI, the UE reports channel information according to a CSI report setting of the report setting set to the indicated CSI report trigger state. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by OH in order to support application services such as Internet of Things (IoT) (OH; [0077]).
Regarding claims 16 Ramachandra-Xu-OH teaches, the apparatus of claim 15,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the CSI report is transmitted using physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources indicated in the triggering DCI
OH further teaches, wherein the CSI report is transmitted using physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources indicated in the triggering DCI ( OH; {0324] a position of a slot to which the PUSCH including the CSI report of the UE is transmitted may be indicated through a slot interval with the PDCCH indicated through the DCI,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by OH in order to support application services such as Internet of Things (IoT) (OH; [0077]).
Claim 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra-Xu-OH as applied to claims 11 and 24 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (Xu999 hereafter) (US 20230224999 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 25 Ramachandra-Xu-OH teaches, the claims 11 and 24,
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the CSI report is transmitted periodically until the SDT session is complete
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu999 teaches, wherein the CSI report is transmitted periodically until the SDT session is complete (Xu999; [0158] by receiving a first information associated with the SDT procedure from the UE, the network device can provide the first configuration information regarding the SDT procedure with reference to this first information. In this way, with the first information reported by the UE, the network device can provide the SDT configuration in consideration of UE's situation, which better accords with the actual situation of SDT procedure between the UE and the network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu-OH to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu999 in order to perform the SDT procedure (Xu999; [0157]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra-Xu as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Mu et al. (MU844 hereafter) (US 20250132844 A1).
Regarding claim 20 Ramachandra-Xu teaches, the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
Ramachandra-Xu fails to explicitly teach, transmit the set of reference signals after receiving a request for the SDT session from the UE; and
refrain from transmitting the set of reference signals after the SDT session is complete.
However, in the same field of endeavor MU844 teaches, transmit the set of reference signals after receiving a request for the SDT session from the UE (MU844; [0043] When determining whether to enable small data transmission (SDT) based on a random access channel (RACH), it is necessary to determine based on a signal strength of a signal received by a user equipment (UE), such as synchronization signal-reference signal receiving power (SS-RSRP)); and
refrain from transmitting the set of reference signals after the SDT session is complete ([0043] That is, it is guaranteed that the SDT can only be carried out under good coverage conditions, so as to avoid wasting uplink transmission resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Ramachandra-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by MU844 in order to enable a UE with a CE capability to perform the SDT (MU844; [0046]).
Conclusion
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416