DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 7 is withdrawn. Claims 1-6 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “Hv is in Hv” in the last line. The meaning of this limitation is unclear. Vickers hardness has a unit. “Hv” is not a unit. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 2007/0017610).
Regarding claims 1-6, Yoshida teaches a steel containing 0.2-0.6 wt.% C, 0.05-0.5 wt. % Si, 0.1-2 wt.% Mn, 0.005-0.5 wt. % Al, 0.015 wt.% or less P, 0.06 wt.% or less S and 0.01 wt.% or less N ([0022] to [0035]), which overlap the recited composition in claims 1-2 and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the amount of each element based on the ranges disclosed in Yoshida to make a steel that meets the recited composition in claims 1-2. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Yoshida discloses that the steel is heated to 900-1000 ºC, quenched in oil or water to make a steel having martensite structure, and tempered at 580 ºC or higher ([0041]), which meets the limitation that the steel contains 80 vol.% or more tempered martensite. Yoshida discloses that the steel has HV hardness of 460 or higher ([0039]), which overlaps the recited hardness in claims 1, 5 and 6. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Yoshida does not explicitly disclose the carbide amount and the formula (1) limitations as recited in claims 1 and 5, and the carbide size limitation as recited in claim 3. However, these limitations depend on the steel composition and a method of making the steel. Yoshida discloses that the steel is heated to 900-1000 ºC, quenched in oil or water to make a steel having martensite structure, and tempered at 580 ºC or higher ([0041]), which meets the recited quenching temperature, cooling rate and the tempering temperature recited in claim 7. In view of the fact that Yoshida teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 2 and a method of making the steel that meets the recited quenching temperature, cooling rate and the tempering temperature recited in claim 7, one of ordinary skill would expect that the steel disclosed by Yoshida to meet the recited carbide amount and the recited formula (1) in claims 1 and 5, and the carbide size limitation as recited in claim 3. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
The preamble “for a sliding part” in claim 1 is intended use. When the preamble only states a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation. See MPEP2111.02 II.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733