DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2011/0139496, of record, ‘496 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-6, ‘496 discloses a resin composition comprising a dielectric powder being inorganic particles including silica, titanium dioxide, barium titanate, or strontium titanate, with a particle size being in a range of 0.05 to 5 microns ([0009], [0035]-[0036], Example 1); a cyanate ester compound being phenol novolac-type cyanate ester compounds, bisphenol A-type cyanate ester compounds or the like as in the present claim 5 ([0012]-[0017], Examples); and an epoxy compound being naphthylene ether-type epoxy resins as in the present claim 6 ([0018]-[0022], Examples ); wherein a functional group equivalent ratio of a cyanate group of the cyanate ester compound to an epoxy group of the epoxy compound (cyanate group/epoxy group) is 0.2 to 2.0 ([0023], Examples), and content of the inorganic particles can be in a preferred range of 30 to 80 mass% based on the total composition ([0039]), satisfying present claim 4 (52/30=173/100 as in Example 1, [0125]).
Regarding claims 7-9, ‘496 also discloses that the composition further include one or more thermosetting compound such as another epoxy resin or a phenolic compound ([0046]-[0056]); and a filler such as rubber powder, silicone powder or fire retardant such as aluminum hydroxide ([0060]-0064], [0072]).
Regarding claims 11-18, ‘496 also discloses a resin composition, a prepreg, a resin sheet, a laminate and a printed wiring board comprising the resin composition and other components as presently claimed ([0074]-[0111]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2011/0139496, of record, ‘496 hereafter).
Regarding claim 10, ‘496 teaches all the limitations of claim 8, ‘496 also discloses that the composition may further comprise another filler such as aluminum hydroxide as a flame retardant ([0064]) to adjust its flame retardancy, but ‘496 does not specifically set forth the content of the filler in the composition. However, it is well-known in the art that the flame retardancy of a composition directly depends upon the amount of flame retardant being used in the composition, thus the content of a flame retardant in the composition is an effective variable which can be adjusted to render the composition having desired flame retardancy without undue experimentation. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amount of aluminum hydroxide particles within the scope of the present claims so as to produce sufficient flame retardancy.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Morishita et al (JP 2007/131842A). Morishita discloses a resin composition comprising a dielectric powder being inorganic particles titanium dioxide, ([0005]-[0010]); a cyanate ester compound being phenol novolac-type cyanate ester compounds ([0005]-[0010]); and a novolak epoxy compound ([0005]-[0010]); and the composition can be used as a prepreg to make copper-clad laminate and other articles ([0005], [0016]-[0019]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782