DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1-6, and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-11 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al. (Yoshioka hereafter) (US 20240357644 A1) in view of Zhang (Zhang hereafter) (US 20240267986 A1) and in further view of Freda et al. (Freda hereafter) ( US 20230097552 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Yoshioka teaches, an operation method of a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the operation method comprising:
transmitting by a first user equipment (UE) (terminal 20A performs SL transmission to the terminal 20B) a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (SL transmission resource (PSCCH/PSCCH)) to a second UE based on a resource based on a first resource allocation mode (in the resource allocation mode 1) (Yoshioka; [0067] As illustrated in FIG. 3, in the resource allocation mode 1, an SL transmission resource is allocated to the terminal 20A from the base station 10. That is, as illustrated in FIG. 3, an SL transmission resource (PSCCH/PSCCH) is allocated to the terminal 20A according to a PDCCH (specifically, DCI) received from the base station 10, and the terminal 20A performs SL transmission to the terminal 20B by using the transmission resource);
transmitting, by the first UE a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) to the second UE (transmission of a PSSCH ) based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode (resource allocation mode 1) (Yoshioka; [0172] The sidelink transmission can be performed to satisfy the channel access requirements by performing an LBT at the time of transmission of a PSCCH/PSSCH in the resource allocation mode 1);
Yoshioka fails to explicitly teach, based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode being not included in a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) active time of the second UE, switching a resource allocation mode from the first resource allocation mode to a resource allocation mode 2
transmitting by the first UE sidelink data to the second UE based on a resource based on the resource allocation mode 2.
wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode being not included in a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) active time of the second UE (the peer terminal device will communicate with the UE without adopting SL DRX (i.e. always active)), switching a resource allocation mode from the first resource allocation mode to a resource allocation mode 2 ([0293] switches to mode 2 SL RA) (Zhang; [0291] For example, if the terminal device is currently adopting mode 1 SL resource allocation (RA), the terminal device may further any one or more of the followings: [0292] It informs the peer terminal device via. e.g. the assistance information and/or SL capability information that it will be active all the time or cannot adopt SL DRX for its transmission. Correspondingly the peer terminal device will communicate with the UE without adopting SL DRX (i.e. always active). The peer terminal device may send a PC5 connection release message to the UE if it cannot accept communication without SL DRX); and
transmitting by the first UE sidelink data to the second UE (SL DRX could be adopted after the terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA.) based on a resource based on the resource allocation mode 2 (The terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA) (Zhang; [0293] The terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA, potentially based on an assistance message received from the peer terminal device indicating that the peer terminal device needs to perform communication with SL DRX configured. SL DRX could be adopted after the terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to perform unicast communication with SL DRX (Zhang; [0290]).
Yoshioka-Zhang fails to explicitly teach, wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Freda teaches, wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time (WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity ... changed by Uu activity) (Freda; [0004] The WTRU may receive a set of sidelink DRX parameters that are independent of parameters configured for Uu DRX. The WTRU may receive a scheduled sidelink grant from a network during its Uu active time (i.e., the time when the WTRU actively monitors PDCCH). The WTRU may receive a first DRX configuration associated with Uu and receive a second DRX configuration associated with sidelink DRX. [0005] A WTRU may determine a value of a timer associated with Uu and/or sidelink DRX based on sidelink timing information related to a sidelink transmission. [0006] A WTRU may inform a peer WTRU of its activity behavior on Uu. A WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior which may be impacted or changed by Uu activity behavior. [0096-0102] WTRU may perform SL decoding based on Uu DRX activity behavior, and may modify/update parameters (e.g. timers) related to Uu DRX upon a SL event. For example, a WTRU may reset a timer related to UL scheduling (e.g. existing or new activity timer) upon occurrence of any or a combination of the following events. The WTRU may receive PSCCH/PSCCH with data intended for/decoded by the WTRU. The WTRU may receive a DCI on a PDCCH that indicates a new SL transmission. For example, the WTRU may restart a drx-InactivityTimer if the PDCCH indicates a new UL or DL or SL transmission, [0117])of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE (Freda; [0122] A WTRU may inform a peer WTRU or group of peer WTRUs of its activity behavior on Uu such as a change in Uu behavior activity. A WTRU may provide a peer WTRU or group of peer WTRUs with parameters or values related to a DRX state, an indication of events which affect a scheduled period of PDCCH monitoring, and the like. A WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior which may be impacted or changed by Uu activity behavior, [0123-0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka-Zhang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Freda in order to send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior changed by Uu activity behavior. (Freda; [0122]).
Regarding claim 6 Yoshioka teaches, A first user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system, the first UE comprising:
one or more transceivers (Yoshioka; FIG. 20 [0277] the terminal 20 includes a transmission unit 210, a reception unit 220);
one or more processors configured to control the one or more transceivers (Yoshioka; FIG. 21 [0283] the terminal 20 may be physically a computer device including a processor 1001, a storage device 1002, an auxiliary storage device 1003,); and
a memory including one or more instructions performed by the one or more processors (Yoshioka; FIG. 21 [0285] the storage device 1002, and by controlling communication by the communication device 1004 and controlling at least one of reading and writing of data in the storage device 1002 and the auxiliary storage device 1003),
wherein the one or more instructions comprise (Yoshioka; [0320]):
transmitting (terminal 20A performs SL transmission to the terminal 20B) a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (SL transmission resource (PSCCH/PSCCH)) to a second UE based on a resource based on a first resource allocation mode (in the resource allocation mode 1) (Yoshioka;
[0067] As illustrated in FIG. 3, in the resource allocation mode 1, an SL transmission resource is allocated to the terminal 20A from the base station 10. That is, as illustrated in FIG. 3, an SL transmission resource (PSCCH/PSCCH) is allocated to the terminal 20A according to a PDCCH (specifically, DCI) received from the base station 10, and the terminal 20A performs SL transmission to the terminal 20B by using the transmission resource);
transmitting a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) to the second UE (transmission of a PSSCH ) based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode (resource allocation
mode 1) (Yoshioka; [0172] The sidelink transmission can be performed to satisfy the channel access requirements by performing an LBT at the time of transmission of a PSCCH/PSSCH in the resource allocation mode 1 );
Yoshioka fails to explicitly teach, based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode being not included in a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) active time of the second UE, switching a resource allocation mode from the first resource allocation mode to a resource allocation mode 2.
transmitting sidelink data to the second UE based on a resource based on the resource allocation mode 2.
wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode being not included ([0292] SL capability information that it will be active all the time or cannot adopt SL DRX for its transmission.) in a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) active time of the second UE (the peer terminal device will communicate with the UE without adopting SL DRX (i.e. always active)), switching a resource allocation mode from the first resource allocation mode to a resource allocation mode 2 ([0293] switches to mode 2 SL RA) (Zhang; [0291] For example, if the terminal device is currently adopting mode 1 SL resource allocation (RA), the terminal device may further any one or more of the followings: [0292] It informs the peer terminal device via. e.g. the assistance information and/or SL capability information that it will be active all the time or cannot adopt SL DRX for its transmission. Correspondingly the peer terminal device will communicate with the UE without adopting SL DRX (i.e. always active). The peer terminal device may send a PC5 connection release message to the UE if it cannot accept communication without SL DRX); and
transmitting sidelink data to the second UE (SL DRX could be adopted after the terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA.) based on a resource based on the resource allocation mode 2 (The terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA) (Zhang; [0293] The terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA, potentially based on an assistance message received from the peer terminal device indicating that the peer terminal device needs to perform communication with SL DRX configured. SL DRX could be adopted after the terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to perform unicast communication with SL DRX (Zhang; [0290]).
Yoshioka-Zhang fails to explicitly teach, wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Fred teaches, wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time (WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity ... changed by Uu activity) (Freda; [0004] The WTRU may receive a set of sidelink DRX parameters that are independent of parameters configured for Uu DRX. The WTRU may receive a scheduled sidelink grant from a network during its Uu active time (i.e., the time when the WTRU actively monitors PDCCH). The WTRU may receive a first DRX configuration associated with Uu and receive a second DRX configuration associated with sidelink DRX. [0005] A WTRU may determine a value of a timer associated with Uu and/or sidelink DRX based on sidelink timing information related to a sidelink transmission. [0006] A WTRU may inform a peer WTRU of its activity behavior on Uu. A WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior which may be impacted or changed by Uu activity behavior. [0096-0102] WTRU may perform SL decoding based on Uu DRX activity behavior, and may modify/update parameters (e.g. timers) related to Uu DRX upon a SL event. For example, a WTRU may reset a timer related to UL scheduling (e.g. existing or new activity timer) upon occurrence of any or a combination of the following events. The WTRU may receive PSCCH/PSCCH with data intended for/decoded by the WTRU. The WTRU may receive a DCI on a PDCCH that indicates a new SL transmission. For example, the WTRU may restart a drx-InactivityTimer if the PDCCH indicates a new UL or DL or SL transmission, [0117])of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE (Freda; [0122] A WTRU may inform a peer WTRU or group of peer WTRUs of its activity behavior on Uu such as a change in Uu behavior activity. A WTRU may provide a peer WTRU or group of peer WTRUs with parameters or values related to a DRX state, an indication of events which affect a scheduled period of PDCCH monitoring, and the like. A WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior which may be impacted or changed by Uu activity behavior, [0123-0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka-Zhang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Freda in order to send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior changed by Uu activity behavior. (Freda; [0122]).
Regarding claim 11 Yoshioka teaches, A device comprising:
one or more memories(Yoshioka; FIG. 21 [0285] the storage device 1002, and by controlling communication by the communication device 1004 and controlling at least one of reading and writing of data in the storage device 1002 and the auxiliary storage device 1003.); and
one or more processors operably connected to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured (Yoshioka; FIG. 21 [0283] terminal 20 may be physically a computer device including a processor 1001, a storage device 1002, an auxiliary storage device 1003, a communication device 1004,) to allow the device to:
transmit (terminal 20A performs SL transmission to the terminal 20B) a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (SL transmission resource (PSCCH/PSCCH)) to a second UE based on a resource based on a first resource allocation mode (in the resource allocation mode 1) (Yoshioka;
[0067] As illustrated in FIG. 3, in the resource allocation mode 1, an SL transmission resource is allocated to the terminal 20A from the base station 10. That is, as illustrated in FIG. 3, an SL transmission resource (PSCCH/PSCCH) is allocated to the terminal 20A according to a PDCCH (specifically, DCI) received from the base station 10, and the terminal 20A performs SL transmission to the terminal 20B by using the transmission resource);
transmit a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) to the second UE (transmission of a PSSCH ) based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode (resource allocation
mode 1) (Yoshioka; [0172] The sidelink transmission can be performed to satisfy the channel access requirements by performing an LBT at the time of transmission of a PSCCH/PSSCH in the resource allocation mode 1 );
Yoshioka fails to explicitly teach, based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode being not included in a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) active time of the second UE, switching a resource allocation mode from the first resource allocation mode to a resource allocation mode 2.
transmit sidelink data to the second UE based on a resource based on the resource allocation mode 2
wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, based on the resource based on the first resource allocation mode being not included ([0292] SL capability information that it will be active all the time or cannot adopt SL DRX for its transmission.) in a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) active time of the second UE (the peer terminal device will communicate with the UE without adopting SL DRX (i.e. always active)), switching a resource allocation mode from the first resource allocation mode to a resource allocation mode 2 ([0293] switches to mode 2 SL RA) (Zhang; [0291] For example, if the terminal device is currently adopting mode 1 SL resource allocation (RA), the terminal device may further any one or more of the followings: [0292] It informs the peer terminal device via. e.g. the assistance information and/or SL capability information that it will be active all the time or cannot adopt SL DRX for its transmission. Correspondingly the peer terminal device will communicate with the UE without adopting SL DRX (i.e. always active). The peer terminal device may send a PC5 connection release message to the UE if it cannot accept communication without SL DRX); and
transmit sidelink data to the second UE (SL DRX could be adopted after the terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA.) based on a resource based on the resource allocation mode 2 (The terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA) (Zhang; [0293] The terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA, potentially based on an assistance message received from the peer terminal device indicating that the peer terminal device needs to perform communication with SL DRX configured. SL DRX could be adopted after the terminal device switches to mode 2 SL RA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to perform unicast communication with SL DRX (Zhang; [0290]).
Yoshioka-Zhang fails to explicitly teach, wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Freda teaches, wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is determined to be not included in the SL DRX active time (WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity ... changed by Uu activity) (Freda; [0004] The WTRU may receive a set of sidelink DRX parameters that are independent of parameters configured for Uu DRX. The WTRU may receive a scheduled sidelink grant from a network during its Uu active time (i.e., the time when the WTRU actively monitors PDCCH). The WTRU may receive a first DRX configuration associated with Uu and receive a second DRX configuration associated with sidelink DRX. [0005] A WTRU may determine a value of a timer associated with Uu and/or sidelink DRX based on sidelink timing information related to a sidelink transmission. [0006] A WTRU may inform a peer WTRU of its activity behavior on Uu. A WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior which may be impacted or changed by Uu activity behavior. [0096-0102] WTRU may perform SL decoding based on Uu DRX activity behavior, and may modify/update parameters (e.g. timers) related to Uu DRX upon a SL event. For example, a WTRU may reset a timer related to UL scheduling (e.g. existing or new activity timer) upon occurrence of any or a combination of the following events. The WTRU may receive PSCCH/PSCCH with data intended for/decoded by the WTRU. The WTRU may receive a DCI on a PDCCH that indicates a new SL transmission. For example, the WTRU may restart a drx-InactivityTimer if the PDCCH indicates a new UL or DL or SL transmission, [0117])of the second UE based on not receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE (Freda; [0122] A WTRU may inform a peer WTRU or group of peer WTRUs of its activity behavior on Uu such as a change in Uu behavior activity. A WTRU may provide a peer WTRU or group of peer WTRUs with parameters or values related to a DRX state, an indication of events which affect a scheduled period of PDCCH monitoring, and the like. A WTRU may send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior which may be impacted or changed by Uu activity behavior, [0123-0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka-Zhang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Freda in order to send parameters related to sidelink activity behavior changed by Uu activity behavior. (Freda; [0122]).
Regarding claims 2 and 7 Yoshioka-Zhang-Freda teaches, the claims 1 and 6,
Yoshioka-Freda fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first UE operates in a sidelink transmission mode2
Zhang further teaches, wherein the first UE operates in a sidelink transmission mode 2 (Zhang; [0311] the terminal device may keep using the current SL DRX configuration and switches to mode 2 SL RA if mode 1 SL RA is adopted currently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka-Freda to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to perform unicast communication with SL DRX (Zhang; [0290]).
Regarding claims 3 and 8 Yoshioka-Zhang-Freda teaches, the claims 1 and 6,
Yoshioka further teaches wherein the resource based on the first resource allocation mode is allocated from a base station (Yoshioka; [0067] As illustrated in FIG. 3, in the resource allocation mode 1, an SL transmission resource is allocated to the terminal 20A from the base station 10).
Regarding claims 4 and 9 Yoshioka-Zhang-Freda teaches, the claims 1 and 6,
Yoshioka-Freda fails to explicitly teach, wherein the resource based on the resource allocation mode 2 is selected by performing a sensing or resource selection procedure
Zhang further teaches, wherein the resource based on the resource allocation mode 2 is selected by performing a sensing or resource selection procedure (Zhang; [0206] mode 2: The UE autonomously selects sidelink resources from a (pre-)configured sidelink resource pool(s) based on the channel sensing mechanism.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka-Freda to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to perform unicast communication with SL DRX (Zhang; [0290]).
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka-Zhang-Freda as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Bonneville et al. (Bonneville hereafter) (US 20220386198 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 10 Yoshioka-Zhang-Freda teaches, the claims 1 and 6,
Yoshioka-Freda fails to explicitly teach, wherein the resource based on the resource allocation mode 2 is based on a sidelink exceptional pool.
However, in the same field of endeavor Bonneville teaches, wherein the resource based on the resource allocation mode 2 is based on a sidelink exceptional pool (Bonneville; [0045] Direct communications may use radio resources allocated dynamically by a base station (‘mode 1’), or resources to be taken autonomously by a user equipment (UE) corresponding to a respective mobile device from a pool of resources which may be signaled by a base station or pre-configured in the UEs (‘mode 2’)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Yoshioka-Zhang-Freda to include the above recited limitations as taught by Bonneville in order to use fallback link to a destination sidelink to exchange signals (Bonneville; [0049]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/KENNY S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416