DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12-16 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
INDEFINITENESS – “CLOSER TO A CENTER OF THE VEHICLE BODY” WITHOUT A RECITED REFERENCE DIRECTION (CLAIMS 12, 22, 23)
Claim 12 requires that “the contact portion is located at the shaft support portion, or is located closer to a center of the vehicle body than the shaft support portion.” Claim 22 further requires that “the shaft support portion is located closer to a center of the vehicle body than the fastened portion,” and that “the contact portion is located at the shaft support portion,” with claim 23 adding an upward-extending flange at the shaft support portion.
The phrase “closer to a center of the vehicle body” renders claims 12, 22, and 23 indefinite because the claim does not specify the reference direction and/or reference center used to determine “closer.” The vehicle body has multiple potential “centers” (e.g., a width-direction centerline, a geometric centroid, a longitudinal center, etc.), and “closer” depends on the measurement direction and datum. While the specification discusses a vehicle width direction and an inner side direction (see, e.g., the directional discussion in the embodiment describing DX and DXA), the claim language of claim 12 does not expressly anchor “center of the vehicle body” to the width direction, nor does it specify whether “closer” is evaluated in plan view, in a transverse cross-section, or in three-dimensional space. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the limitation are not clear.
Additionally, the alternative “located at the shaft support portion, or … closer … than the shaft support portion” introduces uncertainty as to the intended positional relationship unless the location concept (“at”) is clarified (e.g., coincident with, formed on, positioned adjacent to, or within the same region of the base as the shaft support portion).
INDEFINITENESS – “EXTENSION ASSOCIATION PART,” “IMAGINARY EXTENSION PORTION,” AND “OVERLAPS” (CLAIMS 13-16)
Claim 13 requires, in relevant part, that “the contact portion is provided at an extension association part where the base overlaps with an imaginary extension portion of a direction opposite to an extending direction of the arm portion with respect to the base portion,” and further includes additional location constraints (e.g., closer to a center in the width direction than the fastened portion, and provided at least on a front side or on a rear side of the base). Claim 14 further requires that the contact portion is provided at a part that is both the extension association part and “also a screw extension portion in a direction along the line of the screws.”
The phrases “extension association part,” “imaginary extension portion,” and “overlaps” render claims 13-16 indefinite because the claim does not define, with reasonable certainty, how to construct the “imaginary extension portion,” what geometric entity is being extended (e.g., a centerline of the arm portion, an edge, a surface normal, a link axis, etc.), from what point or datum the extension is generated, and in what view or projection the “overlap” is evaluated. “Overlap” can differ depending on whether it is assessed in plan view, side view, sectional view, or a projection along a particular axis. As written, different interpretations would yield different “extension association parts,” and thus different required locations for the contact portion.
Similarly, claim 14’s “screw extension portion” depends on how the “line of the screws” is defined (e.g., best-fit line through screw centers, a line segment between outermost screws, alignment tolerance), and how the “extension portion” is constructed. Without these clarifications, the boundary of the claimed “part” where the contact portion must be provided is not reasonably certain.
INDEFINITENESS – “DIRECTION PERPENDICULAR TO THE WIDTH DIRECTION” (CLAIM 21)
Claim 21 requires that “a first width of the support member along a width direction of the vehicle body is larger than a second width of the support member along a direction perpendicular to the width direction.”
The phrase “a direction perpendicular to the width direction” renders claim 21 indefinite because there are multiple directions perpendicular to a given direction in three-dimensional space. For a vehicle, both the vehicle front-rear direction and the vehicle up-down direction are perpendicular to the vehicle width direction, and additional perpendicular directions can exist depending on the chosen reference plane. Consequently, the “second width” is not reasonably certain because it depends on which perpendicular direction is selected (e.g., front-rear versus up-down), and the claim does not specify the plane or measurement basis for the width comparison.
INDEFINITENESS – INCONSISTENT / UNCLEAR “INNER END” TERMINOLOGY AND BOUNDARY LOCATION (CLAIM 10)
Claim 9 introduces that “the flat portion of the protection member contacts with an upper surface of an inner end portion of the base.” Claim 10 then recites that “a boundary between the flat portion and the inclination portion of the protection member is located on a width-direction inner side of an inner end of the base that contacts with the flat portion.”
Claim 10 is indefinite because it introduces “an inner end of the base that contacts with the flat portion” without clear correspondence to the previously introduced “inner end portion of the base” (claim 9), and without clarifying what constitutes the “inner end” for purposes of the boundary-location comparison. “Inner end” could be interpreted as a point, an edge, a surface region, or a terminal portion, and the base may have multiple candidate “inner ends” depending on which subcomponent is considered (e.g., coupling portion versus overall base). As written, the location of the “boundary” relative to the “inner end” is not reasonably certain.
PRIOR ART REFERENCES RELIED UPON
Reference 1 (Primary): JP 2006-315459 A (“JP’459”) – vehicle step device including base plate 10, step 5, support arms 61/62, rotating brackets 64/65, support shafts 66/67, and guard means 12 (guard plate 13 and flaps 14).
Reference 2: JP 2014-237364 A (“JP’364”) – vehicle step structure including step plate 1, link arms 45, base plate 33, cover body 35 (including upper surface 35a and inclined surface 35b), and brackets 37/39 connected to vehicle body members including side sill 11 and floor member 29.
Reference 3: US 2013/0154230 A1 (“US’230”) – retractable step apparatus including main housing bracket 9, housing plate 10, side mounting sections 11, upper surface 14 mountable in abutment with the vehicle, step plate 16, arm assembly 18 including arm members 20/22, pivot bracket 46 with aperture 47, and pivot pin 48.
Reference 4: US 2012/0279041 A1 (“US’041”) – side step/running board mounting system including first bracket 12, second bracket 14, isolator assembly 16 including first bushing 18, second bushing 20, sleeve 22, isolator washer 23, and fastener 24 (bolt 42 and washer 44), for vibration/noise isolation between a vehicle structural member and an entry assist member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP’459.
────────────── Claim 17
A vehicle step device to be provided at a vehicle body, the vehicle step device comprising: an arm attached to a vehicle body structure including the vehicle body; and a step attached to the arm, wherein the arm includes a base portion including a penetration hole, and an arm portion extending from the base portion, and is rotatably attached to the vehicle body structure by a support member and a shaft member, the support member is provided directly or indirectly at the vehicle body, the shaft member includes a shaft body portion being attached to the support member through the penetration hole of the arm, and a head portion provided at an end of the shaft body portion, and the head portion and the support member sandwich and hold the base portion of the arm. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 17 UNDER 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) – JP’459
Vehicle step device to be provided at a vehicle body / arm attached to a vehicle body structure / step attached to the arm
JP’459 discloses a vehicle step device (electric step device) installed to a vehicle such that a step 5 is moved between an outward (deployed) position and an inward (retracted) position relative to the vehicle. JP’459 discloses the step 5 as the entry-assist step, and support arms 61 and 62 as arms that support and move the step 5 relative to the vehicle body mounting structure (e.g., via mounting bracket 91 and the installed step frame/structure including frame 51 and associated mounting/fastening structure).
Arm includes base portion with penetration hole; arm portion extending from the base portion
JP’459 discloses each support arm 61 and 62 including a tubular bearing portion 611, 621 (i.e., a base portion) defining a through-hole (penetration hole) that receives the vertical support shafts 66, 67. JP’459 further discloses each support arm including an arm portion 612, 622 extending from the respective tubular bearing portion 611, 621 toward the step 5, thereby meeting the claimed “arm portion extending from the base portion.”
Arm rotatably attached to vehicle body structure by support member and shaft member; support member provided directly or indirectly at the vehicle body
JP’459 discloses the support arms 61/62 being rotatably supported (about vertical axes) relative to the mounting structure by rotating brackets 64 and 65 functioning as support members. JP’459 discloses the rotating brackets 64/65 being part of the installed step support structure that is fixed to the vehicle body (directly or indirectly) via the installation arrangement (including mounting bracket 91 and the installed step frame/structure including frame 51 and associated fastening). Thus, the rotating brackets 64/65 are “provided directly or indirectly at the vehicle body” as claimed.
Shaft member includes shaft body portion attached to the support member through the penetration hole of the arm; head portion at an end; head portion and support member sandwich and hold the base portion of the arm
JP’459 discloses the vertical support shafts 66 and 67 as “shaft members.” Each shaft includes an axial shaft portion 661, 671 (shaft body portion) that passes through the tubular bearing portion 611, 621 (penetration hole) and is supported/retained by the rotating bracket structure (including upper pieces 641/651 and lower pieces 642/652 of rotating brackets 64/65). JP’459 further discloses each shaft 66/67 including a flange portion 662, 672 at an end of the shaft portion 661/671, which constitutes a “head portion” at an end of the shaft body portion. JP’459 discloses the tubular bearing portion 611/621 (base portion of the arm) being held between the rotating bracket structure (support member) and the flange portion 662/672 (head portion), i.e., the head portion and the support member “sandwich and hold” the base portion as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’459 in view of JP’364.
Claims 12-14, 16, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’459 in view of JP’364 and further in view of US’230.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’459 in view of JP’364 and further in view of US’230 and further in view of US’041.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’459 in view of US’230.
I. CLAIMS 1–11 – REJECTION UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 (JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364)
────────────── Claim 1
A vehicle step device comprising: a base attached to a vehicle body; an arm attached to the base; a step assembled with the arm; and a protection member that is arranged on a width-direction inner side of a position of the step in a retracted state and is provided in such a way as to face at least a part of the base, the arm, and the step. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 1 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Base attached to a vehicle body
JP’459 discloses a base structure including base plate 10 forming a foundational mounting component of the step device, installed to the vehicle via vehicle-side mounting structure including mounting bracket 91 and the installed step support structure (including frame 51 and associated fastening). Thus, JP’459 teaches a base (base plate 10) attached to a vehicle body.
Arm attached to the base
JP’459 discloses support arms 61 and 62 (arms) mounted to the base structure via vertical support shafts 66 and 67 cooperating with rotating brackets 64 and 65 (supported by the installed step support structure including base plate 10/frame 51). Thus, JP’459 teaches an arm (61/62) attached to the base.
Step assembled with the arm
JP’459 discloses a step 5 fixed to and supported by the arm system (support arms 61/62 and rotating brackets 64/65), such that actuation rotates the arms and moves the step 5 between retracted and deployed positions. Thus, JP’459 teaches a step assembled with the arm.
Protection member arranged on width-direction inner side of the step position in a retracted state; protection member facing at least part of base, arm, and step
JP’459 discloses guard means 12 including guard plate 13 and flaps 14 fixed to the step device (e.g., via fastening such as bolt/screw 15) to cover and face at least the support arms 61/62 and connecting rod 63 and to form a protective covering adjacent the step mechanism.
JP’364 further teaches a cover body 35 positioned relative to the vehicle in the vehicle width direction, including an arrangement suitable to be on the vehicle-width inner side of the step mechanism/step plate 1 when retracted, and configured to face the step mechanism components. JP’364 also teaches that the cover body 35 is associated with a step mechanism including base plate 33 and link arms 45 supporting the step plate 1 and that the cover body 35 includes surfaces (upper surface 35a and inclined surface 35b) that face the step mechanism components.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide (or configure) the protective covering/guard of JP’459 (guard means 12 / guard plate 13 / flaps 14) in the placement and orientation taught by JP’364 for cover body 35—i.e., arranged on the vehicle-width inner side of the step position in the retracted state—so that the protection member faces at least a part of the base (base plate 10), the arms (61/62), and the step (5), thereby meeting the claimed arrangement and facing relationship.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 1)
It would have been obvious to incorporate the inner-side protective placement/covering concept of JP’364 (cover body 35 positioned and shaped to face step mechanism components in the vehicle-width context) into the step device of JP’459 (which already includes guard means 12) to improve protection of the step mechanism and adjacent vehicle components from intrusion/impact/debris during operation and/or collision-type loading, using a known protective-cover solution in a closely analogous retractable step environment.
────────────── Claim 2
The vehicle step device according to claim 1, wherein the base includes an outer end portion including a part located at an outermost side in a width direction, and the outer end portion is formed as a corner or a projection. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 2 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Base includes an outer end portion at the outermost side in width direction; outer end portion formed as a corner or projection
JP’459 discloses base plate 10 as a plate-like base component having perimeter edges and corners, including an outermost lateral perimeter region when installed on the vehicle. Such a perimeter edge/corner of base plate 10 constitutes an “outer end portion” including a part located at the outermost side in the width direction, and that perimeter geometry inherently forms a “corner.”
JP’364 further teaches a base plate 33 including a side wall 33a and projecting portions 33b/33c, which are explicit examples of an “outer end portion” formed as a projection/corner feature at an outermost widthwise region.
Thus, the combination teaches or renders obvious the claimed outer end portion formed as a corner or projection.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 2)
It would have been obvious to implement the outer-edge projection/corner configuration of JP’364 (side wall 33a / projecting portions 33b/33c) on the base structure of JP’459 (base plate 10) as a routine structural shaping choice for mounting clearance, stiffness, and positional definition at the outer edge of the step device, with predictable results.
────────────── Claim 3
The vehicle step device according to claim 2, wherein the base includes an outer inclination surface being inclined to a lower side from the outer end portion toward a width-direction inner side. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 3 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Base includes an outer inclination surface inclined downward from the outer end portion toward the width-direction inner side
JP’364 teaches providing an inclined surface 35b on the cover body 35, where the inclined surface is configured with a vehicle-width directional relationship and an inclination such that the surface slopes in a down/inboard manner (inclined in a direction that, when installed, corresponds to downward toward the vehicle-width inner side). JP’364 thus teaches the use of a downward/inboard inclined surface in the step device environment.
JP’459 discloses a base plate 10 having an outer end portion (outer edge/corner). While JP’459 does not expressly describe an “outer inclination surface” at that outer end portion, it would have been obvious to modify the outermost region of base plate 10 to include an outwardly-presented inclined surface (analogous to inclined surface 35b) that slopes downward toward the vehicle-width inner side, as a predictable adaptation of the known inclined-surface geometry taught by JP’364.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 3)
It would have been obvious to form an inclined surface at the outer end portion of JP’459’s base plate 10 in the down/inboard direction as taught by JP’364’s inclined surface 35b to (i) deflect contact/impact loads and reduce snagging on obstacles, and (ii) guide relative motion of the step structure under lateral loading in a controlled manner, yielding predictable improvements in durability and clearance without changing the fundamental operation of the retractable step.
────────────── Claim 4
The vehicle step device according to claim 1, wherein the protection member is arranged on a width-direction inner side of a position of the base, and is provided in such a way as to face the base. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 4 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Protection member arranged on width-direction inner side of base position; protection member faces the base
JP’459 discloses guard means 12 including guard plate 13/ flaps 14 mounted adjacent the base plate 10 such that the guard plate 13 is positioned next to (and thus faces) the step mechanism/base region and covers the mechanism.
JP’364 further teaches a cover body 35 placed with a vehicle-width directional positioning relative to the base plate 33, such that the cover body 35 is positioned on a vehicle-width inner side relative to the step plate 1 arrangement and faces the base/step mechanism components (including base plate 33 and arms 45).
Thus, it would have been obvious to arrange the protection member of JP’459 (guard plate 13 / flaps 14) on the vehicle-width inner side of the base plate 10 (base position) and oriented to face the base plate 10, consistent with the inner-side placement and facing relationship taught by JP’364 for cover body 35 relative to base plate 33.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 4)
It would have been obvious to position the protective guard of JP’459 on the inboard side of the base, as taught by JP’364’s inboard cover placement, to improve shielding/protection of inboard-adjacent vehicle components and to provide a predictable physical barrier facing the base/arm/step mechanism, while using the same known cover/guard function in an analogous retractable-step structure.
────────────── Claim 5
The vehicle step device according to claim 1, wherein the protection member is fixed to a frame member of the vehicle body. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 5 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Protection member fixed to a frame member of the vehicle body
JP’459 discloses the protective guard (guard means 12, guard plate 13, flaps 14) fixed to the installed step device structure (e.g., base plate 10), which is installed to the vehicle body.
JP’364 more specifically teaches attachment of protective/cover structure to a vehicle body member: cover body 35 is associated with brackets 37/39, and upper bracket 39 is attached to a floor member 29 (a vehicle body structural member) while also connected to the cover body 35, thereby fixing the protective cover body 35 to a vehicle body frame/structural member (floor member 29).
Thus, it would have been obvious to fix the protection member of the JP’459 device to a vehicle body structural/frame member in the manner taught by JP’364 (e.g., by coupling the protection member to a floor/underbody structural member analogous to floor member 29 via a bracket), thereby meeting the claimed fixation to a frame member.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 5)
It would have been obvious to secure the protection member to a relatively rigid vehicle structural member (as taught by JP’364 via floor member 29 and bracket 39) to enhance protective effectiveness by reducing movement of the protection member under load, providing a predictable improvement in resistance to intrusion/impact while retaining the known protective cover function.
────────────── Claim 6
The vehicle step device according to claim 1, wherein the protection member is formed in such a way as to contact with the base. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 6 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Protection member formed to contact the base
JP’459 discloses guard plate 13 fixed adjacent base plate 10 (including via fastener 15), with the guard plate 13 including flange portions 13a and mounted in direct physical adjacency to the base region, such that the guard plate 13 contacts the base plate 10 and/or contacts portions fixed to base plate 10.
JP’364 likewise discloses cover body 35 mounted relative to base plate 33, with the cover body configured as a physical cover in direct adjacency to the base structure.
Thus, the combination teaches a protection member formed to contact the base.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 6)
It would have been obvious to configure the protection member to contact the base to constrain relative movement, stabilize the cover/guard position, and reduce vibration/deflection, which are predictable results consistent with the guard/cover function shown by JP’459 and JP’364.
────────────── Claim 7
The vehicle step device according to claim 1, wherein an upper end of the protection member is located on an upper side of the base, and a lower end of the protection member is located on a lower side of an upper surface of the step in a retracted state. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 7 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Upper end of protection member above base
JP’459 discloses guard plate 13 including upper flange portions 13a positioned above the base plate 10 plane/edge region, thereby providing an “upper end” located on an upper side of the base.
Lower end of protection member below the upper surface of the step in the retracted state
JP’459 discloses the guard means 12 (guard plate 13 and flaps 14) extending downward and laterally to cover the mechanism adjacent the step 5. Given the step 5 is moved to an inward/retracted state under the vehicle, the guard structure is positioned such that its lower region is below the upper surface of the step 5 when stored, thereby meeting the claimed relationship.
JP’364 further teaches a cover body 35 spanning a vertical extent relative to base plate 33 and step plate 1 such that cover surfaces (35a/35b) and cover edges define a protective envelope around step mechanism components, consistent with having an upper region above the base and a lower region extending below the step upper surface when retracted.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 7)
It would have been obvious to dimension the protection member to extend above the base and below the step upper surface (in the retracted state) to ensure effective shielding/physical blocking across the vertical span of the mechanism, which is a predictable geometric selection consistent with the covering/guarding purpose in JP’459 and the protective enveloping taught by JP’364.
────────────── Claim 8
The vehicle step device according to claim 7, wherein the protection member includes an inclination portion being inclined to a lower side toward a width-direction inner side, in a state of being fixed to the vehicle body. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 8 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Protection member includes an inclination portion inclined down toward width-direction inner side when fixed to vehicle body
JP’364 explicitly teaches an inclined surface 35b on cover body 35, where the inclined surface is configured (in the installed state) such that the surface slopes downward in a direction corresponding to the vehicle-width inner side. Thus, JP’364 teaches a protection/cover member having an “inclination portion” of the claimed directional inclination.
JP’459 discloses guard plate 13 (protection member) as a protective plate member that can be shaped with flanges and faces the step mechanism. It would have been obvious to form at least a portion of guard plate 13 as an inclined portion in accordance with the inclined surface 35b teaching of JP’364, thereby meeting the claim.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 8)
It would have been obvious to incorporate a down/inboard inclined portion into the guard plate of JP’459 as taught by JP’364’s inclined surface 35b to provide a predictable guidance/deflection surface for intruding objects or moving components under lateral loading, improving protective performance without altering the basic retract/deploy function.
────────────── Claim 9
The vehicle step device according to claim 8, wherein the protection member includes a flat portion that is located on a width-direction outer side of the inclination portion and is connected to the inclination portion, the flat portion extends horizontally in a state where the protection member is fixed to the vehicle body, and the flat portion of the protection member contacts with an upper surface of an inner end portion of the base. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 9 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Protection member includes a flat portion on width-direction outer side of the inclination portion, connected thereto; flat portion extends horizontally when fixed
JP’459 discloses guard plate 13 including flange portions 13a that extend horizontally (flat portions) and are connected to the main plate portion. JP’364 discloses cover body 35 having an upper surface 35a (flat/horizontal) adjacent and connected to inclined surface 35b, which jointly teaches a flat portion connected to an inclined portion.
Flat portion contacts an upper surface of an inner end portion of the base
JP’459 discloses guard plate 13 fixed relative to base plate 10 (e.g., via fastener 15), such that the guard plate structure (including flange 13a) is in contacting relation with the base structure. JP’364 likewise teaches cover body 35 mounted on/adjacent base plate 33 and connected via brackets, establishing contact relationships between protective member structure and the base region.
Accordingly, in the combined device, the flat portion (e.g., flange 13a / surface analogous to 35a) is arranged to contact the upper surface of the base inner region (inner end portion), as a routine positional selection to stabilize and support the protective plate while maintaining clearance for step motion.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 9)
It would have been obvious to provide a horizontal flat portion connected to an inclined portion (as taught by JP’364’s 35a/35b geometry) on the protective plate of JP’459 and to position that flat portion to contact the base inner-region upper surface to stabilize the protection member and provide a controlled support/stop interface, yielding predictable improvements in rigidity and controlled interaction under load.
────────────── Claim 10
The vehicle step device according to claim 9, wherein a boundary between the flat portion and the inclination portion of the protection member is located on a width-direction inner side of an inner end of the base that contacts with the flat portion. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 10 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Boundary between flat portion and inclination portion located width-direction inner side of the base inner end that contacts the flat portion
JP’364 teaches a transition between a flat surface and an inclined surface on a protective cover (upper surface 35a transitioning to inclined surface 35b). JP’459 teaches a protective guard plate 13 with connected flat flange portions 13a and a main plate portion.
It would have been obvious to locate the transition (boundary) between the flat portion and the inclined portion at an inboard position relative to the base inner-end contact region, as a predictable geometric arrangement to (i) permit an initial flat sliding/support region before the inclined guidance region engages, and (ii) manage load transfer progression during inward motion, consistent with the protective guidance objectives demonstrated by the cover geometry in JP’364.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 10)
It would have been obvious to place the flat-to-incline boundary further inboard than the base’s flat-contact endpoint to provide a predictable “staging” region that delays engagement of the inclined guidance surface until after initial movement/energy absorption, thereby reducing peak force transfer and improving guidance behavior during intrusion/impact-type events.
────────────── Claim 11
The vehicle step device according to claim 9, wherein the base includes an inner inclination surface facing the protection member in a width direction, and the inner inclination surface is inclined to a lower side toward a width-direction inner side. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 11 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364
Base includes an inner inclination surface facing the protection member; inclined down toward width-direction inner side
JP’459 teaches a base structure (base plate 10) adjacent and facing a protection member (guard plate 13). JP’364 teaches the use of an inclined surface 35b in the step device environment and teaches width-directional orientation of inclined surfaces.
It would have been obvious to provide an inward-facing inclined surface on the base structure of JP’459 (base plate 10) facing the protection member (guard plate 13), with the inclined surface sloping downward toward the vehicle-width inner side, as a predictable complementary guiding/deflection interface consistent with the inclined surface teaching of JP’364.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 11)
It would have been obvious to shape the base with an inward-facing down/inboard inclined surface to cooperate with the protection member for guidance/deflection and to reduce snagging/interference during relative movement under load, using the known inclined-surface approach of JP’364 to obtain predictable improvements in controlled displacement and contact behavior.
II. CLAIMS 12–16, 22–23 – REJECTION UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 (JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230; WITH CLAIM 15 FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’041)
────────────── Claim 12
A vehicle step device to be provided at a vehicle body, the vehicle step device comprising: a base attached to the vehicle body; an arm attached to the base; and a step attached to the arm, wherein the arm includes a base portion and an arm portion extending from the base portion, the base includes a fastened portion being fastened to the vehicle body, a contact portion coming into contact against a lower surface of the vehicle body, and a shaft support portion supporting a shaft member of the arm, and the contact portion is located at the shaft support portion, or is located closer to a center of the vehicle body than the shaft support portion. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 12 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230
Base attached to vehicle body; arm attached to base; step attached to arm
JP’459 teaches a base structure including base plate 10 installed to the vehicle body via the mounting arrangement (including mounting bracket 91 and the installed step support structure including frame 51). JP’459 teaches arms 61/62 attached to the base structure via shafts 66/67 and rotating brackets 64/65, and a step 5 attached to and supported by the arm system.
Arm includes base portion and arm portion extending from the base portion
JP’459 teaches each support arm 61/62 including tubular bearing portion 611/621 (base portion) and an arm portion 612/622 extending from the tubular bearing portion toward the step 5.
Base includes fastened portion fastened to vehicle body
JP’459 teaches the base/installed support structure being fastened to the vehicle body via mounting bracket 91 and associated fastening arrangement. US’230 further teaches a base/housing plate 10 having side mounting sections 11 with apertures for fasteners, explicitly evidencing “fastened portions” of a base that are fastened to a vehicle.
Base includes contact portion contacting a lower surface of the vehicle body
US’230 explicitly teaches a contact/abutment portion: housing plate 10 includes an upper surface 14 that is “mountable in abutment” with the vehicle (truck) construction. This teaches a “contact portion” coming into contact against a surface of the vehicle body when installed. In the installed underbody context, this abutment relationship corresponds to contacting a lower/underbody surface region of the vehicle structure.
Base includes shaft support portion supporting a shaft member of the arm
JP’459 teaches shaft support structure for the arm via rotating brackets 64/65 and vertical shafts 66/67 supporting the arm base portions 611/621. US’230 similarly teaches pivot bracket 46 with aperture 47 and pivot pin 48 pivotally supporting the arms (arm members 20/22), evidencing a base including a shaft support portion supporting a shaft member.
Contact portion located at shaft support portion, or closer to vehicle center than shaft support portion
US’230 teaches the abutment surface (upper surface 14 of housing plate 10) integrated into the base plate at/adjacent the region where pivot support is provided (via pivot bracket 46 / pivot pin 48 mounted to housing plate 10). Thus, US’230 teaches a contact portion located at least at the same base structure region as the shaft support, or in a position closer to the vehicle centerline than certain fastened portions (side mounting sections 11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to incorporate the contact/abutment portion arrangement of US’230 (upper surface 14 on housing plate 10 positioned to abut the vehicle structure) into the base structure of JP’459 (base plate 10 / installed support structure) such that the base includes both (i) fastened portions for bolting to the vehicle body and (ii) a contact portion arranged at/near the shaft support region to provide additional support/abutment, thereby meeting the claimed base composition and contact-portion positioning.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 12)
It would have been obvious to incorporate the abutment/contact mounting concept of US’230 (upper surface 14 on housing plate 10 mountable in abutment with vehicle structure) into the base structure of JP’459 to provide a predictable additional load path from the step/arm into the vehicle body and to stabilize the assembly under user loading, reducing flexing and improving durability, while retaining the known retractable step architecture.
────────────── Claim 13
The vehicle step device according to claim 12, wherein, in an attached state where the vehicle step device is attached to the vehicle body, when the arm is arranged at a deployed position, the contact portion is provided at an extension association part where the base overlaps with an imaginary extension portion of a direction opposite to an extending direction of the arm portion with respect to the base portion, and the contact portion is arranged closer to a center of the vehicle body in a direction along a width direction of the vehicle body than the fastened portion, and is provided at least on a front side or on a rear side of the base. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 13 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230
Attached state; arm deployed position
JP’459 teaches an installed (attached) state of the step device and movement between retracted and deployed positions of the step 5 via rotation of arms 61/62. Thus, JP’459 teaches an arm deployed position.
Contact portion at an extension association part overlapping an imaginary extension opposite the arm portion extension direction
US’230 teaches a housing plate 10 with an abutment upper surface 14 integrated into the base structure relative to the pivot support region for the arms (e.g., pivot bracket 46/pin 48). In a deployed condition, the arm members (20/22 in US’230; 61/62 in JP’459) extend outward from a base region; the “imaginary extension portion” opposite the extending direction corresponds to the region on the base behind/inside the pivot. US’230’s abutment/contact surface 14 is provided on the base plate in this base region such that it overlaps the base region that would align with an extension of the arm direction opposite the outward extension (i.e., a support/abutment area located on the base behind the arm’s outward extension direction).
Contact portion closer to vehicle center than fastened portion; contact portion on front or rear side of base
US’230 teaches fastened portions on side mounting sections 11 (typically laterally/outboard positioned relative to other base features), while the abutment surface 14 is positioned on the base plate 10 and can be located more inboard relative to the outermost mounting holes depending on installation geometry. US’230 further teaches an elongated base plate with features distributed along the base length, enabling a contact portion on a forward and/or rearward region of the base plate depending on placement.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to position the contact portion (as taught by US’230 surface 14) on the base of JP’459 at a location overlapping the “reverse extension” region relative to the arm extension direction to provide a stabilizing abutment under load at deployed position, and to place it more inboard than the fastened portion(s) to create a direct inboard load path, with the contact portion positioned on a forward and/or rearward region of the base for structural support, thereby meeting claim 13.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 13)
It would have been obvious to locate the abutment/contact portion on the base in the region aligned with the reverse-extension of the arm (opposite the outward arm extension) because this places the contact portion along a predictable reaction/load path for resisting the moment applied to the base when a user steps on the deployed step, thereby reducing stress on fasteners and pivot supports; US’230’s abutment surface 14 evidences the known use of base-plate abutment areas for support in retractable step assemblies.
────────────── Claim 14
The vehicle step device according to claim 13, wherein the base includes the fastened portion being fastened to the vehicle body by screws arranged in a line, and the contact portion is provided at a part that is the extension association part and is also a screw extension portion in a direction along the line of the screws. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 14 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230
Fastened portion fastened by screws arranged in a line
US’230 teaches side mounting sections 11 of housing plate 10 having multiple fastener apertures arranged along the mounting section, which inherently provides a line/row of screws/bolts for fastening the base to the vehicle body.
Contact portion provided at extension association part and also at screw extension portion along the screw line
US’230 teaches the abutment/contact surface 14 on the housing plate 10 positioned on the plate region relative to the mounting sections 11. Given the plate-like geometry, it would have been an obvious matter of placement to align the contact portion (abutment surface 14) along an extension of the line of mounting screws in order to place the contact portion within a direct load-transfer region corresponding to the mounting row, particularly when also positioning the contact portion in the reverse-extension association region relative to the arm deployment direction as addressed above.
Thus, claim 14 is rendered obvious by JP’459 as modified in view of US’230.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 14)
It would have been obvious to arrange mounting screws in a line on the base for manufacturing simplicity and load distribution, and further to align the contact portion along an extension of that screw line to create a predictable and direct structural load path between the abutment/contact location and the primary fastened region, improving stiffness and reducing local bending of the base plate under step loading.
────────────── Claim 15
The vehicle step device according to claim 13, further comprising a cushioning member, wherein the cushioning member is provided between the contact portion and a contacted part against which the contact portion comes into contact in the vehicle body. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 15 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’041
Cushioning member between contact portion and contacted part
US’041 teaches an isolator assembly 16 placed between vehicle mounting structure and an entry assist member mounting structure, including first bushing 18, second bushing 20, isolator washer 23, sleeve 22, and fastener 24 (bolt 42 and washer 44), thereby providing resilient cushioning/isolating material at an interface between a bracket (e.g., first bracket 12 attached to a vehicle structural member) and an associated contacting structure to reduce vibration/noise and stress concentration.
US’230 teaches a contact/abutment portion (upper surface 14) that contacts the vehicle structure. It would have been obvious to provide a cushioning/isolating member at that contact interface (between the contact portion and the contacted part of the vehicle body) using the known isolator/cushioning approach of US’041.
Accordingly, claim 15 is obvious.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 15)
It would have been obvious to include a cushioning member between the base’s contact portion and the vehicle contacted surface to reduce vibration noise, prevent surface damage, and accommodate manufacturing tolerances, as evidenced by US’041’s use of isolator assembly components (e.g., bushings 18/20 and isolator washer 23) in entry-assist mounting systems.
────────────── Claim 16
The vehicle step device according to claim 13, further comprising: a support member supporting the arm; and a shaft member being attached to the support member, wherein the base portion of the arm includes a penetration hole through which the shaft member is inserted, the support member is attached to the base, the shaft member includes a shaft body portion being attached to the support member through the penetration hole of the arm, and a head portion provided at an end of the shaft body portion, and the base portion of the arm is sandwiched and held by the head portion and the support member. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 16 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230
Support member supporting the arm; support member attached to base
JP’459 teaches rotating brackets 64/65 functioning as support members supporting arms 61/62, with rotating brackets 64/65 mounted as part of the base/installed support structure including base plate 10 and associated frame 51.
Base portion includes penetration hole; shaft member inserted through penetration hole
JP’459 teaches tubular bearing portions 611/621 of arms 61/62 defining penetration holes, with vertical shafts 66/67 inserted through the bearing holes.
Shaft member attached to support member through penetration hole; head portion at end; base portion sandwiched by head and support member
JP’459 teaches shafts 66/67 including shaft portions 661/671 and flange portions 662/672 (head portions). JP’459 further teaches the arm base portions (bearing portions 611/621) held between the support bracket structure (upper/lower pieces 641/642 etc.) and the flange (head) portion, thereby sandwiching/holding the arm base portion.
Thus, claim 16 is taught by JP’459, and remains obvious in the combined rejection.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 16)
It would have been obvious to employ the known pivot support structure of JP’459 (support member/shaft/head arrangement using rotating brackets 64/65 and shafts 66/67 with flange heads 662/672) in the claimed step device mounting arrangement because it is a proven, compact, and robust method for rotatably supporting the arm while retaining the arm base portion, with predictable assembly and strength benefits.
────────────── Claim 22
The vehicle step device according to claim 12, wherein the shaft support portion is located closer to a center of the vehicle body than the fastened portion, and the contact portion is located at the shaft support portion. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 22 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230
Shaft support portion closer to vehicle center than fastened portion
US’230 teaches side mounting sections 11 (fastened portions) and pivot support structure (pivot bracket 46 / aperture 47 / pivot pin 48) integrated into the housing plate 10; in typical underbody packaging, the pivot support region is positioned inward relative to outboard mounting edges. Thus, US’230 teaches a layout where a pivot/shaft support portion can be located more inboard (closer to vehicle centerline) than at least one of the fastened portions.
Contact portion located at shaft support portion
US’230 teaches upper surface 14 (contact/abutment portion) on the base plate 10 at/adjacent the pivot support region (the base region where pivot bracket 46 and pivot pin 48 are installed). Thus, the contact portion is located at the shaft support portion region.
Applying this layout to JP’459’s base and pivot arrangement renders claim 22 obvious.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 22)
It would have been obvious to position the shaft support region inboard of an outboard fastened region, and to locate the contact/abutment portion at the shaft support region, to create a direct support path from arm loads into the vehicle body near the pivot and reduce bending moments on the base plate and fasteners, as evidenced by US’230’s integration of abutment surface 14 with pivot-support structure.
────────────── Claim 23
The vehicle step device according to claim 22, wherein a flange portion is provided at the shaft support portion, the flange portion extending upward. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 23 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF JP’364 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF US’230
Flange portion provided at shaft support portion, extending upward
JP’459 teaches rotating bracket structures 64/65 with upper pieces 641/651 and lower pieces 642/652 forming a bracket arrangement around the shaft support region (shafts 66/67). This bracket arrangement includes upwardly extending bracket portions (upper bracket piece portions) at the shaft support region, constituting an “upward extending flange portion” at the shaft support portion.
US’230 further teaches pivot bracket 46 as a U-shaped bracket structure at the pivot/shaft support region, evidencing an upwardly extending flange-like structure integrated into the shaft support portion of a base/housing plate.
Thus, the claimed upward extending flange portion at the shaft support portion is taught/suggested by the combined teachings.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 23)
It would have been obvious to provide an upwardly extending flange at the shaft support portion (as exemplified by JP’459’s bracket structure and US’230’s pivot bracket 46) to increase stiffness and provide a robust, well-defined support geometry for the shaft member, improving resistance to torsion and bending at the pivot region with predictable structural benefits.
III. CLAIM 21 – REJECTION UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 (JP’459 IN VIEW OF US’230)
────────────── Claim 21
The vehicle step device according to claim 17, wherein, in an attached state where the vehicle step device is attached directly or indirectly to the vehicle body, a first width of the support member along a width direction of the vehicle body is larger than a second width of the support member along a direction perpendicular to the width direction. ──────────────
ANALYSIS OF CLAIM 21 – JP’459 IN VIEW OF US’230
Claim 21 depends from claim 17, which is anticipated by JP’459 as set forth above, including the “support member” corresponding to the rotating bracket structures 64/65 (including upper/lower pieces 641/642 and 651/652) provided at the vehicle body structure.
First/width relationship of the support member
JP’459 does not expressly recite a dimensional comparison between a width of the rotating bracket support member along the vehicle width direction versus a perpendicular direction.
US’230 teaches a plate-like base/support structure (housing bracket 9 / housing plate 10 and associated pivot-support structure) having an elongated lateral dimension (vehicle width direction in an installed state) relative to a perpendicular dimension, as is typical for underbody mounting brackets designed to distribute load and resist torsion. US’230 thus evidences the known practice of forming support bracket structures with a larger “width-direction” dimension than the perpendicular dimension.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to configure the support member of JP’459 (rotating bracket 64/65) such that its width along the vehicle width direction is larger than its width along a perpendicular direction, to improve support rigidity and load distribution, consistent with the bracket geometry approach evidenced by US’230.
MOTIVATION / RATIONALE (CLAIM 21)
It would have been obvious to select a support-member plate geometry having a larger width in the vehicle width direction than in the perpendicular direction (as evidenced by US’230’s bracket/plate mounting structures) to increase resistance to torsional loads and improve mounting stability, providing predictable strength and durability improvements for the pivot support member of JP’459.
IV. CLAIMS 18–20
Claims 18–20 are canceled.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615