DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments in the After Final Response filed May 11, 2026 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, prosecution of the application has been reopened.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are examined.
Claim 8 is cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “opening in the carrier layer” in claim 1, in interpreted as “an opening or a cut-out in the carrier layer”.
The limitation “free end of the second portion” in claim 1, is interpreted absent a specific definition as an area on the “second portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasquez (US 2019/0387619 A1), as applied to claim 1, in view of Tan (US 11039531 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Vasquez discloses a method for manufacturing a shape-retaining non-flat device (¶ [0009] – a method for a flat device to be transformed into a non-flat device), comprising:
providing a flat device laminate 20 (¶ [0085] – flat mechanically deformable device 20) comprising:
a first layer 25 (¶ [0085] – 20 comprises electrically insulating layer 25) of thermoformable material (¶ [0009, 0025] – 20 is a thermo-formable flat device);
a carrier layer 10 (¶ [0109] – stress relief layer 10, mechanically attached to 20; ¶ [0048] - FIG. 9 depicts a combination of a device 20 in FIG. 2(a) and a stress relief layer 10 in FIG. 5) having:
a first portion (Fig. 9 depicts combination of 20 and 10 and a first portion of 10) arranged to extend along a periphery of a device region of the flat device laminate (Fig. 9 depicts a first portion arranged to extend along a periphery of a device region of 20) in which the shape retaining non-flat device is to be formed, wherein the first portion defines a frame (FIG. 9 depict first portion of 10 defining a “frame”) enclosing an opening in the carrier layer (FIG. 8, ¶ [0109] – second stress relief island 12),
Vasquez Fig. 9
a second portion (Fig. 9 depicts a second portion comprising second component island 302) protruding from the first portion into the opening in the device region to define a free end (¶ [0085] – via 23, 24) in the device region.
Vasquez Fig. 1 and 9
conductive traces 221 (¶ [0085] – electrical interconnections 221) arranged at least on the second portion of the carrier layer (Fig. 9 depicts 221 as on the second portion); and
a circuit element 21 (¶ [0085] – 20 comprises a component 21) arranged at the free end of the second portion (¶ [0090] – 302 for supporting 21; Fig. 1 and 9 depict 21 at a free end of the second portion) and electrically connected to the conductive traces (¶ [0090] – electric coupling between 21 and 221);
deforming the device region of the flat device laminate into the shape-retaining non-flat device by thermoforming the flat device laminate (¶ [0095, 0131] - resulting platform is then transformed into a non-flat (2-D) shape by means of a thermoforming process)
Vasquez discloses wherein a layer is non-stretchable (¶ [0084] – 10 is a flexible layer; ¶ [0067] – in the context of the present disclosure, flexible means non-stiff, non-rigid, able to bend without breaking, but not stretchable; deformable, but does not elongate) such that a respective shortest distance, along the second portion of the carrier layer, between the circuit element and the first portion, prior to and after the step of deforming the flat device laminate, are equal (as the flexible structure is not stretchable and does not elongate, the respective shortest distance between 21 and the first portion, prior to and after the step of deforming, are implicitly equal/same). Vasquez further discloses the stress relief layer may be a thermoplastic layer such as for example a layer comprising polyethylene terephthalate (¶ [0014]).
Vasquez does not disclose the carrier layer is non-stretchable such that a respective shortest distance, along the second portion of the carrier layer, between the circuit element and the first portion, prior to and after the step of deforming the flat device laminate, are equal.
Analogous art Tan discloses a method of manufacturing an in-mold electronics device including providing a stretchable substrate, stacking the stretchable substrate onto a thermoplastic layer to form a stack-up, thermoforming the stack-up to from a molded assembly (c. 3, L 1-42). A stretchable substrate is a flexible, stretchable material having a printable surface (c. 4, L 27-34) and a thermoplastic layer 40 is stacked with the stretchable substrate (c. 5, L 20-21).
Tan further discloses disclose the carrier layer (c. 5, L 20-21 – thermoplastic layer 30) is non-stretchable (c. 5, L 26-31 – 30 is a thermoformable plastic sheet; thermoformable plastic sheet can be a relatively rigid, non-stretchable structure, example materials include formable PET (polyethylene terephthalate)) such that a respective shortest distance, along the second portion of the carrier layer (annotated FIG. 3 depicts a second portion in the light grey portion), between the circuit element (c. 6, L 24-27 – electrical component 64) and the first portion (annotated FIG. 3 depicts a first portion in the dark grey portion), prior to and after the step of deforming the flat device laminate, are equal (as the thermoformable plastic sheet is relatively rigid and not stretchable, the respective shortest distance, prior to and after the step of deforming, are implicitly equal/same).
Tan Fig. 3
Vasquez and Tan disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to forming deformable devices with electric circuits. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the rigid, non-stretchable thermoplastic sheet comprising polyethylene terephthalate in Tan to the stress relief layer comprising polyethylene terephthalate in Vasquez to achieve a final product IME device having deeper drawn thermoformed plastic features compared to currently available processes, allow the construction of localized stretchable areas on rigid molded assembly, and use of a stretchable substrate to conform to very challenging 3D shapes (c. 6, L 48-62).
Regarding claim 2, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further discloses the flat device laminate further comprises a second layer (¶ [0089] – 20 comprises patterned supporting layer 30) of thermoformable material (¶ [0092] – thermo-formable layer 30) and wherein the carrier layer 10, the conductive traces 221 and the circuit element 21 are embedded between the first 25 and second layer 30 (¶ [0084] – covers at least an area corresponding to the location of at least one component 21 of the circuit 20 and at least an area corresponding to the location of an electrical interconnection 221; therefore 10, 221, and 21 are embedded between 25 and 30).
Regarding claim 3, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further does not explicitly disclose the second portion is adapted to extend along a sidewall of the shape-retaining non-flat device after the thermoforming.
Tan discloses the second portion is adapted to extend along a sidewall of the shape-retaining non-flat device after the thermoforming (Fig. 3 depicts a final product IME device utilizing the method, where a second portion extends along a sidewall).
Tan Fig. 3
Vasquez and Tan disclose a method with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the forming of the final product IME device with a second portion extending along a sidewall in Tan to the method in Vasquez to achieve a final product IME device having deeper drawn thermoformed plastic features compared to currently available processes, allow the construction of localized stretchable areas on rigid molded assembly, and use of a stretchable substrate to conform to very challenging 3D shapes (c. 6, L 48-62).
Regarding claim 4, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further discloses the first portion extends along an entire periphery of the device region of the flat device laminate to define a frame enclosing the device region (Fig. 9 depicts a first portion which extends along an entire periphery of the device region of 20 to define a frame enclosing the device region).
Regarding claim 5, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further discloses wherein the step of deforming the flat device laminate with a mold such that the second portion is positioned over an opening in the mold (¶ [0132] – fixed boundary condition, platform is clamped on the mold in the thermoforming tool) and the first portion extends along a periphery of the opening of the mold (as the mold is clamped to the platform in a fixed boundary condition, the platform would extend along a periphery of the opening in the mold). Fig. 13 depicts an example of the final non-flat device with first surface part 61 and second surface part 62 (¶ [0121]), where a first portion extends along an outer periphery. Therefore, the mold would be shaped with an opening for the second portion and an periphery of the opening for the first portion.
Vasquez Fig. 13
Furthermore, Tan discloses a thermoforming mold 82 and overmold 72 (c. 6, L 22-31) and as depicted in FIG. 3 deforms a second portion over an opening of the mold and the first portion extends along a periphery of the opening.
Regarding claim 7, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further discloses wherein the non-flat device has a shape of a semi-sphere (¶ [0121] – 61, 62 having a spherical shape; Fig. 13 depicts a semi-sphere shape).
Regarding claim 9, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further discloses wherein the circuit element comprises one or more discrete electrical components electrically connected to the conductive traces (¶ [0090] – electric coupling between 21 and 221).
Regarding claim 10, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 9. Vasquez further discloses wherein the circuit element comprises a light emitting diode (¶ [0087] – 21 comprises a photonic component, an electro-optical element; ¶ [0092] – liquid crystal display).
Regarding claim 11, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further discloses wherein circuit element comprises two or more electrical components interconnected to form a sub-circuit electrically connected to the conductive traces (¶ [0090] – electric coupling between 21 and 221; Fig. 9 depicts eight electric couplings between 21 and 221). Vasquez also discloses the circuit may comprise a plurality of components (¶ [0087]) and may comprise at least two components and at least one electrical interconnection between two components (¶ [0097]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 1. Vasquez further discloses wherein the flat device laminate comprises a plurality of device regions (¶ [0121] - final non-flat device with first surface part 61 and second surface part 62; therefore the flat device laminate before thermoforming comprises a plurality of device regions corresponding to 61, 62) and the carrier layer 10 comprises a plurality of first portions and a plurality of second portions (Fig. 13 depicts a plurality of first portions around 61, 62 and a plurality of second portions corresponding to 61, 62), wherein each first portion is arranged to extend along a periphery of a respective device region (Fig. 13 depicts the first portions extends along a periphery of 61, 62) and wherein the step of deforming comprises deforming the plurality of device regions of the flat device laminate into a respective shape-retaining non-flat device by thermoforming (Fig. 13 depicts the final non-flat device after thermoforming, where 61, 62 are deformed into respective shape-retaining non-flat device).
Vasquez Fig. 13
Vasquez discloses the circuit may comprise a plurality of components (¶ [0087]).
Modified Vasquez does not explicitly disclose each second portion protrudes from a respective first portion into a respective device region to define a free end. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would, depending on the determined shape and design of the final non-flat device, select multiple second portions of supporting layer 10 with respective components 21 that protrude from the first portion into a respective device region to define a free end, such as components at 61 and 62 of the final non-flat device corresponding to the areas in the flat deformable device before deforming, as an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144 (VI)(C). Therefore the plurality of second portions of 10 would protrude to define a respective free end due to the multiple components 21.
Claim(s) 6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasquez (US 2019/0387619 A1) in view of Tan (US 11039531 B1), as applied to claim 1 and 12, in view of Staudinger (WO 2015/035970 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 5. Vasquez discloses lines 71 and 72 indicate a central axis of 61 and 62, respectively (¶ [0121]). Vasquez does not explicitly disclose the second portion extends past a centerline of the opening of the mold by a distance such that the free end of the second portion is positioned at a bottom of the mold after the step of deforming.
Analogous art Staudinger discloses a method of thermoforming for embedding the embedding element thermoformed product, comprising steps of introducing the film into a forming station with an open, movable mold; inserting the embedding element to prepare for embedding into a space between two film layer, closing the mold, thereby thermoforming the film to form the thermoformed product while embedding the embedding element in the plastic (¶ [0017], [0027]). The embedding element comprises an information component comprising an oscillating circuit (¶ [0017]).
Staudinger discloses the second portion extends past a centerline of the opening of the mold by a distance such that the free end of the second portion is positioned at a bottom of the mold after the step of deforming (¶ [0041] – embedding elements 14 inserted into the cavities 10 of the lower tool 5; Fig. 4 depicts 14 at the bottom of the mold). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange 21 in the second portion at the central axes of 61 and 62 and positioned at a bottom of the mold after the step of deforming as an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144 (VI)(C).
Vasquez and Staudinger disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied embedding element at the bottom of the mold in Staudinger to position the component on the central axis of the surface parts in modified Vasquez as an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 13, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 12. Vasquez does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the device regions are deformed simultaneously.
Analogous art Staudinger discloses a method of thermoforming for embedding the embedding element thermoformed product, comprising steps of introducing the film into a forming station with an open, movable mold; inserting the embedding element to prepare for embedding into a space between two film layer, closing the mold, thereby thermoforming the film to form the thermoformed product while embedding the embedding element in the plastic (¶ [0017], [0027]). The embedding element comprises an information component comprising an oscillating circuit (¶ [0017]).
Staudinger discloses each of the device regions are deformed simultaneously (¶ [0027] – several embedding elements are embedded simultaneously in several thermoforming products, in several cavities of the movable tool). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would know that deforming simultaneously would increase production and reduce time.
Vasquez and Staudinger disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the embedding simultaneously in several thermoforming products in Staudinger to the deforming in modified Vasquez to increase production and reduce time.
Regarding claim 14, modified Vasquez discloses the method of claim 12. Vasquez does not disclose after the step of deforming, cutting away non-device regions of the flat device laminate.
Staudinger discloses after the step of deforming, cutting away non-device regions of the flat device laminate (¶ [0038] – cut or punch through, a film web along the contours of manufactured cup-shaped products).
Vasquez and Staudinger disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the cutting though a film web along the contours of the products in Staudinger after deforming in modified Vasquez to increase production and reduce time to form the final product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754