DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 24, 2025 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madbouly et al (Pub Num 2020/0028399, herein referred to as Madbouly). Madbouly discloses a lead wire (Figs 3-7) for an electrical motor (shown at 415). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Madbouly discloses a lead wire (411, Fig 4) that may be a solid conductor (Paragraph 74) and a solid insulation (Table 1) capable of being extruded about the conductor (Paragraphs 122, 125, & 156, which states the MLE (motor lead wires) may be PEEK (Paragraph 122 & PFA (Paragraph 125)), which may be extruded (Paragraph 156)), wherein the solid insulation may be comprise a thermoplastic material selected from polyaryletherketone (PAEK, Paragraph 22, i.e. PEEK), wherein the lead wire (411) is configured to connect a winding (as shown in Fig 7, Paragraph 104) of the electrical motor (shown at 415, Fig 4) to an external power source (shown as 401, Fig 4). With respect to claim 6, Madbouly discloses that the solid insulation may have a thickness of 40-75 mils (i.e. 58-130 mils overlaps claimed range). With respect to claim 7, Madbouly discloses a method comprising a conductor (Paragraph 74) and a extruding (Paragraph 156) a single layer of solid insulation (Table 1) about the conductor (Paragraphs 122, 125, & 156, which states the MLE (motor lead wires) may be PEEK (Paragraph 122 & PFA (Paragraph 125)), to form a lead wire (411, Fig 4), wherein the solid insulation may be comprise a thermoplastic material selected from polyaryletherketone (PAEK, Paragraph 22, i.e. PEEK), and connecting the lead wire (411) is configured to connect a winding (as shown in Fig 7, Paragraph 104) of the electrical motor (shown at 415, Fig 4) to an external power source (shown as 401, Fig 4). With respect to claim 8, Madbouly discloses that the solid conductor (Paragraph 74) may be a copper conductor (Paragraphs 71-72). With respect to claim 13, Madbouly discloses a stator (Figs 6-7) for an electronic submersible pump motor (600), wherein the stator (Figs 6-7) comprises a housing (660), a plurality of laminations (680) forming a lamination stack (Fig 6) within the housing (660), slots (702, Fig 7) extending axially through the lamination stack (781, Fig 7), windings (734) extending axial through the slots (702), an end turn area at the top end of the lamination stack (located at 667, Fig 6) in which the windings (670) extend generally circumferentially (Fig 6), encapsulation material (742, Fig 7) surrounding the windings (734) in the end turn area (Fig 7), and a plurality of lead wires (732) coupled to the windings (734) and extending upward from the end turn area through the encapsulation material (742) via exit portions to connect the windings (734) to an external power source (Paragraph 103-104) and a solid insulation (Table 1) capable of being extruded about the conductor (Paragraphs 122, 125, & 156, which states the MLE (motor lead wires) may be PEEK (Paragraph 122 & PFA (Paragraph 125)), which may be extruded (Paragraph 156)), wherein the solid insulation may be comprise a thermoplastic material selected from polyaryletherketone (PAEK, Paragraph 22, i.e. PEEK). With respect to claim 16-18, Madbouly discloses that the insulation (134) may be a semicrystalline thermoplastic (i.e. PEK, PEEK, PEKEKK, Paragraph 22). With respect to claim 19, Madbouly discloses that the solid insulation (Table 1) has a thickness in a range of 70 to 75 mils (Table 1), the solid copper conductor is a #1 American Wire Gauge (AWG), #2 AWG, or #4 AWG solid copper conductor (Paragraph 71-72, & 74, Table 1), wherein the stator (Fig 6) further comprises a cover (Fig 6) positioned at the top end of the lamination stack (680), wherein the cover (Fig 6) comprising a hollow tube portion (Fig 6) and a flange portion (Fig 6) projecting radially outward from an end of the hollow tube portion (Fig 6), wherein the hollow tube portion (Fig 6) at least partially defines a rotor space (Fig 6), the plurality of lead wires (644, as shown in Fig 6) exits the encapsulation material through the cover via the exit points (Fig 6), elastomer seals (i.e. bushings, Paragraph 81), may be positioned between each lead wire (514-1, 514-2, 514-3) of the plurality of lead wires (514-1, 514-2, 514-3) and the cover at the exit points (507-1, 507-2, 507-3), wherein the lead wires of the plurality of lead wires (514-1, 514-2, 514-3) are positioned to align with female terminals (516-1, 516-2, 516-3) for a motor lead extension connection (Paragraph 81), wherein the encapsulation material (742, as shown in Fig 7) comprises cured polymeric material (Paragraph 105), and the cover (Fig 6) is configured to provide an in-situ mold for the polymeric material during curing (Paragraph 105).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13 and 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose lead wires for forming stators for usage with electrical submersible pumps.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
April 3, 2026