DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group VI, claims 103 and 126, in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged. Newly added claims 127-141 read on the elected invention. Claims 59 and 103 have been amended.
Claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 16, 21, 25, 30-36, 40-41, 45, 49, 53, 55, 57, 59, 63-67, 75, 79, 86, 95, and 119 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2026.
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2022/076774 (filed 9/21/2022). Acknowledgement is made of the applicant’s claim for benefit of provisional applications 63/321517 (filed 3/18/2022) and 63/246543 (filed 9/21/2021).
Specification
The use of the terms ImageXpress, Lipofectamine, Lenti-X, Image Lab, Quick-DNA, Sera-Mag, AMPure, and Amicon, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 103, 126, 129-132, and 135-141 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20210139918 A1), of record in IDS filed 11/20/2024, in view of Cao et al. (Clinical Translational Medicine, 2021), of record in IDS filed 11/20/2024.
Regarding claims 103, 129, 131, 135-136, and 140: Chen et al. teach fusion proteins for silencing gene expression that may be associated with a disease (See ¶0026 and 0084). The fusion protein is designed to add DNA methylation and/or repressive chromatin marks to the target nucleic acid for gene silencing that is inheritable across subsequent cell divisions (which reads on “heritable epigenetic change in the cells”) (See ¶0087). The fusion protein can be a catalytically inactive Class II CRISPR endonuclease fused to a KRAB domain, DNMT3A, and DNMT3L (which read on “a first transcription repressor domain”, “a second transcription repressor domain”, and “a third transcription repressor domain”) (See ¶0026, 0094, and 0103 and fig. 1). The fusion protein is directed to a target site in the genome using a sgRNA with which it is complexed (which reads on “a guide ribonucleic acid… capable of forming a ribonucleoprotein… with the fusion protein, wherein the gRNA comprises a targeting sequence complementary to a target nucleic acid sequence”) (See ¶0026 and 0094). The fusion protein can comprise a nuclear localization signal and one or more linkers (See ¶0107 and fig. 1). Cells can be transfected with mRNA encoding the fusion protein (See ¶0253). Chen et al. do not teach the CRISPR endonuclease of the fusion protein as CasX.
Cao et al. teach the Class II CRISPR-Cas effector protein dCasX fused to a KRAB repressor domain for inhibiting target gene transcription (See fig. 1). The fusion protein inhibited transcription in vitro and tumor growth in vivo (See fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fusion protein of Chen et al. to comprise dCasX as the endonuclease. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Cao et al. teach that repressor domain-linked dCasX can inhibit transcription of targeted genes (See fig. 1) and because Chen teach that the endonuclease can be a catalytically inactive Class II CRISPR endonuclease (See ¶0094 and 0103). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because multiple repressor domains could be readily appended to dCasX in the same manner as dCas9.
Regarding claim 126: Following the discussion of claims 103, 129, 131, 135-136, and 140, Chen et al. teach that the nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein can be delivered to cells using lipid nanoparticles (See ¶0074).
Regarding claim 130: Following the discussion of claims 103, 129, 131, 135-136, and 140, Chen et al. teach the sequence of the DNMT3A domain as being identical to the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO 59450 (which reads on “a DNMT3A catalytic domain”) (See ¶0013, SEQ ID NO 26, and alignment below (first 120 aa displayed)).
Regarding claim 132: Following the discussion of claims 103, 129, 131, 135-136, and 140, Chen et al. teach the sequence of DNMT3L as comprising a sequence identical to instant SEQ ID NO 59625 (which reads on “a DNMT3L interaction domain”) (See ¶0013, SEQ ID NO 28, and alignment below (first 120 aa displayed)).
Regarding claim 137: Following the discussion of claims 103, 129, 131, 135-136, and 140, Chen et al. teaches a fusion protein comprising a catalytically inactive Cas; KRAB, DNMT3A, and DMNT3L domains, multiple linkers, and multiple nuclear localization signals (See fig. 1). Chen et al. does not expressly teach the claimed order of elements. However, because arrangement of parts is considered to be an obvious modification, the combined teachings of Chen et al. and Cao et al. render the claimed invention obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI).
Regarding claims 138-139 and 141: Following the discussion of claims 103, 129, 131, 135-136, and 140, Chen et al., modified by Cao et al., render obvious the use of dCasX fused to multiple transcription repression domains but do not expressly teach the efficacy of gene silencing. However, Chen et al. demonstrate that dCas9 fused to KRAB, DNMT3A, and DMNT3L domains can suppress target gene transcription in cells by over 40% at 40 days post-treatment (See fig. 1E), and Cao et al. show that a dCasX-KRAB fusion can inhibit mRNA expression by approximately 50% in cells at two days post-treatment and oncogene-associated tumor cell proliferation in vivo over several weeks (which reads on “clinically-relevant endpoint”) (See fig. 1D and fig. 2G-J). Based on the findings of Chen et al. and Cao et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the dCas9 fusion protein comprising KRAB, DNMT3A, and DMNT3L domains rendered obvious by the prior art teachings would exhibit repression of target gene transcription by at least 10% and for at least 8 h, as required by the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 103 and 126-137 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12553037 in view of Cao et al. (Clinical Translational Medicine, 2021), of record.
Regarding claims 103 and 127-128: Patented claim 1 recites a gene repressor system comprising: a) an RNA encoding a fusion protein, the fusion protein comprising: i) a catalytically-dead Cas12e (dCasX) protein, wherein the dCasX protein comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NOS: 18, 25, 59355, 59356, 59357 or 59358; ii) a first transcription repressor domain comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 57755, or a sequence having at least 95% identity thereto; iii) a second transcription repressor domain; and iv) a third transcription repressor domain, and b) a guide ribonucleic acid (gRNA) capable of forming ribonucleoprotein (RNP) with the fusion protein, wherein the gRNA comprises a targeting sequence complementary to a target nucleic acid sequence of a gene targeted for repression, silencing, or downregulation. The patented claim does not recite administration of the gene repressor system for treating a subject.
Cao et al. teach the use of a dCasX protein fused to a transcriptional repressor domain for inhibiting tumor cell growth (which reads on “administering a therapeutically-effective dose”) in mice (See fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the gene repressor system of patented claim 1 to treat a subject having a disorder such as cancer. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Cao et al. demonstrate that that a fusion protein comprising dCasX and a transcriptional repressor domain can inhibit tumor cell growth in vivo when targeted to an oncogene (See fig. 1-2). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because the patented gene repressor system could be readily administered in the same manner taught by Cao et al. The patented claim in combination with the teachings of Cao et al. therefore renders obvious the instant claim.
Regarding claim 126: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 127-128, patented claim 13 recites a lipid nanoparticle comprising the gene repressor system of patented claim 1. The patented claims, in view of Cao et al., render obvious the instant claim.
Regarding claims 129-130: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 127-128, patented claim 2 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 1, wherein the second transcription repressor domain comprises a DNMT3 A catalytic domain (DNMT3A CD). Patented claim 3 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 2, wherein the DNTM3A CD comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 59450, or a sequence having at least 95% identity thereto. The patented claims, in view of Cao et al., render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claims 131-132: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 127-128, patented claim 4 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 1, wherein the third transcription repressor domain comprises a DNMT3L interaction domain (DNMT3L ID). Patented claim 5 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 4, wherein the DNMT3L ID comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 59625, or a sequence having at least 95% identity thereto. The patented claims, in view of Cao et al., render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claims 133-134: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 127-128, patented claim 6 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 1, wherein the fusion protein comprises a fourth transcription repressor domain, and wherein the fourth transcription repressor domain comprises an ATRX-DNMT3-DNMT3L (ADD) domain. Patented claim 7 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 6, wherein the C-terminus of the ADD domain is linked to the N-terminus of the second transcription repressor domain, and wherein the second transcription repressor domain comprises a DNMT3A catalytic domain. The patented claims, in view of Cao et al., render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claim 135: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 127-128, patented claim 10 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 1, wherein the fusion protein comprises one or more nuclear localization signals. The patented claims, in view of Cao et al., render obvious the instant claim.
Regarding claim 136: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 127-128, patented claim 11 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 1, wherein the fusion protein comprises one or more linker sequences. The patented claims, in view of Cao et al., render obvious the instant claim.
Regarding claim 137: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 127-128, patented claim 12 recites the gene repressor system of patented claim 1, wherein the fusion protein comprises, from N to C terminus: a) a nuclear localization signal (NLS), the second transcription repressor domain, the third transcription repressor domain, the dCasX protein, the first transcription repressor domain and a second NLS; or b) an NLS, the second transcription repressor domain, the third transcription repressor domain, the first transcription repressor domain, the dCasX protein, and a second NLS, wherein the first transcription repressor domain, the second transcription repressor domain, the third transcription repressor domain, and the dCasX protein are separated by linker sequences, and wherein: i) the second transcription repressor domain comprises a DNMT3A catalytic domain (DNMT3A CD); and ii) the third transcription repressor domain comprises a DNMT3L interaction domain (DNMT3L ID). The patented claims, in view of Cao et al., render obvious the instant claim.
Claims 103 and 126-135 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 31, 33-35, 37-40, 47-49, and 52 of co-pending Application No. 19/532260 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Regarding claims 103 and 133: Co-pending claim 31 recites a gene repressor system comprising: a) a fusion protein comprising: i) a catalytically-dead CRISPR protein; ii) a first transcription repressor domain; iii) a second transcription repressor domain; iv) a third transcription repressor domain; and v) an ATRX-DNMT3-DNMT3L (ADD) domain, and b) a guide ribonucleic acid (gRNA) capable of forming a ribonucleoprotein (RNP) with the fusion protein, wherein the gRNA comprises a targeting sequence complementary to a target nucleic acid sequence of a gene targeted for repression, silencing, or downregulation. Co-pending claim 47 recites the nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein of the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 31. Co-pending claim 52 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the nucleic acid of co-pending claim 47 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, which suggests administration of the gene repressor system in a subject in need thereof. The combined limitations of the co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claim 126: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 133, co-pending claim 48 recites the nucleic acid of co-pending claim 47, wherein the nucleic acid sequence is mRNA. Co-pending claim 49 recites a lipid nanoparticle comprising the nucleic acid of co-pending claim 48.
Regarding claim 127: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 133, co-pending claim 39 recites the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 31, wherein the catalytically-dead CRISPR protein comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOS: 17-36 and 59353-59358, or a sequence having at least about 70% sequence identity thereto. The co-pending claims render obvious the instant claim.
Regarding claim 128: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 133, co-pending claim 33 recites the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 31, wherein the first transcription domain comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 57746-59342, or a sequence having at least about 70% sequence identity thereto. The co-pending claims render obvious the instant claim.
Regarding claims 129-130: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 133, co-pending claim 34 recites the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 31, wherein the second transcription repressor domain is a catalytic domain of DNMT3A (DNMT3A CD). Co-pending claim 35 recites the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 34, wherein the DNMT3A CD comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 33625-57543 and 59450, or a sequence having at least about 70% sequence identity thereto. The co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claims 131-132: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 133, co-pending claim 37 recites the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 31, wherein the third transcription repressor domain is a DNMT3L interaction domain (DNMT3L ID). Co-pending claim 38 recites the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 37, wherein the DNMT3L ID comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 59625, or a sequence having at least about 70% sequence identity thereto. The co-pending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claim 135: Following the discussion of claims 103 and 133, co-pending claim 40 recites the gene repressor system of co-pending claim 31, wherein the fusion protein further comprises one or more nuclear localization signals (NLS). The co-pending claims render obvious the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER S SPENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 1633