DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 501a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 25 and 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 20, the phrase “between the upper surface and the lower surface” lacks antecedent basis as the wear plate has multiple upper surfaces and lower surfaces (each set directed to respectively first, second and third bodies).
For claim 25, the use of the term “may” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if this is an optional limitation, intended use or something else. For the purpose of examination it is assumed to be optional.
For claim 29, there is no antecedent basis for “said wear plate”. Further, it is also unclear if applicant is positively claiming further wear plates or if they are merely intended use. It is assumed to be intended use as the claim recites “said wear plate being arrangeable adjacent… a further wear plate” and arrangeable is an intended use recitation.
For claim 32, it is unclear if applicant is positively claiming further wear plates or if they are merely intended use. It is assumed to be intended use as the claim recites “a wear plate which is arrangeable adjacent… a further wear plate” and arrangeable is an intended use recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 9,914,129 to Clint et al (Clint).
Concerning claim 17, Clint discloses, in the figure reproduced below, a wear plate (2) for a rotor for a comminution apparatus, said rotor comprising a frame including an upper plate, a lower plate and wall elements extending between said upper plate and said lower plate along a longitudinal direction, said wear plate being arrangeable adjacent to at least one of said wall elements and/or a further wear plate and extends between said upper plate and said lower plate along the longitudinal direction, said wear plate comprising:
a first body (E1) which extends along a first general direction (E4) and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a first abutment surface (E7) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the first body;
a second body (E2) which extends along a second general direction differing from the first general direction (E5) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a second abutment surface (E8) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the second body; and
a third body (E3) which extends along a third general direction differing from the first general direction (E6) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a third abutment surface (E9) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the third body,
wherein the first abutment surface (E7), the second abutment surface (E8) and the third abutment surface (E9) of the wear plate (2) are configured to abut a first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate, a second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate and a third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate, respectively, such that, in use, forming a self-locking mechanism due to rotational force without additional fixing means (as they are capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 18, Clint discloses at least one of the first (E1), second (E2) and third (E3) abutment surface of the wear plate (2) is configured to be arranged radially inside at least one of the first, second and third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 19, Clint discloses, in the figure reproduced below, the upper surface and the lower surface of the respective body are flat surfaces.
Concerning claim 20, Clint discloses the wear plate (2) further comprises a recess (11) extending between the upper surface and the lower surface, the recess (11) being configured to receive a tip of metal, wherein the tip of metal has greater hardness than the wear plate.
Concerning claim 21, Clint discloses the first abutment surface is configured to abut the first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a radial direction and the second abutment surface is configured to abut the second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 22, Clint discloses the third abutment surface (E3) is configured to abut the third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in the radial direction and/or the circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 23, Clint discloses the wear plate is segmented.
Concerning claim 24, Clint discloses the wear plate comprises at least a first element (at E2), a second element (at E1) and a third element (at E3) being arranged one after another in said order along the longitudinal direction.
Concerning claim 25, Clint discloses the first element and the third element may swap positions (as this is an optional limitation it need not do so, however, Clint is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 26, Clint discloses the wear plate (2) is a rotor tip.
Concerning claim 27, Clint discloses the wear plate (2) is a tip carrier wear plate.
Concerning claim 28, Clint discloses the wear plate (2) is a cavity wear plate.
Claim(s) 17-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0163400 to Dallimore et al (Dallimore).
Concerning claim 17, Dallimore discloses, in the figure reproduced below, a wear plate (50) for a rotor for a comminution apparatus, said rotor comprising a frame including an upper plate, a lower plate and wall elements extending between said upper plate and said lower plate along a longitudinal direction, said wear plate being arrangeable adjacent to at least one of said wall elements and/or a further wear plate and extends between said upper plate and said lower plate along the longitudinal direction, said wear plate comprising:
a first body (52) which extends along a first general direction (E14 in the figure reproduced below) and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a first abutment surface (E10 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the first body;
a second body (60) which extends along a second general direction differing from the first general direction (E15 in the figure reproduced below) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a second abutment surface (E11 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the second body; and
a third body (56 or 58) which extends along a third general direction differing from the first general direction (E16 in the figure reproduced below) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a third abutment surface (E12 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the third body,
wherein the first abutment surface (E10), the second abutment surface (E11) and the third abutment surface (E12) of the wear plate (50) are configured to abut a first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate, a second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate and a third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate, respectively, such that, in use, forming a self-locking mechanism due to rotational force without additional fixing means (as they are capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 18, Dallimore discloses at least one of the first (52), second (60) and third (56 or 58) abutment surface of the wear plate (50) is configured to be arranged radially inside at least one of the first, second and third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 19, Dallimore discloses, in the figure reproduced below, the upper surface and the lower surface of the respective body are flat surfaces.
Concerning claim 20, Dallimore discloses the wear plate (50) further comprises a recess (54) extending between the upper surface and the lower surface, the recess (54) being configured to receive a tip of metal, wherein the tip of metal has greater hardness than the wear plate.
Concerning claim 21, Dallimore discloses the first abutment surface is configured to abut the first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a radial direction and the second abutment surface is configured to abut the second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 22, Dallimore discloses the third abutment surface (E12) is configured to abut the third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in the radial direction and/or the circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 23, Dallimore discloses the wear plate is segmented.
Concerning claim 24, Dallimore discloses the wear plate comprises at least a first element (at 52), a second element (at 60) and a third element (at 62) being arranged one after another in said order along the longitudinal direction.
Concerning claim 25, Dallimore discloses the first element and the third element may swap positions (as this is an optional limitation it need not do so, however, Clint is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 26, Dallimore discloses the wear plate (50) is a rotor tip.
Concerning claim 27, Dallimore discloses the wear plate (50) is a tip carrier wear plate.
Concerning claim 28, Dallimore discloses the wear plate (50) is a cavity wear plate.
Concerning claim 29, Dallimore discloses a rotor for a comminution apparatus comprising:
a frame (1) including an upper plate (2), a lower plate (4) and wall elements (20) extending between said upper plate and said lower plate along a longitudinal direction, said wear plate being arrangeable adjacent to at least one of said wall elements and/or a further wear plate and extends between said upper plate and said lower plate along the longitudinal direction, said wear plate (50) comprising:
a first body (52) which extends along a first general direction (E14 in the figure reproduced below) and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a first abutment surface (E10 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the first body;
a second body (60) which extends along a second general direction differing from the first general direction (E15 in the figure reproduced below) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a second abutment surface (E11 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the second body; and
a third body (56 or 58) which extends along a third general direction differing from the first general direction (E16 in the figure reproduced below) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a third abutment surface (E12 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the third body,
wherein the first abutment surface (E10), the second abutment surface (E11) and the third abutment surface (E12) of the wear plate (50) are configured to abut a first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate, a second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate and a third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate, respectively, such that, in use, forming a self-locking mechanism due to rotational force without additional fixing means (as they are capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 30, Dallimore discloses the first abutment surface is configured to abut the first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a radial direction and the second abutment surface is configured to abut the second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 31, Dallimore discloses the third abutment surface (E12) is configured to abut the third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in the radial direction and/or the circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 32, Dallimore discloses a comminution apparatus for crushing or grinding hard materials, said comminution apparatus comprising:
a rotor (1) having a frame including an upper plate (2), a lower plate (4) and wall elements (20) extending between said upper plate and said lower plate along a longitudinal direction; and
a wear plate (50) which is arrangeable adjacent to at least one of said wall elements (20) and/or a further wear plate and extends between said upper plate and said lower plate along the longitudinal direction, said wear plate (50) comprising:
a first body (52) which extends along a first general direction (E14 in the figure reproduced below) and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a first abutment surface (E10 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the first body;
a second body (60) which extends along a second general direction differing from the first general direction (E15 in the figure reproduced below) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a second abutment surface (E11 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the second body; and
a third body (56 or 58) which extends along a third general direction differing from the first general direction (E16 in the figure reproduced below) of the first body and has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a third abutment surface (E12 in the figure reproduced below) extending at least partially between said upper and lower surfaces of the third body,
wherein the first abutment surface (E10), the second abutment surface (E11) and the third abutment surface (E12) of the wear plate (50) are configured to abut a first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate, a second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate and a third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate,
Concerning claim 33, Dallimore discloses the first abutment surface is configured to abut the first surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a radial direction and the second abutment surface is configured to abut the second surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in a circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Concerning claim 34, Dallimore discloses the third abutment surface (E12) is configured to abut the third surface of the rotor or of the further wear plate which provides for keeping the wear plate in position in the radial direction and/or the circumferential direction (as it is capable of doing so).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 9,623,418 discloses a similar apparatus as Dallimore above. U.S. Patent No. 6,554,215 discloses a similar apparatus and wear plate to applicant’s claimed invention
/Matthew Katcoff/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725
01/29/2025