DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 9/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 6-21 remain pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pilgrim US 2014/0124218 (hereinafter Pilgrim).
Re. Cl. 1, Pilgrim discloses: A hydraulic workover unit (Fig. 1), comprising: a work platform (11, Fig. 1); a pair of side towers (103, Fig. 1) extending above a jacking table assembly (see Fig. 1, 111, 109) relative to a vertical axis, the pair of side towers positioned such that one side tower is on either side of a jacking table relative to a lateral axis (117, Fig. 1-2) ; and the jacking table assembly disposed adjacent to the work platform (see Fig. 1-2), wherein the jacking table assembly comprises the jacking table and a plurality of adjustable legs (133, Fig. 1), each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises comprising a plurality of telescopic cylinders that provide variable jacking capacity to adjust a position of the jacking table relative to the work platform (see Fig. 1, and Paragraph 0020, 0026); and a frame (105, Fig. 1) that surrounds and supports the jacking table (see Fig. 1), the frame configured to contact and slide along the pair of side towers during movement of the jacking table to block movement of the jacking table along the lateral axis (Paragraph 0019).
Re. Cl. 4, Pilgrim discloses: the jacking table comprises an opening (see Fig. 2, opening through 117) configured to support a slip configured to selectively grip and hold a tubular during tripping operations (see 121, Fig. 1-2 and 4a-b).
Re. Cl. 6, Pilgrim discloses: the jacking table assembly is configured to adjust the position of the jacking table relative to the work platform and the pair of side towers (Paragraph 0020, 0026).
Re. Cl. 7, Pilgrim discloses: the work platform comprises an interface configured to support a tool (see Fig. 2, configured to support a tool in the same manner as 113, 115).
Re. Cl. 8, Pilgrim discloses: the tool comprises an iron roughneck (see Fig. 2 and 4a, shown as supporting 117).
Re. Cl. 9, Pilgrim discloses: a tool crane (see 45, Fig. 2) configured to move the tool between the work platform and the jacking table (see Fig. 1-3, the crane is configured to be used as recited in the claimed intended use language).
Re. Cl. 10, Pilgrim discloses: a controller (control system, Paragraph 0028) configured to provide control signals to: instruct a slip supported on the jacking table to engage a tubular (Paragraph 0028, Lines 2-4);while the slip is engaged with the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to extend to move the jacking table from an initial position to an end position; in response to reaching the end position, instruct the slip to release the tubular; and while the slip is released from the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to retract to return the jacking table from the end position to the initial position (see Paragraph 0028, by disclosing the control system capable of controlling the listed functions of the rig, the controller is configured to perform the claimed functions in the Examiner’s position).
Re. Cl. 11, Pilgrim discloses: the controller is configured to provide additional control signals to: in response to returning to the initial position, instruct the slip to engage the tubular; and while the slip is engaged with the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to extend to move the jacking table from the initial position to an intermediate position to place a joint of the tubular above the jacking table along a vertical axis (see Paragraph 0028, by disclosing the control system capable of controlling the listed functions of the rig, the controller is configured to perform the claimed functions in the Examiner’s position). .
Re. Cl. 12, Pilgrim discloses: the controller is configured to provide further additional control signals to: instruct a tool crane to move an iron roughneck toward the tubular; and instruct the iron roughneck to break out the joint (see Paragraph 0028, by disclosing the control system capable of controlling the listed functions of the rig, the controller is configured to perform the claimed functions in the Examiner’s position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilgrim in view of Alford US 2017/0211340 (hereinafter Alford).
Re. Cl. 16, Pilgrim discloses: A method of operating a hydraulic workover unit (see Fig. 1-4b), the method comprising: extending a first cylinder (see cylinder of 109, Fig. 1) of a plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a first jacking capacity that moves a jacking table over a first distance (Paragraph 0026); and contacting and sliding a frame (105, Fig. 1; Paragraph 0019), that surrounds and supports the jacking table (see Fig. 1, surrounding and supporting 117), along a pair of side towers (103, Fig. 1), that are positioned on either side of the jacking table relative to a lateral axis and that extend above the jacking table relative to a vertical axis (see Fig. 1), during movement of the jacking table to block movement of the jacking table along the lateral axis (see Fig. 1-2).
Re. Cl. 18, Pilgrim discloses: engaging a tubular with a slip supported on the jacking table of the hydraulic workover unit as the jacking table moves over the first distance and the second distance to facilitate tripping operations (see Fig. 4-4b; Paragraph 0030).
Re. Cl. 19, Pilgrim discloses: using the hydraulic workover unit to carry out tripping operations (Paragraph 0040), milling operations, or both.
Re. Cls. 2-3 and 16-17, Pilgrim does not disclose each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a first telescopic cylinder and a second telescopic cylinder as at least a portion of the plurality of telescopic cylinders, the first telescopic cylinder is configured to provide a first jacking capacity to move the jacking table over a first distance, and the second telescopic cylinder is configured to provide a second jacking capacity to move the jacking table over a second distance (Cl. 2), each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a third telescopic cylinder configured to move the jacking table over a third distance (Cl. 3), extending the first cylinder and a second cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a second jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a second distance (Cl. 16), extending the first cylinder, the second cylinder, and a third cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a third jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a third distance (Cl. 17). Alford discloses a vertically adjustable jacking table assembly (Fig. 5) which includes leg assemblies (61, 62, 63 Fig. 6c-d) which includes a first telescopic cylinder (61, Fig. 6c-d), a second telescopic cylinder (62, Fig. 6c-d) and a third telescopic cylinder (63, Fig. 6d) configured to move the jacking table over a third distance (see Fig. 6d) and extending the first cylinder, second cylinder and a third cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a third jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a third distance (see Fig. 6d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pilgrim device to have three telescoping cylinders as disclosed by Alford with reasonable expectation of success since Alford states that such a modification provides a three stage extension which can be selectively activated as necessary based on weight and pressure requirements (Paragraph 0050). Further, the additional cylinder will provide for further travel and height adjustment.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilgrim in view of Alford as applied to claims 2-3 and 16-7 above, and further in view of Davies US 4208158 (hereinafter Davies).
Re. Cl. 20, the combination of Pilgrim in view of Alford does not disclose engaging an installation frame with one or more rails disposed on a drill floor of a drilling rig; positioning a work platform on the installation frame; positioning a base skid that supports a jacking table assembly with the jacking table and the plurality of telescopic cylinders on the installation frame; and sliding the installation frame with the work platform and the base skid along the one or more rails to position the base skid vertically above a rotary table relative to a wellbore. Davies discloses a method of operating a hydraulic workover unit (see Fig. 8), the method comprising: extending a first cylinder (104a, Fig. 8) of a plurality of telescopic cylinders (104s, Fig. 8) to provide a first jacking capacity that moves a jacking table (106, Fig. 8) over a first distance (see Fig. 8); and extending the first cylinder and a second cylinder (104a, 104b, Fig. 8) of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a second jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a second distance (see Fig. 8); engaging an installation frame (T, Fig. 1) with one or more rails (26, 28, Fig. 1) disposed on a drill floor of a drilling rig (see Fig. 1); positioning a work platform (80, Fig. 1) on the installation frame; positioning a base skid (46a, 46b, 48a, 48b, Fig. 1) that supports a jacking table assembly (J, Fig. 1) with the jacking table and the plurality of telescopic cylinders on the installation frame (see Fig. 1); and sliding the installation frame with the work platform and the base skid along the one or more rails to position the base skid vertically above a rotary table relative to a wellbore (Col. 5, Lines 30-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pilgrim in view of Alford device to include the installation frame of Davis with reasonable expectation of success to enable movement to permit alignment over any well service opening (Col. 4, Lines 64-67).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilgrim in view of Davies in view of Alford.
Re. Cl. 13, Pilgrim discloses: A drilling system (Fig. 1-4b), comprising: a hydraulic workover unit (Fig. 1) configured to be installed on a drilling rig (see Fig. 1, using 10, the unit is configured to be installed on a drilling rig), wherein the hydraulic workover unit comprises: a base skid (10, Fig. 1); a work platform (111, Fig. 1) disposed adjacent to the base skid; a jacking table (117, Fig. 1); a pair of side towers (103, Fig. 1) disposed on the base skid (see Fig. 1), such that one side tower is positioned on either side of the jacking table relative to a lateral axis and the pair of side towers extends above the jacking table relative to a vertical axis (see Fig. 1); a frame (105, Fig. 1) that surrounds and supports the jacking table (see Fig. 1), the frame configured to contact and slide along the pair of side towers during movement of the jacking table to block movement of the jacking table along a lateral axis (Paragraph 0026; and a plurality of adjustable legs (109, Fig. 1), wherein each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a plurality of telescopic cylinders that provide variable jacking capacity to adjust a position of the jacking table relative to the base skid (Paragraph 0020, 0026) to facilitate tripping a tubular into the wellbore, out of the wellbore, or both (Paragraph 0030).
Re. Cl. 14, Pilgrim discloses: the work platform comprises an interface configured to support an iron roughneck (see Fig. 4b).
Re. Cls. 13 and 15, Pilgrim does not disclose a drilling rig configured to drill a wellbore; each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a plurality of telescopic cylinders (Cl. 13) or the plurality of telescopic cylinders provide a first jacking capacity via extension of a first cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders and a second jacking capacity via extension of the first cylinder and a second cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to thereby provide the variable jacking capacity (Cl. 15). Alford discloses a vertically adjustable jacking table assembly (Fig. 5) which includes leg assemblies (61, 62, 63 Fig. 6c-d) which includes a first telescopic cylinder (61, Fig. 6c-d), a second telescopic cylinder (62, Fig. 6c-d) and a third telescopic cylinder (63, Fig. 6d) configured to move the jacking table over a third distance (see Fig. 6d) and extending the first cylinder, second cylinder and a third cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a third jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a third distance (see Fig. 6d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pilgrim device to have three telescoping cylinders as disclosed by Alford with reasonable expectation of success since Alford states that such a modification provides a three stage extension which can be selectively activated as necessary based on weight and pressure requirements (Paragraph 0050). Further, the additional cylinder will provide for further travel and height adjustment.
Re. Cl. 13, Pilgrim in view of Alford does not disclose a drilling rig configured to drill a wellbore. Davies discloses a drilling system (Fig. 1), comprising: a drilling rig (D, Fig. 1) configured to drill a wellbore; and a hydraulic workover unit (R, Fig. 1) configured to be installed on the drilling rig (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pilgrim in view of Alford device to include to be mounted on the drilling rig as disclosed by Davis with reasonable expectation of success since Davies states that such a modification is typical on an offshore platform that can be movable disposed about the center line of numerous wells (Col. 1, Lines 9-12).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilgrim in view of Streety US 9249634 (hereinafter Streety).
Re. Cl. 21, Pilgrim does not disclose the plurality of telescopic cylinders provides a total jacking capacity of over 22.5 feet from an initial position of the jacking table. Streety discloses an adjustable platform which includes telescopic cylinders (26a-d and 24a-d, Fig. 3a) that provide adjustable jacking capacity (see Fig. 3a) wherein a total jacking capacity of over 22.5 feet from an initial position of the jacking table (Col. 2, Lines 17-19 and Lines 60-63; by having length of about 20 feet each, the total adjustment would be over 22.5 feet in the Examiner’s position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the telescoping cylinders of Pilgrim to have the lengths as disclosed by Streety with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bryant US 2013/0145718, Crain US 5467833 and Gupta US 10214970 disclose other known workover units presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632