DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 13, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davies US 4208158 (hereinafter Davies).
Re. Cl. 1, Davies discloses: A hydraulic workover unit (Fig. 1), comprising: a work platform (80, Fig. 1); and a jacking table assembly (J, Fig. 8) disposed adjacent to the work platform (see Fig. 8), wherein the jacking table assembly comprises a jacking table (106, Fig. 8) and a plurality of adjustable legs (104, Fig. 8-11), and each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a plurality of telescopic cylinders (104a, 104b, Fig. 8-11) that provide variable jacking capacity to adjust a position of the jacking table relative to the work platform (see Fig. 8).
Re. Cl. 2, Davies discloses: each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a first telescopic cylinder (104a, Fig. 8) and a second telescopic cylinder (104b, Fig. 8) as at least a portion of the plurality of telescopic cylinders (see Fig. 8), the first telescopic cylinder is configured to provide a first jacking capacity to move the jacking table over a first distance, and the second telescopic cylinder is configured to provide a second jacking capacity to move the jacking table over a second distance (see Fig. 8).
Re. Cl. 4, Davies discloses: the jacking table comprises an opening (106, Fig. 9) configured to support a slip (112, Fig. 8) configured to selectively grip and hold a tubular during tripping operations (see Fig. 8).
Re. Cl. 5, Davies discloses: a pair of side towers (190, 202, Fig. 1) that are supported on the jacking table and extend above the jacking table relative to a vertical axis (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 6, Davies discloses: the jacking table assembly is configured to adjust the position of the jacking table relative to the work platform and the pair of side towers (see Fig. 1 and 8).
Re. Cl. 13, Davies discloses: A drilling system (Fig. 1), comprising: a drilling rig (D, Fig. 1) configured to drill a wellbore; and a hydraulic workover unit (R, Fig. 1) configured to be installed on the drilling rig, wherein the hydraulic workover unit comprises: a base skid (T, Fig. 1); a jacking table (J, Fig. 1); and a plurality of adjustable legs (104, Fig. 8), wherein each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a plurality of telescopic cylinders (104a, 104b, Fig. 8) that provide variable jacking capacity to adjust a position of the jacking table relative to the base skid to facilitate tripping a tubular into the wellbore, out of the wellbore, or both (see Fig. 8).
Re. Cl. 15, Davies discloses: the plurality of telescopic cylinders provide a first jacking capacity via extension of a first cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders and a second jacking capacity via extension of the first cylinder and a second cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to thereby provide the variable jacking capacity (see Fig. 8, using 104a, 104b).
Re. Cl. 16, Davies discloses: A method of operating a hydraulic workover unit (see Fig. 8), the method comprising: extending a first cylinder (104a, Fig. 8) of a plurality of telescopic cylinders (104s, Fig. 8) to provide a first jacking capacity that moves a jacking table (106, Fig. 8) over a first distance (see Fig. 8); and extending the first cylinder and a second cylinder (104a, 104b, Fig. 8) of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a second jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a second distance (see Fig. 8).
Re. Cl. 18, Davies discloses: engaging a tubular (see Fig. 8-11) with a slip (112, Fig. 8) supported on the jacking table of the hydraulic workover unit as the jacking table moves over the first distance and the second distance to facilitate tripping operations (see Fig. 8-11).
Re. Cl. 19, Davies discloses: using the hydraulic workover unit to carry out tripping operations (see Fig. 8-11, by raising and lowering the pipe), milling operations, or both.
Re. Cl. 20, Davies discloses: engaging an installation frame (T, Fig. 1) with one or more rails (26, 28, Fig. 1) disposed on a drill floor of a drilling rig (see Fig. 1); positioning a work platform (80, Fig. 1) on the installation frame; positioning a base skid (46a, 46b, 48a, 48b, Fig. 1) that supports a jacking table assembly (J, Fig. 1) with the jacking table and the plurality of telescopic cylinders on the installation frame (see Fig. 1); and sliding the installation frame with the work platform and the base skid along the one or more rails to position the base skid vertically above a rotary table relative to a wellbore (Col. 5, Lines 30-35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies in view of Alford US 2017/0211340 (hereinafter Alford).
Re. Cls. 3 and 17, Davies does not disclose each adjustable leg of the plurality of adjustable legs comprises a third telescopic cylinder configured to move the jacking table over a third distance (Cl. 3) or extending the first cylinder, second cylinder and a third cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a third jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a third distance (Cl. 17). Alford discloses a vertically adjustable jacking table assembly (Fig. 5) which includes leg assemblies (61, 62, 63 Fig. 6c-d) which includes a first telescopic cylinder (61, Fig. 6c-d), a second telescopic cylinder (62, Fig. 6c-d) and a third telescopic cylinder (63, Fig. 6d) configured to move the jacking table over a third distance (see Fig. 6d) and extending the first cylinder, second cylinder and a third cylinder of the plurality of telescopic cylinders to provide a third jacking capacity that moves the jacking table over a third distance (see Fig. 6d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Davies device to have three telescoping cylinders as disclosed by Alford with reasonable expectation of success since Alford states that such a modification provides a three stage extension which can be selectively activated as necessary based on weight and pressure requirements (Paragraph 0050). Further, the additional cylinder will provide for further travel and height adjustment.
Claims 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies in view of Roodenburg US 2018/0163484 (hereinafter Roodenburg).
Re. Cls. 7-8 and 14, Davies disclose the hydraulic workover unit comprises a work platform positioned adjacent to the base skid (see 80, Fig. 1 and 8) but does not disclose the work platform comprises an interface configured to support a tool (Cl. 7), the tool comprises an iron roughneck (Cl. 8) or the work platform comprising an interface configured to support an iron roughneck (Cl. 14). Roodenburg discloses a drilling system (Fig. 11) which includes a work platform (451, Fig. 11) comprising an interface (see Fig. 11, where 456 interfaces or rails as discussed in Paragrpah 0163) configured to support a tool comprising an iron roughneck (456, Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work platform of Davies to include the interface as disclosed by Roodenburg with reasonable expectation of success since Roodenburg states that such a modification enables for the user to support an iron roughneck on the working deck and displace the iron roughneck between active and inactive positions (Paragraph 0163).
Re. Cl. 9, Davies discloses: a tool crane (see 170, Fig. 10) configured to move the tool between the work platform and the jacking table (see Fig. 10).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies in view of Pilgrim US 20140124218 (hereinafter Pilgrim).
Re. Cls. 10-12, Davies does not disclose a controller configured to provide control signals to: instruct a slip supported on the jacking table to engage a tubular; while the slip is engaged with the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to extend to move the jacking table from an initial position to an end position; in response to reaching the end position, instruct the slip to release the tubular; and while the slip is released from the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to retract to return the jacking table from the end position to the initial position (Cl. 10), the controller is configured to provide additional control signals to: in response to returning to the initial position, instruct the slip to engage the tubular; and while the slip is engaged with the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to extend to move the jacking table from the initial position to an intermediate position to place a joint of the tubular above the jacking table along a vertical axis (Cl. 11) or the controller is configured to provide further additional control signals to: instruct a tool crane to move an iron roughneck toward the tubular; and instruct the iron roughneck to break out the joint (Cl. 12). Pilgrim discloses a hydraulic unit which includes a controller (control system, Paragraph 0028) configured to provide control signals to: instruct a slip supported on the jacking table to engage a tubular (Paragraph 0028, Lines 2-4); while the slip is engaged with the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to extend to move the jacking table from an initial position to an end position; in response to reaching the end position, instruct the slip to release the tubular; and while the slip is released from the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to retract to return the jacking table from the end position to the initial position, the controller is configured to provide additional control signals to: in response to returning to the initial position, instruct the slip to engage the tubular; and while the slip is engaged with the tubular, instruct the plurality of telescopic cylinders of the plurality of adjustable legs to extend to move the jacking table from the initial position to an intermediate position to place a joint of the tubular above the jacking table along a vertical axis and the controller is configured to provide further additional control signals to: instruct a tool crane to move an iron roughneck toward the tubular; and instruct the iron roughneck to break out the joint (see Paragraph 0028, by disclosing the control system capable of controlling the listed functions of the rig, the controller is configured to perform the claimed functions in the Examiner’s position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Davies device to be operated using a controller as disclosed by Pilgrim with reasonable expectation of success since Pilgrim states that such a modification provides an autonomous device which requires minimal operator input (Paragraph 0028).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bryant US 2013/0145718, Crain US 5467833 and Gupta US 10214970 disclose other known workover units presented to the Applicant for their consideration
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632