DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, claims 1-12, 16-20 in the reply filed on 02/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “in particular” which makes it vague if the corresponding limitation is required or optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (WO 2020083649, citations made to U.S. 2021/0325672) in view of Jiang (U.S. 2024/0025156).
Regarding claims 1-12, 16-20, Fischer discloses a laminated panel for a HUD (even though the intended use is not given patentable weight) that comprises a first pane, a thermoplastic (e.g., polymers overlapping claims 8 and 18, [0076]) intermediate layer which may be wedge shaped ([0014], merely preferred that it is not wedge shaped, which makes a wedge shaped intermediate layer within the scope of the invention as a non-preferred embodiment, and also because wedge shaped intermediate layers are disclosed as mitigating ghosting, [0004]), a second pane, and a reflective coating intended to reflect p polarized light (from the HUD projector, i.e., over the HUD region as claimed) which may be applied to the inner side of the outer pane (corresponding to the second surface of the first pane facing the intermediate layer) and comprises a high refractive index coating layer (overlapping the claimed refractive index range) of, e.g., silicon zirconium nitride (inherently not conductive as in claims 2 and 4), which may be applied by sputtering (as in claims 11 and 20, although this is a product by process limitation that is not given patentable weight) ([0010], [0013], [0022]-[0023], [0079]), wherein the panes may be tinted as in claim 3 ([0075]), have a thickness overlapping claims 10 and 19 ([0074]), with such overlapping ranges including embodiments in which the inner (second) pane has a smaller thickness than the outer (first) pane (also see, e.g., [0092], suggesting a thinner inner pane).
Fischer does not disclose the claimed second coating on the second (inner) pane opposite the side facing the intermediate coating. However, Jiang is also directed to HUD laminates and teaches that a p polarized reflective coating, 40, on the inner side (facing the intermediate layer) of the outer pane (see abstract, [0054], FIG. 1, as in Fischer) may be combined with an additional reflection enhancing coating 50 (also for reflecting p-polarized light from the HUD projector, i.e., over the HUD region as claimed) on the inside surface of the second inner pane (corresponding to the claimed second coating) that comprises high and low refractive index dielectric sub layers (exclusively dielectric/free of conductive materials, as in claim 2 and with refractive index overlapping the claimed ranges, [0064], [0084], providing examples of such high and low refractive index dielectric materials, with the high refractive index material closer to the second pane than the low refractive index material, as in claim 5), in order to improve sharpness and enhance HUD effect ([0005], [0007], [0047], [0064]), such that it would have been obvious to have included such a reflection enhancing coating on the inner surface of the inner pane in Fischer in order to improve sharpness and enhance HUD effect as in Jiang. Jiang also teaches sputtering to form the reflection enhancing coating as in claims 11 and 20 (although this is a product by process limitation that is not given patentable weight) ([0052]).
Jiang in modified Fischer does not disclose the particular high and low refractive index materials as in claim 5 or their total thickness for achieving a p polarized reflective effect in the second coating, however, Fischer teaches an overlapping type of high and low refractive index dielectric materials and an overlapping combined thickness of the dielectric layers (compared to claims 5, 6, and 16) for the p polarization reflective coating already taught by Fischer such that it would have been obvious to have also used such materials and thicknesses to form the enhanced reflection second coating from Jiang in modified Fischer (because Fischer teaches that these materials/thicknesses achieve the desired p polarized light reflecting effect).
As indicated above, Fischer includes a wedge intermediate layer as a non-preferred embodiment, but does not disclose the angle of the wedge. Jiang makes this wedge embodiment more obvious because it teaches that an angle overlapping the range of claim 7 and 17 allows the HUD to have AR and/or holographic projection imaging and allows better implementation of the basic HUD effect (improved brightness and sharpness, [0067]) such that it would have been obvious to have used a wedge shaped intermediate layer as in Jiang in modified Fischer to provide AR and/or holographic projection imaging and allow better implementation of the basic HUD effect (e.g., improved brightness and sharpness).
Fischer does not disclose IR absorbing intermediate layers as in claim 9, however Jiang teaches that the intermediate layer may be IR absorbing (corresponding to wavelengths within the claimed range) to provide sun protection and heat insulation effects, thereby making such an IR absorbing property obvious for the intermediate layer of Fischer to provide sun protection and heat insulation effects as taught by Jiang.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787