DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to amendment filed on 04/24/2026.
Claims 1, 4, 12, 15 and 45 are amended.
Claims 3, 9 – 10, 14, 20 – 21, 23 – 44 and 47 – 50 are cancelled.
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 8, 11 – 13, 15 – 19, 22 and 45 – 46 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 3/12/2026 and 06/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended the independent claims 1, 12 and 45 by adding the limitations of the dependent claims (claims 3 and 14); therefore, the same rejection has been kept in view of previously cited prior arts GUO et al. (WO 2021/143652 A1) and Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0306024 A1).
Applicant argued on 2nd page: last paragraph of the remark, that two resource settings are respectively used for channel measurement and interference measurement, with different functions, and are not respectively corresponding to channel measurement resource (CMR) sets of different remote radio heads (RRHs). Moreover, GUO does not use the term "CMR" at all, nor does it contain the concepts of "CMR resource set" or "CMR resource subset." According to applicant “In GUO, resource settings directly contain lists of reference signal resources, and there is no hierarchical association between resource settings and CMR resource sets. Although GUO mentions a first network device 200a and a second network device 200b (which can be regarded as RRHs), it does not establish a one-to-one correspondence between resource settings and these RRHs. Therefore, GUO fails to disclose option 1, option 2 or option 3.
Examiner respectfully agrees that GUO does not specifically recite “measurement resource (CMR) sets” as required by the claim; but the secondary reference Matsumura teaches the limitation in question. GUO recites in Pg.8: lines 8-11 that the terminal device 100 is configured with two resource settings; the first resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurements and the second resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or ZP CSI-RS resources for interference measurement. Here, each of the resource setting is associated with a resource set (reference signal resources); examiner agreed that they are not CMR sets; but Matsumura teaches the CMR sets. GUO further teaches in Fig. 4, step S44 and Pg.9: lines 5-6 that the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and a second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b. As mentioned in Pg.8: lines 8-11, the first and the second resource settings comprise reference signal resource sets and in Pg.9: lines 5-6 the first and the second set of reference signal resource sets correspond to the first and the second network devices, respectively; therefore, it is obvious to consider the plurality of resource settings are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads. Accordingly, applicant’s argument that GUO does not establish a one-to-one correspondence between resource settings and the remote radio heads (RRHs) is not proper.
Applicant argued on 3rd page: 2nd paragraph of the remark “Matsumura discusses in detail CSI measurement and reporting in multi-TRP scenarios, and extensively uses terms such as "CMR," "resource setting," and "CMR resource set." However, Matsumura still fails to disclose any of options 1-3 of claim 1.” According to applicant, “paragraph [0134] of Matsumura defines: "resource setting for channel measurement, a resource for channel measurement, a CSI-RS resource for channel measurement,
resourcesForChannelMeasurement, a CMR, and a CMR resource may be interchangeably interpreted as each other." This definition equates "resource setting" with "CMR," meaning that each resource setting itself is a CMR resource, rather than "a resource setting associated with a CMR resource set." This is completely different from the inclusion relationship between resource settings and CMR resource sets as required in claim 1”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument and conclusion. Matsumura teaches according to ¶ [0134] that resource setting for channel measurement, and a CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted as each other. Here, the resource setting equates/ links/ associates to a CMR resource/ resource set. It is well known that a resource set comprises one or more resources; therefore, with broadest reasonable interpretation a CMR resource set comprises a CMR resource. Accordingly, a resource setting is associated with a CMR resource set. So, applicant’s argument is not appropriate that Matsumura does not teach “each resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set”.
Applicant argued on 3rd page: 4th paragraph of the remark “paragraph [0208] and Figure 20 of Matsumura show: "CMRs #0 to #3 correspond to TRP#1, and CMRs #4 to #7 correspond to TRP#2." This illustrates the correspondence between CMRs and TRPs, but does not involve resource settings. All CMRs (#0-#7) in Figure 20 are configured in the same context and are not divided into multiple resource settings. According to applicant, Matsumura does not explicitly establish a one-to-one correspondence between these resource sets and different RRHs, nor does it disclose the structure of option 2 where "multiple resource settings each associated with one CMR resource set and in one-to-one correspondence with RRHs."
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks. First of all GUO discloses a plurality of resource settings and the plurality of resource settings are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads (described in argument 1 above). Secondly, Matsumura discloses in ¶ [0208] that each of the plurality of RRHs is associated with a set of CMRs; therefore, Matsumura definitely teaches a one-to-one correspondence between these resource sets and different RRHs. Matsumura further teaches in ¶ [0091], the CSI report configuration for the joint CSI report includes a resource configuration for each TRP (at least one of the resource setting for channel measurement….). Here, each TRP is associated with at least one resource setting for channel measurement. As mentioned regarding Fig.20, the two TRPs are associated with two sets of CMRs; therefore, it is obvious to consider that two CMR resource sets associated with two TRPs, which are linked to different resource settings. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not convincing.
Applicant argued on 3rd page: last paragraph of the remark “Matsumura does not involve the concept of "CMR resource subset," nor does it disclose a configuration where one CMR resource set is further divided into multiple subsets with a one-to-one correspondence with RRHs. According to applicant, Matsumura fails to disclose option 1, option 2, or option 3 of claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comment and conclusions. As described above, the combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the limitations of option 2, therefore, Matsumura does not need to teach "CMR resource subset," of option 3. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not accurate.
Applicant argued on 4th page: 3rd paragraph of the remark “none of GUO, Matsumura, or Nagata disclose any of the three configurations of claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comment. The rejection below and the response to the argument above clearly shows that the combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the limitations of currently amended independent claim 1; therefore, applicant’s argument is not appropriate.
Applicant argued on 4th page: 4th paragraph of the remark, “Claims 12 and 45, although different in scope, recite similar limitations to those argued above and are likewise allowable”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comment. As mentioned above, the combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the limitations of the claim 1; therefore, same rationale applies for claims 12 and 45 as well. Accordingly, claims 12 and 45 are not allowable.
Applicant argued on 4th page: last paragraph of the remark “Dependent claims of claims 1 and 12 are patentable for at least the same reasons, and for the additional features recited therein”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark. The combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the limitations of the independent claims 1 and 12. Therefore, the dependent claims are not allowable because of their dependency from the independent claim.
Finally, examiner would like to cite a new reference (US 2024/0014965 A1, ¶ [0078] – [0079]) that also teaches multiple resource settings associate with CMR resource set.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the argument filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied in detail in the rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 7, 11 – 13, 15 – 18, 22 and 45 – 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al. (GUO hereinafter referred to GUO) (WO 2021/143652 A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (Matsumura hereinafter referred to Matsumura) (US 2024/0306024 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, GUO teaches a method for beam measurement and reporting (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR GROUP-BASED BEAM MEASUREMENT AND REPORTING), performed by a terminal (Fig. 4 and Pg.8: line 16, a flowchart of the operation of a terminal device 100), comprising:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises at least two reference signal resources (Fig. 4, step S42 and Pg.8: lines 38-40, The terminal device 100 is configured with one or more NZP CSI-RS resource set configuration(s) as indicated by the higher layer parameters CSI-ResourceConfig, and NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet. Each NZP CSI-RS resource set consists of K≥1 NZP CSI-RS resource(s). Here, NZP CSI-RS resources are two reference signal resources), and the at least two reference signal resources correspond to different remote radio heads respectively (Fig. 4, step S44 and Pg.9: lines 4-6, the terminal device 100 receives a first beam comprising the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and receives a second beam comprising a second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b. Here, the network devices 200a and 200b are two different remote radio heads);
wherein the configuration information is configured as one of (Due to alternative language “as one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
the configuration information comprising one resource setting, wherein the resource setting is associated with a plurality of channel measurement resource (CMR) resource sets, the plurality of CMR resource sets are in a one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of remote radio heads, and the reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in different CMR resource sets in the plurality of CMR resource sets;
the configuration information comprising a plurality of resource settings (Pg.8: line 8, The terminal device 100 is configured with two resource settings), wherein each resource setting is associated with resource set (Pg.8: lines 8-11, The first resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurements and the second resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or ZP CSI-RS resources for interference measurement. Here, each of the resource setting is associated with a resource set), the plurality of resource settings are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads (Fig. 4, step S44 and Pg.9: lines 5-6, the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and a second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b); or
the configuration information comprising one resource setting, wherein the resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set, wherein the CMR resource set comprises a plurality of CMR resource subsets, the plurality of CMR resource subsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads, and reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in different CMR resource subsets in the plurality of CMR resource subsets.
GUO does not specifically teach
wherein each resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set, and reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in CMR resource sets associated with different resource settings in the plurality of resource settings.
However, Matsumura teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION)
wherein each resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set ([0134], resource setting for channel measurement, a resource for channel measurement, …, a CMR, and a CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted as each other), and reference signal resources ([0100], CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CMR). Here, CMR is reference signal resources) corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in CMR resource sets (Fig.20 and [0208], CMRs #0 to #3 correspond to TRP #1, and CMRs #4 to #7 correspond to TRP #2. Here, the CMRs #0 to #3 and the CMRs #4 to #7 are considered as two CMR resource sets correspond to two TRPs) associated with different resource settings in the plurality of resource settings ([0208], the CMRs corresponding to TRP #1 is configured first, and the CMRs corresponding to TRP #2 is configured subsequently. As mentioned above, the resource setting for channel measurement and the CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted; therefore, it is obvious that two CMR resource sets associated with different resource settings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GUO as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measurement and report of CSI for a multi panel/TRP that can be appropriately performed (Matsumura, Abstract and [0001]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 12, GUO teaches a method for beam measurement and reporting (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR GROUP-BASED BEAM MEASUREMENT AND REPORTING), performed by a network device (Fig. 5 and Pg.10: line 5, a flowchart of the operation of operations of a network device 200), comprising:
sending configuration information (Fig. 5, and Pg.10: lines 28-29, the network device 200 configures the terminal device 100 to receive and report multiple beams simultaneously; line 31, transmit information to configure the terminal device 100), wherein the configuration information comprises at least two reference signal resources (Fig. 5, and Pg.10: lines 28-29, the network device 200 configures the terminal device 100 to receive and report multiple beams simultaneously), and the at least two reference signal resources correspond to different remote radio heads respectively (Fig. 5, step S53 and Pg.10: lines 50 – Pg.11: line 1, the first network device 200a transmits a first beam comprising a first set of reference signal resource and the second network device 200b transmits a second beam comprising a second set of reference signal resources to the terminal device 100. Here, the network devices 200a and 200b are two different remote radio heads and the first set and the second sets of reference signal resources are two reference signal resources);
wherein the configuration information is configured as one of (Due to alternative language “as one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
the configuration information comprising one resource setting, wherein the resource setting is associated with a plurality of channel measurement resource (CMR) resource sets, the plurality of CMR resource sets are in a one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of remote radio heads, and the reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in different CMR resource sets in the plurality of CMR resource sets;
the configuration information comprising a plurality of resource settings (Pg.8: line 8, The terminal device 100 is configured with two resource settings), wherein each resource setting is associated with resource set (Pg.8: lines 8-11, The first resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurements and the second resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or ZP CSI-RS resources for interference measurement. Here, each of the resource setting is associated with a resource set), the plurality of resource settings are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads (Fig. 4, step S44 and Pg.9: lines 5-6, the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and a second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b); or
the configuration information comprising one resource setting, wherein the resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set, wherein the CMR resource set comprises a plurality of CMR resource subsets, the plurality of CMR resource subsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads, and reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in different CMR resource subsets in the plurality of CMR resource subsets.
GUO does not specifically teach
wherein each resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set, and reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in CMR resource sets associated with different resource settings in the plurality of resource settings.
However, Matsumura teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION)
wherein each resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set ([0134], resource setting for channel measurement, a resource for channel measurement, …, a CMR, and a CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted as each other. Here, the resource setting corresponds to a CMR resource/ resource set), and reference signal resources ([0100], CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CMR). Here, CMR is reference signal resources) corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in CMR resource sets (Fig.20 and [0208], CMRs #0 to #3 correspond to TRP #1, and CMRs #4 to #7 correspond to TRP #2. Here, the CMRs #0 to #3 and the CMRs #4 to #7 are considered as two CMR resource sets correspond to two TRPs) associated with different resource settings in the plurality of resource settings ([0208], the CMRs corresponding to TRP #1 is configured first, and the CMRs corresponding to TRP #2 is configured subsequently. As mentioned above, the resource setting for channel measurement and the CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted; therefore, it is obvious that two CMR resource sets associated with different resource settings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GUO as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measurement and report of CSI for a multi panel/TRP that can be appropriately performed (Matsumura, Abstract and [0001]).
(Original) Regarding claims 2 and 13, the combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 12, respectively as outlined above,
GUO further teaches
wherein the different remote radio heads correspond to at least one of (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
different transmission and reception points (Fig.1 and Pg.5: lines 34-35, Each of the first and second network devices 200a, 200b comprises a transmission-reception point (TRP));
different control resource set pools; or
different antenna panels.
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 45, GUO teaches (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR GROUP-BASED BEAM MEASUREMENT AND REPORTING), a communication device (Fig. 2 and Pg.6: line 8, a terminal device 100), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2 and Pg.6: line 12, processing unit 120); and
a memory having a computer program stored thereon (Pg.15: lines 37-38, computer readable media includes any type of medium suitable for storing, encoding, or carrying a series of instructions);
wherein the processor is configured (Pg.6: lines 36-37, The processing unit 120 is configured to control the overall functionality of the terminal device 100) to:
receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises at least two reference signal resources (Fig. 4, step S42 and Pg.8: lines 38-40, The terminal device 100 is configured with one or more NZP CSI-RS resource set configuration(s) as indicated by the higher layer parameters CSI-ResourceConfig, and NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet. Each NZP CSI-RS resource set consists of K≥1 NZP CSI-RS resource(s). Here, NZP CSI-RS resources are two reference signal resources), and the at least two reference signal resources correspond to different remote radio heads respectively (Fig. 4, step S44 and Pg.9: lines 4-6, the terminal device 100 receives a first beam comprising the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and receives a second beam comprising a second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b. Here, the network devices 200a and 200b are two different remote radio heads);
wherein the configuration information is configured as one of (Due to alternative language “as one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
the configuration information comprising one resource setting, wherein the resource setting is associated with a plurality of channel measurement resource (CMR) resource sets, the plurality of CMR resource sets are in a one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of remote radio heads, and the reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in different CMR resource sets in the plurality of CMR resource sets;
the configuration information comprising a plurality of resource settings (Pg.8: line 8, The terminal device 100 is configured with two resource settings), wherein each resource setting is associated with resource set (Pg.8: lines 8-11, The first resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurements and the second resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or ZP CSI-RS resources for interference measurement. Here, each of the resource setting is associated with a resource set), the plurality of resource settings are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads (Fig. 4, step S44 and Pg.9: lines 5-6, the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and a second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b); or
the configuration information comprising one resource setting, wherein the resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set, wherein the CMR resource set comprises a plurality of CMR resource subsets, the plurality of CMR resource subsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of remote radio heads, and reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in different CMR resource subsets in the plurality of CMR resource subsets.
GUO does not specifically teach
wherein each resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set, and reference signal resources corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in CMR resource sets associated with different resource settings in the plurality of resource settings.
However, Matsumura teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION)
wherein each resource setting is associated with one CMR resource set ([0134], resource setting for channel measurement, a resource for channel measurement, …, a CMR, and a CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted as each other. Here, the resource setting corresponds to a CMR resource/ resource set), and reference signal resources ([0100], CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CMR). Here, CMR is reference signal resources) corresponding to different remote radio heads are comprised in CMR resource sets (Fig.20 and [0208], CMRs #0 to #3 correspond to TRP #1, and CMRs #4 to #7 correspond to TRP #2. Here, the CMRs #0 to #3 and the CMRs #4 to #7 are considered as two CMR resource sets correspond to two TRPs) associated with different resource settings in the plurality of resource settings ([0208], the CMRs corresponding to TRP #1 is configured first, and the CMRs corresponding to TRP #2 is configured subsequently. As mentioned above, the resource setting for channel measurement and the CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted; therefore, it is obvious that two CMR resource sets associated with different resource settings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GUO as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measurement and report of CSI for a multi panel/TRP that can be appropriately performed (Matsumura, Abstract and [0001]).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claim 46, the combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
GUO further teaches
a communication device (Fig. 3 and Pg.7: line 28, network device 200), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 3 and Pg.7: line 30, processing unit 220); and
a memory having a computer program stored thereon (Pg.15: lines 37-38, computer readable media includes any type of medium suitable for storing, encoding, or carrying a series of instructions);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 12 (Pg.7: lines 39-40, The processing unit 220 is configured to control the overall functionality of the network device 200).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claims 4 and 15, combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 12, respectively as outlined above.
GUO does not specifically teach
receiving first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to implement at least one of:
activating or deactivating M CMR resource sets;
activating or deactivating M CMR resource subsets;
activating or deactivating M resource settings;
indicating M CMR resource sets;
indicating M CMR resource subsets; or
indicating M resource settings; wherein, M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, Matsumura teaches
receiving first indication information ([0293], The UE is configured with one or a plurality of pieces of CMR group configuration information by RRC signaling. Here, RRC is a first indication information), wherein the first indication information is used to implement at least one of (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
activating or deactivating M CMR resource sets;
activating or deactivating M CMR resource subsets;
activating or deactivating M resource settings;
indicating M CMR resource sets ([0293], One piece of CMR group configuration information includes information indicating the CMRs included in one CMR group or includes information indicating the CMRs respectively included in a plurality of CMR groups. Here, CMRs are considered as M CMR resource sets);
indicating M CMR resource subsets; or
indicating M resource settings; wherein, M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of GUO and Matsumura as mentioned in claims 1 and 12 and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measurement and report of CSI for a multi panel/TRP that can be appropriately performed (Matsumura, Abstract and [0001]).
(Original) Regarding claims 5 and 16, combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 4 and 15, respectively as outlined above.
GUO further teaches
sending/ receiving a first measurement result report (Fig. 4, step S47 and Pg.9: line 22, the terminal device 100 transmits the generated beam report; Pg.9: lines 17-18, terminal device 100 includes measurement results within the beam report. Here, the generated beam report is a first measurement result report);
wherein the first measurement result report comprises a plurality of groups (Pg.10: lines 1-4, the terminal device 100 is configured with the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to 'enabled', the terminal device 100 reports in a single reporting instance K pairs of two different CSI-RS resource indicators (CRis) or SS/PBCH resource block indicators (SSBRis) for each report setting; line 18, Exemplary values of K are 1, 2, 4, 6, or 8. Here, the reports comprises K pairs of two different resource indicators; therefore, the first measurement result report comprises a plurality of groups), N reference signals (RSs) in each group are able to be simultaneously received by the terminal, N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (Pg.10: lines 4-6, within each pair of CRis or SSBRis, the CSI-RS and/or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources are received simultaneously by the terminal device 100; Pg.3: line 13-16, The beam report comprises measurement results of each reference signal resource; The reference signal resources are channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resources. Here, the pair of CRis or SSBRis, the CSI-RS and/or SSB means N reference signals are received simultaneously and N is at least 2), and different reference signals in the N reference signals correspond to different remote radio heads (Pg.9: line 4-6, the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and the second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b. Here, the set of reference signal resources means at least one reference signal; therefore, different reference signals correspond to different remote radio heads); or the first measurement result report comprises a plurality of groups, and reference signals in different groups are able to be simultaneously received by the terminal (Due to alternative language “or” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claims 6 and 17, the combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 12 as outlined above.
GUO further teaches
wherein, the configuration information comprises a plurality of resource settings, wherein each resource setting comprises two CMR resource sets, and the two CMR resource sets are in a one-to-one correspondence with two remote radio heads, wherein at least one reference signal resource corresponding to a first remote radio head of the two remote radio heads is contained in a first CMR resource set of the two CMR resource sets, and at least one reference signal resource corresponding to a second remote radio head of the two remote radio heads is contained in a second CMR resource set of the two CMR resource sets;
or (Due to alternative language “or” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only)
the configuration information comprises a plurality of resource settings (Pg.8: line 8, The terminal device 100 is configured with two resource settings), wherein each resource setting comprises one resource set (Pg.8: lines 8-11, The first resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources and the second resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources. Here, each of the resource setting comprises one resource set).
GUO does not specifically teach
wherein each resource setting comprises one CMR resource set, and the one CMR resource set comprises two CMR resource subsets, the two CMR resource subsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with two remote radio heads, wherein at least one reference signal resource corresponding to a first remote radio head of the two remote radio heads is contained in a first CMR resource subset of the two CMR resource subsets, and at least one reference signal resource corresponding to a second remote radio head of the two remote radio heads is contained in a second CMR resource subset of the two CMR resource subsets.
However, Matsumura teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION)
wherein each resource setting comprises one CMR resource set ([0134], resource setting for channel measurement, a resource for channel measurement, …, a CMR, and a CMR resource are interchangeably interpreted as each other), and the one CMR resource set comprises two CMR resource subsets, the two CMR resource subsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with two remote radio heads (Fig.20 and [0208], CMRs #0 to #3 correspond to TRP #1, and CMRs #4 to #7 correspond to TRP #2. Here, the CMRs #0 to #3 and the CMRs #4 to #7 are considered as two CMR resource subsets correspond to two TRPs) wherein at least one reference signal resource ([0100], CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CMR). Here, CMR is reference signal resource) corresponding to a first remote radio head (Fig.20, CMRs #0 to #3 correspond to TRP #1) of the two remote radio heads is contained in a first CMR resource subset of the two CMR resource subsets, and at least one reference signal resource (As mentioned above, CMR is reference signal resource) corresponding to a second remote radio head (Fig.20, CMRs #4 to #7 correspond to TRP #2) of the two remote radio heads is contained in a second CMR resource subset of the two CMR resource subsets ([0208], the CMRs corresponding to TRP #1 is configured first, and the CMRs corresponding to TRP #2 is configured subsequently).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of GUO and Matsumura as mentioned in claims 1 and 12 and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measurement and report of CSI for a multi panel/TRP that can be appropriately performed (Matsumura, Abstract and [0001]).
(Original) Regarding claims 7 and 18, combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 17, respectively as outlined above.
GUO further teaches
receiving/ sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to implement at least one of (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
activating or deactivating a resource associated with any resource setting; or
indicating a resource associated with any resource setting (Pg.8: lines 8-11, The first resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurements and the second resource setting has a set of NZP CSI-RS resources or ZP CSI-RS resources for interference measurement; lines 38-40, The terminal device 100 is configured with one or more NZP CSI-RS resource set configuration(s) as indicated by the higher layer parameters CSI-ResourceConfig, and NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claims 11 and 22, the combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 12 as outlined above.
GUO does not specifically teach
wherein different remote radio heads correspond to a same physical cell identifier (PCI), or different remote radio heads correspond to different PCIs.
However, Matsumura teaches
wherein different remote radio heads correspond to a same physical cell identifier (PCI), or different remote radio heads correspond to different PCIs ([0077], plurality of TRPs correspond to the same cell identifier (ID), or correspond to different cell IDs. The cell ID is a physical cell ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of GUO and Matsumura as mentioned in claims 1 and 12 and further incorporate the teaching of Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measurement and report of CSI for a multi panel/TRP that can be appropriately performed (Matsumura, Abstract and [0001]).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO in view of Matsumura and further in view of Nagata et al. (Nagata hereinafter referred to Nagata) (US 2023/0276287 A1).
(Previously Presented) Regarding claims 8 and 19, combination of GUO and Matsumura teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 17, respectively as outlined above.
GUO further teaches
two reference signals in each group are able to be simultaneously received by the terminal (Pg.10: lines 4-6, within each pair of CRis or SSBRis, the CSI-RS and/or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources are received simultaneously by the terminal device 100; Pg.3: line 13-16, The beam report comprises measurement results of each reference signal resource; The reference signal resources are channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resources), wherein different reference signals in the two reference signals correspond to different remote radio heads (Pg.9: line 4-6, the first set of reference signal resources from the first network device 200a and the second set of reference signal resources from the second network device 200b. Here, the set of reference signal resources means at least one reference signal; therefore, different reference signals correspond to different remote radio heads); or
the measurement result corresponding to each resource setting comprises a plurality of groups, and reference signals in different groups are able to be simultaneously received by the terminal
GUO does not specifically teach
sending a second measurement result report, wherein the second measurement result report comprises an identifier of at least one resource setting and a measurement result corresponding to each resource setting;
wherein,
the measurement result corresponding to each resource setting comprises a plurality of groups.
However Nagata teaches (Title, TERMINAL, RADIO COMMUNICATION METHOD, AND BASE STATION)
sending a second measurement result report (Fig.5 and [0071], CSI report; [0072], The CSI report includes one or more pairs of the CRI/SSBRI and the RSRP. Here, CSI report is a second measurement result report), wherein the second measurement result report comprises an identifier of at least one resource setting and a measurement result corresponding to each resource setting ([0065], a different number of resource IDs (for example, SSBRIs or CRIs) for beam measurement of a higher layer parameter included in the CSI report configuration information and measurement results corresponding to respective IDs in the beam report; [0066], regarding each report configuration, two different resource IDs for beam measurement and two measurement results corresponding to respective IDs in the beam report);
wherein,
the measurement result corresponding to each resource setting comprises a plurality of groups ([0066], The UE for which groupBasedBeamReporting is configured), and two reference signals in each group are able to be simultaneously received by the terminal ([0066], the two resources (CSI-RS resources, SSB resources) for beam measurement are simultaneously received by the UE; [0085] Mode 2: The UE simultaneously receives a plurality of beams belonging to the same group ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of GUO and Matsumura as mentioned in claims 6 and 17 and further incorporate the teaching of Nagata. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems in which a CSI report related to a group based beam report can be suitably used (Nagata, [0001] and [0009]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474