DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiramatsu US 2006/0170174.
Regarding claim 1, Hiramatsu discloses, in the embodiment of Fig 1-9, a device (1; Fig. 1; para [0036]) comprising:
a platform (3; Fig 1; para [0036]) that does not have any trucks coupled thereto (Fig 1-2) and configured for a rider (a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]) to ride thereon (on the platform 3; Fig 1; para [0037]);
a mount (35; Fig 1-2; para [0042]) coupled to the platform (3, via the shaft 37 and the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0042]), wherein the mount (35) is configured to freely rotate 360 degrees (the mount 35 selectively rotates about the shaft 37 in a range of 360 degrees; Fig 2; para [0042]) about a first axis (a first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2; para [0042]) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0042]);
a motor (15; Fig 4; para [0038]) coupled to the mount (35; Fig 4; para [0041]) and configured to operate at a rotational speed (a rotational speed of the motor 15; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047]);
a roller (7; Fig 1-2, 4; para [0038]) coupled to the motor (15; Fig. 4; para [0043]) such that the motor (15) can drive the roller (7) about a second axis (a second axis in a horizontal direction through the shafts 33, one of the shafts 33 shown in Fig 2 and both shafts 33 shown in
Fig 4; para [0041], [0043]) distinct from the first axis (the first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0041]-[0043]);
a power source (battery 11, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5; Fig 1, 5; para [0036]) coupled to the platform (3; Fig 5; para [0036]) and powering the motor (15; Fig 4-5; para [0043]);
a controller (9, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig. 1 and Fig 5, the controller 9 further illustrated schematically in Fig 7; Fig 1, 5, 7; para [0036]) powered by the power source (9; Fig. 5, 7; para [0036]); and
an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (the sensor 53, 55 collectively measures a movement of at least a portion of the platform 3 when a load is applied to the platform 3 by a foot of the rider; Fig 2; para [0046]-[0048]) coupled to the platform or the mount (the platform 3, via the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0046]) and powered by the power source (11, where the sensor 53, 55 collectively is implied to be powered by the battery 11 for the sending of signals from the sensor 53, 55 collectively to the controller 9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0047]),
wherein the IMU (53, 55 collectively) is configured to obtain a reading (a measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively;
Fig 2, 7; para [0047]-[0048]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) and send the reading (the measurement of the
load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively) to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para
[0050], [0052]) such that the controller (9) adjusts the rotational speed (the rotational speed of the motor 15; para [0043], [0050], [0052]) to assist the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig. 1) to balance on the platform (3) while the
roller (7) is rolling (where the controller 9 adjusts the rotational speed of the motor 15 in response to the rider adjusting his or her balance on the platform 3 by the rider transferring his or her weight between a fore foot generally above the front roller 5 on the platform and a rear
foot generally above the rear roller 7 on the platform, impliedly to assist the rider in balancing by transferring weight between feet on the platform 3; Fig 1, 7; para [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]).
Regarding claim 14, Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the roller (7) contains the motor (15; Fig 4; para [0038]).
Regarding claim 20, Hiramatsu discloses, in the embodiment of Fig 1-9, a method (a method of using the device 1; Fig 1; para [0036])
comprising:
accessing a device (1; Fig 1; para [0036]) comprising:
a platform (3; Fig 1; para [0036]) that does not have any trucks coupled thereto (Fig 1-2) and configured for a rider (a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]) to ride thereon (on the platform 3; Fig 1; para [0037]);
a mount (35; Fig 1-2; para [0042]) coupled to the platform (3, via the shaft 37 and the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0042]), wherein the mount (35) is configured to freely rotate 360 degrees (the mount 35 selectively rotates about the shaft 37 in a range of 360 degrees; Fig 2; para [0042]) about a first axis (a first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2; para [0042]) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0042]);
a motor (15; Fig 4; para [0038]) coupled to the mount (35; Fig 4; para [0041]) and configured to operate at a rotational speed (a rotational speed of the motor 15; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047]);
a roller (7; Fig 1-2, 4; para [0038]) coupled to the motor (15; Fig 4; para [0043]) such that the motor (15) can drive the roller (7) about a second axis (a second axis in a horizontal direction through the shafts 33, one of the shafts 33 shown in Fig 2 and both shafts 33 shown in Fig 4; para [0041], [0043]) distinct from the first axis (the first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0041]-[0043]);
a power source (battery 11, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5; Fig 1, 5; para [0036]) coupled to the platform (3; Fig 5; para [0036]) and powering the motor (15; Fig 4-5; para [0043]);
a controller (9, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5, the controller 9 further illustrated schematically in Fig 7; Fig 1, 5, 7; para [0036]) powered by the power source (9; Fig 5, 7; para [0036]); and
an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Fig 2; para [0046]-[0048]) coupled to the platform or the mount (the platform 3, via the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0046]) and powered by the power source (11, where the sensor 53, 55 collectively is implied to be powered by the battery 11 for the sending of signals from the sensor 53, 55 collectively to the controller 9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0047]);
and
riding (by a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]) the device (1) such that the IMU (53, 55 collectively) obtains a reading (a measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively; Fig 2, 7; para [0047]-[0048]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) and sends the reading (the measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively) to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0050], [0052]) such that the controller (9) adjusts the rotational speed (the rotational speed of the motor 15; para [0043], [0050], [0052]) to assist the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) to balance on the platform (3) while the roller (7) is rolling (where the controller 9 adjusts the rotational speed of the motor 15 in response to the rider adjusting his or her balance on the platform 3 by the rider transferring his or her weight between a fore foot generally above the front roller 5 on the platform and a rear foot generally above the rear roller 7 on the platform, impliedly to assist the rider in balancing by transferring weight between feet on the platform 3; Fig. 1, 7; para [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]).
Regarding claim 21, Hiramatsu discloses, in the embodiment of Fig 1-9, a method (a method of using the device 1; Fig 1; para [0036])
comprising:
manufacturing a device (1, which is implied to be manufactured into the configuration shown in Fig 1; para [0036]) comprising: a platform (3; Fig 1; para [0036]) that does not have any trucks coupled thereto (Fig 1-2) and configured for a rider (a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]) to ride thereon (on the platform 3; Fig 1; para [0037]); a mount (35; Fig 1-2; para [0042]) coupled to the platform (3, via the shaft 37 and the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0042]), wherein the mount (35) is configured to freely rotate 360 degrees (the mount 35 selectively rotates about the shaft 37 in a range of 360 degrees; Fig 2; para [0042]) about a first axis (a first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2; para [0042]) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0042]); a motor (15; Fig 4; para [0038]) coupled to the mount (35; Fig 4; para [0041]) and configured to operate at a rotational speed (a rotational speed of the motor 15; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047]); a roller (7; Fig 1-2, 4; para [0038]) coupled to the motor (15; Fig 4; para [0043]) such that the motor (15) can drive the roller (7) about a second axis (a second axis in a horizontal direction through the shafts 33, one of the shafts 33 shown in Fig 2 and both shafts 33 shown in Fig 4; para [0041], [0043]) distinct from the first axis (the first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0041]-[0043]); a power source (battery 11, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5; Fig 1, 5; para [0036]) coupled to the platform (3; Fig. 5; para [0036]) and powering the motor (15; Fig 4-5; para [0043]); a controller (9, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig. 1 and Fig 5, the controller 9 further illustrated schematically in Fig 7; Fig 1, 5, 7; para [0036]) powered by the power source (9; Fig 5, 7; para [0036]); and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Fig 2; para [0046]-[0048]) coupled to the platform or the mount (the platform 3, via the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0046]) and powered by the power source (11, where the sensor 53, 55 collectively is implied to be powered by the battery 11 for the sending of signals from the sensor 53, 55 collectively to the controller 9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0047]), wherein the IMU (53, 55 collectively) is configured to obtain a reading (a measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively; Fig 2, 7; para [0047]-[0048]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) and send the reading (the measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively) to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0050], [0052]) such that the controller (9) adjusts the rotational speed (the rotational speed of the motor 15; para [0043], [0050], [0052]) to assist the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) to balance on the platform (3) while the roller (7) is rolling (where the controller 9 adjusts the rotational speed of the motor 15 in response to the rider adjusting his or her balance on the platform 3 by the rider transferring his or her weight between a fore foot generally above the front roller 5 on the platform and a rear foot generally above the rear roller 7 on the platform, impliedly to assist the rider in balancing by transferring weight between feet on the platform 3; Fig 1, 7; para [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hiramatsu.
Regarding claim 7, Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 1, and Hiramatsu discloses, in the embodiment of Fig 1-9, wherein the mount (35) is a first mount (35; Fig 1-2; para [0042]), wherein the motor (15) is a first motor (15; Fig 4; para [0038]), wherein the roller (7) is a first roller (7; Fig 1-2, 4; para [0038]), wherein the rotational speed (the rotational speed of the motor 15) is a first rotational speed (a first rotational speed of the motor 15 attached to the roller 7; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047]), and further comprising:
a second mount (17; Fig 1-2; para [0039]) coupled to the platform (3, via the shaft 19 and the frame 21; Fig 2; para [0039]), wherein the second mount (17) is configured to freely rotate 360 degrees (the mount 17 selectively rotates about the shaft 19 in a range of 360 degrees; Fig 2; para [0042]) about a third axis (a third axis longitudinally along the shaft 19; Fig 2; para [0042]) relative to the platform (3) independent of the first mount (35; Fig 2; para [0039], [0042]); and
a second roller (5; Fig 1-2; para [0038]), wherein the IMU (53, 55 collectively) is configured to obtain the reading (the measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively) while the second roller (5) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) and send the reading (the measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively) to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) while the second roller (5) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0050], [0052]), but Hiramatsu fails to disclose, in the embodiment of Fig 1-9:
a second motor coupled to the second mount and configured to operate at a second rotational speed independent of the first motor; and
the second roller coupled to the second motor such that the second motor can drive the second roller about a fourth axis distinct from the third axis relative to the platform independent of the first roller, wherein the power source powers the second motor, and such that the controller adjusts the second rotational speed to assist the rider to balance on the platform while the second roller is rolling.
However, Hiramatsu discloses, in the alternate embodiment of para [0061], that the second wheel (5, as shown in Fig 1 and described in the alternate embodiment of para [0061]) including a second motor (a motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5 in the alternate embodiment of para [0061], where the second wheel 5 is exemplified by the first wheel 7 shown in Fig 4 with the motor 15, and the second mount 17 is exemplified in Fig 4 by the first mount 35; Fig 1, 4; para [0061]) coupled to the second mount (17; Fig 2, 4; para [0041], [0061]) and configured to operate at a second rotational speed (a second rotational speed of the second motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047], [0061]) independent of the first motor (the first motor 15 connected to the first wheel 7; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047], [0061]); and the second roller (5) coupled to the second motor (the second motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047], [0061]) such that the second motor (the second motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5) can drive the second roller (5) about a fourth axis (a second axis in a horizontal direction through the shafts 27, one of the shafts 27 shown in Fig 2 and both shafts 27 shown in Fig 3; para [0041], [0043], [0061]) distinct from the third axis (the third axis longitudinally along the shaft 19; Fig 2) relative to the platform (3) independent of the first roller (7; Fig 2; para [0041], [0043], [0061]), wherein the power source (battery 11 in Fig 5, further shown in Fig 16 for the embodiment of para [0061]) powers the second motor (the second motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5; Fig 2, 4-5; para [0043], [0061]), and such that the controller (9 in Fig 5-7, further shown as having two controllers 9a in Fig 16 for the embodiment of para [0061]) adjusts the second rotational speed (the second rotational speed of the second motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5; para [0043], [0050], [0052], [0061]) to assist the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) to balance on the platform (3) while the second roller (5) is rolling (where the controller 9 adjusts the rotational speed of the second motor 15 in response to the rider adjusting his or her balance on the platform 3 by the rider transferring his or her weight between a fore foot generally above the front roller 5 on the platform and a rear foot generally above the rear roller 7 on the platform 3, impliedly to assist the rider in balancing by transferring weight between feet on the platform 3; Fig 1, 7; para [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the device of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in order to assist in the traveling of the device on desired terrain.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 7, and the modified Hiramatsu discloses wherein the first roller (7) contains the first motor (the first motor 15 connected to the first rotor 7; Fig 4; para [0038]) or the second roller (5) contains the second motor (the motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5 in the alternate embodiment of para [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 7, and the modified Hiramatsu discloses wherein the first mount (35) and the second mount (17) are sole mounts (mounts 35 and 17; Fig 1-2; para [0039], [0042]) coupled to the platform (3; Fig 1-2; para [0039], [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 7, and the modified Hiramatsu discloses wherein the first roller (7) contains the first motor (the first motor 15 connected to the first rotor 7; Fig 4; para [0038]), wherein the second roller (5) contains the second motor (the motor 15 connected to the second wheel 5 in the alternate embodiment of para [0061]).
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu in view of US 10,058,764 B2 to Aders.
Regarding claim 2, Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 1, but Hiramatsu fails to disclose the device further comprising:
a slip ring coupled to the mount or the platform and electrically positioned between the power source and the motor, wherein the slip ring is configured to allow for the mount to freely rotate 360 degrees about the first axis relative to the platform while the power source powers the motor or the IMU through the slip ring.
Aders discloses a device (100; Fig 1; col 6, In 7-9) including a platform (102; Fig 1; col 6, In 7-9), a mount (148A, shown in Fig 6 and 8-9 for the roller assembly 138 shown in the bottom perspective view of Fig 2 and further shown in Fig 6-9; Fig 2, 6-9; col 11, In 59-61), a motor (a motor 158, best seen in Fig 6 and 8-9, of the roller assembly 138; Fig 2, 6, 8-9; col 12, In 25-28), a roller (156 shown in Fig 6 of the roller assembly 138; Fig 2, 6; col 12, In 10-13), a power source (122; Fig 1; col 7, In 40-45), and a slip ring (176 of the roller assembly 138; Fig 8-9; col 13, In 39-42) coupled to the platform (102, where the slip ring 176 of the roller assembly 138 is illustrated unmarked in Fig 2 connected to the platform 102, and the slip ring 176 further indirectly couples to the mount 148A; Fig 2, 8-9; col 8, In 60-63; col 13, In 39- 42) and electrically positioned between the power source (122) and the motor (158; Fig 2, 8-9; col 13, In 39-42), wherein the slip ring (176) is configured to allow for the mount (148A; Fig 6, 8-9; col 11, In 59-61; col 13, In 39-42) to rotate about a first axis (an axis of rotation of the motor 158 and bracket 148A relative to the ring 176 and platform 102; Fig 2, 8-9, 22; col 11, In 59-61; col 13, In 39-42) relative to the platform (102; Fig 2; col 11, In 59-61; col 13, In 39-42) while the power source (122) powers the motor (158) through the slip ring (176; Fig 8-9, 22; col 13, In 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the device of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Aders in order to suitably transfer electric power between stationary and rotating components of the device.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 7, but Hiramatsu fails to disclose the device further comprising:
a slip ring coupled to the first mount, the second mount, or the platform and electrically positioned between the power source and the first motor or the second motor, wherein the slip ring is configured to allow for the first mount or the second mount to freely rotate 360 degrees about the first axis or the third axis respectively relative to the platform while the power source powers the first motor, the second motor, or the IMU through the slip ring.
Aders discloses a device (100; Fig 1; col 6, In 7-9) including a platform (102; Fig 1; col 6, In 7-9), a mount (148A, shown in Fig 6 and 8-9 for the roller assembly 138 shown in the bottom perspective view of Fig 2 and further shown in Fig 6-9; Fig 2, 6-9; col 11, In 59-61), a
motor (a motor 158, best seen in Fig 6 and 8-9, of the roller assembly 138; Fig 2, 6, 8-9; col 12, In 25-28), a roller (156 shown in Fig 6 of the roller assembly 138; Fig 2, 6; col 12, In 10-13), a power source (122; Fig 1; col 7, In 40-45), and a slip ring (176 of the roller assembly 138; Fig 8-9; col 13, In 39-42) coupled to the platform (102, where the slip ring 176 of the roller assembly 138 is illustrated unmarked in Fig 2 connected to the platform 102, and the slip ring 176 further indirectly couples to the mount 148A; Fig 2, 8-9; col 8, In 60-63; col 13, In 39- 42) and electrically positioned between the power source (122) and the motor (158; Fig 2, 8-9; coll 13, In 39-42), wherein the slip ring (176) is configured to allow for the mount (148A; Fig 6, 8-9; col 11, In 59-61; col 13, In 39-42) to rotate about a first axis (an axis of rotation of the motor 158 and bracket 148A relative to the ring 176 and platform 102; Fig 2, 8-9, 22; col 11, In 59-61; col 13, In 39-42) relative to the platform (102; Fig 2; col 11, In 59-61; col 13, In 39-42) while the power source (122) powers the motor (158) through the slip ring (176; Fig 8-9, 22; coll 13, In 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the device of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Aders in order to suitably transfer electric power between stationary and rotating components of the device.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu in view of US 6,853,877 B1 to Slater et al.(hereinafter "Slater").
Regarding claim 3, Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 1, and Hiramatsu discloses the device further comprising:
a rotary encoder ('S' in Fig 4 and 7; para [0047]) coupled to the platform or the mount (the mount 35; Fig 4; para [0047]) and configured to detect an angle of rotation (an angle of rotation of the roller 7; Fig 4; para [0047]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 4; para [0047], [0050]), wherein the rotary encoder ('S') is coupled to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0047]) for the controller (9) to have access to the angle of rotation (the angle of rotation of the roller 7; Fig 4; para [0047]), but Hiramatsu fails to disclose:
the rotary encoder configured to detect an angle of rotation between the platform and the mount.
Slater discloses a device (a device including a plurality of wheel assemblies mounted to a mobile base, as shown generally and schematically in Fig 4, at least one of the plurality of wheel assemblies including the wheel assembly of Fig 1A; Fig 1A, 4; col 4, In 40-55) including a platform (the mobile base illustrated in Fig 4; col 4, In 40-55) and a wheel assembly (the wheel assembly illustrated in Fig 1A; col 4, In 40-55) that includes a mount (the U-shaped mount illustrated in Fig 1A surrounding the wheel; Fig 1A; col 4, In 40-55) and a rotary encoder (a rotary encoder, not shown in Fig 1A, that measures a steering angle about a yaw axis that includes the steering axis illustrated in Fig. 1A; col 5, In 53-61; col 12, In 31-44) configured to detect an angle of rotation between the platform (the mobile base illustrated in Fig 4) and the mount (the U-shaped mount illustrated in Fig 1A surrounding the wheel; Fig 1A; col 4, In 40-55; col 5, In 53-61; col 12, In 31-44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the device of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Slater in order to provide feedback as to a relative rotation between components of the system suitable for controlling a steering direction of the device.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 7, and Hiramatsu discloses the device further comprising:
a rotary encoder ('S' in Fig 4 and 7; para [0047]) coupled to the platform, the first mount, or the second mount (the first mount 35; Fig 4; para [0047]) and configured to detect an angle of rotation (an angle of rotation of the roller 7; Fig 4; para [0047]) while the first roller (7) or the second roller (5) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 4; para [0047], [0050]), wherein the rotary encoder ('S') is coupled to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0047]) for the controller (9) to have access to the angle of rotation (the angle of rotation of the roller 7; Fig 4; para [0047]), but Hiramatsu fails to disclose:
the rotary encoder configured to detect an angle of rotation between the platform and the first mount or the second mount.
Slater discloses a device (a device including a plurality of wheel assemblies mounted to a mobile base, as shown generally and schematically in Fig 4, at least one of the plurality of wheel assemblies including the wheel assembly of Fig 1A; Fig 1A, 4; col 4, In 40-55) including a platform (the mobile base illustrated in Fig 4; col 4, In 40-55) and a wheel assembly (the wheel assembly illustrated in Fig 1A; col 4, In 40-55) that includes a mount (the U-shaped mount illustrated in Fig 1A surrounding the wheel; Fig 1A; col 4, In 40-55) and a rotary encoder (a rotary encoder, not shown in Fig 1A, that measures a steering angle about a yaw axis that includes the steering axis illustrated in Fig 1A; col 5, In 53-61; col 12, In 31-44) configured to detect an angle of rotation between the platform (the mobile base illustrated in Fig 4) and the mount (the U-shaped mount illustrated in Fig 1A surrounding the wheel; Fig 1A; col 4, In 40-55; col 5, In 53-61; col 12, In 31-44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the device of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Slater in order to provide feedback as to a relative rotation between components of the system suitable for controlling a steering direction of the device.
Claims 5 and 11 lack an inventive step under PCT Article 33(3) as being obvious over Hiramatsu in view of US 2017/0087442 A1 to Better Wheels, LLC (hereinafter "Better Wheels").
Regarding claim 5, Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 1, but Hiramatsu fails to disclose the device further comprising:
a gyroscope having a speed, an angle, and a rotation in operation, wherein the gyroscope is coupled to the platform or the mount, wherein the gyroscope is powered by the power source, wherein the controller is configured to control the speed, the angle, and the rotation based on the reading to further assist the rider to balance on the platform while the roller is rolling.
Better Wheels discloses a device (the device illustrated generally in Fig 1, and further illustrated in the exploded views of Fig 2-3; para [0015]) including a platform (11, 12, 13 collectively; Fig 2: para [0019]), a roller (41; Fig 1; para [0015]), a power source (5; Fig 3; para
[0015]), a controller (31; Fig 3; para [0018]), and a gyroscope (32, 33 collectively; Fig 2; para [0018]) having a speed, an angle, and a rotation in operation (an implied speed, angle, and rotation of at least a portion of the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively when in operation; Fig 3; para [0018]), wherein the gyroscope (32, 33 collectively) is coupled to the platform (11, 12, 13 collectively; Fig 3; para [0018]), wherein the gyroscope (32, 33 collectively) is powered by the power source (5, where the power source 5 supplies power to balancing device 3 that includes the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively; Fig 2-3; para [0017]-[0018]), wherein the controller (31) is configured to control the speed, the angle, and the rotation (the implied speed, angle, and rotation of at least a portion of the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively when in operation; Fig 2; para [0018]) based on a reading (an input into the controller 31 from the portion 32 of the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively; Fig 2; para [0018]) to further assist a rider (a rider of the device illustrated generally in Fig 1; para [0015]) to balance on the platform (11, 12, 13 collectively) while the roller (41) is rolling (the balancing device 3, including the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively and the controller 31, assist the rider in balancing on at least a portion of the platform 11, 12, 13 collectively; Fig 1-2; para [0009], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the device of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Better Wheels in order to provide feedback to assist a user in navigating a space while riding on the device.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Hiramatsu discloses the device of claim 7, but Hiramatsu fails to disclose the device further comprising:
a gyroscope having a speed, an angle, and a rotation in operation, wherein the gyroscope is coupled to the platform, the first mount, or the second mount, wherein the gyroscope is powered by the power source, wherein the controller is configured to control the speed, the angle, and the rotation based on the reading to further assist the rider to balance on the platform while the first roller or the second roller is rolling.
Better Wheels discloses a device (the device illustrated generally in Fig 1, and further illustrated in the exploded views of Fig 2-3; para [0015]) including a platform (11, 12, 13 collectively; Fig 2; para [0019]), a roller (41; Fig 1; para [0015]), a power source (5; Fig 3; para [0015]), a controller (31; Fig 3; para [0018]), and a gyroscope (32, 33 collectively; Fig 2; para [0018]) having a speed, an angle, and a rotation in operation (an implied speed, angle, and rotation of at least a portion of the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively when in operation; Fig 3; para [0018]), wherein the gyroscope (32, 33 collectively) is coupled to the platform (11, 12, 13 collectively; Fig 3; para [0018]), wherein the gyroscope (32, 33 collectively) is powered by the power source (5, where the power source 5 supplies power to balancing device 3 that includes the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively; Fig 2-3; para [0017]-[0018]), wherein the controller (31) is configured to control the speed, the angle, and the rotation (the implied speed, angle, and rotation of at least a portion of the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively when in operation; Fig 2; para [0018]) based on a reading (an input into the controller 31 from the portion 32 of the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively; Fig 2; para [0018]) to further assist a rider (a rider of the device illustrated generally in Fig 1; para [0015]) to balance on the platform (11, 12, 13 collectively) while the roller (41) is rolling (the balancing device 3, including the gyroscope 32, 33 collectively and the controller 31, assist the rider in balancing on at least a portion of the platform 11, 12, 13 collectively; Fig 1-2; para [0009], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the device of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Better Wheels in order to provide feedback to assist a user in navigating a space while riding on the device.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu in view of US 5,029,702 to Tong.
Regarding claim 18, Hiramatsu discloses, in the embodiment of Fig 1-9, a method (a method of using the device 1; Fig 1; para [0036])
comprising:
providing a device (1; Fig 1; para [0036]) to a rider (a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]), wherein the device (1) comprising:
a platform (3; Fig 1; para [0036]) that does not have any trucks coupled thereto (as interpreted in Box VIII and as evidenced by the prior art trucks taught in Fig 1-5b and col 5, In 34-65 of US 7,093,842 B2 to Chmelar, the platform 3 does not have any trucks coupled to the
platform 3; Fig 1-2) and configured for a rider (a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]) to ride thereon (on the platform 3; Fig 1; para [0037]);
a mount (35; Fig 1-2; para [0042]) coupled to the platform (3, via the shaft 37 and the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0042]), wherein the mount (35) is configured to freely rotate 360 degrees (the mount 35 selectively rotates about the shaft 37 in a range of 360 degrees; Fig 2; para [0042]) about a first axis (a first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2; para [0042]) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0042]):
a motor (15; Fig 4; para [0038]) coupled to the mount (35; Fig 4; para [0041]) and configured to operate at a rotational speed (a rotational speed of the motor 15; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047]);
a roller (7; Fig 1-2, 4; para [0038]) coupled to the motor (15; Fig 4; para [0043]) such that the motor (15) can drive the roller (7) about a second axis (a second axis in a horizontal direction through the shafts 33, one of the shafts 33 shown in Fig 2 and both shafts 33 shown in Fig 4; para [0041], [0043]) distinct from the first axis (the first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0041]-[0043]);
a power source (battery 11, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5; Fig 1, 5; para [0036]) coupled to the platform (3; Fig 5; para [0036]) and powering the motor (15; Fig 4-5; para [0043]);
a controller (9, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5, the controller 9 further illustrated schematically in Fig 7; Fig 1, 5, 7; para [0036]) powered by the power source (9; Fig 5, 7; para [0036]); and
an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (the sensor 53, 55 collectively measures a movement of at least a portion of the platform 3 when a load is applied to the platform 3 by a foot of the rider; Fig 2; para [0046]-[0048]) coupled to the platform or the mount (the platform 3, via the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0046]) and powered by the power source (11, where the sensor 53, 55 collectively is implied to be powered by the battery 11 for the sending of signals from the sensor 53, 55 collectively to the controller 9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0047]);
and
instructing the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) to ride the platform (3; Fig 1; para [0050]) such that the IMU (53, 55 collectively) obtains a reading (a measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively; Fig 2, 7; para [0047]-[0048]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) and sends the reading (the measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively) to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0050], [0052]) such that the controller (9) adjusts the rotational speed (the rotational speed of the motor 15; para [0043], [0050], [0052]) to assist the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) to balance on the platform (3) while the roller (7) is rolling (where the controller 9 adjusts the rotational speed of the motor 15 in response to the rider adjusting his or her balance on the platform 3 by the rider transferring his or her weight between a fore foot generally above the front roller 5 on the platform and a rear foot generally above the rear roller 7 on the platform, impliedly to assist the rider in balancing by transferring weight between feet on the platform 3; Fig 1, 7; para [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]),
but Hiramatsu fails to expressly disclose:
the providing the device including sending the device to the rider.
Tong discloses a method (a method of using the device 20 with the box 36; Fig 1; col 1, In 50-56; col 2, In 24-26, 30-31; col 4, In 41-47) including sending a device (20; Fig 1; col 2, In 24-26) to a rider (the device 20 is sent to a customer by shipping the device 20 within the box 36 to the customer, where the customer is implied to include a rider who rides on the device 20; Fig 1; col 1, In 28-36, 50-56; col 4, In 41-47).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the method of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Tong in order to suitably transport the device to a user while protecting the device from damage before use.
Regarding claim 19, Hiramatsu discloses, in the embodiment of Fig 1-9, a method (a method of using the device 1; Fig 1; para [0036])
comprising:
providing a rider (a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]) with a device (1; Fig 1; para [0036]) comprising:
a platform (3; Fig 1; para [0036]) that does not have any trucks coupled thereto (
Fig 1-2) and configured for a rider (a rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1; para [0037]) to ride thereon (on the platform 3; Fig 1; para [0037]);
a mount (35; Fig 1-2; para [0042]) coupled to the platform (3, via the shaft 37 and the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0042]), wherein the mount (35) is configured to freely rotate 360 degrees (the mount 35 selectively rotates about the shaft 37 in a range of 360 degrees; Fig 2; para [0042]) about a first axis (a first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2; para [0042]) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0042]);
a motor (15; Fig 4; para [0038]) coupled to the mount (35; Fig 4; para [0041]) and configured to operate at a rotational speed (a rotational speed of the motor 15; Fig 4; para [0043], [0047]);
a roller (7; Fig 1-2, 4; para [0038]) coupled to the motor (15; Fig 4; para [0043]) such that the motor (15) can drive the roller (7) about a second axis (a second axis in a horizontal direction through the shafts 33, one of the shafts 33 shown in Fig 2 and both shafts 33 shown in Fig 4; para [0041], [0043]) distinct from the first axis (the first axis longitudinally along the shaft 37; Fig 2) relative to the platform (3; Fig 2; para [0041]-[0043]);
a power source (battery 11, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5; Fig 1, 5; para [0036]) coupled to the platform (3; Fig 5; para [0036]) and powering the motor (15; Fig 4-5; para [0043]);
a controller (9, best seen in Fig 5 within the case 13 that is shown in Fig 1 and Fig 5, the controller 9 further illustrated schematically in Fig 7; Fig 1, 5, 7; para [0036]) powered by the power source (9; Fig 5, 7; para [0036]); and
an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Fig 2; para [0046]-[0048]) coupled to the platform or the mount (the platform 3, via the frame 39; Fig 2; para [0046]) and powered by the power source (11, where the sensor 53, 55 collectively is implied to be powered by the battery 11 for the sending of signals from the sensor 53, 55 collectively to the controller 9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0047]);
and
causing the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) to operate the device (1) such that the IMU (53, 55 collectively) obtains a reading (a measurement of the load applied to the sensor 53, 55 collectively; Fig 2, 7; para [0047]-[0048]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) and send the reading (the measurement of the load applied to the sensor
53, 55 collectively) to the controller (9; Fig 7; para [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]) while the roller (7) is rolling as the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) rides on the platform (3; Fig 1-2, 7; para [0050], [0052]) such that the controller (9) adjusts the rotational speed (the rotational speed of the motor 15; para [0043], [0050], [0052]) to assist the rider (the rider who rides on a top surface of the platform 3 from the perspective of Fig 1) to balance on the platform (3) while the roller (7) is rolling (where the controller 9 adjusts the rotational speed of the motor 15 in response to the rider adjusting his or her balance on the platform 3 by the rider transferring his or her weight between a fore foot generally above the front roller 5 on the platform and a rear foot generally above the rear roller 7 on the platform, impliedly to assist the rider in balancing by transferring weight between feet on the platform 3; Fig 1, 7; para [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0052]),
but Hiramatsu fails to expressly disclose:
the providing the rider with the device including causing a rider to receive a device.
Tong discloses a method (a method of using the device 20 with the box 36; Fig 1; col 1, In 50-56; col 2, In 24-26, 30-31; col 4, In 41-47) including causing a rider (a rider that purchases the device, where the device 20 is sent to a customer by shipping the device 20 within the box 36 to the customer, where the customer is implied to include a rider who rides on the device 20; Fig 1; coll 1, In 28-36, 50-56; col 4, In 41-47) to receive a device (20, where the device 20 is received by a customer by shipping the device 20 within the box 36 to the customer, where the customer is implied to include a rider who rides on the device 20; Fig 1; col 1, In 28-36, 50-56; col 2, In 24-26; coll 4, In 41-47).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the method of Hiramatsu could have been modified as claimed in view of Tong in order to suitably transport the device to a user while protecting the device from damage before use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 10, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747