DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 in the submission dated 05/16/2026 in response to the office action mailed 02/12/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 11, 15, 18, 20, 23, and 25-27 are canceled. Claims 1-10,12-14,16-17,19,21-22,24 and 28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraphs 3-8 on page 7 of 11 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 05/12/2026, with respect to Objections to Drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections of Drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026, with respect to the claims, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(a) The applicant argues that Que fails to disclose or suggest the new limitation because the SMA driving apparatus are configured to intentionally move the lens horizontally (perpendicular to the optical axis), thus not restricting the movement (Remarks, para 2-4, page 8 of 11).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [0388] Que teaches that when the SMA driving apparatuses have the same amount of thermal shrinkage they are driven equally, have equal horizontal forces and thus apply a squeezing force resulting in the lens being driven upward along the optical axis. Having equal horizontal forces from SMA driving apparatus on opposite sides restricts the movement in the horizontal direction. This is further shown in Fig. 20A of Que where the dashed arrows show the lens being driven only in the upward direction and not horizontally since the horizontal movement is restricted.
In response to applicant's argument that that Que fails to disclose or suggest the new limitation because the SMA driving apparatus are configured to intentionally move the lens horizontally (perpendicular to the optical axis), thus not restricting the movement, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
(b) The applicant argues that dependent claims 2 and 28 are allowable for the same reasons provided above. The examiner disagrees for the same reasons provided above (Remarks, para 5, page 8 of 11).
(c) The applicant argues that additional prior art references fail to cure the deficiencies of Que and that dependent claims 3-10,12-14,16-17,19,21-22, and 24 are allowable for the same reasons provided above. The examiner disagrees for the same reasons provided above (Remarks, para 6-7 on page 8 of 11 through para 4 on page 10 of 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record).
As to claim 1, Que teaches (Figs. 13-20C) a camera module (“a camera apparatus,” para [0336], Figs. 13-14), comprising:
a movable assembly configured to drive a lens assembly to move along a direction of an optical axis (910, 920, “the SMA driver 920 drives the lens 910 to move based on the direction of the optical axis O,” para [0037], Fig. 14); and
an elastic device uniformly arranged around the movable assembly (921, 922, “the SMA driver 920 includes an inner SMA driving apparatus 921, an outer SMA driving apparatus 922,” as shown in Fig. 16 the SMA driving apparatus is uniformly arranged around the movable assembly, para [0341], Fig. 16) and configured to come into contact with the movable assembly (9214, 9215, 9223, 9224, “the inner SMA driving apparatus 921 further includes a plurality of inner SMA line fixing apparatuses 9214 and a plurality of inner suspension wire fixing apparatuses 9215,” “the outer SMA driving apparatus 922 of the SMA driver 920 further includes a plurality of outer SMA line fixing apparatuses 9223 and a plurality of outer suspension wire fixing apparatuses 9224,” the fixing apparatuses connect the SMA wires to the driver 920, paras [0369] and [0383], Fig. 18) to generate an elastic deformation to apply a squeezing force to the movable assembly, wherein a resultant force direction of the squeezing force points towards the optical axis and is perpendicular to the optical axis (910, 920, “the SMA driver 920 thermally shrinks when being powered and drives the lens 910 to move upward,” when the SMA driving units on opposite sides of the SMA driving apparatus are driven with different amounts of thermal shrinkage the lens 910 receives a force in the horizontal direction which is perpendicular to the optical axis, thus when the SMA driving units are driven equally the horizontal forces squeeze the SMA driver 920, paras [0387] and [0389], Figs. 20A-C);
wherein the elastic device comprises a first elastic device (922, “the SMA driver 920 includes… an outer SMA driving apparatus 922,” para [0341], Fig. 16) and a second elastic device (921, “the SMA driver 920 includes an inner SMA driving apparatus 921,” para [0341], Fig. 16), and a resultant force direction of a squeezing force applied to the movable assembly by the first elastic device is opposite to a resultant force direction of a squeezing force applied to the movable assembly by the second elastic device (9212, 9222, when the inner driving units 9212 on opposite sides of the inner SMA driving apparatus 921 have the same amount of shrinkage and the outer driving units 9222 on opposite sides of the outer SMA driving apparatus 922 have the same amount of shrinkage they drive the lens 910 to move upward along the direction of the optical axis O, thus when the SMA driving units are driven equally the horizontal forces squeeze the SMA driver 920, para [0388], Fig. 20A); and
wherein when the movable assembly moves along the direction of the optical axis (9212, 9222, the squeezing force applied by the driving units 9212 and 9222 when the driving units have the same amount of shrinkage drives the lens 910 to move upward along the direction of the optical axis O, para [0388], Fig. 20A), the squeezing force applied to the movable assembly by the first elastic device and the squeezing force applied to the movable assembly by the second elastic device restrict a movement of the movable assembly in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the optical axis (9212, 9222, the driving units 9212 and 9222 drive the lens 910 to move horizontally when the driving units have different amounts of thermal shrinkage, thus when the inner and outer SMA driving apparatus have the same amount of shrinkage they restrict the movement in the horizontal direction, paras [0388]-[0389], Figs. 20A-20B).
As to claim 2, Que teaches the camera module according to claim 1, further comprising a base (924, “a supporting base 924,” para [0385], Fig. 18), wherein the base is provided with a support component uniformly arranged around the base (9221, “the bearing apparatus 9221 is fixed to the supporting base 924,” para [0386], Fig. 20A), and the support component comprises a first component (9921, “the bearing apparatus 9221,” para [0383], Fig. 18) and a second component (9213, the supporting carrier 9213, para [0383], Fig. 18), wherein the first elastic device is installed in the first support component (9221, the outer suspension wire fixing apparatuses 9223 and 9224 connect the SMA driving apparatus 922 to the bearing apparatus 9221, para [0383], Fig. 20A), and the second elastic device is installed in the second support component (9213, the inner suspension wire fixing apparatuses 9214 and 9215 connect the SMA driving apparatus 921 to the supporting carrier 9213, para [0369], Fig. 20A).
As to claim 28, Que teaches a digital device (100, “an electronic device, such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer or the like,” para [0325], Fig. 12), comprising:
a device body (100, “the electronic device includes a device main body 100,” para [0325], Fig. 12); and
a camera module according to claim 1 (200, “the camera apparatus 200,” para [0325], Fig. 12), wherein the camera module is arranged in the device body (200, “the camera apparatus 200 is mounted on the device main body 100,” para [0325], Fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record), and further in view of Kim, WO 2021206435 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 02/02/2026: of record).
As to claim 3, Que teaches the camera module according to claim 2, comprising a metal sheet clamped at a first locking position (81, “a cantilever 81 elastically connected to the movable member 83 and the supporting member 84… the cantilever 81 is formed by stamping a metal sheet,” paras [0424] and [0431], Fig. 32).
Que does not teach the camera module, wherein the first support component has a first locking position and a second locking position, and the first elastic device comprises a first rolling member clamped at the second locking position, wherein one side of the first rolling member is in contact with the first metal sheet, and the other side of the first rolling member passes through the second locking position and comes into contact with a guide rail of the movable assembly, wherein when the movable assembly moves, a coil component of the movable assembly is electrically connected with the first rolling member and the first metal sheet through the guide rail.
Que and Kim are related as camera modules comprising features that move a lens along an optical axis.
However, Kim teaches a camera module (400, “a camera module (400),” para [0105], Fig. 4) wherein the first support component has a first locking position and a second locking position, and the first elastic device comprises a first metal sheet clamped at the first locking position and a first rolling member clamped at the second locking position, wherein one side of the first rolling member is in contact with the first metal sheet, and the other side of the first rolling member passes through the second locking position and comes into contact with a guide rail of the movable assembly, wherein when the movable assembly moves, a coil component of the movable assembly is electrically connected with the first rolling member and the first metal sheet through the guide rail (434-2, a first plurality of balls 434-2 arranged within locked positions between the camera housing 410 and the lens carrier 430, the first plurality of balls 434-2 are guided in the optical axis direction L in the structure (e.g., slanted corner shape or chamfered area) of the camera module, and are in arranged on the first magnetic body 493-1, thus are electrically connected to the coil 492-1 via the magnet 493-1, paras [0209]-[0210], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the camera module with the first and second locking positions, the first rolling member, and the contact configurations of Kim, because the plurality of balls can provide rolling friction when the lens carrier moves in the direction of the optical axis (para [0210]).
As to claim 5, Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 3, wherein the second support component has a third locking position and a fourth locking position, and the second elastic device comprises a second metal sheet clamped at the third locking position and a second rolling member clamped at the fourth locking position, wherein one side of the second rolling member is in contact with the second metal sheet, and the other side of the second rolling member passes through the fourth locking position and comes into contact with the guide rail of the movable assembly, wherein when the movable assembly moves, the coil component of the movable assembly is electrically connected with the second rolling member and the second metal sheet through the guide rail.
Que and Kim are related as camera modules comprising features that move a lens along an optical axis.
However, Kim teaches the camera module (400, “a camera module (400),” para [0105], Fig. 4) wherein the second support component has a third locking position and a fourth locking position, and the second elastic device comprises a second metal sheet clamped at the third locking position and a second rolling member clamped at the fourth locking position, wherein one side of the second rolling member is in contact with the second metal sheet, and the other side of the second rolling member passes through the fourth locking position and comes into contact with the guide rail of the movable assembly, wherein when the movable assembly moves, the coil component of the movable assembly is electrically connected with the second rolling member and the second metal sheet through the guide rail (434-1, a second plurality of balls 434-1 arranged within locked positions between the camera housing 410 and the lens carrier 430, the second plurality of balls 434- are guided in the optical axis direction L in the structure (e.g., slanted corner shape or chamfered area) of the camera module, and are in arranged on the first magnetic body 493-1, thus are electrically connected to the coil 492-1 via the magnet 493-1, paras [0209]-[0210], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the camera module with the third and fourth locking positions, the second rolling member, and the contact configurations of Kim, because the plurality of balls can provide rolling friction when the lens carrier moves in the direction of the optical axis (para [0210]).
As to claim 6, Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 5, wherein the second rolling member comprises a metal post or a plurality of metal balls arranged side by side; or
the base is further provided with a wire buried layer embedded in the base, one end of the wire buried layer is connected with the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet, and the other end of the wire buried layer is connected with a printed circuit board.
Que and Kim are related as camera modules comprising features that move a lens along an optical axis.
However, Kim teaches the camera module wherein the second rolling member comprises a metal post or a plurality of metal balls arranged side by side (434-1, 434-2, the plurality of balls 434-1 and 434-2 are arranged side by side in the L direction, para [0210], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the second rolling member comprising a metal post or a plurality of metal balls arranged side by side of Kim, because the plurality of balls can provide rolling friction when the lens carrier moves in the direction of the optical axis (para [0210]).
Further, Kim does not explicitly teach that the plurality of balls are metal. One of ordinary skill of the art would know that metal is a commonly used material for balls used to provide rolling friction, such as with ball bearings. It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious). MPEP §2144.07.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record), in view of Kim, WO 2021206435 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 02/02/2026: of record), and further in view of Minamisawa, US 2021/0349329 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Minamisawa: of record).
As to claim 4, Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 3, wherein the first metal sheet further has an elastic structure arranged on the first metal sheet and clamped at the first locking position.
Que and Minamisawa are related as camera modules comprising movable structures that move a lens along an optical axis.
However, Minamisawa teaches a camera module (10, “an optical unit 10,” para [0062], Fig. 1) wherein the first metal sheet further has an elastic structure arranged on the first metal sheet and clamped at the first locking position (36a, one end part 36a of the elastic member 36 is formed with a first position part 36g and the elastic member 36 is structured as a plate spring, plate springs are commonly understood to be manufactured by forming metal sheets, paras [0079] and [0087], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the first metal sheet having an elastic structure arranged on the first metal sheet and clamped at the first locking position of Minamisawa, because doing so positions the elastic member with respect to the holder frame (para [0091]).
Further, Minamisawa does not explicitly teach that the sheet is metal. One of ordinary skill of the art would know that metal is a commonly used material for plate springs. It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious). MPEP §2144.07.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record).
As to claim 7, the embodiment of Figs. 13-20C of Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 2, wherein the movable assembly comprises a carrier, and the carrier has a through hole corresponding to the support component, wherein after the carrier is installed on the base, the support component penetrates into the through hole.
The embodiments of Que are related as a camera module with a SMA driving device to move a lens along the direction of an optical axis.
However, the embodiment of Figs. 1A-6 of Que teaches (Figs. 1A-6) a camera module (“a camera apparatus,” para [0255], Fig. 1A), wherein the movable assembly comprises a carrier (24, “the supporting base 24,” para [0289], Fig. 4), and the carrier has a through hole corresponding to the support component (241, “the supporting base 24 is further provided with at least four mounting portions 241 for mounting the upper drive fixing apparatus 2212 and the lower drive fixing apparatus 2312,” para [0289], Fig. 4), wherein after the carrier is installed on the base, the support component penetrates into the through hole (241, “wherein the upper drive fixing apparatus 2212 and the lower drive fixing apparatus 2312 are embeddedly mounted to the mounting portions 241, para [0289], Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of the embodiment of Figs. 13-20C of Que with a carrier having a through hole corresponding to the support component, wherein after the carrier is installed on the base, the support component penetrates into the through hole of the embodiment of Figs. 1A-6 of Que, because it is used for positioning and mounting (para [0290]).
As to claim 8, Que teaches the camera module according to claim 7, wherein the carrier has a lens accommodating cavity which passes through and protrudes from a surface of the carrier (41, “an accommodating space 41,” para [0259], Fig. 5A), and the lens assembly is sleeved in the lens accommodating cavity (10, the lens assembly 10 is sleeved in the lower elastic piece 26 in the lens accommodating space 41, para [0291], Fig. 5A).
As to claim 9, Que teaches the camera module according to claim 8, further comprising a lens protective sleeve (26, “a lower elastic piece 26,” para [0291], Fig. 5A), wherein the lens protective sleeve has a cavity (261, “a lower elastic piece bearing ring 261,” para [0295], Fig. 4), and the lens protective sleeve is sleeved on a top of the lens accommodating cavity (26, 41, as shown in figure 5A the lower elastic piece 26 is on top of the accommodating space 41, Fig. 5A), wherein when the lens assembly moves, the lens assembly moves into the cavity to isolate from the outside (10, 41, when the SMA driving device 20 drives the lens assembly 10 downward, the lens assembly 10 moves into the cavity 41 as indicated by the downward arrow, and is isolated from the outside, para [0292], Fig. 5A).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record), and further in view of Yang et al., CN 113411484 A (hereinafter referred to as Yang where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 01/28/2026: of record).
As to claim 10, Que teaches the camera module according to claim 9, further comprising a housing arranged around the base for accommodating the movable assembly (40, “the housing 40,” para [0259], Fig. 5A) and a lens ring fixedly arranged at a top of the housing (2112, “a carrier ring 2112,” para [0263], Fig. 4), wherein the movable assembly moves up and down along the direction of the optical axis in the housing (20, SMA driving device 20 drives the lens 10 along the optical axis O in the housing 40, para [0298], Figs. 5A-C).
Que does not teach the camera module comprising an iron housing.
Que and Yang are related as camera modules with driving components that move a lens assembly in the optical axis direction.
However, Yang teaches a camera module (11, “a camera module,” para [0045], Fig. 1) comprising an iron housing (Yang, Fig. 1, 11, translation, paragraph [0031], “11, shell body” paragraph [0173], “the outer shell is an iron shell”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the camera module comprising an iron housing of Yang, because it forms a relatively closed electromagnetic shielding structure which can improve the anti-electromagnetic interference (EMI) effect of the camera module, and can reduce the impact of the camera module and electronic equipment (para [0173]).
As to claim 12, Que in view of Yang teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 10, and Que further teaches the camera module according to claim 10, further comprising a flexible connection structure arranged between the lens ring and the iron housing, wherein a space is formed between the flexible connection structure and the lens protective sleeve and between the flexible connection structure and the lens ring to prevent foreign objects from entering to affect an optical performance of the camera module (25, “the upper elastic piece 25,” the upper elastic piece 25 is arranged between the lens ring 2112 and the housing 40, para [0294], Fig. 5A).
Que discloses the claimed invention except for the flexible connection structure arranged connected with a bottom of the lens protective sleeve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the flexible connection structure to connect with the bottom of the lens protective sleeve, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(A).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record), in view of Yang et al., CN 113411484 A (hereinafter referred to as Yang where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 01/28/2026: of record), and further in view of Kim, WO 2021206435 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 02/02/2026: of record).
As to claim 13, Que in view of Yang teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 12, wherein lens ring comprises a bearing component arranged on the flexible connection structure, an elastic component arranged in the bearing component and a third rolling member arranged between the elastic component and the bearing component.
Que and Kim are related as camera modules comprising features that move a lens along an optical axis.
However, Kim teaches a camera module (400, “a camera module (400),” para [0105], Fig. 4) wherein lens ring comprises a bearing component arranged on the flexible connection structure (479, the bearing structure 479 is arranged on the guide plate 450, para [0280], Fig. 8), an elastic component arranged in the bearing component and a third rolling member arranged between the elastic component and the bearing component (479-1, 479-2, the bearing structure 479 includes a plurality of bearings 479-1, which are considered the third rolling member, paras [0281]-[0283], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the lens ring comprising a bearing component arranged on the flexible connection structure, an elastic component arranged in the bearing component and a third rolling member arranged between the elastic component and the bearing component of Kim, because the bearing structure can rotate to provide a rolling friction (para [0283]).
As to claim 14, Que in view of Yang and further in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13. Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 13, wherein the elastic component comprises an elastic opening ring, and the bearing component comprises an inner ring wall, an outer ring wall and an annular convex strip arranged between the inner ring wall and the outer ring wall, wherein the annular convex strip is provided with a dispensing groove and an opening, and the dispensing groove is configured to accommodate glue to adhere to a ring body of the elastic opening ring, wherein one side of the third rolling member is in contact with the elastic opening ring, and the elastic opening ring is in an elastic active state, wherein the third rolling member is arranged in the opening, and the elastic opening ring is arranged between the outer ring wall and the annular convex strip.
Que and Kim are related as camera modules comprising features that move a lens along an optical axis.
However, Kim teaches a camera module (400, “a camera module (400),” para [0105], Fig. 4), wherein the elastic component comprises an elastic opening ring (450, the guide plates as shown in figure 6 are open ring shapes, paras [0281]-[0283], Fig. 6), and the bearing component comprises an inner ring wall, an outer ring wall and an annular convex strip arranged between the inner ring wall and the outer ring wall, wherein the annular convex strip is provided with a dispensing groove and an opening (479-2, the bearing support member 479-2 may be formed in the shape of a disc with an opening area 4791 formed in the center, the bearing structure is placed in the lower fixed plate 450-1, the lower fixed plate comprises a first edge portion 456, a second edge portion 457 and a recessed portion 4552, paras [0263] and [0281]-[0283], Fig. 6), and the dispensing groove is configured to accommodate glue to adhere to a ring body of the elastic opening ring (479, plates can be fixed using various methods including bonding, the bearing structure 479 may be fixed to the first guide plate 450, paras [0265] and [0280], Fig. 6), wherein one side of the third rolling member is in contact with the elastic opening ring, and the elastic opening ring is in an elastic active state, wherein the third rolling member is arranged in the opening, and the elastic opening ring is arranged between the outer ring wall and the annular convex strip (479-1, the plurality of bearings 479-1 provide a rolling friction between the first guide plate 450 and the third guide plate 470, and a plurality of through holes 4792 are formed in the bearing support member 479-2 in which a plurality of bearing 479-1 are arranged, paras [0281]-[0283], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the elastic ring and third rolling member configuration of Kim, because the bearing structure can rotate to provide a rolling friction (para [0283]).
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record), and further in view of Yuhu, CN 209105233 U (hereinafter referred to as Yuhu where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 01/28/2026: of record).
As to claim 16, Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 7, further comprising at least one locking structure arranged on the base, wherein the locking structure comprises a coil assembly and a magnet assembly facing the coil assembly, wherein when the coil assembly is powered on, a magnetic field generated by the coil assembly interacts with a magnetic field of the magnet assembly to cause a relative movement between the coil assembly and the magnet assembly to lock or unlock the movable assembly.
Que and Yuhu are related as camera modules and drive mechanisms.
However, Yuhu teaches (Figs. 1-4) a camera module (30, “a camera module 30,” para [0033], Figs. 2 and 3) comprising at least one locking structure arranged on the base (57, “a locking component 57,” para [0042], Fig. 3), wherein the locking structure comprises a coil assembly (577, “a coil 577,” para [0047], Fig. 4) and a magnet assembly facing the coil assembly (573, “a permanent magnet 573,” para [0047], Fig. 4), wherein when the coil assembly is powered on, a magnetic field generated by the coil assembly interacts with a magnetic field of the magnet assembly to cause a relative movement between the coil assembly and the magnet assembly to lock or unlock the movable assembly (577, 573, when the coil 577 is energized the locking component 57 releases the lock, para [0048], Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the camera module magnetic locking assembly of Yuhu, because doing so simplifies the structure of the drive mechanism 50, effectively improving the compactness of the spatial layout of the components, reduce the spatial layout of the camera module 30, and effectively reduces the manufacturing cost of electronic devices (para [0049]).
As to claim 17, Que in view of Yuhu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16. Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 16, wherein the locking structure further comprises a fixing portion, and the fixing portion comprises a fixing base and a slide rail arranged on the fixing base, wherein the slide rail extends along a direction parallel to a movement direction of the magnet assembly or the coil assembly; or the locking structure further comprises an elastic support portion having one end fixedly connected with the magnet assembly.
Que and Yuhu are related as camera modules and drive mechanisms.
However, Yuhu teaches a camera module (30, “a camera module 30,” para [0033], Figs. 2 and 3) wherein the locking structure further comprises a fixing portion, and the fixing portion comprises a fixing base and a slide rail arranged on the fixing base, wherein the slide rail extends along a direction parallel to a movement direction of the magnet assembly or the coil assembly; or the locking structure further comprises an elastic support portion having one end fixedly connected with the magnet assembly (54, “the driving member 54 is an elastic member,” the elastic support portion is fixed to the magnet assembly via the mating part 321, para [0045], Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the camera module with the locking structure further comprises an elastic support portion having one end fixedly connected with the magnet assembly of Yuhu, because doing so simplifies the structure of the drive mechanism 50, effectively improving the compactness of the spatial layout of the components, reduce the spatial layout of the camera module 30, and effectively reduces the manufacturing cost of electronic devices (para [0049]).
As to claim 19, Que in view of Yuhu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17. Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 17, wherein when the coil assembly is powered on to cause the relative movement between the coil assembly and the magnet assembly, the elastic support portion is compressed and the movable assembly is unlocked; wherein when the coil assembly is powered off, the magnetic field of the coil assembly disappears, and the magnet assembly is driven by a rebound force of the elastic support portion to reset and the movable assembly is locked.
Que and Yuhu are related as camera modules and drive mechanisms.
However, Yuhu teaches a camera module (30, “a camera module 30,” para [0033], Figs. 2 and 3) wherein when the coil assembly is powered on to cause the relative movement between the coil assembly and the magnet assembly, the elastic support portion is compressed and the movable assembly is unlocked (577, when the coil 577 is energized the induced magnetic field is opposite in the direction to the magnetic field of the permanent magnet 573 and cancels each other out, the elastic element returns to its original deformation and elongates, and the locking component releases, para [0048], Fig. 4); wherein when the coil assembly is powered off, the magnetic field of the coil assembly disappears, and the magnet assembly is driven by a rebound force of the elastic support portion to reset and the movable assembly is locked (577, when the coil 577 is disconnected the attraction force of the permanent magnet 573 on the iron core 575 is greater than the deformation recovery force of the elastic element and locks the camera module, para [0049], Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the locking assembly and coil and magnetic assemblies of Yuhu, because doing so simplifies the structure of the drive mechanism 50, effectively improving the compactness of the spatial layout of the components, reduce the spatial layout of the camera module 30, and effectively reduces the manufacturing cost of electronic devices (para [0049]).
Yuhu teaches that when the coil is powered on the movable assembly is unlocked, and when the coil is powered off the movable assembly is locked. However Yuhu also teaches when the coil is powered on the elastic support portion is elongated, and when the coil is powered off the elastic support portion is compressed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the coil and magnet on the opposite side of the elastic support portion such that when the coil is powered on the elastic support portion is compressed and when the coil is powered off the support portion is reset as claimed, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(A).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record), in view of Yuhu, CN 209105233 U (hereinafter referred to as Yuhu where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 01/28/2026: of record), and further in view of Wu, CN 110821300A (hereinafter referred to as Wu where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 02/05/2026: of record).
As to claim 21, Que in view of Yuhu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17. Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 17, wherein the locking structure further comprises a locking slider, and a sliding member is arranged between the locking slider and the slide rail.
Que and Wu are related as locking structures.
However, Wu teaches the locking structure (“electromagnetic lock,” para [0031], Fig. 1) further comprises a locking slider (1, “first lock body,” para [0031], Fig. 1), and a sliding member is arranged between the locking slider and the slide rail (9, sliders 9 that cooperate with slide rails 10, para [0034], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module wherein the locking structure further comprises a locking slider, and a sliding member is arranged between the locking slider and the slide rail, of Wu because, the bolt can move smoothly, ensuring stability and preventing derailment (para [0034]).
As to claim 22, Que in view of Yuhu and further in view of Wu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21. Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 21, wherein the locking slider has an accommodating chamber, and the magnet assembly is removably installed in the accommodating chamber, wherein the locking slider has a locking tongue arranged on an outer wall of the accommodating chamber, wherein a groove is arranged on the side wall of the carrier, and when the movable assembly is unlocked, the locking tongue is located in the groove.
Que and Wu are related as locking structures.
However, Wu teaches the locking slider has an accommodating chamber (1, “the first cavity 1,” para [0033], Fig. 1), and the magnet assembly is removably installed in the accommodating chamber (8, “a first magnet 8,” para [0033], Fig. 1), wherein the locking slider has a locking tongue arranged on an outer wall of the accommodating chamber (6, “the locking tongue 6,” para [0033], Fig. 1), wherein a groove is arranged on the side wall of the carrier (3, “the latch outlet 3,” para [0032], Fig. 1), and when the movable assembly is unlocked, the locking tongue is located in the groove (3, Fig. 1 shows the locking structure in the unlocked position and the locking tongue 6 is located in the groove 3, para [0032], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que with the locking slider and chamber assembly of Wu, because the bolt can move smoothly, ensuring stability and preventing derailment (para [0034]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., US 2021/0294068 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Que: of record), in view of Yuhu, CN 209105233 U (hereinafter referred to as Yuhu where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 01/28/2026: of record), and further in view of Kim, WO 2021206435 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim where reference is made to the attached machine translation retrieved electronically from Espacenet 02/02/2026: of record).
As to claim 24, Que in view of Yuhu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16. Que does not teach the camera module according to claim 16, wherein the locking structure is arranged on the base between adjacent first support components or on the base between adjacent second support components, or simultaneously arranged on the base between adjacent first support components and on the base between adjacent second support components; or the camera module further comprises a plurality of magnets in a straight bar shape and symmetrically arranged on at least two opposite sides of the base, and the locking structure is arranged on another one side or two sides of the base.
Que and Kim are related as camera modules comprising features that move a lens along an optical axis.
However, Kim teaches a camera module (400, “a camera module (400),” para [0105], Fig. 4) further comprising a plurality of magnets in a straight bar shape and symmetrically arranged on at least two opposite sides of the base, and the locking structure is arranged on another one side or two sides of the base (493-3, 493-4, the third magnetic body 493-3 located on side 413 and the fourth magnetic body 493-4 located on side 414 are arranged on two opposite sides of the base, and the locking structure 423 is arranged on side 412 of the base, paras [0137]-[0140], Fig. 5b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Que further comprising a plurality of magnets in a straight bar shape and symmetrically arranged on at least two opposite sides of the base, and the locking structure is arranged on another one side or two sides of the base of Kim, because doing so allows rotation of the camera assembly (para [0137]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2018/0356609 A1) teaches a camera module and a lens driving device to move a lens barrel in an optical axis direction with a rolling member configured to guide the frame and lens holder.
Park et al. (US 2021/0294113) teaches a camera module and a driving assembly configured to move a lens module in the optical axis direction comprising reinforcing members and ball bearings to control the movement of the of the lens module.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
07/25/2026