DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges the response filed 4/8/2026. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Examiner notes that independent claims 1, 16, and 17 have been amended to include the limitation “[the mesh panel support] is arranged to carry at least one mesh panel”. This constitutes new matter as it is not supported in the originally filed disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Moore et al. (GB 2537848).
Re Clm 1: Moore et al. disclose a mesh panel holder (160) for an edge protection barrier system (see figs, posts with panel) comprising mesh panels (140) supported on posts (4) by means of the mesh panel holders, the mesh panel holder comprising a post attachment member (at least back plate 168 attached to the post) and a mesh panel support (fig 4e; 162, 172) attached to the post attachment member, wherein the mesh panel support is arranged to carry at least one mesh panel (see figs 5a and 5b) and comprises a mesh panel retainer (172) arranged to pivot between at least a first locked position (fig 4d) and a second locked position (fig 4a) at different pivotal angles (quarter-turn), the mesh panel retainer being arranged to, in the first locked position, enable a mesh panel to be received at the mesh panel support (retainer 172 rotated out of the way), and, in the second locked position, prevent a received mesh panel from being unintentionally removed from the mesh panel holder (retainer 172 hooked in mesh panel), wherein the mesh panel holder comprises a resilient locking member (174), wherein unlocking of the mesh panel retainer from the first and second locked positions requires operation of the resilient locking member (shown in figs 4b and 4c).
Re Clm 2: Moore et al. disclose wherein the mesh panel retainer, in a mounted state of the mesh panel holder, extends generally horizontally in the first position (see fig 4d), and extends generally vertically in the second position (fig 4a or 4e).
Re Clms 3 and 18: Moore et al. disclose wherein the mesh panel support comprises a support member (housing and housing elements of 160, 166a,b, etc.) attached to the post attachment member and arranged to support the mesh panel, and wherein the mesh panel retainer is pivotally connected with the support member at an end thereof ( as shown).
Re Clm 4: Moore et al. disclose wherein the mesh panel retainer comprises a first engagement portion (any portion of 172) and the support member comprises a second engagement portion (any portion engaged within the housing) arranged to engage with the first engagement portion. Examiner notes that the two elements are arranged to engage with each other (pivot, translate, etc.).
Re Clm 10: Moore et al. disclose wherein the post attachment member comprises a post bracket arranged to extend around at least a part of a periphery of a post (168 attached to post 4 by adjustable clamp; would extend around at least a part of a periphery of the post).
Re Clm 11: Moore et al. disclose wherein the post attachment member comprises a clamping member connected with the post bracket and is arranged to clamp the post bracket at the post (again, 168 attached to post 4 by adjustable clamp; would extend around at least a part of a periphery of the post).
Re Clm 16: Moore et al. disclose an edge protection barrier system (see all figs) comprising at least one mesh panel (140) supported on posts (4) by means of mesh panel holders (160) each holder comprising a post attachment member (at least back plate 168 attached to the post) and a mesh panel support (fig 4e; 162, 172) attached to the post attachment member, wherein the mesh panel support is arranged to carry at least one mesh panel (see figs 5a and 5b) and comprises a mesh panel retainer (172) arranged to pivot between at least a first locked position (fig 4a) and a second locked position (fig 4d) at different pivotal angles (quarter-turn), the mesh panel retainer being arranged to, in the first locked position, enable a mesh panel to be received at the mesh panel support (retainer 172 rotated out of the way), and, in the second locked position, prevent a received mesh panel from being unintentionally removed from the mesh panel holder (retainer 172 hooked in mesh panel), wherein the mesh panel holder comprises a resilient locking member (174), wherein unlocking of the mesh panel retainer from the first and second locked positions requires operation of the resilient locking member (shown in figs 4b and 4c).
Re Clm 17: Moore et al. disclose a method of installing an edge protection barrier system comprising mesh panels (140), posts (4) and mesh panel holders (160), wherein each mesh panel holder comprises a post attachment member (at least back plate 168 attached to the post) and a mesh panel support (fig 4e; 162, 172) attached to the post attachment member, wherein the mesh panel support is arranged to carry at least one mesh panel (see figs 5a and 5b) and comprises a mesh panel retainer (172) arranged to pivot between at least a first locked position (fig 4d) and a second locked position (fig 4a) at different pivotal angles (quarter-turn), the mesh panel retainer being arranged to, in the first locked position, enable a mesh panel to be received at the mesh panel support (retainer 172 rotated out of the way), and, in the second locked position, prevent a received mesh panel from being unintentionally removed from the mesh panel holder (retainer 172 hooked in mesh panel), wherein the mesh panel holder comprises a resilient locking member (174), wherein unlocking of the mesh panel retainer from the first and second locked positions requires operation of the resilient locking member (shown in figs 4b and 4c).
the method comprising: mounting several posts on a floor (see figs); mounting at least one mesh panel holder on each post (see figs); setting the mesh panel retainers in the first locked position (fig 4d); mounting each mesh panel on two adjacent posts, thereby receiving each mesh panel at the mesh panel supports of the adjacent posts (see fig 6); and pivoting the mesh panel retainers to the second locked position (see pivoting in figs 4a-4d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (GB 2537848) in view of Wroblewski (GB 2571432).
Re Clms 12-13: Moore et al. fails to disclose wherein the post bracket comprises a mouth for receiving the post into the post bracket, and wherein the clamping member further comprises a gate element movable between a closed position where the gate element closes the mouth and an open position where the mouth is open and allows the post to pass the mouth, wherein the post bracket is resilient, at least at the mouth, and the gate element comprises a pin having a thread at one end thereof and a head at the other end thereof, and is arranged to, in the closed position, clamp the post bracket at the post by being rotated..
Wroblewski teaches the use of a panel holder (figs 2a-2b) wherein the post bracket (40) comprises a mouth (where post is clamped) for receiving the post into the post bracket, and wherein the clamping member further comprises a gate element (44 and 50 with 52) movable between a closed position where the gate element closes the mouth and an open position where the mouth is open and allows the post to pass the mouth; the post bracket (40) is resilient, at least at the mouth (see figs), and the gate element comprises a pin (50) having a thread at one end thereof and a head at the other end thereof (see figs 2a-2b), and is arranged to, in the closed position, clamp the post bracket at the post by being rotated. This is taught for the purpose of providing a secure clamping arrangement to provide a required clamping force on the post.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the post bracket of Moore et al. with a post bracket as claimed, as taught by Wroblewski with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a secure clamping arrangement to provide a required clamping force on the post.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (GB 2537848) in view of Wroblewski (GB 2571432) as applied to claims 12-13 above, and further in view of Reyes (US 8367918).
Re Clms 14-15: Moore et al. in view of Wroblewski fails to disclose wherein the clamping member constitutes an eccentric lock, wherein the clamping member comprises a lever pivotally attached, at a pivot connection, with the post bracket at the mouth, wherein the gate member is pivotally connected with the lever and eccentrically connected with the lever with respect to the pivot connection.
Reyes teaches the use of a clamping post bracket wherein the clamping member constitutes an eccentric lock (as shown in fig 1b), wherein the clamping member comprises a lever (12) pivotally attached, at a pivot connection (11), with the post bracket at the mouth (opening of clamp), wherein the gate member (8) is pivotally connected with the lever and eccentrically connected with the lever with respect to the pivot connection (as shown). This is taught for the purpose of providing an adjustable post clamp bracket without the use of added tools.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have replaced the clamping configuration of Moore et al. and/or Wroblewski with another known clamping structure having an eccentric lock (lever, pivot connection, etc.), by simple substitution, and taught by Reyes with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an adjustable post clamp bracket without the use of added tools.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is allowed for the reasons previously set forth.
Claims 5-8 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the response that Moore fails to disclose a latch member that both locks the mesh panel to the telescopic members and carries the weight of the mesh panel. Examiner disagrees and firstly notes that “carries the weight of the mesh panel” is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Examiner notes that the device of Moore would certainly be capable of carrying at least one mesh panel, as broadly as it is claimed. Figures 5a and 5b show the mesh panel (140) being latched (carried) on the support (160).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678