Detailed Action
The Office Action is in response to claims filed on 3/3/2026 where claims 27- 46 are pending and ready for examination.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner has reviewed the Applicant’s arguments submitted on 3/3/2026 in their entirety (Pages 9 -12).
The Applicant states (Page 10):
The Examiner asserts the Applicant has ignored and mischaracterized Guedalia’s teachings which explicitly support device registration and messaging for the intent of device collaboration. Guedalia states in [0086] and [0088] respectively:
Guedalia teaches ([0086]) detecting and registering devices having attributes and state information impacting potential device collaboration that are observed, monitored, controlled, and otherwise managed by the supervisor device. Accordingly, the process of observing, monitoring, and controlling, and managing devices with respect to their attributes and state information necessarily involves the exchange of information between the supervisor device and the devices. Otherwise the, the supervisor device would have no basis for determining the devices’ attributes, capabilities, availability, activity state, or other conditions used for registration and management. Through that exchange of information, thereby determining which devices satisfy the relevant conditions for participation in the managed IoT network
` Furthermore , Guedalia ([0088]) reinforces that the detected and registered devices are not merely stored in an inventory. Rather, the supervisor monitors interactions and usage associated with the detected and registered devices, and those monitored interactions are used to create groups, sub-networks, subsets, and other subdivisions, within the IoT network, Guedalia further teaches ([0088]) that devices store information relating to encounters and interactions with other devices (“... stores information relating to each encounter or other interaction with another device ..’.”), including device identifiers, functions performed, and timestamps, and other contextual information. Thus, the detected and registered devices are actively interacting and exchanging information with one another, and those interactions are used by the supervisor to identify, organize, and manage devices within collaborative groups and subdivisions of the IoT network.
The Examiner respectfully reminds the Applicant:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s argument are not persuasive because it improperly attacks Pang in isolation. The rejection relies on Guedalia in view of Pang. Guedalia teaches identifying and selecting devices based on attributes and state ([0047]), [0086]) for the intent of device collaboration ([0088]), i.e. discovering devices meeting a specified condition. Pang is relied upon to teach that discovery request messages include service identifying information ([0066]] – [0067]), [0105]. The combination, not Pang along teaches the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Applicant’s mischaracterization of Guedalia is not persuasive and maintains the utilization of Guedalia as detailed in the prior art rejection below as Guedalia clearly teaches device collaboration based on status, capabilities, and messaging.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-46 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Guedalia (US 2014/0244834) in view of Pang (2018/0041947) and in further view of Goel (US 20140244568)
Regarding claim 27.Guedalia discloses a device discovery method for a first device of a plurality of devices of a user for multi-device collaboration, the method comprising:
sending a discovery request message to N devices of the plurality of devices of the user, the discovery request message being used to discover a device of the plurality of devices that meets a specified condition, the discovery request message comprising information indicating the specified condition, and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1(Guedalia; Guedalia teaches discovery request messages are sent to N devices (i.e. greater than 1) associated with a user for the intent of device collaboration and where the message comprise information regarding state and attributes of the devices to represent a specified condition;
Guedalia teaches ([0086]) detecting and registering devices having attributes and state information impacting potential device collaboration that are observed, monitored, controlled, and otherwise managed by the supervisor device. Accordingly, the process of observing, monitoring, and controlling, and managing devices with respect to their attributes and state information necessarily involves the exchange of information between the supervisor device and the devices. Otherwise the, the supervisor device would have no basis for determining the devices’ attributes, capabilities, availability, activity state, or other conditions used for registration and management. Through that exchange of information, thereby determining which devices satisfy the relevant conditions for participation in the managed IoT network
` Furthermore , Guedalia ([0088]) reinforces that the detected and registered devices are not merely stored in an inventory. Rather, the supervisor monitors interactions and usage associated with the detected and registered devices, and those monitored interactions are used to create groups, sub-networks, subsets, and other subdivisions, within the IoT network, Guedalia further teaches ([0088]) that devices store information relating to encounters and interactions with other devices (“... stores information relating to each encounter or other interaction with another device ..’.”), including device identifiers, functions performed, and timestamps, and other contextual information. Thus, the detected and registered devices are actively interacting and exchanging information with one another, and those interactions are used by the supervisor to identify, organize, and manage devices within collaborative groups and subdivisions of the IoT network.
Paragraph [0045] shows the supervisor device 130 (first device) sending messages to multiple IoT devices 110-118 (second device is equivalent to one of these devices); Paragraph [0047] states that an IoT device may request a pointer to another device from the supervisor. Paragraph [0086] discloses that each device includes attributes and state information that can be embedded, observed, monitored, or controlled.
The discovery request message is functionally equivalent to these communications from the supervisor to the end devices because it conveys the attributes /state information used to identify devices meeting the specified condition (e.g. active, available, capable)
“N greater or equal to 1” is met because the supervisor exchanges such messages with multiple devices (110 – 118) within the group.
As taught in [0086] (attributes/state via schema), the discovery request message includes attribute/state information that specifies the sought condition; these fields are functionally equivalent to information indicting the specified condition
see e.g. [0077]);
receiving a first response message from a second device of the N devices, the first response message including a third device identifier of a third device that meets the specified condition (Guedalia; In response to Guedalia’s teaching of device collaboration among detected and registered devices ([0086], [0088]), devices are evaluated according to attributes, capabilities, state information, and interactions within the IoT network. Thus, a response message including an identifier of another device that meets the specified condition is realized through Guedalia’s teaching that devices are identified, monitored, and organized, according to those attributes and states. Guedalia [0047] further teaches returning identifying information for a target IoT device so that subsequent peer communication may occur. Accordingly, the returned device identifier corresponds to a device satisfying the relevant collaborative condition established by the device’s, attributes, capabilities, or state information.
See e.g. [0086]
Because devices collaborate within the p2p group, the second device possesses and provides information identifying the third device participating in the collaborative environment.
See e.g. [0075] “... p2p group ...”
)
sending a first status obtaining message to the third device to obtain a status of the third device, the status of the third device indicating whether the third device is in a working state (Guedalia; In response to Guedalia’s teaching of collaborative IoT devices that are detected, registered, monitored, and managed according to their attributes and state information ([0086], [0088]), the supervisor obtains information regarding the operational condition of participating devices. Guedalia ([0086]) expressly teaches state information indicating whether a device is on/off, active/idle, or available/busy. Because the collaborative framework relies on monitoring and managing devices according to those sates, information regarding the device’s operational condition is obtained from the device. Accordingly, obtaining the state information of the identified device is functionally equivalent to sending a status obtaining message to the third device to determine whether the third device is in the working state)
The first device is equivalent to the supervisor device 130.
The third device is equivalent to the target IoT device identified by the pointer.
); and
discovering the third device when the working state of the third device is obtained (Guedalia;
The first device is equivalent to the supervisor device 130.
The third device is equivalent to the target IoT device identified by the pointer.
Paragraph [0086] teaches that each IoT device reports state information (on/off, idle/active, available/busy), and paragraph [0088] shows that the supervisor monitors those states to form groups and subsets based on device status.
When the supervisor detects that a device’s state changes to active or available, it recognizes and records that device as operational which is functionally equivalent to discovering the third device when the working state is obtained.)
As evidence of the rationale above Pang discloses:
discovery request message comprises information indicating the specified condition (Pang;
Paragraph [0066] discloses that devices send a service discovery frame d(SDF) message containing a subscribe message that “indicates that the device wants to query a service” Paragraph [00676] states that “a format of the SDF message is shown in Table 1”
The SDF subscribe message is functionally equivalent to the claimed discovery request message and the service identifier within the SDF format is the information indicating the specified condition.
[0066] All devices joining the NAN can perform service discovery in the DW window, and send a service discovery frame (SDF) message. The SDF message includes a subscribe message and a publish message. When the device sends a subscribe message, it indicates that the device wants to query a service; when the device sends a publish message, it indicates that the device supports a service.
[0067] A format of the SDF message is shown in Table 1:
TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Public Category Action OUI OUI Type NAN Header (=4) (=9) (=0506F0A) (TBD) Attribute 1 1 3 1 variable
where
[0068] Header is a header of the SDF message, indicating some information parameters included in the entire message;
[0069] Category is a category of the message, indicating a type to which the message belongs;
[0070] Public action indicates a public action frame of the SDF message;
[0071] OUI (organizationally unique identifier) indicates an identification of the device;
[0016] “... before the sending, by the first device, a query message to the second device by using the NAN, the method further includes: receiving, by the first device, service support information that is of a service supported by the NAN and that is sent by a device in the NAN; and when it is determined, according to the service support information ...”
[0105] In a specific implementation process, when the first device sends an SDF message, which is specifically sending a subscribe message, an NAN attribute is carried. The attribute may use a newly defined attribute, indicating that a service that the SDF message needs to implement is searching for an AP()
first message comprises an identifier of a third device (Pang;
See e.g. Abstract “The method includes: sending, by the first device, a query message to the second device by using the NAN, where the query message is used to search for an access point AP; and receiving a response message that the second device sends in response to the query message, where the response message includes description information, of at least one AP, obtained by the second device.”
The description information identifies the third device (the AP) meeting comprises an identifier of a third device)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
As evidence of the rationale above Goel teaches:
discovery (Goel;
[0033] In a peer-to-peer network, service discovery schemes can multicast the presence of nodes, their capabilities, and group membership. The peer-to-peer devices can establish associations and subsequent interactions based on this information.
[0007] The disclosure generally relates to collaborative intelligence and decision-making in an Internet of Things (IoT) device group. In particular, various IoT devices in the group may be interdependent, whereby a decision that one IoT device plans may impact other IoT devices in the group. Accordingly, in response to an IoT device planning a certain decision (e.g., to transition state or initiate another action), the IoT devices in the group may collaborate using distributed intelligence prior to taking action on the planned decision. For example, a recommendation request message may be sent to other IoT devices in the group, which may then analyze relationships within the IoT device group to assess potential impacts associated with the planned decision and respond to approve or disapprove the planned decision. Based on the responses received from the other IoT devices, the IoT device may then appropriately determine whether to take action on the planned decision)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 28, Guedalia in view of Pang and in further view of Goel disclose the method according to claim 27, wherein the first response message further comprises an identifier of a fourth device that meets the specified condition, and the method further comprises (Guedalia ([0047]) teaches the supervisor returning a pointer to another device and [0088] teaches devices store globally unique identifiers. Pang ([0066]- [0067]) shows an explicit discovery message format SDF/subscribe that carriers identifier fields. The supervisor’s pointer /decryption in Guedalia backed by Pangs SDF fields( is the claimed identifier of the fourth device.):
sending a second status obtaining message to the fourth device to obtain a status of the fourth device, wherein the status of the fourth device indicates whether the fourth device is in a working state (Guedalia [0047], Pang [0105]
Paragraph [0047] shows the supervisor contacting the target device, [0086] explicitly teaches state values (on/off, idle/active, available) that constitute working-state information, Pang {0105] confirms status checks can be carried in the SDF (NAN attribute). Sending a status equerry and receiving on/off or available/active is the claimed obtaining step); and
discovering the fourth device when the working state of the fourth device is obtained (Guedalia [0086] – [0088], Pang [0066];
{0086] – [0088] show the supervisor detects state transitions and groups/records a device when it becomes available, receipt of the working sate value ([0086]) triggers recognition//recording ([0088]). Pang [0066] ties receipt of publish/description to discovery. Obtaining the working state and then recording/recognizing the device is functionally equivalent to discovering the fourth device when its working state is obtained..
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 28 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 30, Guedalia in view of Pang disclose The method according to claim 27, wherein
the sending the discovery request message to the N devices comprising the second device comprises: sending, in a multicast or broadcast manner, the discovery request message to the N devices comprising the second device; the receiving the first response message from the second device comprises: receiving the first response message sent in a unicast manner by the second device; and the sending the first status obtaining message to the third device comprises: sending the first status obtaining message to the third device in the unicast manner.
The combined solution per Pang ([0078]) teaches that discovery requests may be performed in either a broadcast manner within a discovery window, which would have motivated one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize Guedalia’s device discovery to use multicast or unicast transmission as appropriate for network efficiency and synchronization (KSR v. Teleflex)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 31, Guedalia in view of Pang and in further view of Goel disclose the method according to claim 28, wherein: the sending the second status obtaining message to the fourth device comprises: sending the second status obtaining message to the fourth device in the unicast manner.
The combined solution per Pang ([0078]) teaches that discovery requests may be performed in either a broadcast manner within a discovery window, which would have motivated one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize Guedalia’s device discovery to use multicast or unicast transmission as appropriate for network efficiency and synchronization (KSR v. Teleflex)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 32, Guedalia in view of Pang and in further view of Goel disclose The method according to claim 29, wherein: the receiving the second response message from the third device comprises: receiving, in the unicast manner, the second response message sent in the unicast manner by the third device; and the sending the third status obtaining message to the fifth device comprises: sending the third status obtaining message to the fifth device in the unicast manner.
The combined solution per Pang ([0078]) teaches that discovery requests may be performed in either a broadcast manner within a discovery window, which would have motivated one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize Guedalia’s device discovery to use multicast or unicast transmission as appropriate for network efficiency and synchronization (KSR v. Teleflex)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 33. Guedalia in view of Pang and in further view of Goel disclose The method according to claim 27, wherein the first device prestores service information of M devices, and
before the sending the discovery request message to the N devices comprising the second device, the method further comprises: determining, based on the service information of the M devices, the N devices that meet the specified condition, wherein M is a positive integer greater than or equal to N (Guedalia ([0088])
[0088] teaches that each device maintains a local database storing information relating to each encounter with other devices, including identifiers and context of interactions.
The first device (supervisor) pre-stores service interaction information of multiple devices (M devices) and uses that data to determine which devices meet a given criterion before sending discovery messages, satisfying the claimed step where M greaten or equal to N.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 34. Guedalia in view of Pang and in further view of Goel disclose The method according to claim 27, wherein the first response message further comprises information indicating that the second device meets the specified condition, and the method further comprises: discovering the second device in response to the first response message (Guedalia )[0047] and [0086]
[0047] shows that the second device (IoT device) returns a pointer or identifier to the supervisor, and [0086] discloses that each IoT device reports state information (on/off, active/idle, available) When the second device sends its identifier along with the state or capability data, that information indicates the second device meets the specified condition, and the supervisor’s recognition of that valid state constitutes discovering the second device in response to the first message)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 35, Guedalia in view of Pang and in further view of Goel disclose the method according to claim 27, wherein the specified condition comprises at least one of the following: being in a specified wireless local area network, supporting a specified service type, meeting a specified service parameter, or supporting a specified function (Guedalia,[0076] “... WLAN ...” [0070], [0086] [Wingdings font/0xE0] service type, device parameters, functions).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the explicit message format structure of Pang into Guedalia attribute based discovery farmwork to standardize how discovery messages convey service conditions. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in enhanced operability and messaging parsing consistency.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goel’s service discovery and action planning scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of device collaboration. Moreover, Goel ([0007]) teaches that devices within the collaborative group respond to requests from other devices. Accordingly, the combined solution promotes receiving response information from a second device regarding other devices within the collaboration environment. As Goel teaches obtaining information from other devices before taking action, the benefit is that the second device may possess information, observations, capabilities, status information, or relationship information that may be locally available to the first device. In addition, the combined solution per Guedalia ([0077]) teaches a distributed bus that enables application to application communication through requests, queries, notifications, broadcasts, and routed messages among multiple devices. Accordingly the combined solution with Goel provides a messaging framework through which one of ordinary skill in the art may implement message exchange policies governing how collaborating devices request, receive, route, and share information with one another.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 27 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 28 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 29 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 30 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 40, claim 40 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 31 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale
Regarding claim 41, claim 41 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 32 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 33 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 34 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale
Regarding claim 44, claim 44 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 35 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale
Regarding claim 45, claim 45 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 27 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 46, claim 46 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 28 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304.
/TODD L BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449