DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 1, “a relative amount” should be changed to —the relative amount—.
In claim 18, line 1, “a relative amount” should be changed to —the relative amount—.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites a method for providing an optical beam from a transmitter aperture to a receiver aperture that receives the optical beam after displacement of the optical beam within the receiver aperture caused by a path shifting component. This method :receiving initial displacement information, receiving a plurality of input beams each having a different spatial mode, determining a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam.
As can be seen from the above description, the thrust of the claim invention is to take provided data “date gathering” about the initial displacement information, receiving a plurality of input beams and determining a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam.
As a result of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim invention, the limitations “receiving the initial displacement information and receiving a plurality of input beams” is drawn to data gathering, it’s getting data from an interface which is considered obtaining data necessary for the abstract mental steps, see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The limitation “determining a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam” is a mental process which is being carried out by a computer, these limitations amount to a mental process that could be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. Such process is considered an abstract idea. Additionally, even if the claimed abstract idea was performed on a special purpose computer, it has also been held that using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process is not significantly more than the judicial exception when the steps of the process are recited at a high level of generality and merely use computers as a tool to perform the process. See Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
Claim 1 recites additional elements as “a transmitter aperture”, and “receiver aperture”. These elements do not impose a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. As the “a transmitter aperture”, and “receiver aperture” are not claimed with sufficient specificity, and no limitations are provided as to how is related take provided data “date gathering” about the initial displacement information, receiving a plurality of input beams. There are no steps as to how the determination of relative amount of input beams and how the data is provided; instead, the claim only states the data is provided “receiving…”. Additionally, there is not any limitation of how is measured the initial displacement. Therefore, without any meaningfully claimed limitation as to how the data is obtained, provided and how the displacement is determined, it is not possible for the claim abstract idea to be integrated into a judicial exception. Thus, it is not seen that the claims as a whole integrates the metal process or mathematic formula into a practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for similar reasons as set forth above as to why the claim is not integrated into a practical application. There do not appear to be any additional limitations in the claim other than the abstract idea of providing data and determining information about the first ingredient from that data. As there are no additional limitations, it is not possible for the claim to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As a result, claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The following dependent claims 2-13 are rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more for the following reasons:
Regarding Claims 2-3, the claim only set for further define the receiving data and the diffraction loss. Also, these limitations in the claim are not a positively recited step of measuring because it's past tense and the claimed method doesn't require an active step of measuring.
Regarding Claims 4-8 and 10-12, the claims further limits determining initial estimate of displacement and the relative amount of each beam. This is fundamentally a data collection and processing routine—measure signals, aggregate results, and derive output information. The concept of using multiple measurements to determine displacement is a well-known abstract principle.
Regarding Claims 9 and 13, the claim further limits information/data about the input beams.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-10, 13-14, 17, 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2003/0223074 A1, included in IDS on 03/19/2024), hereafter Chen in view of H. Qi et al., "Quantum precision of beam pointing", arXiv, quant-ph, 13 pages, 23 May 2020, included in IDS on 03/19/2024), hereafter Qi and further in view of Chu et al. (US 2017/0371217 A1, included in IDS on 03/19/2024), hereafter Chu.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method for providing an optical beam (Fig. 3(a) element 317) from a transmitter (Fig. 3(a) elements 31 + 32 + 315) to a receiver (Fig. 3(a) elements 35 + 36) that receives the optical beam after displacement of the optical beam within the receiver caused by a path shifting component, (the first light output interference pattern 317 will be different in response to the difference of the phase retardation. In addition, the analyzer 35 “receiver” is employed to adjust the first light output interference pattern and produce a second light output interference pattern 319. Furthermore, the analyzer 35 can control the energy ratio of the HE.sub.11 and TE.sub.01 modes, [0034-0035], the method comprising:
receiving initial displacement information , (“the second modal filter 34 will re-filter the TM.sub.01 and the HE.sub.21 modes to produce a first light output interference pattern 317, wherein the first light output interference pattern 317 will be different in response to the difference of the phase retardation”. In addition, the analyzer 35 is employed to adjust the first light output interference pattern and produce a second light output interference pattern 319, [0035],
receiving a plurality of input beams each having a different spatial mode, from a set of mutually orthogonal spatial modes, , (“The dual-mode optical fiber in this structure includes the fundamental mode (LP.sub.01) and the second-order mode group (LP.sub.11), as shown in FIG. 1.”, [0004]), (“When the light input 31 is incident into the first dual-mode optical fiber 32, the HE.sub.11, TE.sub.01, TM.sub.01, and HE.sub.21 modes (all are not shown) will be excited, wherein the HE.sub.11 is a fundamental mode and the others are second-order modes.”, [0034]), where the set of mutually orthogonal spatial modes include:
a lowest order spatial mode (fundamental mode), [0034],
a highest order spatial mode (second order mode), [0034], and
determining a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam based at least in part on: corresponding diffraction loss estimates for each of the input beams, and the initial displacement information, wherein one of the input beams that has a largest relative amount in the optical beam is one of the intermediate order spatial modes.(The analyzer 35 is employed to adjust the first light output interference pattern and produce a second light output interference pattern 319. Furthermore, the analyzer 35 can control the energy ratio of the HE.sub.11 and TE.sub.01 modes for obtaining an optimal contrast of the second light output interference pattern 319 through adjusting the polarization axis 316 in the analyzer 35. The polarization axis 316 has an optimal angle determined by the experiment which is theoretically relative to the energy ratio of the HE.sub.11 and the TE.sub.01, therefore determining a relative amount of each of the input beams [0035]).
Chen fail to teach a transmitter configured to provide an optical beam from a transmitter aperture; one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode; a receiver configured to receive the optical beam at a receiver aperture; characterizing at least one of: an initial estimate of the displacement, or an indication that the displacement is below a predetermined threshold.
Qi related to probe bean system and thus form the same field of endeavor teaches a transmitter configured to provide an optical beam from a transmitter aperture (The transmitter points the beam towards the center of the receiver aperture, [Fig. 1 caption, in page 1], [page 3, section IV, first paragraph], The transmitter include a pupil “aperture”, [page 4, section V, first paragraph]); a receiver configured to receive the optical beam at a receiver aperture (“The transmitter points the beam towards the center of the receiver aperture”, [Fig. 1 caption, in page 1], [page 3, section IV, first paragraph]; characterizing at least one of: an initial estimate of the displacement, or an indication that the displacement is below a predetermined threshold, (the system estimate the beam displacement of the probe beam in the receiver, Figs. 3-4 caption, in page 8], [page 9, section IX, first paragraph]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen by including a transmitter configured to provide an optical beam from a transmitter aperture a receiver configured to receive the optical beam at a receiver aperture characterizing at least one of: an initial estimate of the displacement, or an indication that the displacement is below a predetermined threshold, (as taught by Qi) for several advantages such as: allowing to improve the sensitivity of estimating beam displacement, ([Fig. 3 caption in page 8], Qi).
Chen and Qi still lack to teach one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode.
However, Chu related to multimode signal system and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode, (as shown in Fig. 9b LP02 is the lowest mode, LP21 is the intermediate mode and LP22 is the highest mode, [0016, 0059]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode,, (as taught by Chu) for several advantages such as: improving the control of phase profiles of beams of light to achieve higher spatial modes within the beams of light ([0006], Chu).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches an apparatus (Fig. 3a, [0033]) comprising:
a transmitter (Fig. 3(a) elements 31 + 32 + 315) configured to provide an optical beam (Fig. 3(a) element 317) from a transmitter, [0033, 0035], the
optical beam comprising a plurality input beams each having a different spatial mode, from a set of mutually orthogonal spatial modes, (“The dual-mode optical fiber in this structure includes the fundamental mode (LP.sub.01) and the second-order mode group (LP.sub.11), as shown in FIG. 1.”, [0004]), (“When the light input 31 is incident into the first dual-mode optical fiber 32, the HE.sub.11, TE.sub.01, TM.sub.01, and HE.sub.21 modes (all are not shown) will be excited, wherein the HE.sub.11 is a fundamental mode and the others are second-order modes.”, [0034]), where the set of mutually orthogonal spatial modes include: a lowest order spatial mode (fundamental mode), a highest order spatial mode (second order mode), [0034] and
a receiver (Fig. 3(a) elements 35 + 36) configured to receive the optical beam at a receiver after displacement of the optical beam within the receiver aperture caused by a path shifting component, (the first light output interference pattern 317 will be different in response to the difference of the phase retardation. In addition, the analyzer 35 “receiver” is employed to adjust the first light output interference pattern and produce a second light output interference pattern 319. Furthermore, the analyzer 35 can control the energy ratio of the HE.sub.11 and TE.sub.01 modes, [0035]) and to provide initial displacement information, (the second modal filter 34 will re-filter the TM.sub.01 and the HE.sub.21 modes to produce a first light output interference pattern 317, wherein the first light output interference pattern 317 will be different in response to the difference of the phase retardation. In addition, the analyzer 35 is employed to adjust the first light output interference pattern and produce a second light output interference pattern 319, [0035];
wherein the transmitter (Fig. 3(a) element 35 + 36) is further configured to determine a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam based at least in part on: corresponding diffraction loss estimates for each of the input beams, and the initial displacement information; wherein one of the input beams that has a largest relative amount in the optical beam is one of the intermediate order spatial modes, (The analyzer 35 is employed to adjust the first light output interference pattern and produce a second light output interference pattern 319. Furthermore, the analyzer 35 can control the energy ratio of the HE.sub.11 and TE.sub.01 modes for obtaining an optimal contrast of the second light output interference pattern 319 through adjusting the polarization axis 316 in the analyzer 35. The polarization axis 316 has an optimal angle determined by the experiment which is theoretically relative to the energy ratio of the HE.sub.11 and the TE.sub.01, therefore determining a relative amount of each of the input beams [0035]).
Chen fail to teach a transmitter configured to provide an optical beam from a transmitter aperture; one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode; a receiver configured to receive the optical beam at a receiver aperture; characterizing at least one of: an initial estimate of the displacement, or an indication that the displacement is below a predetermined threshold.
Qi related to probe bean system and thus form the same field of endeavor teaches a transmitter configured to provide an optical beam from a transmitter aperture (The transmitter points the beam towards the center of the receiver aperture, [Fig. 1 caption, in page 1], [page 3, section IV, first paragraph], The transmitter include a pupil “aperture”, [page 4, section V, first paragraph]); a receiver configured to receive the optical beam at a receiver aperture (“The transmitter points the beam towards the center of the receiver aperture”, [Fig. 1 caption, in page 1], [page 3, section IV, first paragraph]; characterizing at least one of: an initial estimate of the displacement, or an indication that the displacement is below a predetermined threshold, (the system estimate the beam displacement of the probe beam in the receiver, Figs. 3-4 caption, in page 8], [page 9, section IX, first paragraph]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen by including a transmitter configured to provide an optical beam from a transmitter aperture a receiver configured to receive the optical beam at a receiver aperture characterizing at least one of: an initial estimate of the displacement, or an indication that the displacement is below a predetermined threshold, (as taught by Qi) for several advantages such as: allowing to improve the sensitivity of estimating beam displacement, ([Fig. 3 caption in page 8], Qi).
Chen and Qi still lack to teach one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode.
However, Chu related to multimode signal system and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode, (as shown in Fig. 9b LP02 is the lowest mode, LP21 is the intermediate mode and LP22 is the highest mode, [0016, 0059]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including one or more intermediate order spatial modes each having a mode order between the lowest order spatial mode and the highest order spatial mode,, (as taught by Chu) for several advantages such as: improving the control of phase profiles of beams of light to achieve higher spatial modes within the beams of light ([0006], Chu).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 17 and 20, Chen in the combination outlined above teaches the apparatus and method.
Chen fail to teach:
(claims 4 and 17) wherein the receiver is further configured to perform an initial measurement to determine the initial estimate of the displacement.
(claims 9 and 20) wherein the transmitter is further configured to generate the plurality of input beams from at least one coherent optical beam passed through a spatial mode sorter.
Qi further teaches:
(claims 4 and 17) wherein the receiver is further configured to perform an initial measurement to determine the initial estimate of the displacement, (the system estimate the beam displacement of the probe beam, Figs. 3-4 caption, in page 8], [page 9, section IX, first paragraph]).
(claims 9 and 20) wherein the transmitter is further configured to generate the plurality of input beams from at least one coherent optical beam passed through a spatial mode sorter, (an optical parametric amplifier (OPA) built using a non-linear crystal is pumped by a continuous-wave laser to produce a multispatial-mode squeezed light, This is followed by a multi-mode displacement due to the injected coherent states in Fig. 3 [Figs. 3-4 caption, in page 8], [page 9, second paragraph]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including wherein the receiver is further configured to perform an initial measurement to determine the initial estimate of the displacement, wherein the transmitter is further configured to generate the plurality of input beams from at least one coherent optical beam passed through a spatial mode sorter, (as taught by Qi) for several advantages such as: allowing to improve the sensitivity of estimating beam displacement, ([Fig. 3 caption in page 8], Qi).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Chen in the combination outlined above teaches the method.
Chen further teaches (claim 5) wherein determining a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam includes performing an optical transformation on one or more of the input beams, [0035].
Chen fail to teach:
(claim 5) produce at least one non-classical squeezed state of at least a portion of the optical beam.
(claim 6) wherein the non-classical squeezed state is a Gaussian state.
Qi further teaches:
(claim 5) produce at least one non-classical squeezed state of at least a portion of the optical beam, [page 7, section VIII, first paragraph], [Figs. 3-4 caption in page 8].
(claim 6) wherein the non-classical squeezed state is a Gaussian state, [page 7, section VIII, first paragraph], [Figs. 3-4 caption in page 8].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including produce at least one non-classical squeezed state of at least a portion of the optical beam, wherein the non-classical squeezed state is a Gaussian state, (as taught by Qi) for several advantages such as: allowing to improve the sensitivity of estimating beam displacement, ([Fig. 3 caption in page 8], Qi). Also establish an ultimate quantum limit of the accuracy with which allows to detect a small lateral movement of an optical beam, thus increase the device accuracy, ([page 9, section IX, first paragraph], Qi).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Chen in the combination outlined above teaches the apparatus and method.
Chen further teaches wherein the receiver (Fig. 3(a) elements 35 + 36) is further configured to detect the optical beam after the optical beam is received by the receiver, [0035], and to determine a measurement of the displacement based at least in part on one or more detected values, [0035].
Chen fail to teach detect the optical beam after the optical beam is received by the receiver aperture.
Qi further teaches detect the optical beam after the optical beam is received by the receiver aperture, [Fig. 1 caption, in page 1], [page 3, section IV, first paragraph].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including detect the optical beam after the optical beam is received by the receiver aperture, (as taught by Qi) for several advantages such as: allowing to improve the sensitivity of estimating beam displacement, ([Fig. 3 caption in page 8], Qi).
Regarding claims 13 and 24, Chen in the combination outlined above teaches the apparatus and method.
Chen further teaches wherein the set of mutually orthogonal spatial modes are a finite number, [0004, 0034].
Qi further teaches Hermite-Gaussian spatial modes, (For circular hard apertures, the normal modes are the generalized prolate-spheroidal wavefunctions, the analytical form of which are involved [40, 41]. To clearly illustrate the truncation procedure, we will assume Gaussian-attenuation aperture pupils whose normal modes are Hermite-Gaussian (HG) modes [page 5, third paragraph]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including Hermite-Gaussian spatial modes, (as taught by Qi) for several advantages such as: allowing to improve the sensitivity of estimating beam displacement, ([Fig. 3 caption in page 8], Qi).
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Qi and Chu and further in view of Marron et al. (US 2016/0266243 A1, included in IDS on 03/19/2024), hereafter Marron.
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Chen in the combination outlined above teaches the apparatus and method.
The modified device of Chen fail to teach wherein the one or more detected values comprise a plurality of detected values from an arrangement of pixels in an image plane.
Marron related to optical measuring devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more detected values comprise a plurality of detected values from an arrangement of pixels in an image plane, [0016].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including wherein the one or more detected values comprise a plurality of detected values from an arrangement of pixels in an image plane, (as taught by Marron) for several advantages such as: allowing to determine range and velocity of the target, thus increase the accuracy and versability of the device, ([0012], Marron).
Claims 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Qi and Chu and further in view of Bunandar et al. (US 2019/0356394 A1, included in IDS on 03/19/2024), hereafter Bunandar.
Regarding claims 12 and 23, Chen in the combination outlined above teaches the apparatus and method.
The modified device of Chen fail to teach wherein the detected values comprise detected photon numbers associated with different spatial modes of the received optical beam.
However, Bunandar related to photonic processing devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the detected values comprise detected photon numbers associated with different spatial modes of the received optical beam, [0172].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Chen by including wherein the detected values comprise detected photon numbers associated with different spatial modes of the received optical beam, (as taught by Bunandar) for several advantages such as: allowing to increase the speed of processing, thus increase efficiency of the device, ([0089-0090], Bunandar).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 7-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “wherein each diffraction loss estimate is different and is determined based at least in part on estimates of: an area of the transmitter aperture, an area of the receiver aperture, a propagation distance between the transmitter aperture and the receiver aperture, and a wavelength of the optical beam”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 3 is directly/indirectly dependent on claim 2 and is allowable based on their dependencies.
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “wherein determining a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam includes performing an optical transformation on one or more of the input beams to produce the optical beam in which all spatial modes of the optical beam are in a classical non-squeezed state”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 8 is directly/indirectly dependent on claim 7 and is allowable based on their dependencies.
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “wherein each diffraction loss estimate is different and is determined based at least in part on estimates of: an area of the transmitter aperture, an area of the receiver aperture, a propagation distance between the transmitter aperture and the receiver aperture, and a wavelength of the optical beam”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 16 is directly/indirectly dependent on claim 15 and is allowable based on their dependencies.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “wherein determining a relative amount of each of the input beams to be included in the optical beam includes performing an optical transformation on one or more of the input beams to produce the optical beam in which all spatial modes of the optical beam are in a classical non-squeezed state”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 19 is directly/indirectly dependent on claim 18 and is allowable based on their dependencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Milione et al. (US 2021/0133512 A1), discloses a light beam emitted from the output of a multimode optical fiber. The light beam has two orthogonal polarization components individually including a linear combination of higher-order spatial modes. The two orthogonal polarization components are separated into two separate light beams.
Shi et al. (US 2019/0393963 A1), discloses an apparatus that can measure the transverse profile of vectorial optical fields (beams), including both the phase and the polarization spatial profile.
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/CARLOS PEREZ-GUZMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877