DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 3/19/2024, 6/5/2024, and 7/15/2025 is acknowledged. A signed copy is attached to this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the text and numbers, particularly in figures 1A, 2B, 9B, and 9C, are not clearly legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0052] “herteroalkoxy” is a typographical error.
[0052, 0078, 0083, 0085, 0087, 0091, 0108, 0116, 0121, 0127, 0131, 0138] “herteroalkenyl” is a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms CarboSil, Tecoflex, Tecophilic, Tecophillic, and ELAST-EON, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 10, 25, and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities: “herteroalkenyl” is a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 31 as written depends upon itself and is therefore improper. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For examination purposes, claim 31 has been interpreted to be dependent upon claim 30.
Claims 9, 13, 30, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the meaning of “a residue of S-nitroso-N-acetyl-penicillamine, S-nitroso-3-N-acetyl cysteine, S-nitroso-N-acetyl cysteamine, S-nitrosoglutathione, methyl S-nitrosothioglycolate, and a derivative thereof” is indefinite. It is unclear if this is intended to be a residue of all of these compounds and derivatives thereof, a residue of one of the listed compounds and a derivative thereof, or a residue of one of these compounds or derivatives thereof.
Regarding claim 13, the scope of “the nitric oxide releasing polysiloxane is produced the method” is unclear and indefinite.
Regarding claim 30, the scope of “the nitric oxide releasing polysiloxane is produced the method” is unclear and indefinite. Dependent claim 32 is similarly rejected by its dependence on indefinite claim 30. Based on the examiner’s assumption that improper dependent claim 31 was intended to depend upon claim 30, claim 31 is similarly rejected by its presumed dependence on indefinite claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 13, 25-26, 28, 30-33, 35, 39-40, and 51-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Handa et al (US 20210268156 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Handa discloses a nitric oxide-releasing material including a polymer matrix, which includes a plurality of nitric oxide-donating crosslinking moieties that covalently crosslink polysiloxanes in the plurality of polysiloxanes [0007]. While the instant application does not disclose crosslinking, it does not teach away or disclose a lack of crosslinks. Thus, Handa’s disclosure reads on claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Handa further discloses that the plurality of polysiloxanes may be selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane, polydiethylsiloxane, polydipropylsiloxane, and polydiphenylsiloxane [0063]. "A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See MPEP 2131.02. In the instant case, the species of polydimethylsiloxane and others anticipates the genus of dialkyl polysiloxanes.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Handa discloses moieties of the formula shown below (page 8 [0008]), where
R1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 heteroalkyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 herteroalkenyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 alkoxy, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 heteroalkoxy; and
where each occurrence of R2 is independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 heteroalkyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 herteroalkenyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 alkoxy, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 heteroalkoxy, or a bond to a polysiloxane in the plurality of polysiloxanes when at least two occurrences of R2 are a bond to a polysiloxane in the plurality of polysiloxanes; and
where A is a nitric oxide donor [0009].
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Since R1 of the instant application may be a heteroalkyl group, the amide functionality attached to the nitric oxide-donating moiety disclosed by Handa's formula on page 8 reads on applicant's structure I.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Handa discloses that the nitric oxide donor is particularly an S-nitrosothiol which may be S-nitroso-N-acetyl-penicillamine, S-nitroso-N-acetyl cysteine, S-nitroso-N-acetyl cysteamine, S-nitrosoglutathione, methyl S-nitrosothioglycolate, and a derivative thereof [0059-0060].
Regarding claim 10, Handa particularly discloses a plurality of polysiloxanes [0007], which reads on applicant’s claimed copolymer. The limitations of Handa’s disclosed R1 and R2 are set forth above with respect to claims 3 and 4. Handa discloses both polysiloxanes and nitric oxide-releasing polysiloxanes [0007], which read on applicant’s structure II. Moreover, applicant’s own disclosure dictates that the term “alkyl”, as applied to instant R3, encompasses “both "unsubstituted alkyls" and "substituted alkyls", the latter of which refers to alkyl moieties having one or more substituents replacing a hydrogen on one or more carbons of the hydrocarbon backbone. Such substituents include, but are not limited to, halogen, hydroxyl, carbonyl (such as a carboxyl, alkoxycarbonyl, formyl, or an acyl), thiocarbonyl (such as a thioester, a thioacetate, or a thioformate), alkoxyl, phosphoryl, phosphate, phosphonate, a phosphinate, amino, amido, amidine, imine, cyano, nitro, azido, sulfhydryl, alkylthio, sulfate, sulfonate, sulfamoyl, sulfonamido, sulfonyl, heterocyclyl, aralkyl, or an aromatic or heteroaromatic moiety” [0049]. In this way, Handa’s disclosed structure (page 8, [0008]) reads on structure II.
Regarding claim 13, Handa further discloses a method of making a nitric oxide-releasing material prepared by reacting thiolactone with an amine pendant on a polysiloxane backbone to produce a thiol-functionalized polymer matrix, followed by nitrosating a thiol on the thiol-functionalized polymer matrix to produce the nitric oxide-releasing material [0069].
Regarding claims 25, 26, and 28, Handa particularly disclose S-nitrosothiols as nitric oxide donors as set forth with respect to claims 8 and 9 above. The limitations of Handa’s disclosed R1 and R2 are set forth above with respect to claims 3 and 4. A S-nitrosothiol-based nitric oxide-donating moiety coupled with an amide-terminated heteroalkyl group for R1 reads on applicant’s structure IV.
Regarding claim 30, Handa discloses a method of making a nitric oxide-releasing material prepared by reacting thiolactone with an amine pendant on a polysiloxane backbone to produce a thiol-functionalized polymer matrix, followed by nitrosating a thiol on the thiol-functionalized polymer matrix to produce the nitric oxide-releasing material [0069], as set forth with respect to claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 31, assuming it was applicant’s intent for claim 31 to be dependent on claim 30, Handa further discloses that the plurality of polysiloxanes may be selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane, polydiethylsiloxane, polydipropylsiloxane, and polydiphenylsiloxane [0063] as set forth in the above rejection with respect to claim 2. "A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See MPEP 2131.02. In the instant case, the species of polydimethylsiloxane and others anticipates the genus of dialkyl polysiloxanes.
Regarding claim 32, 33, and 35, Handa further discloses thiol-functionalized polysiloxane polymer matrices [0009], which read on structure V in combination with the limitations of Handa’s R1 and R2, as set forth in the above rejection with respect to claims 3 and 4.
Regarding claims 39 and 40, Handa further discloses a device having at least one surface wherein the surface comprises said composition [0065] and discloses a device prepared from said composition which is a component of a hemodialysis device [0066].
Regarding claims 51 and 52, Handa further discloses use of their nitric oxide-releasing polymer composition in antibacterial [0115] and anti-biofilm applications [0068].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 13, 25-26, 28, 30-33, 35, 39-40, and 51-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 7 of copending Application No. 18/264,094 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application recites a composition comprising a nitric oxide-releasing material comprising (a) a nitric oxide releasing material comprising a (i) a polysiloxane network and (ii) a plurality of nitric oxide-donating moieties covalently bonded to the polysiloxane network; and (b) a silicone oil. Disclosed nitrogen oxide-donating moieties include residues of S-nitroso-N-acetyl-penicillamine, S-nitroso-N-acetyl cysteine, S-nitroso- N-acetyl cysteamine, S-nitrosoglutathione, methyl S-nitrosothioglycolate, and a derivative thereof. While the instant application does not specify inclusion of a silicone oil, it does not teach away its inclusion. The copending application also recites crosslinked polysiloxanes, which the instant application does not specifically include or teach away.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 39, 40, 51, and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 15, 16, 17, and 20 of copending Application No. 18/485,737 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application recites a nitric oxide releasing material comprising (i) a polysiloxane network and (ii) a plurality of nitric oxide-donating moieties covalently bonded to the polysiloxane network. The copending claims recite the same nitric oxide-donating moieties and polysiloxanes as the instant claims. The copending claims also recite use of the composition to coat at least one surface of an article, use of the composition as part of an article, an article comprising one or more components fabricated with the composition, and use of the composition to prevent bacterial growth or biofilm formation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 30, 31, and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34, 43, 46, 47, and 68 of copending Application No. 17/259,817 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application discloses a nitric oxide releasing material comprising a polymer matrix, wherein the polymer matrix comprises a plurality of polysiloxanes covalently crosslinked with a plurality of nitric oxide-donating crosslinking moieties, and wherein the polysiloxanes are selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane, polydiethylsiloxane, polydipropylsiloxane, and polydiphenylsiloxane. The copending application also discloses use of the composition to reduce biofilm formation. The copending application further discloses a method of crosslinking a plurality of polysiloxanes with a plurality of amine-functionalized crosslinking moieties to produce a crosslinked polymer matrix; covalently attaching a thiolactone to an amine in the amine-functionalized crosslinking moieties to produce a thiol-functionalized crosslinked polymer matrix; and nitrosating the thiol in the thiol-functionalized crosslinked polymer matrix in the presence of an organic acid to produce the nitric oxide-releasing material. While the instant application does not teach the presence of an organic acid, it does not specifically exclude its presence. The copending application also recites crosslinked polysiloxanes, which the instant application does not specifically include or teach away.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pepe et al (US 3959327 A) discloses organofunctional silicon compounds formed by a reaction of a thiolactone and an amino-functionalized polysiloxane, resulting in an amide-functionalized polysiloxane which may be substituted with a plurality of alkyl groups.
Frost et al (WO 2014046671 A1, attached) discloses nitric oxide-releasing polysiloxanes and uses thereof, which may be synthesized by reacting a primary amine with a thiolactone to create a thiol-substituted polysiloxane. Frost discloses S-nitrosothiols as nitric oxide donors, including S-nitroso-N-acetyl-D-penicillamine and others. Frost also discloses polydimethylsiloxane or polydiethylsiloxane, among others, as suitably polysiloxanes for further reactions.
/SAVANNAH G. PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763