Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 2024/0389014 A1).
[Claim 22] Li discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a network including a non-terrestrial network, the method comprising:
receiving system information including at least one threshold and information indicating a reference location of a serving cell; and determining not to perform a measurement on at least one frequency cell of equal or lower priority than the serving cell in a case where a distance between a current location of the UE and the reference location of the serving cell is shorter than the at least one threshold. [0108, a condition for the terminal to measure the neighboring cell is R>Rx, where Rx is a distance threshold between the terminal and the serving cell, and R is a real-time distance between the terminal and the serving cell. That is, when R>Rx, the terminal measures the neighboring cell. Therefore no measurement is triggered when under the threshold.]
[Claim 23] Li discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the determining is performed in a case where the UE has valid information indicating the current location of the UE. [0059]
[Claim 24] Li discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the at least one threshold includes a respective threshold appliable per frequency. [0056, different frequencies have different priorities meaning different thresholds may apply per frequency]
[Claim 25] Li discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the at least one threshold includes a threshold applicable for inter-frequency measurement and another threshold applicable for intra-frequency measurement. [0055-0056]
[Claim 26] Li discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the at least one threshold includes a respective threshold appliable per type of neighbor cells. [0044-0045]
[Claim 27] Li discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the measurement is performed based on remaining serving time of the serving cell. [0145, timeremaining for the cell to provide service is used]
[Claim 28] Li discloses the method according to claim 27, wherein information indicating the remaining serving time of the serving cell is included in the system information. [0145, time information comes from the cell]
[Claim 29] Li discloses a method performed by a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a network including a non-terrestrial network, the method comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, system information including at least one threshold and information indicating a reference location of a serving cell; wherein the at least one threshold and the reference location of a serving cell are used, by the UE, for determining not to perform a measurement on at least one frequency cell of equal or lower priority than the serving cell in a case where a distance between a current location of the UE and the reference location of the serving cell is shorter than the at least one threshold. [0108]
[Claim 30] Li discloses user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a network including a non- terrestrial network, the UE comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: receive system information including at least one threshold and information indicating a reference location of a serving cell; and determine not to perform a measurement on at least one frequency cell of equal or lower priority than the serving cell in a case where a distance between a current location of the UE and the reference location of the serving cell is shorter than the at least one threshold. [0108]
[Claim 31] Li discloses a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a network including a non-terrestrial network, the network node comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: transmit, to the UE, system information including at least one threshold and information indicating a reference location of a serving cell; wherein the at least one threshold and the reference location of a serving cell are used, by the UE, for determining not to perform a measurement on at least one frequency cell of equal or lower priority than the serving cell in a case where a distance between a current location of the UE and the reference location of the serving cell is shorter than the at least one threshold. [0108]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the PTO-892 for further state of art references.
/LEWIS G WEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699