DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on March 19, 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-18 are now pending in the application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Motor Busbar Configuration and Structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated IKURA (US 20130113313 A1).
Regarding claim 1, IKURA teaches:
A motor (Fig 1; 100)comprising:
a stator(Fig 1; 20);
a rotor (Fig 1; 6)disposed inside the stator(Fig 1; 20)[0033];
a shaft(Fig 1; 9) coupled to the rotor(Fig 1; 6)[0035]; and a bus bar (Fig 1; 30)disposed on the stator(Fig 1; 20)[0033],
wherein the bus bar (Fig 4; 30)includes a bus bar holder (Fig 4; 33)and a plurality of terminals(Fig 4; 31U/V/W) disposed on the bus bar holder(Fig 4; 33),
each of the terminals (Fig 4; 31U/V/W) includes a body (Fig 4; 31b) disposed in the bus bar holder(Fig 4; 33), an extension part (Fig 4; 32’W) extending inward from the body (Fig 10;31b), and a protrusion part (Fig 4; 32”W)protruding in an axial direction from an end portion of the extension part (Fig 4; 32’W)(the radial portion has been labeled 32’W and the axial portion has been labeled 32”W for ease of understanding),
the body (Fig 4; 31W), the extension part (Fig 4; 32’W), and the protrusion part (Fig 4; 32”W)are formed integrally(Shown in Fig 4),
the body (Fig 10; 31W)and the extension part (Fig 10; 32’W)of each of the terminals are disposed on the same virtual plane(shown in Fig 10), and
the protrusion part (Fig 4; 32”W) of each of the terminals is disposed to be exposed from the bus bar holder(Fig 4; 33) (Shown in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 6, IKURA teaches:
wherein the protrusion part(Fig 4; 32”W) is disposed to overlap a portion of the extension part (Fig 4; 32’W) in the axial direction(Shown in Fig 4).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated KIM (US 20180123414 A1).
Regarding claim 17, IKURA teaches:
A motor comprising:
a shaft(Fig 8; 30a);
a rotor (Fig 8; 300)coupled to the shaft(Fig 8; 30a)[0057];
a stator (Fig 8; 100)disposed to correspond to the rotor (Fig 8; 200)and including a stator core(Fig 1; 110), an insulator coupled to the stator core, and a coil (Fig 1; 120)disposed on the insulator[0057]; and
a terminal (Fig 2; 200)electrically connected to the coil(Fig 2; 120)[0042],
wherein the terminal (Fig 2; 200)includes a first body part(Fig 4; 210), and a second body part(Fig 7; 231) coupled to the first body part(Fig 4; 210),
the second body part (Fig 7; 231)includes a plurality of grooves(Fig 7; 205),
the first body part (Fig 7; 210) is coupled to any one of the plurality of grooves(Fig 7; 2205), and
the plurality of grooves(Fig 7; 205) have the same shape.
In regards to claim 18, KIM teaches the motor of claim 17:
wherein the second body part (Fig 7; 231) includes a terminal body(Fig 7; 231), and terminal parts (Fig 2; 121/122)bent outward at both end portions of the terminal body and in contact with the coil(Fig 7; 120)[0040],
the terminal body (Fig 7; 231)includes a pair of protrusions protruding from an upper surface of the terminal body, and
the groove (Fig 7; 205)is defined as a space between the pair of protrusions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKURA (US 20130113313 A1) in view of UEDA (US 20080265701 A1).
In regards to claim 2, IKURA, teaches the motor of claim 1:
IKURA does not teach:
wherein the bus bar includes a plurality of bus bar holes formed to pass therethrough in the axial direction, and
one area of a coil of the stator is disposed inside the bus bar hole.
UEDA teaches:
wherein the bus bar (Fig 3; 10) includes a plurality of bus bar holes(Fig 6; 22/23) formed to pass therethrough in the axial direction, and
one area of a coil (Fig 6; 20a) of the stator[0037] is disposed inside the bus bar hole(Fig 6; 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify UEDA by adding the bus bar holes and boss parts onto the busbar taught by IKURA in order to connect the coils without using additional materials[0041UEDA].
In regards to claim 3, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 2:
IKURA does not teach:
wherein each of the plurality of terminals includes the bus bar hole, and
the coil comes into contact with the terminal hole.
UEDA teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of terminals (Fig 3; 13U/V/W) includes the bus bar hole(Fig 3; 22/23), and
the coil (Fig 6; 20a)comes into contact with the terminal hole(Fig 6; 22/23).
In regards to claim 4, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 3:
IKURA does not teach:
wherein the terminal includes a boss part extending the terminal hole in the axial direction.
UEDA teaches:
wherein the terminal(Fig 6; 13U/V/W) includes a boss part (Fig 6; 21) extending the terminal hole (Fig 6; 22/23)in the axial direction.
In regards to claim 5, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 4:
IKURA does not teach:
wherein the boss part is disposed to protrude from an upper surface of the bus bar holder.
UEDA teaches:
wherein the boss part(Fig 5; 21) is disposed to protrude from an upper surface of the bus bar holder(Fig 6; 15).
In regards to claim 7, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 1:
wherein the plurality of terminals(Fig 10; 31U/V/W) include a first terminal(Fig 10; 31U), a second terminal(Fig 10; 31V), and a third terminal (Fig 10; 31W)disposed to be spaced apart from each other(Shown in Fig 10),
the first terminal (Fig 11b; 31U) includes an arc-shaped first body(Fig 11; 31b), a first extension part (Fig 11b; 32’U)extending inward from the end portion of the first body(Fig 11b; 31b), a first protrusion part (Fig 11b; 32”U)extending from an end portion of the first extension part (Fig 11b; 32’U)in the axial direction,
the second terminal (Fig 11c; 31V)includes an arc-shaped second body(Fig 11c; 31b), a second extension part (Fig 11c; 32’V)extending inward from the end portion of the second body(Fig 11c; 31b), a second protrusion part (Fig 11c; 32”V)extending from an end portion of the second extension part(Fig 11c; 32’V) in the axial direction,
the third terminal (Fig 11d; 31W)includes an arc-shaped third body(Fig 11d; 31b), a third extension part (Fig 11d; 32’W)extending inward from the end portion of the third body(Fig 11d; 31b), a third protrusion part (Fig 11d; 32”W)extending from an end portion of the third extension part (Fig 11d; 32’W) in the axial direction.
IKURA does not teach:
a plurality of first terminal holes formed in the first body,
a plurality of second terminal holes formed in the second body, and
a plurality of third terminal holes formed in the third body.
UEDA teaches:
a plurality of first terminal holes (Fig 5; 22/23) formed in the first body(Fig 6; 13U),
a plurality of second terminal holes(Fig 5; 22/23) formed in the second body(Fig 5; 13V), and
a plurality of third terminal holes (Fig 5; 22/23)formed in the third body(Fig 5; 13W).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify UEDA by adding the bus bar holes and boss parts onto the busbar taught by IKURA in order to connect the coils without using additional materials[0041UEDA].
In regards to claim 8, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 7:
wherein the second extension part(Fig 10; 32’V) is disposed between the first extension part(Fig 10; 32’U) and the third extension part (Fig 10; 32’W)with respect to a circumferential direction.
In regards to claim 9, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 8:
wherein a radial length of the second extension part (Fig 10; 32’V)is smaller than a radial length of the first extension part(Fig 10; 32’U) and larger than a radial length of the third extension part(Fig 10; 32’W)(Fig 10 shows the general length of the second extension part to be between the first and third extension part).
In regards to claim 10, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 7:
wherein a center of the first protrusion part(Fig 10; 32”U), a center of the second protrusion part(Fig 10; 32”V), and a center of the third protrusion part (Fig 10; 32”W) are disposed on a virtual circle with a predetermined radius with respect to a center of the bus bar(Fig 10 shows the general geometric shape to generally fit this limitation limitation).
In regards to claim 11, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 9:
wherein an angle formed by a center (C1) of the first protrusion part (Fig 10; 32”U)and a center of the second protrusion part (Fig 10; 32”V)with respect to a center (C) of the bus bar is the same as an angle formed by the center of the second protrusion part (Fig 10; 32”V)and a center of the third protrusion part(Fig 10; 32”W) (Fig 10 shows the general geometric shape to generally fit this limitation limitation).
In regards to claim 12, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 7.
IKURA does not teach:
wherein the bus bar includes a plurality of bus bar holes formed to pass therethrough in the axial direction,
the first terminal hole forms a portion of any one of the plurality of bus bar holes,
the second terminal hole forms a portion of another one of the plurality of bus bar holes, and
the third terminal hole forms a portion of the remaining one of the plurality of bus bar holes.
UEDA teaches:
wherein the bus bar (Fig 3; 10) includes a plurality of bus bar holes(Fig 3; 16) formed to pass therethrough in the axial direction,
the first terminal hole (Fig 6; 22/23) forms a portion of any one of the plurality of bus bar holes(Fig 3; 16),
the second terminal hole (Fig 6; 22/23)forms a portion of another one of the plurality of bus bar holes(Fig 3; 16), and
the third terminal hole (Fig 6; 22/23)forms a portion of the remaining one of the plurality of bus bar holes(Fig 3; 16).
In regards to claim 13, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 7.
IKURA does not teach:
wherein one of the plurality of first terminal holes is disposed to overlap the second extension part of the second terminal in the radial direction.
UEDA teaches:
wherein one of the plurality of first terminal holes (Fig 6; 22/23) is disposed to overlap the second extension part(Fig 3; 11V) of the second terminal in the radial direction.
The Applicant should note that combination UEDA/IKURA discloses the claimed invention except for, “ a first terminal hole is disposed to overlap the second extension part in the radial direction.” It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a first terminal hole overlap the second extension part in the radial direction, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In regards to claim 14, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 13.
IKURA does not teach:
wherein another one of the plurality of first terminal holes is disposed on the end portion of the first body in the circumferential direction.
UEDA teaches:
wherein another one of the plurality of first terminal holes (Fig 6; 22/23) is disposed on the end portion of the first body (Fig 3; 13U) in the circumferential direction( since the body is circular shaped the end portion can be defined at any point along the body).
In regards to claim 15, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 7.
IKURA does not teach:
wherein the first terminal includes a first boss part extending the first terminal hole in the axial direction.
UEDA teaches:
wherein the first terminal (Fig 3; 11U/13U) includes a first boss part (Fig 6; 21) extending the first terminal hole (Fig 6; 22/23) in the axial direction.
In regards to claim 16, IKURA, in view of UEDA, teaches the motor of claim 7.
IKURA does not teach:
wherein the first terminal hole does not overlap the second terminal hole or the third terminal hole with respect to the radial direction.
UEDA teaches:
wherein the first terminal hole(Fig 3; 16) does not overlap the second terminal hole(Fig 3; 16) or the third terminal hole (Fig 3; 16)with respect to the radial direction(Fig 2 shows this limitation).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834