CTNF 18/693,219 CTNF 91138 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the identification sleeve comprises one or more tabs engaging a proximal end of the cap component" in lines 2-3. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the limitation in lines 4-6 of claim 1 or it is referring to new limitation. Note: for the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation such as "the identification sleeve comprises one or more tabs of the one or more engagement features and the one or more tabs engaging a proximal end of the cap component". Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (US 20210236736 A1) (“Murray”) . Re Claim 1 , Murray discloses a syringe assembly (10, Fig. 1-11) comprising: a syringe (100, ¶0026 ) comprising a reservoir (103, ¶0038 and a distal tip (close to 154, Fig. 3); a cap component (200 b , 150) engaged with the distal tip (Fig. 3); and an identification sleeve (140, 250, 900, Fig. 3, Fig. 8) engaged with the cap component via one or more engagement features (149. ¶0030) extending from at least one of the cap component and the identification sleeve (Fig. 3); wherein the identification sleeve comprises an RFID tag (900, ¶0062). Re Claim 2 , Murray discloses wherein the RFID tag is embedded in the identification sleeve (Fig. 8. ¶0061). Re Claim 3 , Murray discloses wherein the identification sleeve is rotationally locked to the cap component (¶0045 due to 250). Re Claim 4 , Murray discloses wherein the one or more engagement features comprises a rib or spline extending in a longitudinal direction ( rib 160). Re Claim 5 , Murray discloses wherein the one or more engagement features are equally spaced about an inside circumference of the identification sleeve (Fig. 3). Re Claim 6 , Murray discloses wherein the identification sleeve is press fit or glued onto the cap component (¶0047). Re Claim 7 , Murray discloses wherein the identification sleeve comprises a flange (right end of 140 close to 144, Fig. 3) engaging a proximal face of the cap component ( close to 150a. Fig. 3) to prevent the identification sleeve from sliding relative to the cap component (it is capable to prevent the identification sleeve from sliding relative to the cap component Fig. 3). Re Claim 8 , Murray discloses wherein the flange defines an aperture through which the distal tip extends (148, Fig. 2). Re Claim 11 , Murray discloses wherein the identification sleeve is substantially the same length as the cap component in a longitudinal direction (¶0043). Re Claim 12 , Murray discloses wherein the identification sleeve is longer than the cap component in a longitudinal direction (¶0043). Re Claim 13 , Murray discloses further comprising a cap sealing the distal tip (a portion of 150 close to 166), wherein the identification sleeve at least partially surrounds the cap (Fig, 3, ¶0052). Re Claim 14 , Murray discloses wherein at least a portion of an outer diameter of the identification sleeve is substantially equal to an outer diameter of the reservoir ( 250 and 100, Fig. 3). Re Claim 15 , Murray discloses further comprising a label adhered to the reservoir and to the identification sleeve (110. ¶0033, Fig. 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray in view of Buehler et al. (US 20080097310 A1) (“Buehler”) . Re Claim 9 , Murray fails to disclose wherein the identification sleeve comprises one or more tabs engaging a proximal face of the cap component to prevent the identification sleeve from sliding relative to the cap component, wherein each of the one or more tabs is configured to deflect radially outward to allow the identification sleeve to slide over the cap component during installation of the identification sleeve onto the cap component. However, Buehler disclose a syringe (Fig. 1- 7) discloses a sleeve (8) comprises one or more tabs (9) engaging a proximal face of the cap component (left face of 10 of 6)) to prevent the identification sleeve from sliding relative to the cap component (Fig. 7, ¶ ¶0013), wherein each of the one or more tabs is configured to deflect radially outward to allow the identification sleeve to slide over the cap component during installation of the identification sleeve onto the cap component (¶0012). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the identification sleeve of Murray to include one or more tabs engaging a proximal face of the cap component to prevent the identification sleeve from sliding relative to the cap component, wherein each of the one or more tabs is configured to deflect radially outward to allow the identification sleeve to slide over the cap component during installation of the identification sleeve onto the cap component as taught by Buehler for the purpose of engaging the sleeve and the cap component during the assembly to remove the cap component during usage (Buehler, ¶0013). Re Claim 10 , Murray fails to discloses wherein each of the one or more tabs comprises a ramped surface configured to engage a distal end of the cap component and cause the one or more tabs to deflect radially outward during installation of the identification sleeve onto the cap component. However, Buehler disclose a syringe (Fig. 1- 7) discloses a sleeve (8) comprises one or more tabs (9) and wherein each of the one or more tabs comprises a ramped surface (9) configured to engage a distal end of the cap component and cause the one or more tabs to deflect radially outward during installation of the identification sleeve onto the cap component (right end of 10 will engage ramped surface of 9, ¶0013). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the identification sleeve of Murray so that each of the one or more tabs comprises a ramped surface configured to engage a distal end of the cap component and cause the one or more tabs to deflect radially outward during installation of the identification sleeve onto the cap component as taught by Buehler for the purpose of engaging the sleeve and the cap component during the assembly to remove the cap component during usage (Buehler, ¶0013). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HAMZA A. DARB whose telephone number is (571)270-1202. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00-5:00 M-F (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chelsea Stinson can be reached at (571) 270-1744. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HAMZA A DARB/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/693,219 Page 2 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/693,219 Page 3 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/693,219 Page 4 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/693,219 Page 5 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/693,219 Page 6 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/693,219 Page 7 Art Unit: 3783