DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction Requirement
Applicant’s election of Group I, claim 1-9 in the reply filed on 4/22/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-15, 19, and 22-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pflimlin et al. "Engineering A Potent, Long-Acting, and Periphery-Restricted Oxytocin Receptor Agonist With Anorexigenic and Body Weight Reducing Effects", J. Med. Chem., 63(1): 382-390, Pub. Dec. 18, 2019 (ISR Reference).
Pflimlin examines the effects of oxytocin on food intake and body weight reduction. A series of oxytocin derivatives were engineered through conjugation to fatty acid moieties that are known to exhibit high binding affinities to serum albumin (Abstract).
The prior art anticipates the indicated claim because it discloses oxytocin derivatives conjugated to a fatty acid as instantly claimed.
2. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feifel et al. (US 2017/0224763, Aug. 10, 2017) (hereinafter Feifel).
Feifel discloses that neurological disorders may be treated by administering an oxytocin peptide (¶ [0037]). Many oxytocin peptide are capable of crossing the blood brain barrier oxytocin peptides permit oral, parenteral or intravenous administration. Alternatively, the agent can be modified or otherwise altered so that it can cross or be transported across the blood brain barrier. Many strategies known in the art are available for crossing the blood-brain barrier including introducing the molecule as a conjugate to a carrier such as to docosahexaenoic acid (¶ [0067]).
The prior art anticipates the indicated claim because it discloses oxytocin conjugated to docosahexaenoic acid as instantly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashoua (US 4,933,324, Jun. 12, 1990) (hereinafter Shashoua) in view of Hamilton et al. (US 2011/0262442, Oct. 27, 2011) (hereinafter Hamilton) as evidenced by Feifel et al. (US 2017/0224763, Aug. 10, 2017) (hereinafter Feifel).
Shashoua teaches a fatty-acid neuroactive drug conjugate as a prodrug (Title). Specifically, Shashoua discloses the formation of a prodrug from a fatty acid carrier and a neuroactive drug. The prodrug is stable in the environment of both the stomach and the bloodstream (Abstract). The prodrug passes readily through the blood brain barrier (col 2, line 44-45). Most preferably, the carrier is the all cis form docosahexaenoic acid (satisfies claim 2 ) (col 3, line 56-59). The covalent bond between the drug and the carrier preferably is an amide bond, which bond may survive the conditions in the stomach (satisfies claim 3) (col 2, line 64-66). It is an object of the invention to treat neurological disorders (col 3, line 59-60). Amounts of the compounds of the invention useful for promoting the uptake of the drug by the brain may vary from individual to individual, as well as varying from the particular disorder being treated and the particular effect desired. Such amounts can be determined by experimentation as is well understood by those skilled in the pharmaceutical arts (col 12, line 30-36).
Shashoua differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the active used is oxytocin.
However, Hamilton discloses therapies for treating central nervous system diseases and/or disorders which comprise administering (a) an agent for increasing blood brain barrier permeability in a subject; and (b) a pharmaceutical agent for treating the disease and/or disorder (¶ [0037]). In some embodiments, the pharmaceutical agent is a macromolecular therapeutic agent (¶ [0104]). In certain embodiments, the macromolecular therapeutic agent may be a bioactive protein or peptide agent (¶ [0242]). Suitable peptide agents include neuroactive peptides such as oxytocin (¶ [0252]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Shashoua discloses wherein the prodrug is formed from a fatty acid carrier and a neuroactive drug. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the conjugate of Shashoua to comprise oxytocin, since it is a known neuroactive peptide for use in therapies which treat neurological disorders as taught by Hamilton.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success when conjugating oxytocin to DHA (i.e., when modifying the conjugate of Shashoua to comprise the oxytocin of Hamilton) since it is known to conjugate oxytocin to docosahexaenoic acid to increase its permeability across the blood brain barrier when treating neurological disorders as evidenced by Feifel (¶ [0037 & 0067]).
Regarding the ratio recited in instant claim 4, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, oxytocin is a neuroactive peptide and Shashoua in view of Hamilton disclose wherein the compounds of the invention useful for promoting the uptake of the drug by the brain may vary from individual to individual, as well as varying from the particular disorder being treated and the particular effect desired. Such amounts can be determined by experimentation. Accordingly, ratios of oxytocin are a result effective variable, since amounts/ratios directly impact the therapeutic effect. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed ratio of oxytocin to yield the desired therapeutic profile.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Shashoua and Hamilton, as evidenced by Feifel, render obvious claims 1-4.
2. Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashoua (US 4,933,324, Jun. 12, 1990) (hereinafter Shashoua) in view of Hamilton et al. (US 2011/0262442, Oct. 27, 2011) (hereinafter Hamilton) and further in view of Carneiro et al. (Int J Mol Sci. 2019 Feb 2; 20(3): 642) (hereinafter Carneiro).
The teachings of Shashoua and Hamilton are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Shashoua and Hamilton do not disclose wherein the conjugate further comprises a cyclodextrin.
However, Carneiro discloses that cyclodextrins play a vital role in the development of inclusion complexes which promote improvements in the chemical and biological properties of the complexed active principles, as well as providing improved solubility and aqueous stability (Abstract). Suitable cyclodextrins include 2-hydroxypropyl-β-CD (HP-β-CD) (Introduction). In the representation of compound inclusion complexes in cyclodextrin,, the actives are entrapped within the cyclodextrin (Fig. 1). Despite being considered GRAS (Generally Recognized as Safe) substances, CD safety and toxicity usually depends on the route of administration and the type of CD used. When given orally, CDs are negligibly absorbed from the GI tract, thus are practically nontoxic due their bulky and hydrophilic nature; however, higher doses of CDs may be harmful and produce irreversible kidney damage and dysfunction (Introduction). CDs are well tolerated, atoxic if used in safe concentration ranges already well-described in the literature and considered safe for complexion with drugs (Introduction). Inclusion complexes formed with a host–guest molecule may exhibit improved chemical or biological properties compared to the host molecule alone. Such inclusion may: (i) improve aqueous solubility, dissolution, and bioavailability; (ii) increase the physicochemical stability of drugs and improve the shelf life of drugs; (iii) modify the drug delivery site and/or the time profile; (iv) reduce or eliminate unpleasant taste and smell; (v) prevent drug–drug or drug–excipient interactions; and (vi) convert liquid drugs into microcrystalline or amorphous powders (Introduction). Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated to the conjugate of Shashoua in view of Hamilton to comprise an inclusion complex formed from a cyclodextrin such as 2-hydroxypropyl-β-CD motivated by the desire to improve the chemical and biological properties of the complexed active principles and provide improved solubility and aqueous stability as well as achieving the various pharmacological improvements taught by Carneiro.
Regarding the ratio recited in instant claim 9, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, cyclodextrins affect the chemical and biological properties of the complexed active principles, as well as their solubility and aqueous stability. However, they must be used in in safe concentration ranges. Accordingly, amounts/ratios thereof are a result effective variable since said amounts/ratios directly impact the pharmacological improvement as well as the safety profile of the resulting complex. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed ratio of cyclodextrin to yield the desired pharmacological improvement as well as safety profile.
3. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shashoua (US 4,933,324, Jun. 12, 1990) (hereinafter Shashoua) in view of Hamilton et al. (US 2011/0262442, Oct. 27, 2011) (hereinafter Hamilton) and Feifel et al. (US 2017/0224763, Aug. 10, 2017) (hereinafter Feifel) and further in view of Irby et al. (Mol Pharm. 2017 May 01; 14(5): 1325–1338) (hereinafter Irby).
The teachings of Shashoua and Hamilton are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Shashoua and Hamilton do not disclose wherein the conjugate further comprises a liposome encapsulating the conjugate.
However, Irby discloses that lipid–drug conjugates (LDCs) are drug molecules that have been covalently modified with lipids. The conjugation of lipids to drug molecules increases lipophilicity and also changes other properties of drugs. The conjugates demonstrate several advantages including improved oral bioavailability, improved targeting to the lymphatic system, enhanced tumor targeting, and reduced toxicity (Abstract). Suitable lipids for LDCs include fatty acids such as docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) (Sec. 2.1). Liposomes prevent the premature metabolism of prodrugs by acting as a second layer of protection for the active agent (the first being the lipid–drug conjugates) (Sec. 5.3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated to the conjugate of Shashoua in view of Hamilton to comprise a liposome encapsulating the conjugate motivated by the desire to prevent the premature metabolism of the prodrug/conjugate by acting as a second layer of protection as taught by Irby.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Claims 10-15, 19, and 22-24 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612