DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant contends, in Applicant Arguments filed 18th August 2026, that prior art of record Tsujimura (JP H04321807 A) does not disclose and suggest the configuration of “a connecting piece that connects upper ends or lower ends of the attachment pieces to each other in an axial direction of the outer shell”. This is not persuasive. Applicant argues that “the portions indicated by E1 and E1, which have been pointed out by the examiner, do not correspond to upper ends or lower ends of the parallel plate portions (13)”. Under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) the portions of the parallel plate portions (13) above and below the bottom line are interpreted to be “Upper Ends” and “Lower Ends” (see MPEP 2111 for further discussion of BRI). While examiner agrees U1, U2, L1, and L2, pointed to by applicant, could also be interpreted as “Upper Ends” and “Lower Ends”, the limitation “Upper Ends” and “Lower Ends” on their own does limit the claimed invention to the portions labeled U1, U2, L1, and L2 by the applicant. Additionally, even if U1, U2, L1, and L2 were interpreted as the “Upper Ends” and “Lower Ends” the tubular side plate portion (12) is still interpreted as being equivalent to the claimed “connecting piece that connects upper ends or lower ends of the attachment pieces” as seen in annotated Fig. 2 below. Therefore, the previous grounds of rejection, at least as it pertains to previously recited claimed matter, is maintained.
Annotated Fig. 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “in an axial direction of the cylinder outer shell” is recited. It is unclear how the connecting piece of the claimed connects in this direction (see Annotated Applicants Fig. 1, 2, and 6 below). For purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as any amount of connection in the axial direction. Claims 2-5 are similarly rejected for depending on a rejected base claim.
Annotated Fig. 1, 2, and 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsujimura (JP H04321807 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsujimura discloses A shock absorber comprising: a shock absorber main body having a cylindrical outer shell (2) and a rod (3) movably inserted into the cylindrical outer shell (2); and a knuckle bracket (11) attached to an outer periphery of a lower end of the cylindrical outer shell (2) (see Fig. 1), wherein the knuckle bracket (11) includes a single metal plate as a base material (see Fig. 2), a pair of clamping pieces (15) that are curved along an outer periphery of the cylindrical outer shell (2) and clamp the cylindrical outer shell (2), a pair of attachment pieces (13) that extend in a radial direction of the cylindrical outer shell (2) from ends in a circumferential direction of the respective clamping pieces (15) and face each other, a connecting piece (12) that connects upper ends (E1) (see Annotated Fig. 2 below) or lower ends (E2) of the attachment pieces (13) to each other in an axial direction of the cylindrical outer shell, and a pair of notches (17) that cut off a three-plane intersection point where the clamping piece (15), the attachment piece (13), and the connecting piece (12) intersect (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Annotated Fig. 2 below). It should be noted that Tsujimura’s connection piece (12) connects the attachment pieces (13) to each other in an axial direction of the cylindrical outer shell at least in the manner that applicants’ invention connects in that direction.
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 3, Tsujimura discloses wherein the notch (17) is provided to be cut across three surfaces of the clamping piece (15), the attachment piece (13), and the connecting piece (12) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsujimura discloses wherein the connecting piece is welded to the cylindrical outer shell (see Fig. 1, [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimura (JP H04321807 A) as applied to Claim 1, above, in view of Handke (US 20020141817 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsujimura discloses the shock absorber according to claim 1, wherein the notch has a rectangular shape (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Tsujimura does not disclose wherein the corner portions of the notch are chamfered in an R surface shape.
Handke teaches wherein the corner portions of a notch are chamfered in an R surface shape (see Fig. 6c, Fig. 6d).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Handke with the shock absorber and Knuckle bracket of Tsujimura in order to guarantee a high degree of strength and, at the same time, reduce manufacturing complexity of the bracket fixture (see US 20020141817 A1 [Handke]; [0007]).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsujimura does not disclose wherein the pair of attachment pieces have equal heights in the axial direction of the cylindrical outer shell.
Handke teaches wherein the attachment pieces (21, 23) have equal heights in the axial direction of the cylindrical outer shell (see Fig. 6c, Fig. 6d).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of equal height attachment pieces of Handke with the shock absorber of Tsujimura in order to reduce the forming work required of the attachment pieces (see US 20020141817 A1 [Handke]; [0048]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616