DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (herein referred to as Guo, EP 3881685 A1) in view of Doane et al. (herein referred to as Doane, WO 2016004312 A1) and Panickar et al. (herein referred to as Panickar, WO 2018089723 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Guo teaches a method for feeding invertebrates ([0103]). Guo teaches providing a pollen substitute composition ([0111]) comprising proanthocyanidins ([0085], [0127], [0133] i.e., condensed tannins). Guo teaches administering the pollen substitute to invertebrates ([0103]) wherein the pollen substitute composition is administered to honey bees ([0126], Guo reads such that the administration of the product improves honey quality, therefore the bees would inherently be honey bees if they are producing honey). Guo teaches wherein the proanthocyanidins are provided as part of the pollen substitute compositions ([0085]). Guo teaches the proanthocyanidins are present in the aqueous extract of the Ceratonia siliqua Linn. fruit of the present invention in an amount of 15% to 20% ([0133]) and Ceratonia siliqua Linn. is present in the composition in 5 to 120 parts by weight (claim 11). Therefore proanthocyanidins would be present in an amount of about 0.24% to about 24% given the other components in the composition. See MPEP 2144.05(I) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Guo teaches wherein the pollen substitute comprises protein, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals from cactus extract ([0112]). Guo teaches by optimizing the ratio of the extract of the pericarp of the Ceratonia siliqua Linn. fruit to the cactus extract in the bee feed, the inventors further find that the bee feed prepared from the extract of the pericarp of the Ceratonia siliqua Linn. fruit and the cactus extract at a specific ratio has better effects of improving immunity and reducing mortality of bees ([0112]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of cactus extract to achieve the desired amount of protein, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals in the feed to improve immunity and reduce mortality. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." Guo teaches the composition does not comprise pollen (claim 1). Guo teaches wherein the protein, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals and optionally further components add up to 100 w% ([0112], Claim 11). Guo teaches the components of the composition in parts by weight and therefore easily be related to the dry weight of the compositions (claim 11).
However, Guo is silent the pollen substitute comprising fatty acids.
Doane teaches insect feeds and methods of feeding such insect feeds to insects, such as bees (abstract). Doane teaches specific fatty acids (C-2 to C-24) may also be added to the insect feed such as the short chain volatile fatty acids ([0034]). Doane teaches those of ordinary skill in the art understand that an optimal balance of amino acids, fatty acids, macro- and micro-minerals, vitamins, and carbohydrates from a variety of sources are needed to provide the optimal levels and balance of these nutrients to support optimal growth and health ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guo in view of Doane to include fatty acids to provide the optimal levels and balance of these nutrients to support optimal growth and health.
In addition, Guo is silent to the proanthocyanidins being in oligomeric form, in catechin form, in epicatechin form, in epi-gallocatechin form, in gallocatechin form, in epiafzelechin form, or in afzelechin form.
Panickar teaches a feed composition (abstract). Panickar teaches proanthocyanidins are polyphenolic flavonoids and many of these proanthocyanidins are dimers, trimers or oligomers of catechins and epicatechins, which are also polyphenols ([0045]).
Panickar imparts reasoning for obviousness because the teaching shows that utilization of proanthocyanidins in catechin and epicatechin form in a feed was known to be successfully achieved and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of one with ordinary skill in the art to selected proanthocyanidins in catechin and epicatechin form because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
With regard to Claim 3, Guo teaches the proanthocyanidins is an anti-oxidant component and plays a role in supplementing nutrients, lowering blood lipid level and regulating blood glucose ([0085]) and can be administrated daily to groups of bees ([0319]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to optimize the dosage of proanthocyanidins to the colony to achieve the desired anti-oxidant effect as well as the appropriate amount to supplement nutrients, lowering blood lipid level and regulating blood glucose.
With regard to Claim 4, Guo teaches the composition is a whole invertebrate diet ([0319]).
With regard to Claim 6, Guo teaches the composition was administered outside the hive ([0319]).
With regard to Claim 7, Guo teaches the source of the proanthocyanidins is a non-pollen tissue from fruit ([0012]).
With regard to Claim 8, Guo teaches the source of the proanthocyanidins is an extract ([0089]).
With regard to Claim 9, Guo teaches the source of the proanthocyanidins is a non-pollen tissue from the group Fabaceae ([0012], one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Ceratonia siliqua Linn. is in the Fabaceae family).
With regard to Claim 12, Guo teaches the source of the proanthocyanidins is from a plant and the source is a non-pollen tissue ([0084])
With regard to Claim 13, Guo teaches wherein proanthocyanidins are provided to a eusocial been colony ([0319])
With regard to Claim 16, Guo teaches the composition is essentially free of pollen (claim 1, whole document).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (EP 3881685 A1) in view of Doane (WO 2016004312 A1) Panickar (WO 2018089723 A1) and Petchidurai et al. (herein referred to as Petchidurai, “Standardization and quantification of total tannins, condensed tannin and soluble phlorotannins extracted from thirty-two drifted coastal macroalgae using high performance liquid chromatography”)
With regard to Claim 10, Guo is silent to wherein the source of the proanthocyanidins is a non-pollen source selected from the group consisting of a marine or freshwater algal species.
Petchidurai teaches marine algae are a source of proanthocyanidins (1. Introduction).
Therefore, Petchidurai imparts reasoning for obviousness because the teaching shows that marine algae is a good source of proanthocyanidins and was known to be successfully utilized and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of one with ordinary skill in the art to selected marine algae as a source of proanthocyanidins because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
With regard to Claim 20, The examiner notes that as the marine algae was selected and the marine diatom species has not been specifically required by claim 19 or claim 20, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (EP 3881685 A1) in view of Doane (WO 2016004312 A1), Panickar (WO 2018089723 A1), and Ferreira et al. (herein referred to as Ferreira, “Towards the Synthesis of Proanthocyanidins: Half a Century of Innovation”).
With regard to Claim 11, Guo is silent to wherein the proanthocyanidins are chemically synthesized.
Ferreira teaches the chemical synthesis of proanthocyanidins (Introduction, Figure 3).
Therefore, Ferreira imparts reasoning for obviousness because the teaching shows that the chemical synthesis of proanthocyanidins was known to be successfully achieved and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of one with ordinary skill in the art to selected chemical synthesis of proanthocyanidins because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (EP 3881685 A1) in view of Doane (WO 2016004312 A1), Panickar (WO 2018089723 A1), and Shin et al. (herein referred to as Shin, JP 2002199848 A)
With regard to Claim 18, Guo is silent to wherein the proanthocyanidin is Procyanidin B 1, Procyanidin B2, Procyanidin B3 and/or Procyanidin B4.
Shin teaches a formulated feed for aquatic invertebrates contains proanthocyanidin, and the method for feeding aquatic invertebrates comprising giving them the formulated feed (abstract). Shin teaches the composition the composition comprises apple phenome which contains proanthocyanidin B1 and proanthocyanidin B2 ([0007], [0012]).
Therefore, Shin imparts reasoning for obviousness because the teaching shows that invertebrate feed containing proanthocyanidin B1 and proanthocyanidin B2 was known to be successfully achieved and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of one with ordinary skill in the art to selected proanthocyanidin B1 and proanthocyanidin B2 for the use in invertebrate feed because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (EP 3881685 A1) in view of Doane (WO 2016004312 A1) Panickar (WO 2018089723 A1) and Petchidurai et al. (herein referred to as Petchidurai, “Standardization and quantification of total tannins, condensed tannin and soluble phlorotannins extracted from thirty-two drifted coastal macroalgae using high performance liquid chromatography”) and Fraga-Corral et al. (herein referred to as Fraga-corral, “Traditional Applications of Tannin Rich Extracts Supported by Scientific Data: Chemical Composition, Bioavailability and Bioaccessibility”)
With regard to Claim 19, Guo is silent to wherein the source of the proanthocyanidins is a non-pollen source selected from the group consisting of a marine or freshwater algal species wherein the marine or freshwater algal species, is in particular an extract, an oil or a refinement of Eisenia bicyclis.
Petchidurai teaches marine algae are a source of proanthocyanidins (1. Introduction). Petchidurai teaches specifically brown algae is a good source of condensed tannins (1. Introduction, Table 4). But is silent to the algal species Eisenia bicyclis.
Fraga-Corral teaches brown algae (i.e., Arame, Eisenia bicyclis, Sargassum sp.) are also considered an adequate source of tannins, as well as other bioactive compounds, as they are easily harvested and currently underutilized while being the focus of research on bioactive compounds in recent years (1. Introduction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Guo and Petchidurai to use the algal species Eisenia bicyclis because it is easily harvested and currently underutilized while being the focus of research on bioactive compounds in recent years.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, applicant argues that the primary reference Guo is not a proper primary document because the hypothesis on which it is based, the purported high levels of condensed tannins are insoluble in water and therefore are not part of the aqueous extracts of carob fruit plants. This argument is not found to be persuasive because the feature in which applicant is arguing, specifically the levels of condensed tannins is not recited in the rejected claim. Further Guo is clear in the disclosure that the proanthocyanidins are present in the aqueous extract of the Ceratonia siliqua Linn. fruit (Guo, [0133]). With regard to the declaration file 25 May 2025, the argument with regard to Guo is not found persuasive because the statements from applicant are merely opinion based. Although the applicant refers to “peer reviewed literature” there is not specific references, data, or reports to support the opinions for the applicant. While on the other hand, Guo clearly teaches the limitations of the claim as presented. See MPEP 716.01(c)(III) In assessing the probative value of an expert opinion, the examiner must consider the nature of the matter sought to be established, the strength of any opposing evidence, the interest of the expert in the outcome of the case, and the presence or absence of factual support for the expert’s opinion. The examiner further highlights In re Beattie, 974 F.2d 1309, 24 USPQ2d 1040 (Fed. Cir. 1992) (declarations of seven persons skilled in the art offering opinion evidence praising the merits of the claimed invention were found to have little value because of a lack of factual support); Thus, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Next, applicant argues that the focus of Guo is a human health food while there is a passing refence to bee feed. This argument is not found to be persuasive because in the abstract Guo teaches the present invention relates to a Ceratonia siliqua Linn. fruit composition and preparation method and application thereof. Then Guo further defines the composition as being applicable to for feeding invertebrates ([0103]) wherein the invertebrates are honey bees ([0126]). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Continuing, applicant argues that Guo requires the addition of organic solvents. Applicant argues that the use of the organic solvents is entirely different from the claimed invention. Applicant argues that Gou does not teach or enable the use of an aqueous extract of carob as being considered tannin. First, the examiner would like to highlight MPEP 2123(I) A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Thus, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive because the claim has a range of 0.01-1% proanthocyanidins (condensed tannins). This range would be considered a “nutritionally effective” amount based on the limitations of claim 1. Guo teaches proanthocyanidins would be present in an amount of about 0.24% to about 24% (claim 11, [0133]) which clearly overlaps with applicants nutritionally effective claimed amount. As a result, even if the aqueous extraction was not as effective as Guo claimed, there is still a significant range between the lowest value taught by Gou, 0.24%, and the lowest point of the claimed range, 0.01%. The range between the 0.24% taught by Guo and the 0.01% claimed by applicant would still be considered a nutritionally effective amount as defined by applicant. Furthermore, it would be entirely likely that even if the aqueous extraction is not as effective that the produced amounts of condensed tannins would be within the applicants claimed range, nutritionally effective, and operable. See MPEP 2121(I) When the reference relied on expressly anticipates or makes obvious all of the elements of the claimed invention, the reference is presumed to be operable. Thus Guo’s range would be presumed to be operable. Further applicant failed to show otherwise that Guo’s disclosure would be inoperable by providing the required evidence. See MPEP 716.07 Affidavits or declarations attacking the operability of a patent cited as a reference must rebut the presumption of operability by a preponderance of the evidence. In re Sasse, 629 F.2d 675, 207 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1980). In addition, it is important to note that the aqueous process taught by Guo is merely a preferred embodiment and one of ordinary skill in the art can get that 0.24-24% by other means. See MPEP 2123(II) Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). "A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." Thus, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is a surprising effect of providing nutritionally effective amounts of proanthocyanidins in diet formulations as pollen substitute in bee food. First, this argument is not found to be persuasive because Guo teaches a range which overlaps with the claimed amount of proanthocyanidins as instantly claimed. Next, applicant does not provide any data to support the “surprising effects” as argued. See MPEP 716.02(b)(I) The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Mere conclusions in appellants’ brief that the claimed polymer had an unexpectedly increased impact strength "are not entitled to the weight of conclusions accompanying the evidence, either in the specification or in a declaration."); Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Again, applicant argues that Guo teaches away from proanthocyanidins by relying only on aqueous extracts that contain virtually no such condensed tannins. This argument is not found to be persuasive because Guo specifically states in paragraph [0085]), “Moreover, the main anti-oxidation component of the pericarp of the Ceratonia siliqua Linn. fruit is condensed tannin.” Guo teaches the extract is specifically from the pericarp which contains the ant-oxidation condensed tannins ([0085]). Thus, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the addition of Doane is hindsight reasoning. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Doane advantageously teaches to include fatty acids to provide the optimal levels and balance of these nutrients to support optimal growth and health. Thus, the reference provides ample motivation and applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Further applicant further argues that the addition of Panickar is hindsight reasoning. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Panickar is analogous art because it teaches a feed. Further the reference is merely relied upon to show that utilization of proanthocyanidins in catechin and epicatechin form in a feed was known to be successfully achieved and published at the time of filing. Thus, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Lastly, applicant argues that Shin is also hindsight reasoning. As discussed above, this argument is not found to be persuasive because Shin teaches analogous art in the form of invertebrate feed and Shin imparts reasoning for obviousness because the teaching shows that invertebrate feed containing proanthocyanidin B1 and proanthocyanidin B2 was known to be successfully achieved and published at the time of filing. Therefore applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.I.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792