DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/9/2026 in which claims 57, 59, 60, 63-71, and 74-76 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 57, the performing at least one of and OR statement; “performing at least one of: determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state, or receiving, by the network node, an indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle,”
leaves the claim rejectable under broadest reasonable interpretation wherein; “determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state;“ remains rejected by the prior art and the other portion of the claim only limits the non-selected alternative limitation; therefore the rejection to the claims 57, 59, 60, and 63-68 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 57, 59, 60, and 63-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200351821A1) in view of Vutukuri et al. (US20160073344A1).
As to claim 57, Wang teaches an apparatus comprising:
At least one processor; and (Fig. 8 and 10)
At least one memory including instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: (Fig. 8 and 10)
broadcasting, by a network node, a discontinuous reception (DRX) switch message indicating a user equipment (UE) is to switch from a first DRX cycle to a second DRX cycle; ([0124] At block 906, the network device may send the configured DRX cycle value to the UE and a radio access network (RAN). [0125] In an aspect, if the UE is capable of receiving the PWS signal and desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a first DRX cycle value [0126] In a further aspect, if the UE is not capable of receiving the PWS signal or does not desire to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a second DRX cycle value.)
determining, by the network node, whether to send a paging message to the UE using one of the first DRX cycle or the second DRX cycle; and ([0123] At block 902, the network device may determine whether a user equipment (UE) is capable of receiving a public warning system (PWS) signal and whether the UE desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration (specific period of time). In an aspect, the determination may include receiving an indication of PWS-capability or non-PWS-capability from the UE. [0125] the UE is allowed to receive a paging signal based on a minimum one of the first DRX cycle value, a default DRX cycle value (default paging cycle), and a RAN configured DRX cycle value (RAN paging cycle). [0126] the sending of the configured DRX cycle value indicates to the UE that the UE: 1) is not allowed to receive the paging signal based on a minimum one of the second DRX cycle value, the default DRX cycle value, and the RAN configured DRX cycle value;)
performing at least one of:
determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state, or
receiving, by the network node, an indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle, ([0123] At block 902, the network device may determine whether a user equipment (UE) is capable of receiving a public warning system (PWS) signal and whether the UE desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration (specific period of time). In an aspect, the determination may include receiving an indication of PWS-capability or non-PWS-capability from the UE.)
wherein at least one of:
the indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle is received from the UE as an ACK message, or
the indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle is received at an AMF as a configuration update message, or
the indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle is received at an AMF as a UE context update message.
But does not specifically teach:
determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state,
However Vutukuri teaches determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state, ([0028] In some implementations, an eNB may transmit a first DRX configuration, causing a UE to operate in a first DRX configuration mode. The eNB may determine a load change in an LTE-U SCell carrier. Based on the determining, the eNB may transmit a DRX Configuration Switch indication that indicates a switch to a second DRX configuration, causing the UE to operate in a second DRX configuration mode. [0031] For example, an eNB may tailor the current DRX configuration of a UE based on the load level of the LTE-U carrier. [0046] At step 240, the eNB 104 detects high load on the LTE-U SCell carrier. In such a case, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is low. Thus, the latency of the downlink traffic may be high in this scenario because of the unavailability of the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for low load to the DRX configuration for high load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claim 59, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the reduced resource comprises at least one of a resource unavailability to support a required coding or modulation rate for communication with the UE, the network having a limited amount of radio resources, and the network having limited backhaul resources. (Vutukuri ([0028] In some implementations, an eNB may transmit a first DRX configuration, causing a UE to operate in a first DRX configuration mode. The eNB may determine a load change in an LTE-U SCell carrier. Based on the determining, the eNB may transmit a DRX Configuration Switch indication that indicates a switch to a second DRX configuration, causing the UE to operate in a second DRX configuration mode. [0031] For example, an eNB may tailor the current DRX configuration of a UE based on the load level of the LTE-U carrier. [0046] At step 240, the eNB 104 detects high load on the LTE-U SCell carrier. In such a case, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is low. Thus, the latency of the downlink traffic may be high in this scenario because of the unavailability of the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for low load to the DRX configuration for high load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claims 60, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 58, wherein the network node is a radio access network (RAN) node or a mobility management function (AMF). (Wang [0086] Thereafter, at 510, the UE 502 may request a UE-specific DRX cycle by sending a registration request message (including the requested DRX cycle) to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity 506.)
As to claim 63, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the DRX switch message is a first DRX switch message, (Wang [0124] At block 906, the network device may send the configured DRX cycle value to the UE and a radio access network (RAN). [0125] In an aspect, if the UE is capable of receiving the PWS signal and desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a first DRX cycle value [0126] In a further aspect, if the UE is not capable of receiving the PWS signal or does not desire to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a second DRX cycle value.)
Wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to perform:
the apparatus further comprising means for: determining, by the network node, that the network node is no longer in a reduced resource state; and broadcasting, by the network node, a second DRX switch message indicating the UE is to switch from the second DRX cycle to the first DRX cycle (Vutukuri ([0028] In some implementations, an eNB may transmit a first DRX configuration, causing a UE to operate in a first DRX configuration mode. The eNB may determine a load change in an LTE-U SCell carrier. Based on the determining, the eNB may transmit a DRX Configuration Switch indication that indicates a switch to a second DRX configuration, causing the UE to operate in a second DRX configuration mode. [0031] For example, an eNB may tailor the current DRX configuration of a UE based on the load level of the LTE-U carrier. [0045] At step 230, the eNB 104 detects low load on the unlicensed spectrum, i.e., the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 may determine the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier based on one or more factors. These factors may include collision rates on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean energy levels detected on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean data rates achieved over the LTE-U SCell carrier, and medium occupancy factors. When the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier is low, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is high. Thus, the latency requirement of the data traffic can be satisfied by using the DRX configuration for low load. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. In some implementations, the DRX Configuration Switch indication may be transmitted in a MAC Control Element (CE). The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for high load to the DRX configuration for low load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claim 64, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the DRX switch message is a first DRX switch message, the apparatus further comprising means for: determining, by the network node, whether the UE has received one of the first DRX switch message or a second DRX switch message; determining, by the network node, whether the UE is monitoring the paging message using the first DRX cycle or the second DRX cycle; in response to determining the UE is using the second DRX cycle, the sending of the paging message to the UE uses the second DRX cycle; in response to determining the UE is using the first DRX cycle, the sending of the paging message to the UE uses the first DRX cycle; and (Wang [0123] At block 902, the network device may determine whether a user equipment (UE) is capable of receiving a public warning system (PWS) signal and whether the UE desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration (specific period of time). In an aspect, the determination may include receiving an indication of PWS-capability or non-PWS-capability from the UE. [0125] the UE is allowed to receive a paging signal based on a minimum one of the first DRX cycle value, a default DRX cycle value (default paging cycle), and a RAN configured DRX cycle value (RAN paging cycle). [0126] the sending of the configured DRX cycle value indicates to the UE that the UE: 1) is not allowed to receive the paging signal based on a minimum one of the second DRX cycle value, the default DRX cycle value, and the RAN configured DRX cycle value;)
rebroadcasting, by the network node, one of the first DRX switch message indicating the UE is to switch from the first DRX cycle to the second DRX cycle or the second DRX message indicating the UE is to switch from the second DRX cycle to the first DRX cycle. (Vutukuri [0045] At step 230, the eNB 104 detects low load on the unlicensed spectrum, i.e., the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 may determine the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier based on one or more factors. These factors may include collision rates on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean energy levels detected on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean data rates achieved over the LTE-U SCell carrier, and medium occupancy factors. When the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier is low, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is high. Thus, the latency requirement of the data traffic can be satisfied by using the DRX configuration for low load. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. In some implementations, the DRX Configuration Switch indication may be transmitted in a MAC Control Element (CE). The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for high load to the DRX configuration for low load.[0046] At step 240, the eNB 104 detects high load on the LTE-U SCell carrier. In such a case, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is low. Thus, the latency of the downlink traffic may be high in this scenario because of the unavailability of the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for low load to the DRX configuration for high load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claim 65, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the DRX switch message is a first DRX switch message wherein the broadcasting of the first DRX switch message or the second DRX switch message comprises sending a message indicated as part of a system information update indication. (Wang describes [0003] An ability of a user equipment (UE) to monitor paging (i.e., page monitoring or paging monitoring) facilitates the performance of various operations at the UE. For example, page monitoring allows the UE to learn of updates to system information (e.g., neighbor configuration, cell configuration, etc.), [0086] The SIB1 may include a default paging cycle (default_Paging_Cycle).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that the DRX cycle can be indicated in a SI update because Wang is shown sending the default DRX cycle in SIB1 in step 508 of fig. 5 in order to provide the UE with an opportunity to monitor paging messages.
As to claim 66, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57,
wherein the first DRX cycle and the second DRX cycle are preconfigured in the UE by the network node while the UE is in an RRC active state. (Vutukuri [0033] the LTE-U UEs may receive multiple DRX configurations during the initial connection setup stage, and each DRX configuration has an index.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claim 67, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57,
wherein the UE is pre-configured to monitor the DRX switch message. (Vutukuri [0033] the LTE-U UEs may receive multiple DRX configurations during the initial connection setup stage, and each DRX configuration has an index.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claim 68, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to perform: communicating, to an AMF, that the UE has switched to the second DRX cycle. (Wang Fig. 5 step 510 requested DRX sent to AMF from UE)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 69-71, and 74-76 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not teach; “the indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle is received from the UE as an ACK message, or
the indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle is received at an AMF as a configuration update message, or
the indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle is received at an AMF as a UE context update message;” and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465