DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 3/19/2024 in which claims 57-76 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 57, 68, 69, and 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US20200351821A1).
As to claims 57 and 69, Wang teaches an apparatus comprising means for:
broadcasting, by a network node, a discontinuous reception (DRX) switch message indicating a user equipment (UE) is to switch from a first DRX cycle to a second DRX cycle; and ([0124] At block 906, the network device may send the configured DRX cycle value to the UE and a radio access network (RAN). [0125] In an aspect, if the UE is capable of receiving the PWS signal and desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a first DRX cycle value [0126] In a further aspect, if the UE is not capable of receiving the PWS signal or does not desire to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a second DRX cycle value.)
determining, by the network node, whether to send a paging message to the UE using one of the first DRX cycle or the second DRX cycle. ([0123] At block 902, the network device may determine whether a user equipment (UE) is capable of receiving a public warning system (PWS) signal and whether the UE desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration (specific period of time). In an aspect, the determination may include receiving an indication of PWS-capability or non-PWS-capability from the UE. [0125] the UE is allowed to receive a paging signal based on a minimum one of the first DRX cycle value, a default DRX cycle value (default paging cycle), and a RAN configured DRX cycle value (RAN paging cycle). [0126] the sending of the configured DRX cycle value indicates to the UE that the UE: 1) is not allowed to receive the paging signal based on a minimum one of the second DRX cycle value, the default DRX cycle value, and the RAN configured DRX cycle value;)
As to claims 68 and 76, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57, further comprising means for communicating, to an AMF, that the UE has switched to the second DRX cycle. (Fig. 5 step 510 requested DRX sent to AMF from UE)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 58-60, 63, 64, 66, 67, 70-72, and 74-76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Vutukuri et al. (US20160073344A1).
As to claims 58 and 70, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57, further comprising at least one of: determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state, or means for receiving, by the network node, an indication that the UE is configured to monitor the paging message using the second DRX cycle. ([0123] At block 902, the network device may determine whether a user equipment (UE) is capable of receiving a public warning system (PWS) signal and whether the UE desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration (specific period of time). In an aspect, the determination may include receiving an indication of PWS-capability or non-PWS-capability from the UE.)
But does not specifically teach:
determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state,
However Vutukuri teaches determining, by the network node, that the network node is in a reduced resource state, ([0028] In some implementations, an eNB may transmit a first DRX configuration, causing a UE to operate in a first DRX configuration mode. The eNB may determine a load change in an LTE-U SCell carrier. Based on the determining, the eNB may transmit a DRX Configuration Switch indication that indicates a switch to a second DRX configuration, causing the UE to operate in a second DRX configuration mode. [0031] For example, an eNB may tailor the current DRX configuration of a UE based on the load level of the LTE-U carrier. [0046] At step 240, the eNB 104 detects high load on the LTE-U SCell carrier. In such a case, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is low. Thus, the latency of the downlink traffic may be high in this scenario because of the unavailability of the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for low load to the DRX configuration for high load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claims 59 and 71, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 58, wherein the reduced resource comprises at least one of a resource unavailability to support a required coding or modulation rate for communication with the UE, the network having a limited amount of radio resources, and the network having limited backhaul resources. (Vutukuri ([0028] In some implementations, an eNB may transmit a first DRX configuration, causing a UE to operate in a first DRX configuration mode. The eNB may determine a load change in an LTE-U SCell carrier. Based on the determining, the eNB may transmit a DRX Configuration Switch indication that indicates a switch to a second DRX configuration, causing the UE to operate in a second DRX configuration mode. [0031] For example, an eNB may tailor the current DRX configuration of a UE based on the load level of the LTE-U carrier. [0046] At step 240, the eNB 104 detects high load on the LTE-U SCell carrier. In such a case, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is low. Thus, the latency of the downlink traffic may be high in this scenario because of the unavailability of the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for low load to the DRX configuration for high load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claims 60 and 72, Wang in view of Vutukuri teaches the apparatus of claim 58, wherein the network node is a radio access network (RAN) node or a mobility management function (AMF). (Wang [0086] Thereafter, at 510, the UE 502 may request a UE-specific DRX cycle by sending a registration request message (including the requested DRX cycle) to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity 506.)
As to claims 63 and 74, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the DRX switch message is a first DRX switch message, ([0124] At block 906, the network device may send the configured DRX cycle value to the UE and a radio access network (RAN). [0125] In an aspect, if the UE is capable of receiving the PWS signal and desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a first DRX cycle value [0126] In a further aspect, if the UE is not capable of receiving the PWS signal or does not desire to receive the PWS signal within a duration, the configured DRX cycle value is a second DRX cycle value.)
But does not specifically teach:
the apparatus further comprising means for: determining, by the network node, that the network node is no longer in a reduced resource state; and broadcasting, by the network node, a second DRX switch message indicating the UE is to switch from the second DRX cycle to the first DRX cycle.
However Vutukuri teaches (Vutukuri ([0028] In some implementations, an eNB may transmit a first DRX configuration, causing a UE to operate in a first DRX configuration mode. The eNB may determine a load change in an LTE-U SCell carrier. Based on the determining, the eNB may transmit a DRX Configuration Switch indication that indicates a switch to a second DRX configuration, causing the UE to operate in a second DRX configuration mode. [0031] For example, an eNB may tailor the current DRX configuration of a UE based on the load level of the LTE-U carrier. [0045] At step 230, the eNB 104 detects low load on the unlicensed spectrum, i.e., the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 may determine the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier based on one or more factors. These factors may include collision rates on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean energy levels detected on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean data rates achieved over the LTE-U SCell carrier, and medium occupancy factors. When the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier is low, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is high. Thus, the latency requirement of the data traffic can be satisfied by using the DRX configuration for low load. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. In some implementations, the DRX Configuration Switch indication may be transmitted in a MAC Control Element (CE). The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for high load to the DRX configuration for low load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claims 64 and 75, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the DRX switch message is a first DRX switch message, the apparatus further comprising means for: determining, by the network node, whether the UE has received one of the first DRX switch message or a second DRX switch message; determining, by the network node, whether the UE is monitoring the paging message using the first DRX cycle or the second DRX cycle; in response to determining the UE is using the second DRX cycle, the sending of the paging message to the UE uses the second DRX cycle; in response to determining the UE is using the first DRX cycle, the sending of the paging message to the UE uses the first DRX cycle; and (Wang [0123] At block 902, the network device may determine whether a user equipment (UE) is capable of receiving a public warning system (PWS) signal and whether the UE desires to receive the PWS signal within a duration (specific period of time). In an aspect, the determination may include receiving an indication of PWS-capability or non-PWS-capability from the UE. [0125] the UE is allowed to receive a paging signal based on a minimum one of the first DRX cycle value, a default DRX cycle value (default paging cycle), and a RAN configured DRX cycle value (RAN paging cycle). [0126] the sending of the configured DRX cycle value indicates to the UE that the UE: 1) is not allowed to receive the paging signal based on a minimum one of the second DRX cycle value, the default DRX cycle value, and the RAN configured DRX cycle value;)
But does not specifically teach:
rebroadcasting, by the network node, one of the first DRX switch message indicating the UE is to switch from the first DRX cycle to the second DRX cycle or the second DRX message indicating the UE is to switch from the second DRX cycle to the first DRX cycle.
However Vutukuri teaches rebroadcasting, by the network node, one of the first DRX switch message indicating the UE is to switch from the first DRX cycle to the second DRX cycle or the second DRX message indicating the UE is to switch from the second DRX cycle to the first DRX cycle.
[0045] At step 230, the eNB 104 detects low load on the unlicensed spectrum, i.e., the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 may determine the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier based on one or more factors. These factors may include collision rates on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean energy levels detected on the LTE-U SCell carrier, mean data rates achieved over the LTE-U SCell carrier, and medium occupancy factors. When the load on the LTE-U SCell carrier is low, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is high. Thus, the latency requirement of the data traffic can be satisfied by using the DRX configuration for low load. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. In some implementations, the DRX Configuration Switch indication may be transmitted in a MAC Control Element (CE). The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for high load to the DRX configuration for low load.[0046] At step 240, the eNB 104 detects high load on the LTE-U SCell carrier. In such a case, the probability of getting access through the LTE-U SCell carrier is low. Thus, the latency of the downlink traffic may be high in this scenario because of the unavailability of the LTE-U SCell carrier. The eNB 104 therefore sends a DRX Configuration Switch indication to the LTE-U UE 102. The LTE-U UE 102 receives the DRX Configuration Switch indication and switches from the DRX configuration for low load to the DRX configuration for high load.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claims 66 and 76, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the first DRX cycle and the second DRX cycle are preconfigured in the UE by the network node while the UE is in an RRC active state.
However Vutukuri teaches wherein the first DRX cycle and the second DRX cycle are preconfigured in the UE by the network node while the UE is in an RRC active state. ([0033] the LTE-U UEs may receive multiple DRX configurations during the initial connection setup stage, and each DRX configuration has an index.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
As to claims 67 and 76, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the UE is pre-configured to monitor the DRX switch message.
However Vutukuri teaches the UE is pre-configured to monitor the DRX switch message. ([0033] the LTE-U UEs may receive multiple DRX configurations during the initial connection setup stage, and each DRX configuration has an index.)
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX switching method of Wang with the method from Vutukuri in order to reduce power consumption or reduce latency.
Claim(s) 65 and 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
As to claims 65 and 76, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 57,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the broadcasting of the first DRX switch message or the second DRX switch message comprises sending a message indicated as part of a system information update indication.
However Wang describes [0003] An ability of a user equipment (UE) to monitor paging (i.e., page monitoring or paging monitoring) facilitates the performance of various operations at the UE. For example, page monitoring allows the UE to learn of updates to system information (e.g., neighbor configuration, cell configuration, etc.), [0086] The SIB1 may include a default paging cycle (default_Paging_Cycle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that the DRX cycle can be indicated in a SI update because Wang is shown sending the default DRX cycle in SIB1 in step 508 of fig. 5 in order to provide the UE with an opportunity to monitor paging messages.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 61, 62, and 73 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465