DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the supporting means and associated cover sheet (cl. 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 14 should begin with the word –A-- before “cabin” and “system”, respectively.
Claims 2 – 13 and 15 should begin with the word “The.”
In claim 6, “the latter” is informal and should be corrected.
In claims 11, 13, and 14, the use of “it” is informal and should be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heating means in claim 1, supporting means in claim 11, and coupling means in 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There are numerous issues with antecedent basis, likely as a result of the preliminary amendment removing multiply dependent claims. Applicant’s cooperation in correcting any issues not explicitly set forth below is requested.
Regarding claim 1:
In line 1, “particularly” is indefinite, since it is unclear if the limitations which follow are required or merely preferred. See MPEP § 2173.05(d)
The phrase "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear what it means for the heating means to be “uniquely” associated with the back wall. Is applicant attempting to claim some novel mounting configuration? Or that it is only associated with the back wall? The specification does not provide a definition for the relative term and accordingly, the claim is indefinite.
Regarding claim 4, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “said housing seat.” Claim 1, on which this claim depends, does not set forth “a housing seat.”
Regarding claim 6, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the shelf element.” Claim 1, on which this claim depends, does not set forth “a shelf element.”
Regarding claim 7, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the shelf element.” Claim 1, on which this claim depends, does not set forth “a shelf element.”
Regarding claim 8, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the shelf element.” Claim 1, on which this claim depends, does not set forth “a shelf element.”
Regarding claim 10, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “said housing compartment.” Claim 1, on which this claim depends, does not set forth “a housing compartment.”
Regarding claim 14, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “said coupling means.” Claim 1, on which this claim depends, does not set forth “coupling means.”
The remaining claims are indefinite insofar as they depend from rejected base claims. In view of the above defects, the claims will be examined best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 - 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turri (EP 2452666) in view of Huang et al. (CN 2234268, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Turri discloses a cabin (1) for wellness treatments including a sauna/steam bath (abstract), including a containment structure (fig. 2) comprising a plurality of walls coupled to each other (fig. 2) and defining at least one treatment space (4) adapted to accommodate at least one user, the walls comprising: at least one access wall (2, 3) for access to the treatment space, at least one back wall (opposite of 2,3), and at least pair of side walls opposite each other (orthogonally connected to front and back wall)(fig. 2) and located between the access wall and back wall; at least one air conditioning system of the treatment space comprising a heating means (5, 6, 7, 8) associated with the back wall while each of the side walls are devoid of the heating means.
Turri is silent as to an electronic management and control unit of the heating means, although there must be some control and power architecture because of the lights. Attention is turned to Huang which teaches a similar steam bath cabin having an electric heater (2) and an electronic management and control unit (3) located on the roof of the enclosure (fig. 2) and controlling the output of steam (via 16). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have provided the heating and controlling device of Huang in the enclosure of Turri so that the temperature and production of the steam can be regulated. Under the proposed modification, the side walls will be devoid of the electronic management and control unit since it is located on the roof.
Regarding claim 2, Turri as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above and further provides that the back wall comprises at least one housing seat adapted to house at least a part (5) of the air conditioning system (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Turri as modified shows that the treatment space comprises at least one shelf element (14) associated with the back wall (fig. 2) and comprising at least one cavity in communication with the housing seat and adapted to house at least a part (6) of the heating means. See annotated figure above.
Regarding claim 5, Turri as modified shows that the heating means comprise at least one steam production (7) and dispensing unit (5, 6).
Regarding claim 7, Turri as modified shows that the shelf element (14) comprises a supporting portion (45) for the user.
Regarding claim 8, Turri as modified shows that the air conditioning system also includes a steam interception (piping 18) and regulation means (dispenser 17 and closing element 15) associated with the back wall (see annotated figure above) and the shelf element (fig.3).
Regarding claim 9, Turri as modified shows that the containment structure includes an upper closing wall/roof (para. [0017]), and under the proposed modification with Huang, also shows that the upper closing wall includes at least one housing compartment (see annotated figure below) adapted to house the electronic management and control unit (3).
Claim(s) 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turri and Huang, as applied to claim 1, in view of Brunelle et al. (CA 2638508 hereinafter Brunelle).
Regarding claim 3, Turri shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further provides that the heating means extends through the back wall of the cabin, and may be an integral part of the cabin, mounted in a suitable zone (para. [0018]), but does not explicitly provide that the heating means is ‘uniquely’ and directly associated with the wall. Attention is turned to Brunelle which teaches a similar enclosure (62) having a wall (64) on which a heating unit (13, 22) is ‘uniquely’ and directly associated (i.e., built in, attached). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have attached or connected the heating means of Turri to the back wall of the enclosure so as to create a spa with minimal footprint.
Regarding claim 10, Turri and Huang show all of the instant invention as discussed above, but do not show an inlet port and a leaf as claimed. Attention is turned to Brunelle which teaches a similar enclosure having a housing compartment (10) which houses various control components of the spa, there being an inlet port (circumscribed by frame 9 in fig. 2), and a leaf (16’) associated with the port and movable between open and closed positions, respectively away from and covering the port, in order to allow and prevent access to the components of the spa. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have provided a movable leaf like that taught by Brunelle in the modified device of Turri in order to protect the control unit from steam or other environmental factors but still allow access for maintenance.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turri and Huang, as applied to claim 1, in view of DE 202011107004 (hereinafter DE ‘004).
Regarding claim 6, Turri as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, but does not show that the shelf element is cantilevered from the back wall. DE ‘004 teaches a similar sauna (1) having a shelf element (5, 5’) which is cantilevered to the wall (see fig 2). It would have been obvious to cantilever the shelf element of Turri in order to minimize legs or other supports which would interfere with the steam and heating elements.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turri and Huang, as applied to claim 1, in view of Lanius (US 7,392,551)
Regarding claim 11, Turri as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, but does not show the particulars of the support and user cover. Attention is turned to Lanius which teaches a support (66) which is attached to the wall (20) and is associated with the back wall of the enclosure (44) and comprises a flexible element (col. 4, ln. 44, note that the rubber coating is flexible and a wire frame has at least some degree of flexibility) and around which the cover sheet (towel illustrated in figure 1, near to leader line 28) is capable of being rolled. It would have been obvious to have provided a supporting means in the spa of Turri as modified so that there is a place for a user to store accessories.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turri and Huang, as applied to claim 1, in view of Sung (US 5,117,481).
Regarding claim 12, Turri as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, but does not show that at least one of the side walls is associated with the back and access walls in a removable manner. Attention is turned to Sung which teaches a similar spa enclosure (fig. 1) wherein the front/access panel (2,3) and the back panel (7,8) are removably attached to the side walls (abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have provided the walls of the sauna of Turri as modified with the ability to be detached so that the spa can be broken down when not in use.
Claim(s) 13 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turri and Huang, as applied to claim 1, in view of Schimmel (US 10,724,259).
Regarding claims 13 – 15, Turri as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, but does not provide a coupling means on the back wall such that at least two cabins are coupled together by interposition of the coupling means. Attention is turned to Schimmel which teaches a similar, portable cabin having a rear wall (23), and a plurality of openings (21a) associated with each of the four corners of the roof (21)(and thus associated with each of the four walls of the enclosure). Schimmel further teaches a coupling means (150) interposed between two adjacent cabins (101) such that two cabins and thus, the back walls thereof, are coupled together. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have provided openings and connectors in the device of Turri as modified so that additional units can be coupled together for concerts or festivals or other similar events. While Schimmel shows that the connector is associated with access wall of sauna and not the back wall, since Schimmel also shows identical openings at four corners of the enclosure, it is a design choice well within the purview of the ordinary artisan to attach the multiple units together at the front wall, back wall, or both. Furthermore, the proposed modification is a rearrangement of parts. There is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed location of the coupler presents a novel or unexpected result, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem (MPEP 2144.05(III)). It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 14, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/693452 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The limitations of claim 1 are anticipated by the limitations of claim 1 in the ‘452 application, including the containment structure having a plurality of walls, including an access wall, a back wall, and opposed side walls, and an air conditioning system including a heater and a EMCU which is associated with the backwall and the side walls being devoid of the air conditioning system.
The limitations of claim 2 are contained in the limitations of claim 14 of the ‘452 application such that the reference application claim anticipates the instant claim.
The limitations of claim 3 are contained in the limitations of claim 15 of the ‘452 application such that the reference application claim anticipates the instant claim.
The limitations of claim 5 are contained in the limitations of claim 13 of the ‘452 application such that the reference application claim anticipates the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arnold (US 2005/0076430) and Perovic (US 9,801,783) show saunas relating to the state of the art.
/ERIN DEERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754