DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Poppinga reference (DE 10 2019 124817 A1).
4. Regarding claim 1, the Poppinga reference discloses:
a lateral interference prevention module for a vehicle [Paragraph 0012], comprising:
a memory:
a processor; and
a communication interface which is configured to be communicatively connected to a first vehicle system [Paragraph 0019—camera would have a memory, a processor, and connected to a lane departure system], wherein the lateral interference prevention module is configured to:
obtain lateral interference-related information from the memory [Paragraph 0010—matching based on distance; each of the stored positions is assigned a crosswind], wherein the
lateral interference-related information comprises direction information and parameter information of a lateral interference [Paragraph 0010—wind strength or wind direction]; obtain vehicle-related information from the first vehicle system [Paragraphs 0019-0020—each data set contains the dimensions, type; its current speed], wherein the vehicle- related information comprises at least a vehicle speed and a vehicle weight [Paragraphs 0019-0020];
using the processor, determine a pre-deviation direction based on the direction information of the lateral interference [Paragraph 0011—time before future position], and obtain a pre-deviation quantity by means of querying a comparison table or calculation based on the parameter information of the lateral interference and the vehicle-related information [Paragraph 0011—cross wind stored in the database], wherein the comparison table reflects a correspondence between the parameter information of the lateral interference or a lateral acting force calculated from the parameter information, the vehicle speed of the vehicle, and the pre-deviation quantity (implicit from [Paragraph 0020-0050]), and the calculation refers to calculating the pre-deviation quantity based on the lateral acting force calculated from the parameter information ([Paragraph 0020 & 0050]); and
plan a pre-deviation path based on the obtained pre-deviation quantity and the pre-deviation direction ([Paragraph 0011-0012]), wherein planning the pre-deviation path comprises determining a starting distance from a position of the lateral interference and a deviation trajectory within the starting distance ([Paragraph 0010 & 0050]).
5. Regarding claim 2, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
wherein the communication interface is further configured to communicate with a second vehicle system to obtain a traveling trajectory of the vehicle therefrom; and the lateral interference is a lateral interference on the traveling trajectory of the vehicle [Paragraphs [0019] & [Paragraph 0041].
6. Regarding claim 3, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
wherein the first vehicle system is an engine management system or an electronic stability program system; and the second vehicle system is a navigation system or a camera system [Paragraphs [0019] & [Paragraph 0041].
7. Regarding claim 4, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
wherein the lateral interference comprises a permanent lateral interference and a temporary lateral interference [Paragraph 0010] & [Paragraph 0016].
8. Regarding claim 5, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
wherein the communication interface is further configured to communicate with a cloud to obtain information about a sudden temporary lateral interference and a real-time change in the lateral interference-related information [Paragraphs 0009-0010].
9. Regarding claim 6, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
wherein the lateral interference is a permanent or temporary crosswind, the direction information is a wind direction, and the parameter information is a wind intensity of the crosswind, or the lateral interference is a sloping bend, the direction information is an inclination direction of a slope, and the parameter information is an inclination angle of the slope [Paragraph 0010] & [Paragraph 0016].
10. Regarding claim 8, the Poppinga reference discloses:
a lateral interference prevention method performed by using a lateral interference prevention module for a vehicle according to claim 1, comprising:
obtaining lateral interference-related information [Paragraph 0010—matching based on distance; each of the stored positions is assigned a crosswind], wherein the lateral interference-
related information comprises direction information and parameter information of a lateral interference [Paragraph 0010—wind strength or wind direction];
obtaining vehicle-related information [Paragraphs 0019-0020—each data set contains the dimensions, type; its current speed], wherein the vehicle-related information comprises at least a vehicle speed and a vehicle weight [Paragraphs 0019-0020];
determining a pre-deviation direction based on the direction information of the lateral interference [Paragraph 0011—time before future position]; and
obtaining a pre-deviation quantity by querying a comparison table or calculation based on the parameter information of the lateral interference and the vehicle- related information [Paragraph 0011—cross wind stored in the database], wherein the comparison table reflects a correspondence between the parameter information of the lateral interference or a lateral acting force calculated from the parameter information, the vehicle speed of the vehicle, and the pre-deviation quantity (implicit from [Paragraph 0020-0050]), and the calculation refers to calculating the pre-deviation quantity based on the lateral acting force calculated from the parameter information ([Paragraph 0020 & 0050]); and
planning a pre-deviation path based on the obtained pre-deviation quantity and the pre-deviation direction ([Paragraph 0011-0012]), wherein planning the pre-deviation path comprises determining a starting distance from a position of the lateral interference and a deviation trajectory within the starting distance ([Paragraph 0010 & 0050]).
11. Regarding claim 9, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
sending the calculated pre-deviation path to a control system of the vehicle to control the traveling of the vehicle [Paragraph 0011-0012] & [Paragraph 0050].
12. Regarding claim 11, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
wherein the step of obtaining lateral interference-related information and the step of obtaining vehicle-related information are performed simultaneously [Paragraph 0020].
13. Regarding claim 14, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
a computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed, cause a processor or a computer to perform a lateral interference prevention method according to claim 8 (anticipated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 7, 10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Poppinga reference.
16. Regarding claim 7, the Poppinga reference further discloses:
wherein the comparison table stores a minimum pre-deviation quantity (implicit), a minimum pre-deviation quantity recommended value (implicit), a maximum pre-deviation quantity (implicit), and a maximum pre-deviation quantity recommended value (implicit).
The Poppinga reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Poppinga reference fails to disclose the pre-deviation quantity obtained by the processor is the minimum pre-deviation quantity recommended value. This would be obvious to try. The pre-deviation quantity obtained by the processor would either be the minimum, the maximum, or
some value between the two and there is a reasonable expectation of success that the processor could be configured to deliver any value necessary.
17. Regarding claim 10, the Poppinga reference fails to disclose:
a step of displaying the calculated pre-deviation path.
This is an example of a using a known technique (displaying information to a passenger of a vehicle) to improve similar devices (a vehicle) in the same way (here, the display will also be used to display information about the calculated pre-deviation path).
18. Regarding claim 12, the Poppinga reference fails to disclose:
wherein the step of obtaining vehicle-related information further comprises:
determining that a vehicle speed of the vehicle when traveling by the starting distance exceeds a vehicle speed limit value set for the lateral interference; and
based upon the determination that the vehicle speed exceeds the vehicle speed limit value, reducing the vehicle speed to the vehicle speed limit value in the comparison table.
This is an example of using a known technique (speed control in vehicles) to improve similar devices (vehicles) in the same way (by setting an upper limit of speed and controlling speed to the same).
19. Regarding claim 13, the Poppinga reference fails to disclose:
determining that a current position of the vehicle is beyond the starting distance, and taking a minimum pre-deviation quantity recommended value for the pre-deviation quantity based upon the determination that the current position of the vehicle is beyond the starting distance; or taking a maximum pre-deviation quantity for the pre-deviation quantity when the current position of the vehicle is within the starting distance.
This would be obvious to try. The current position of the vehicle would either be before, at, or beyond the starting distance. From these three identifiable, predictable, solutions there are two further steps taking a minimum pre-deviation quantity recommendation value if beyond the starting distance or taking a maximum is the vehicle is within the starting distance. Any of these would have a reasonable expectation of success as they would lead to different amounts of vehicle control.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 13, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As the Applicant argues, pre-deviation path is the path taken prior to encountering the lateral force. In the Poppinga reference, to further elucidate the rejection, in paragraph [0015] the Poppinga reference explains that one of the stored arrangements is when in the first part of the path there is 0 wind force inside the tunnel and then when the tunnel is exited there is a wind force. So there is a pre-deviation path taken before encountering the lateral force in Poppinga. Similarly, there is a pre-deviation quantity (speed of path in tunnel) and pre-deviation direction (direction of path in tunnel) wherein planning the pre-deviation path comprises a determining a starting distance from a position of the lateral interference and a deviation trajectory withing the starting distance (such a process would naturally occur for planning a path through and exiting a tunnel). Accordingly, all claims stand finally rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747