DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/19/2024 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2024 and 09/09/2025 have been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving” in claim 30.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure described in the specification includes an antenna 252, modem 254, processors 258, 280, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0047].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-12, 16-18, 21-22, 25-26, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Varatharaajan et al. (EP 3697014) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Varatharaajan”.
As to claim 1, Varatharaajan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], a user equipment), comprising:
a memory (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], the user equipment comprises a memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], the user equipment comprises a processor that executes the instruction contained in the memory to perform the functions of the user equipment), configured to:
receive, from a base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), configuration information associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’… The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), wherein the first SRS resource set includes a first quantity of SRS resources and the second SRS resource set includes a second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources); and
receive, from the base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling (Varatharaajan, [0028], “the PUSCH-scheduling DCI”) a spatial division multiplexing physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communication associated with a first one or more layers and a second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”), wherein the DCI indicates a first one or more SRS resources associated with the first one or more layers and a second one or more SRS resources associated with the second one or more layers from at least one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’) based at least in part on at least one of: a dynamic switching indicator included in the DCI, a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) included in the DCI, a second SRI included in the DCI (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’…The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), the first quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), the second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), or a maximum rank associated with the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”).
As to claim 2, Varatharaajan wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication using the first one or more SRS resources for the first one or more layers and the second one or more SRS resources for the second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0025], “the first SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’100’ is associated with the first panel/Tx-Rx RF chain, and the second SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’ is associated with the second panel/Tx-Rx RF chain”, [0026], “two SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets…can be transmitted simultaneously by the UE using multiple panels/Tx-Rx RF chains”, [0028], “the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”).
As to claim 3, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication, are configured to:
transmit the first one or more layers using a first beam or a first set of transmission parameters associated with the first one or more SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0007], “The individual SRS resources in the SRS resource set may be configured with SpatialRelationlnfo which as sociates an SRS resource with a CSI-RS resource”, [0008], “This indicates that the spatial filter used to transmit the SRS resource shall be the same as the spatial filter used to receive the specific CSI-RS resource”, [0011], the gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission. [0032], the first SRS resource set with ID ‘100 is indicated for transmission); and
transmit the second one or more layers using a second beam or a second set of transmission parameters associated with the second one or more SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0007], “The individual SRS resources in the SRS resource set may be configured with SpatialRelationlnfo which as sociates an SRS resource with a CSI-RS resource”, [0008], “This indicates that the spatial filter used to transmit the SRS resource shall be the same as the spatial filter used to receive the specific CSI-RS resource”, [0011], the gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission. [0032], the second SRS resource set with ID ‘101 is indicated for transmission).
As to claim 4, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication is a non-codebook based PUSCH communication (Varatharaajan, [0028], “the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”).
As to claim 7, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the DCI indicates SRS resources from both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’); and wherein the DCI indicates up to a first maximum quantity of SRS resources from a first subset of SRS resources, of the first SRS resource set, and up to a second maximum quantity of SRS resources from a second subset of SRS resources of the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets).
As to claim 8, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the first SRI indicates the first one or more SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’), from a first subset of SRS resources of the first SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0009], the UE notifies the parameter “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)” to the gNB), associated with the first one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”), and
wherein the second SRI indicates the second one or more SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), from a second subset of SRS resources of the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0009], the UE notifies the parameter “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)” to the gNB), associated with the second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”).
As to claim 11, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the DCI indicates SRS resources from both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’); and wherein the DCI indicates up to a first maximum quantity of SRS resources from the first SRS resource set and up to a second maximum quantity of SRS resources from the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets).
As to claim 12, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the first SRI indicates the first one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’), associated with the first one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0007], “The individual SRS resources in the SRS resource set may be configured with SpatialRelationlnfo which as sociates an SRS resource with a CSI-RS resource”, [0008], “This indicates that the spatial filter used to transmit the SRS resource shall be the same as the spatial filter used to receive the specific CSI-RS resource”, [0011], the gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission. [0032], the first SRS resource set with ID ‘100 is indicated for transmission), and
wherein the second SRI indicates the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), associated with the second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0007], “The individual SRS resources in the SRS resource set may be configured with SpatialRelationlnfo which as sociates an SRS resource with a CSI-RS resource”, [0008], “This indicates that the spatial filter used to transmit the SRS resource shall be the same as the spatial filter used to receive the specific CSI-RS resource”, [0011], the gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission. [0032], the second SRS resource set with ID ‘101 is indicated for transmission).
As to claim 16, Varatharaajan teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], a method performed by a user equipment), comprising:
receiving, from a base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), configuration information associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’… The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), wherein the first SRS resource set includes a first quantity of SRS resources and the second SRS resource set includes a second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources); and
receiving, from the base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling (Varatharaajan, [0028], “the PUSCH-scheduling DCI”) a spatial division multiplexing physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communication associated with a first one or more layers and a second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”), wherein the DCI indicates a first one or more SRS resources associated with the first one or more layers and a second one or more SRS resources associated with the second one or more layers from at least one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’) based at least in part on at least one of: a dynamic switching indicator included in the DCI, a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) included in the DCI, a second SRI included in the DCI (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’…The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), the first quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), the second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), or a maximum rank associated with the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”).
As to claim 17, Varatharaajan teaches further comprising:
transmitting the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication using the first one or more SRS resources for the first one or more layers and the second one or more SRS resources for the second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0025], “the first SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’100’ is associated with the first panel/Tx-Rx RF chain, and the second SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’ is associated with the second panel/Tx-Rx RF chain”, [0026], “two SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets…can be transmitted simultaneously by the UE using multiple panels/Tx-Rx RF chains”, [0028], “the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”).
As to claim 18, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication is a non-codebook based PUSCH communication (Varatharaajan, [0028], “the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”).
As to claim 21, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the DCI indicates SRS resources from both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’); and wherein the DCI indicates up to a first maximum quantity of SRS resources from a first subset of SRS resources, of the first SRS resource set, and up to a second maximum quantity of SRS resources from a second subset of SRS resources of the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets).
As to claim 22, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the first SRI indicates the first one or more SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’), from a first subset of SRS resources of the first SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0009], the UE notifies the parameter “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)” to the gNB), associated with the first one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”), and
wherein the second SRI indicates the second one or more SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), from a second subset of SRS resources of the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0009], the UE notifies the parameter “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)” to the gNB), associated with the second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”).
As to claim 25, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the DCI indicates SRS resources from both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’); and wherein the DCI indicates up to a first maximum quantity of SRS resources from the first SRS resource set and up to a second maximum quantity of SRS resources from the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets).
As to claim 26, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the first SRI indicates the first one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’), associated with the first one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0007], “The individual SRS resources in the SRS resource set may be configured with SpatialRelationlnfo which as sociates an SRS resource with a CSI-RS resource”, [0008], “This indicates that the spatial filter used to transmit the SRS resource shall be the same as the spatial filter used to receive the specific CSI-RS resource”, [0011], the gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission. [0032], the first SRS resource set with ID ‘100 is indicated for transmission), and
wherein the second SRI indicates the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), associated with the second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0007], “The individual SRS resources in the SRS resource set may be configured with SpatialRelationlnfo which as sociates an SRS resource with a CSI-RS resource”, [0008], “This indicates that the spatial filter used to transmit the SRS resource shall be the same as the spatial filter used to receive the specific CSI-RS resource”, [0011], the gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission. [0032], the second SRS resource set with ID ‘101 is indicated for transmission).
As to claim 29, Varatharaajan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], the user equipment comprises a memory containing instructions executed by a processor to perform the functions of the user equipment), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to:
receive, from a base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), configuration information associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’… The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), wherein the first SRS resource set includes a first quantity of SRS resources and the second SRS resource set includes a second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources); and
receive, from the base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling (Varatharaajan, [0028], “the PUSCH-scheduling DCI”) a spatial division multiplexing physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communication associated with a first one or more layers and a second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”), wherein the DCI indicates a first one or more SRS resources associated with the first one or more layers and a second one or more SRS resources associated with the second one or more layers from at least one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’) based at least in part on at least one of: a dynamic switching indicator included in the DCI, a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) included in the DCI, a second SRI included in the DCI (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’…The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), the first quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), the second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), or a maximum rank associated with the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”).
As to claim 30, Varatharaajan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], a user equipment), comprising:
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an antenna 252, modem 254, processors 258, 280, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0047]) (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], the user equipment comprises a processor that executes the instruction contained in the memory to perform the functions of the user equipment) receiving, from a base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), configuration information associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets… The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’… The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), wherein the first SRS resource set includes a first quantity of SRS resources and the second SRS resource set includes a second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources); and
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an antenna 252, modem 254, processors 258, 280, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Fig. 2 and [0047]) (Varatharaajan, [0017], [0066], the user equipment comprises a processor that executes the instruction contained in the memory to perform the functions of the user equipment) receiving, from the base station (Varatharaajan, [0004], “the user equipment (UE) is configured by the radio base station or the gNB with a number of SRS resource sets by higher layer (RRC) for uplink (UL) channel sounding”, [0010], “The gNB indicates the SRS resource that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH”), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling (Varatharaajan, [0028], “the PUSCH-scheduling DCI”) a spatial division multiplexing physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communication associated with a first one or more layers and a second one or more layers (Varatharaajan, [0028], “each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration with the higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ is configured with only one SRS port. Each SRS port in this case has a one-to-one mapping with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port over which each data layer is transmitted. Hence, the number of SRS resources indicated in the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL transmission automatically determines the maximum number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”), wherein the DCI indicates a first one or more SRS resources associated with the first one or more layers and a second one or more SRS resources associated with the second one or more layers from at least one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0028], the PUSCH-scheduling DCI for non-codebook-based UL indicates for each SRS resource in the SRS resource set configuration the number of MIMO layers to be transmitted by the UE in the PUSCH. [0026], [0032], SRS resources from two different SRS resource sets, both the SRS resource sets configured with higher-layer parameter usage set to ’nonCodebook’ or ’Codebook’) based at least in part on at least one of: a dynamic switching indicator included in the DCI, a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) included in the DCI, a second SRI included in the DCI (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’…The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”), the first quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), the second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), or a maximum rank associated with the spatial division multiplexing PUSCH communication (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 13-14, 19, 23 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varatharaajan et al. (EP 3697014) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Varatharaajan” in view of Harrison et al. (US 2019/0103949), hereinafter “Harrison”.
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank, or
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank.
As to claim 5, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank (Harrison, [0189], 6 bits are required to indicate the chosen SRI state to the UE, where, for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)). Lmax is used in the calculation, which is maximum transmission rank the UE is capable of), or
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank,
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank, or
a third quantity of bits that is based at least in part on a combination of a fourth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and a portion of the maximum rank and a fifth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the portion of the maximum rank.
As to claim 9, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank (Harrison, [0189], 6 bits are required to indicate the chosen SRI state to the UE, where, for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)). Lmax is used in the calculation, which is maximum transmission rank the UE is capable of),
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank, or
a third quantity of bits that is based at least in part on a combination of a fourth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and a portion of the maximum rank and a fifth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the portion of the maximum rank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the first SRS resource set is associated with a first maximum rank and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second maximum rank.
As to claim 13, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRS resource set is associated with a first maximum rank and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second maximum rank (Harrison, [0189], 6 bits are required to indicate the chosen SRI state to the UE, where, for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)). Lmax is used in the calculation, which is maximum transmission rank the UE is capable of. [0024]-[0025], different resource sets are configured with corresponding set of SRS resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
As to claim 14, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the first SRI indicates (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’) up to a first maximum quantity of SRS resources from the first SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets), wherein the first maximum quantity is based at least in part on the first maximum rank (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”) and the first quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), and wherein the second SRI (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”) indicates up to a second maximum quantity of SRS resources from the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets), wherein the second maximum quantity is based at least in part on the second maximum rank (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”) and the second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources).
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank, or
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank.
As to claim 19, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank (Harrison, [0189], 6 bits are required to indicate the chosen SRI state to the UE, where, for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)). Lmax is used in the calculation, which is maximum transmission rank the UE is capable of), or
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 23, wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank,
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank, or
a third quantity of bits that is based at least in part on a combination of a fourth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and a portion of the maximum rank and a fifth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the portion of the maximum rank.
As to claim 23, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRI and the second SRI are associated with an aggregated size that is based at least in part on:
a first quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank (Harrison, [0189], 6 bits are required to indicate the chosen SRI state to the UE, where, for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)). Lmax is used in the calculation, which is maximum transmission rank the UE is capable of),
a second quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the maximum rank, or
a third quantity of bits that is based at least in part on a combination of a fourth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the first quantity of SRS resources and a portion of the maximum rank and a fifth quantity of bits that is based at least in part on the second quantity of SRS resources and the portion of the maximum rank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 27, wherein the first SRS resource set is associated with a first maximum rank and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second maximum rank.
As to claim 27, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRS resource set is associated with a first maximum rank and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second maximum rank (Harrison, [0189], 6 bits are required to indicate the chosen SRI state to the UE, where, for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)). Lmax is used in the calculation, which is maximum transmission rank the UE is capable of. [0024]-[0025], different resource sets are configured with corresponding set of SRS resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
As to claim 28, Varatharaajan teaches wherein the first SRI indicates (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The first SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set with SRS resource set ID ’100’ configured with higher layer parameter usage set to ’codebook’ or ’nonCodebook’) up to a first maximum quantity of SRS resources from the first SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets), wherein the first maximum quantity is based at least in part on the first maximum rank (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”) and the first quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources), and wherein the second SRI (Varatharaajan, [0032], “each SRS resource indicated in the SRI field of the PUSCH scheduling-DCI for codebook or non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission is chosen from different SRS resource sets...The second SRS resource indicated in the SRI belongs to the SRS resource set having SRS resource set ID ’101’”) indicates up to a second maximum quantity of SRS resources from the second SRS resource set (Varatharaajan, [0005], a maximum number of SRS resources are configured for the resource set. [0009], “maxNumberSRS-ResourcePerSet (maximum number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set for codebook/non-codebook based UL transmission)”, [0026], SRS resources from different SRS resource sets), wherein the second maximum quantity is based at least in part on the second maximum rank (Varatharaajan, [0011], “The gNB indicates the r SRS resources that the UE has to use for UL transmission in the SRI present in DCI used for scheduling PUSCH. The value r also corresponds to the rank of the transmission”) and the second quantity of SRS resources (Varatharaajan, [0050], Fig. 2, each of the resource sets has a number of SRS resources).
Claims 6, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varatharaajan et al. (EP 3697014) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Varatharaajan” in view of Jiang et al. (US 2021/0367655), hereinafter “Jiang”.
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the first SRI and the second SRI jointly indicate:
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set, based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value, or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set, based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value.
As to claim 6, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRI and the second SRI jointly indicate (Harrison, [0189], “jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)”):
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Harrison, [0189], “for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)” via bits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
Varatharaajan and Harrison teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan and Harrison do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 6, the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources from the first SRS resource set based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value, or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources from the second SRS resource set based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value.
However, Jiang teaches the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, the SRI in the DCI includes a 2-bit SRI, the multiple SRS resources. [0047], the SRS resources are in a resource set), based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, [0102], the dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission is indicated by the base station via the SRI in the DCI, where the SRI is a 2-bit, with values corresponding to 0, 1, 2, or 3), or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, the multiple SRS resources. [0047], the SRS resources are in a resource set), based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, [0102], the dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission is indicated by the base station via the SRI in the DCI, where the SRI is a 2-bit, with values corresponding to 0, 1, 2, or 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan and Harrison to have the features, as taught by Jiang, in order to provide a scheme that flexibly supports dynamic indication between single-panel transmission and multi-panel transmission (Jiang, [0005]).
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, wherein the first SRI and the second SRI jointly indicate:
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set, based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value, or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set, based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value.
As to claim 15, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRI and the second SRI jointly indicate (Harrison, [0189], “jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)”):
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Harrison, [0189], “for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)” via bits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
Varatharaajan and Harrison teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan and Harrison do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 15, the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources from the first SRS resource set based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value, or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources from the second SRS resource set based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value.
However, Jiang teaches the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, the SRI in the DCI includes a 2-bit SRI, the multiple SRS resources. [0047], the SRS resources are in a resource set), based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, [0102], the dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission is indicated by the base station via the SRI in the DCI, where the SRI is a 2-bit, with values corresponding to 0, 1, 2, or 3), or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, the multiple SRS resources. [0047], the SRS resources are in a resource set), based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, [0102], the dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission is indicated by the base station via the SRI in the DCI, where the SRI is a 2-bit, with values corresponding to 0, 1, 2, or 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan and Harrison to have the features, as taught by Jiang, in order to provide a scheme that flexibly supports dynamic indication between single-panel transmission and multi-panel transmission (Jiang, [0005]).
Varatharaajan teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 20, wherein the first SRI and the second SRI jointly indicate:
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set, based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value, or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set, based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value.
As to claim 20, Harrison teaches wherein the first SRI and the second SRI jointly indicate (Harrison, [0189], “jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)”):
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Harrison, [0189], “for each rank, jointly indicate which SRS resources shall be used, and then jointly encode TM and the multiple SRI(s)” via bits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan to have the features, as taught by Harrison, in order to reduce downlink control signal overhead for reference signal resource indicator signaling for multi-panel UEs performing UL beam management, and/or when using non-codebook based UL MIMO transmission (Harrison, [0040]).
Varatharaajan and Harrison teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Varatharaajan and Harrison do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 20, the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources from the first SRS resource set based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value, or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources from the second SRS resource set based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value.
However, Jiang teaches the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the first SRS resource set (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, the SRI in the DCI includes a 2-bit SRI, the multiple SRS resources. [0047], the SRS resources are in a resource set), based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a first value (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, [0102], the dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission is indicated by the base station via the SRI in the DCI, where the SRI is a 2-bit, with values corresponding to 0, 1, 2, or 3), or
the first one or more SRS resources and the second one or more SRS resources, from the second SRS resource set (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, the multiple SRS resources. [0047], the SRS resources are in a resource set), based at least in part on the dynamic switching indicator being associated with a second value (Jiang, [0101], Table 1-2.1, [0102], the dynamic switch between multi-panel transmission and single-panel transmission is indicated by the base station via the SRI in the DCI, where the SRI is a 2-bit, with values corresponding to 0, 1, 2, or 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Varatharaajan and Harrison to have the features, as taught by Jiang, in order to provide a scheme that flexibly supports dynamic indication between single-panel transmission and multi-panel transmission (Jiang, [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sun et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0303973 – SRS antenna switching enhancement.
Rupansinghe et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0361975 – Method of sharing SRS resources between SRS resource sets of different usages, and corresponding UE.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473