DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claim 1, Applicant argued Shanmugaraju fails to disclose the claimed limitation: “performing at least one calibration procedure (i) based on the first measurement to provide a first calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array and (ii) based on the second measurement to provide a second calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array”, in particular, Applicant stated present claim "performing at least one calibration procedure" based on two sets of transmitted calibrated phase values.
The Examiner respectfully submits that claim 1 merely mentioned “calibration procedure”, as in contrast to claim 8 having detail of calibration, the term “calibration” is broad and may include calibrating (adjusting) current communication beams for the user devices, further present specification [0008]: “The method further comprises performing at least one calibration procedure based on the first measurement and the second measurement to provide a first calibrated set of phase values for transmission to the first served wireless communication device and a second calibrated set of phase values for transmission to the second wireless communication device”, hence the (i) citation and the (ii) citation are two separate events for the first user device and the second user device respectively. Shanmugaraju discloses calibrating (adjusting) current communication beams for the user devices, based on that the gNB 100 receives, from each of a plurality of UEs 112, a respective signal strength measurement for each of the plurality of different beam patterns 124, i.e. a RSSI/SINR for a received signal transmitted using each of the beam patterns 124 (at least two measurements from each user device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shanmugaraju (US 20220052737 A1).
For claim 1. Shanmugaraju discloses (Abstract, figure 1) A method performed by a base station comprising an antenna array having a N number of antenna branches for optimizing signal transmission powers to a plurality of wireless communication devices (UEs 112), the method comprising: identifying at least a first served wireless communication device and a second served wireless communication device among the plurality of wireless communication devices ([0095], [0097], [0098]); transmitting a first signal to the first served wireless communication device via the antenna array with a first initial set of phase values applied to the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0038], [0039], [0099]-[0104]); transmitting a second signal to the second served wireless communication device via the antenna array with a second initial set of phase values applied to the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0038], [0039], [0099]-[0104]); receiving a first measurement of the first signal from the first served wireless communication device ([0099]-[0104]); receiving a second measurement of the second signal from the second served wireless communication device ([0099]-[0104]); and performing at least one calibration procedure (i) based on the first measurement to provide a first calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array and (ii) based on the second measurement to provide a second calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0105]-[0107]).
For claim 2. The method of claim 1, Shanmugaraju discloses further comprising: transmitting a third signal to the first served wireless communication device via the antenna array with the first calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array; and transmitting a fourth signal to the second served wireless communication device via the antenna array with the second calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0108]).
For claim 3. The method of claim 1, Shanmugaraju discloses wherein the first measurement is comprised in a Channel Quality Indicator, CQI, received from the first served wireless communication device ([0099]-[0104]).
For claim 4. The method of claim 1, Shanmugaraju discloses wherein any of the first measurement and the second measurement comprises a Signal to Interference-plus-Noise Ratio, SINR ([0099]-[0104]).
For claim 5. The method of claim 1, Shanmugaraju discloses wherein each of the first initial set of phase values or the second initial set of phase values is applied to a respective set of one or more antenna branches ([0038], [0039]).
For claim 6. The method of claim 5, Shanmugaraju discloses wherein each respective set of one or more antenna branches is a single antenna branch ([0038], [0039]).
For claim 20. Shanmugaraju discloses A base station (Abstract, figure 1) comprising an antenna array having a N number of antenna branches for optimizing signal transmission powers to a plurality of wireless communication devices, the base station being configured to: identify at least a first served wireless communication device and a second served wireless communication device among the plurality of wireless communication devices ([0095], [0097], [0098]); transmit a first signal to the first served wireless communication device via the antenna array with a first initial set of phase values applied to the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0038], [0039], [0099]-[0104]); transmit a second signal to the second served wireless communication device via the antenna array with a second initial set of phase values applied to the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0038], [0039], [0099]-[0104]); receive a first measurement of the first signal from the first served wireless communication device ([0099]-[0104]); receive a second measurement of the second signal from the second served wireless communication device ([0099]-[0104]); and perform at least one calibration procedure (i) based on the first measurement to provide a first calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array and (ii) based on the second measurement to provide a second calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0105]-[0107]).
For claim 21. The base station of claim 20, Shanmugaraju discloses wherein the base station is further configured to: transmit a third signal to the first served wireless communication device via the antenna array with the first calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array; and transmit a fourth signal to the second served wireless communication device via the antenna array with the second calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0108]).
For claim 22. Shanmugaraju discloses A base station (Abstract, figure 1) comprising an antenna array having a N number of antenna branches for optimizing signal transmission powers to a plurality of wireless communication devices and processing circuitry configured to cause the base station to: identify at least a first served wireless communication device and a second served wireless communication device among the plurality of wireless communication devices ([0095], [0097], [0098]); transmit a first signal to the first served wireless communication device via the antenna array with a first initial set of phase values applied to the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0038], [0039], [0099]-[0104]); transmit a second signal to the second served wireless communication device via the antenna array with a second initial set of phase values applied to the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0038], [0039], [0099]-[0104]); receive a first measurement of the first signal from the first served wireless communication device ([0099]-[0104]); receive a second measurement of the second signal from the second served wireless communication device ([0099]-[0104]); and perform at least one calibration procedure (i) based on the first measurement to provide a first calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array and (ii) based on the second measurement to provide a second calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0105]-[0107]).
For claim 23. The base station of claim 22, Shanmugaraju discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit a third signal to the first served wireless communication device via the antenna array with the first calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array; and transmit a fourth signal to the second served wireless communication device via the antenna array with the second calibrated set of phase values for the antenna branches in the antenna array ([0108]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanmugaraju (US 20220052737 A1) in view of Rexberg (US 20140016682 A1).
For claim 7. The method of claim 5, Shanmugaraju fails to mention wherein each respective set of one or more antenna branches comprises two or more antenna branches.
This teaching is disclosed by Rexberg (figure 3B, [0036], [0041]: each antenna element may in itself comprise one antenna or a plurality of statically configured (but reconfigurable) antennas, [0054], [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Rexberg into the art of Shanmugaraju as to improve antenna gain or as an alternative embodiment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the claims 8-19.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
November 9, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643