DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 2018/0135351) in view of Hall et al. (US 2018/0016840), hereinafter referred to as Hall.
Regarding claim 1, Walker discloses a motorized covering for a window (Fig 6), the covering comprising:
a plurality of slats (13) in an extended position and selectively positionable to tilt;
a flexible material layer (14) connected to the plurality of slats, the flexible material layer extending generally parallel to the window when the plurality of slats is in the extended position (Fig 6, shown below);
a plurality of temporary air cells being formed between the plurality of slats, the flexible material layer, and the window when the plurality of slats is in the extended position (air is between the slats and the flexible material layer forming a cell);
a motor system (24) operatively connected to the flexible material layer (14) to selectively lower and raise the flexible material layer into the extended position and the retracted position (paragraph [0034]),
the motor system being configured to lower and raise the flexible material layer in response to at least one control signal, the at least one control signal (paragraphs [0034]).
Walker fails to disclose a motor system operatively connected to the plurality of slats to selectively lower and raise the plurality of slats into the extended position and a retracted position, and the motor system being configured to lower and raise the plurality of slats and the flexible material layer in response to the at least one control signal being based on a determination to change an insulation factor for the window. Hall teaches that it is known for a motor system to be connected to a plurality of slats to selectively lower and raise the plurality of slats into an extended position and a retracted position (paragraphs [0024] and [0031], copied below).
Hall further teaches the motor system is configured to respond to at least one control signal being based on a determination to change an insulation factor for the window (thermal convention zone; paragraph [0025], copied below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the plurality of slats with connection to the motor system in order to selective lower and raise the plurality of slats since it is a known technique for controlling slats of a window covering and allowing selective positioning and the use of a motor system in connection with slats is a known technique, as taught by Hall. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have the control signal of Walker control the motor system based on a determination to change an insulation factor for the window, as it is a known technique taught by Hall in order to provide automatic energy management. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known techniques were recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
As modified, the motor system of Walker is operatively connected to the plurality of slats to selectively lower and raise the plurality of slats into the extended position and a retracted position, and the control signal of Walker modified so that the motor system being configured to lower and raise the plurality of slats and the flexible material layer in response to the at least one control signal, the at least one control signal being based on a determination to change an insulation factor for the window, as taught by Hall.
Regarding claim 2, Walker as modified with Hall teaches the motor system is further configured to rotate the plurality of slats in response to the at least one control signal (paragraph [0024] of Hall, copied above).
Regarding claim 3, Walker discloses at least one of the plurality of slats includes a light scattering surface (light reflects off the surface) and as modified with Hall the motor system is further configured to selectively tilt the plurality of slats to scatter incident sunlight thereon in a predetermined direction (paragraph [0025] of Hall, copied above).
Regarding claim 4, Walker as modified with Hall, Hall teaches wherein the motor system is configured to selectively tilt the plurality of slats in order to maximize daylight passing through the covering (paragraph [0002] of Hall).
Regarding claim 8, Walker as modified with Hall, Hall teaches wherein the at least one control signal is produced at least in part by an energy management system (optimization of light and temperature by the control system).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker and Hall, as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Kolas et al. (US 2012/0011782), hereinafter referred to as Kolas.
Regarding claim 5, Walker and Hall fail to disclose at least one of the plurality of slats includes at least one photovoltaic element; and the motor system is configured to arrange the plurality of slats to maximize the electricity generation by the at least one photovoltaic element in response to an energy harvesting control signal. However, Kolas teaches that it is known to provide at least one of the plurality of slats with at least one photovoltaic element (solar cell); and the motor system is configured to arrange the plurality of slats to maximize the electricity generation by the at least one photovoltaic element in response to an energy harvesting control signal (paragraph [0089] describes an electrical control system and metering devices which would include signal communications and paragraph [0026] describes adjustment with respect to energy production). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to incorporate photovoltaic elements into the covering of modified Walker in order to provide a self-contained powered window covering. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Walker fails to disclose a plurality of optical facets disposed over the at least one photovoltaic element; and wherein scattering of light incident thereon varies by angle of incidence. However, Kolas teaches the technique of optical facets (Figs 11 and 12) for scattering light which improves the distribution of redirected sunlight (paragraphs [0085] and [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the covering of Walker as modified above, with a plurality of optical facets disposed over the at least one photovoltaic element; and wherein scattering of light incident thereon varies by angle of incidence in order to optimize sunlight and energy production, as taught by Kolas. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Walker as modified with Kolas teaches the plurality of optical facets are configured to direct at least a portion of light incident thereon at a first angle of incidence toward the at least one photovoltaic element when the covering is in use; the plurality of optical facets are configured to direct at least a portion of light incident thereon at a second angle of incidence reflect light incident thereon toward the flexible material layer when the covering is in use; and the plurality of optical facets are configured to direct at least a portion of light incident thereon at a third angle of incidence reflect light incident thereon away from the flexible material layer and the at least one photovoltaic element when the covering is in use (paragraphs [0085], [0086], [0087] of Kolas).
Claims 9-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker, Hall, and Kapany (US 8,230,649).
Regarding claim 9, Walker discloses a motorized covering for a window (Fig 6), the covering comprising:
a plurality of slats (13) in an extended position and selectively positionable to tilt;
a flexible material layer (14) connected to the plurality of slats, the flexible material layer extending generally parallel to the window when the plurality of slats is in the extended position (Fig 6, shown below);
a plurality of temporary air cells being formed between the plurality of slats, the flexible material layer, and the window when the plurality of slats is in the extended position (air is between the slats and the flexible material layer forming a cell);
a motor system (24) operatively connected to the flexible material layer (14) to selectively lower and raise the flexible material layer into the extended position and the retracted position (paragraph [0034]),
the motor system being configured to lower and raise the flexible material layer in response to at least one control signal, the at least one control signal (paragraphs [0034]).
Walker fails to disclose a motor system operatively connected to the plurality of slats to selectively lower and raise the plurality of slats into the extended position and a retracted position, and the motor system being configured to lower and raise the plurality of slats and the flexible material layer in response to the at least one control signal. Hall teaches that it is known for a motor system to be connected to a plurality of slats to selectively lower and raise the plurality of slats into an extended position and a retracted position (paragraphs [0024] and [0031], copied below).
Hall further teaches the motor system is configured to respond to at least one control signal (thermal convention zone; paragraph [0025], copied below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the plurality of slats with connection to the motor system in order to selective lower and raise the plurality of slats since it is a known technique for controlling slats of a window covering and allowing selective positioning and the use of a motor system in connection with slats is a known technique, as taught by Hall.. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known techniques were recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. As modified, the motor system of Walker is operatively connected to the plurality of slats to selectively lower and raise the plurality of slats into the extended position and a retracted position, as taught by Hall.
Modified Walker and Hall fail to disclose each of the plurality of slats includes at least one photovoltaic element and an electrical collection assembly for collecting electrical energy produced by the at least one photovoltaic element of each of the plurality of slats. However, Kapany teaches that it is known to provide each of the least one of the plurality of slats with at least one photovoltaic element (140) and the photovoltaic elements connected to an electrical collection assembly (batteries). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to incorporate photovoltaic elements and electrical collection assembly into the covering of modified Walker in order to provide a self-contained powered window covering. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
Regarding claim 10, Walker as modified with Hall above teaches the motor system is configured to selectively lower, raise, and rotate the plurality of slats.
Regarding claim 13, Walker as modified with Hall above teaches the motor system is configured to selectively tilt the plurality of slats in order to maximize daylight passing through the covering (paragraphs [0025] and [0028] of Hall).
Regarding claim 14, Walker as modified with Kapany above teaches wherein the motor system is configured to arrange the plurality of slats to maximize the electricity generation by the at least one photovoltaic element of each slat in response to an energy harvesting control signal (col 6, lines 58-67 of Kapany).
Regarding claim 15, Walker as modified with Hall, Hall teaches wherein the at least one control signal is produced at least in part by an energy management system (optimization of light and temperature by the control system).
Regarding claim 16, Walker as modified with Hall, Hall teaches wherein the motor system and the plurality of slats are configured to be selectively moveable between a plurality of mode positions when the covering is in use and installed on the window, the plurality of mode positions comprising: a privacy mode (fully closed position taught by Hall) with the plurality of slats arranged to block light passage through the covering; a deflection mode (angled slats taught by Hall) with the plurality of slats arranged to reflect at least some incident light back toward the window (angled slats in opposite direction to deflection mode taught by Hall); an illumination mode with the plurality of slats arranged to reflect at least some incident light between the plurality of slats and through the flexible material layer (taught by Walker); a viewing mode (open slat position taught by Hall) with the plurality of slats arranged generally horizontally; and a retracted mode (fully open position taught by Hall) with the plurality of slats gathered at a top portion of the covering. Further, as modified with Kapany above, Kapany teaches an energy harvesting mode with the plurality of slats arranged to direct at least some incident light toward the at least one photovoltaic cell of each of the plurality of slats (maximizing light on the photovoltaic cells).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker, Hall, and Kapan, as applied in claim 9 above, in further view of Kopas.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, modified Walker fails to disclose a plurality of optical facets disposed over the at least one photovoltaic element; and wherein scattering of light incident thereon varies by angle of incidence. However, Kolas teaches the technique of optical facets (Figs 11 and 12) for scattering light which improves the distribution of redirected sunlight (paragraphs [0085] and [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the covering of Walker as modified above, with a plurality of optical facets disposed over the at least one photovoltaic element; and wherein scattering of light incident thereon varies by angle of incidence in order to optimize sunlight and energy production, as taught by Kolas. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Walker as modified with Kolas teaches the plurality of optical facets are configured to direct at least a portion of light incident thereon at a first angle of incidence toward the at least one photovoltaic element when the covering is in use; the plurality of optical facets are configured to direct at least a portion of light incident thereon at a second angle of incidence reflect light incident thereon toward the flexible material layer when the covering is in use; and the plurality of optical facets are configured to direct at least a portion of light incident thereon at a third angle of incidence reflect light incident thereon away from the flexible material layer and the at least one photovoltaic element when the covering is in use (paragraphs [0085], [0086], [0087] of Kolas).
Conclusion
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634