DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 03/19/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-16 have been amended.
Claims 17-20 have been newly added.
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of FR2109956 filed 09/21/2021 and PCT/EP2022/074313 filed 09/01/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2024, 03/14/2025, and 07/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
In this particular case, claim 16 recites “An optical component” and introduces a new embodiment; therefore, it is an independent claim. However, language such as “according to claim 1” is indicative of dependent-type claims in the new “optical component” embodiment. Since claim 1 explicitly recites “An integrated photonic chip” embodiment, it is considered a separate and distinct embodiment than the “optical component”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 11-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al. (USPGPub 2017/0194310). As per claim 1, Evans discloses an integrated photonic chip (PIC) for generating at least one combined light emission, the integrated photonic chip (see at least paragraph 0003; wherein a photonic integrated circuit chip) comprising: a bank including at least two lasers having different wavelengths (see at least paragraph 0143; wherein a multi-channel transmitter PIC 1600 consistent with an aspect of the present disclosure. PIC 1600 includes multiple “channels”, i.e. channels 1 to N, one of which, channel 1, is shown in detail. It is understood that remaining channels 2 to N may have the same or similar structure as channel. Each channel supplies a first group of modulated optical signals, each having a corresponding one of wavelengths λ1 to λn), each of the at least two lasers comprising an optical cavity defined by two ends and configured to emit a first light emission and a second light emission respectively issuing from the two ends (see at least paragraph 0144; wherein channel 1 includes a widely tunable laser (WTL) 1602, for example, which may include a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) or distributed feedback (DFB) laser or other suitable laser. CW light output from a first side or facet of the WTL 1602 is supplied to a first 1×4 multimode interference (MMI1) coupler 1604, for example, and light from a second side or facet of the WTL is supplied to a second 1×4 MMI coupler (MMI2) 1606); at least two active combining devices optically associated with the bank of lasers (see at least Figure 16), each of the at least two active combining devices having at least a first optical input and a second optical input for receiving some of the first light emission and the second light emission (see at least Figure 16) and being configured to produce, on at least one optical output, a combined light emission combining light emissions received on the at least a first optical input and the second optical input (see at least paragraph 0145; wherein the optical signals output from Mux1 1632 and Mux2 1634 have the same transverse electric (TE) polarization. In order combine the outputs of Mux1 1632 and Mux2 1634, therefore, the polarization of the output from Mux2 1634, for example, may be rotated to have a transverse magnetic (TM) polarization. The resulting TM polarized signals may then be combined with a polarization beam combiner onto a single optical fiber), the at least two active combining devices further comprising control and measurement elements to control the combined light emission produced on the optical output (see at least paragraph 0144; wherein each of the outputs of MMI1 1604 is supplied to a corresponding one of a first group of phase adjusters 1608 (PA, PAs 1-4), and each of the outputs of MMI2 1606 is supplied to a corresponding one of a second group of PAs 1610 (PAs 1-5). Each PA in the first and second groups of PAs 1608 and 1610 may include a semiconductor p-i-n structure made of InP, for example, and may be controlled either thermally or by application of an appropriate current to adjust the phase of light supplied thereto); and a waveguide grating for directly propagating the first and second light emissions between the bank of lasers and the at least two active combining devices (see at least paragraph 0149 and Figure 19; wherein a compact laser design 1900. Here, the gain (G) section 1906, as well as mirror sections MS1 1902 and MS2 1904 are arranged linearly, but output waveguides 1908 and 1910 extending from the MS1 1902 and MS2 1904 loop back to provide CW inputs to block 1700. The loop back waveguide sections are further configured to minimize space. In some implementations, the WTL may include a phase tuning section 1912, where a phase inside the cavity may be adjusted). As per claim 2, Evans discloses wherein the at least two lasers are phase-shifted lasers, ends of the phase-shifted lasers being separated by a feedback grating (see at least paragraph 0146; wherein WTL 1602 and SOAs 1628 and 1630 are not shown to simplify the drawing. It is noted that SOAs 1628 and 1630 may be optionally provided. In particular, as shown in FIG. 17, MMI1 and PAs 1-4 are provided along a first part of a first optical path (“Path 1”) and the TW MZMs are provided along a second part of Path 1 that is folded or looped back on first part of the first path. Similarly, MMI2 and PAs 4-8 are provided along a first part of a second path (“Path 2”) that is folded or looped back on a second part of Path 2 including additional TW MZMs). As per claim 4, Evans discloses wherein the at least two lasers of the bank are assembled with a first part that comprises at least a portion of the waveguide grating (see at least Figure 4). As per claim 5, Evans discloses at least one emission zone of at least one output light emission, the waveguide grating also propagating combined light emissions between the at least two active combining devices and the at least one emission zone (see at least Figure 17). As per claim 8, Evans discloses wherein each of the at least two active combining devices is associated with two phase-shifted lasers of the bank, an emission of one of the two phase-shifted lasers being guided toward the first optical input and an emission of the other of the two phase-shifted lasers being guided toward the second optical input, the control and measurement elements being capable of being used such that each active combining device spectrally combines the emissions issuing from the two lasers (see at least Figure 16 and paragraph 0144). As per claim 11, Evans discloses wherein the bank comprises 2^n phase-shifted lasers associated with at least 2^n active combining devices forming a first combination stage, n being an integer greater than 1, the integrated photonic chip further comprising at least a second combination stage arranged downstream of the first combination stage, the second combination stage including at least one secondary combining device (see at least Figure 16 and paragraph 0144). As per claim 12, Evans discloses wherein the number of output light emissions is less than or equal to the number of phase-shifted lasers (see at least Figure 16 and paragraph 0144). As per claim 13, Evans discloses wherein the at least one secondary combining device is chosen from among the group consisting of: an active coherent combining device, an active spectral combining device, or a passive power divider (see at least paragraph 0036; wherein optical power splitters may instead be employed to supply power-split portions to coherent detectors because the local oscillator beats with all the incoming signals but predominantly extracts the signal from the desired wavelength). As per claim 14, Evans discloses wherein the waveguide grating is associated with at least one coupler (see at least paragraph 0140; wherein the optical bridge chip 1504 may include turning mirrors or grating couplers to direct light from the WTL 1506 to a waveguide on the optical bridge chip 1504). As per claim 15, Evans discloses wherein the phase-shifted lasers have stepped emission wavelengths (see at least paragraph 0143; wherein each channel supplies a first group of modulated optical signals, each having a corresponding one of wavelengths λ1 to λn, to a first multiplexer Mux1, as well as a second group of modulated optical signals, each having a corresponding one of the wavelengths λ1 to λn, to a second multiplexer Mux2. Mux1 and Mux2 may include, for example, a power combiner or an arrayed waveguide grating (AWG). Alternately, the waveguides may be routed directly to the facet without a multiplexer or coupler). As per claim 16, Evans discloses an optical component, comprising: an integrated photonic chip (PIC) according to claim 1; and a control integrated circuit electrically connected to the control and measurement elements of the active combining devices, the integrated control circuit being configured to control the output light emission produced on the optical outputs of the active combining devices (see at least Figure 9A-9B). As per claim 17, Evans discloses wherein the at least two lasers of the integrated photonic chip (PIC) are phase-shifted lasers, ends of the phase-shifted lasers being separated by a feedback grating (see at least paragraph 0146; wherein WTL 1602 and SOAs 1628 and 1630 are not shown to simplify the drawing. It is noted that SOAs 1628 and 1630 may be optionally provided. In particular, as shown in FIG. 17, MMI1 and PAs 1-4 are provided along a first part of a first optical path (“Path 1”) and the TW MZMs are provided along a second part of Path 1 that is folded or looped back on first part of the first path. Similarly, MMI2 and PAs 4-8 are provided along a first part of a second path (“Path 2”) that is folded or looped back on a second part of Path 2 including additional TW MZMs). As per claim 19, Evans discloses wherein the at least two lasers of the bank are assembled with a first part that comprises at least a portion of the waveguide grating (see at least Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (USPGPub 2017/0194310) in view of Komljenovic (USPGPub 2021/0344170). As per claim 3, Evans does not explicitly mention wherein the optical cavity of each of the phase-shifted lasers is equipped with a grating configured to induce a quarter-wave shift in the cavity. However Komljenovic does disclose: wherein the optical cavity of each of the phase-shifted lasers is equipped with a grating configured to induce a quarter-wave shift in the cavity (see at least paragraph 0037; wherein element 465 is also present to facilitate more efficient coupling between free-space and guided modes and/or to control the input polarization. In some embodiments, element 465 is a mode shaping element (a lens, micro-lens array, quarter-wave plate, polarization rotator and/or a combination of these elements). Element 465 can be integrated with element 450 on a shared substrate, or it can be assembled separately from the PIC and then placed in direct contact with the PIC or at some distance from the PIC. The alignment of components within or coupled to element 450 can rely on alignment marks 469 or can be done by passive or active alignment during device assembly). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Komljenovic with the teachings as in Evans. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide increased responsivity and higher bandwidth, see Komljenovic paragraph 0023. As per claim 18, Evans does not explicitly mention wherein the optical cavity of each of the phase-shifted lasers is equipped with a grating configured to induce a quarter-wave shift in the cavity. However Komljenovic does disclose: wherein the optical cavity of each of the phase-shifted lasers is equipped with a grating configured to induce a quarter-wave shift in the cavity (see at least paragraph 0037; wherein element 465 is also present to facilitate more efficient coupling between free-space and guided modes and/or to control the input polarization. In some embodiments, element 465 is a mode shaping element (a lens, micro-lens array, quarter-wave plate, polarization rotator and/or a combination of these elements). Element 465 can be integrated with element 450 on a shared substrate, or it can be assembled separately from the PIC and then placed in direct contact with the PIC or at some distance from the PIC. The alignment of components within or coupled to element 450 can rely on alignment marks 469 or can be done by passive or active alignment during device assembly). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Komljenovic with the teachings as in Evans. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide increased responsivity and higher bandwidth, see Komljenovic paragraph 0023. As per claim 20, Evans does not explicitly mention wherein the at least one coupler comprises an edge coupler. However Komljenovic does disclose: wherein the at least one coupler comprises an edge coupler (see at least paragraph 0018; wherein efficient coupling between free-space and guided modes can be provided by edge couplers). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Komljenovic with the teachings as in Evans. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide increased responsivity and higher bandwidth, see Komljenovic paragraph 0023.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the at least two active combining devices is associated with a phase-shifted laser of the bank, a first emission and a second emission of the phase-shifted lasers being respectively guided toward the first optical inputs and the second optical inputs of the at least two active combining devices, the control and measurement elements being capable of being used such that each of the at least two active combining devices coherently combines the first emission and the second emission. Claim 7 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency.
Claim(s) 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least two active combining devices are configured to perform a spectral combination and comprise: a first and a second combiner, the first combiner having two inputs respectively coupled to the first optical input and to the second optical input, and the second combiner having two outputs, a first of which is coupled to the optical output, the two combiners being optically coupled to each other by two arms; a delay line arranged in one of the two arms; wherein the control elements comprise at least one pilot-controllable phase shifter arranged optically upstream of the second combiner; and -wherein the measurement elements comprise a photodetector arranged optically downstream of the second output of the second combiner. Claim 10 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662