DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 6-9, 13-17 and 20-30.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-30 are pending in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Babaei et al. (US20180324889)(hereinafter Babaei).
Per claim 1, Babaei discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (paragraph 0222, processor and memory), configured to: receive, from a base station, a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration associated with the UE (paragraph 0178, i.e. for SPS may be provided to the UE using RRC configuration and/or using grant/DCI) , wherein the SPS configuration indicates a duration of an uplink period for transmission of one or more control elements (paragraph 0192 and 0194, i.e. In an example, a wireless device configured with SPS uplink skipping may transmit one or more signal and/or MAC CE (e.g., CSI and/or BSR and/or PHR, etc.) even if the wireless device has no data to transmit and a grant/DCI may activate SPS for a wireless device. The grant/DCI may indicate a TTI duration for the SPS) ;determine whether a buffer of data intended for the base station is empty (paragraph 0191, i.e. he UE may skip UL transmissions for a configured uplink grant if no data is available for transmission in the UE buffer) ; increase the duration of the uplink period based at least in part on a determination that the a buffer is empty (paragraph 0192 and 0195 In an example, a wireless device configured with SPS uplink skipping may transmit one or more signal and/or MAC CE (e.g., CSI and/or BSR and/or PHR, etc.) even if the wireless device has no data to transmit. and the wireless device may increment the first state variable after a TTIj duration. The wireless device may reset the first state variable after a first number (e.g., Kj) is reached. In an example, the first number may be pre-configured. In an example, RRC may configure a SPS period (e.g., an absolute period e.g., in terms of TTIs).; and transmit a control element of the one or more control elements based at least in part on the increased duration of the uplink period(paragraph 0200,Fig 15, i.e. In an example, the DCI may indicate one or more transmission durations up to a first value. In an example, a transmission duration in the one or more transmission durations may correspond to a transport block/packet duration. In an example, a transmission duration in the one or more transmission durations may correspond to a transmission time interval (TTI). In an example, a transmission duration in the one or more transmission durations may correspond to a PUSCH transmission duration. The first value may be a maximum transmission duration value. In an example, a transmission duration in the one or more transmission durations may correspond to one or more logical channels).
Per claim 2, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the SPS configuration is associated with a period of five or fewer subframes.(paragraph 0205, i.e. When the physical layer is configured for uplink spatial multiplexing, the MAC layer may receive one or more grants (e.g., up to two grants e.g., one per HARQ process) for a same TTI from lower layers)
Per claim 3, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control element is associated with a period of 40 or fewer milliseconds( paragraph 0124, i.e. Other subframe durations such as including 0.5 msec, 1 msec, 2 msec, and 5 msec may also be supported. Subframe(s) may consist of two or more slots (e.g. slots 206 and 207and see paragraphs 0192 and 0193, i.e. . a wireless device configured with SPS uplink skipping may transmit one or more signal and/or MAC CE (e.g., CSI and/or BSR and/or PHR, etc.) even if the wireless device has no data to transmit and in an example implementation, direction of a TTI for downlink and/or uplink transmission may be flexible. In an example, a plurality of TTI durations may be used by a wireless device and/or base station. In an example, a base station may configure a SPS for a wireless device with periodicity less than 1 ms)’
Per claim 4, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3 (PHR).
Per claim 5, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3(BSR).
Per claim 6, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0192, BSR or PHR.
Per claim 7, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the duration of the uplink period associated with the control element is increased no higher than a maximum duration,(paragraph 0175 and 0200, i.e. The configuration parameters for a logical channel may indicate if a logical channel may be mapped to a TTI type/duration and/or a numerology and/or a service type (e.g., URLLC, eMBB, eMTC, etc.). The configuration parameters for a logical channel may indicate the maximum TTI duration that a logical channel may be mapped to and n an example, a transmission duration in the one or more transmission durations may correspond to a PUSCH transmission duration. The first value may be a maximum transmission duration value).
Per claim 8, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control element is randomly selected from [[a]]the one or more plurality of control elements within a period of time (paragraph 0147 and 0192, i.e. This may involve a UE transmitting a random access preamble and an eNB responding with an initial TA command NTA (amount of timing advance) within a random access response window. The start of the random access preamble may be aligned with the start of a corresponding uplink subframe at the UE assuming NTA=0 and a wireless device configured with SPS uplink skipping may transmit one or more signal and/or MAC CE [e.g., CSI and/or BSR and/or PHR, etc.] even if the wireless device has no data to transmit).
Per claim 9, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:transmit [[the]]another control element within a subsequent uplink period,associated with the SPS configuration, based on expiry of a maximum duration [paragraph 0175 and 0192, i.e. In an example, a wireless device configured with uplink skipping may transmit an acknowledgement (e.g., SPS confirmation MAC CE) after receiving a DCI activating or releasing a SPS. In an example, a wireless device configured with SPS uplink skipping may transmit one or more signal and/or MAC CE (e.g., CSI and/or BSR and/or PHR, etc.) even if the wireless device has no data to transmit].
Per claim 10, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the UE is connected to a long term evolution (LTE) network, and the maximum duration is 200 milliseconds(paragraph 0155, i.e. .LTE connected to a UE. Also see paragraph 0124, FIG. 2 shows an example FDD frame timing. Downlink and uplink transmissions may be organized into radio frames 201. In this example, radio frame duration is 10 msec. Other frame durations, for example, in the range of 1 to 100 msec may also be supported, examiner interprets that LTE could be 20 msec per frame of 10 frames).
Per claim 11, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the UE is connected to a New Radio (NR) network, and the maximum duration is 500 milliseconds(paragraph 0126,Fig 4, i.e. NR carrier, and see paragraph 0124, FIG. 2 shows an example FDD frame timing. Downlink and uplink transmissions may be organized into radio frames 201. In this example, radio frame duration is 10 msec. Other frame durations, for example, in the range of 1 to 100 msec may also be supported, examiner interprets that NR could be 50 msec per frame of 10 frames).
Per claim 12, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9, examiner interprets when the buffer has data its sends out the data as SPS configuration, see paragraph 0192.
Per claim 13, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including an SPS cell radio network temporary identifier (SPS-CRNTI) for the UE; and transmit [[the]]another control element within a subsequent uplink period,associated with the SPS configuration, based on receiving the DCI [paragraph 0180 and 0192, i.e. . In an example, RRC may comprise an index identifying an SPS configuration for a cell. In an example, the DCI employing SPS RNTI and triggering an SPS may include the index of the SPS that is triggered (initialized) or released and In an example, a wireless device configured with uplink skipping may transmit an acknowledgement (e.g., SPS confirmation MAC CE) after receiving a DCI activating or releasing a SPS. In an example, a wireless device configured with SPS uplink skipping may transmit one or more signal and/or MAC CE (e.g., CSI and/or BSR and/or PHR, etc.) even if the wireless device has no data to transmit].
Per claim 14, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the base station, a transmit power control (TPC) command; and transmit another control element within a subsequent uplink period, associated with the SPS configuration, based on receiving the TPC command (paragraph 0183 and 0185, i.e. n an example, base station may configure this field if uplink power control subframe sets are configured by tpc-SubframeSet, in which case this field may apply for uplink power control subframe set).
Per claim 15, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) associated with aperiodic channel feedback; and transmit [[the]]another control element within a subsequent uplink period,associated with the SPS configuration, based on receiving the DCI (paragraph 0192, i.e. .In an example, a wireless device configured with uplink skipping may transmit an acknowledgement (e.g., SPS confirmation MAC CE) after receiving a DCI activating or releasing a SPS. In an example, a wireless device configured with SPS uplink skipping may transmit one or more signal and/or MAC CE (e.g., CSI and/or BSR and/or PHR, etc.) even if the wireless device has no data to transmit).
Per claim 16, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:receive, from the base station, a dynamic grant; and transmit another control element within a subsequent uplink period,associated with the SPS configuration, based on receiving the dynamic grant (paragraph 0199, type 1 and 2 grant, where’s activation and deactivation for other configuration parameters).
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6.
Per claim 21, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 7.
Per claim 22, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 8.
Per claim 23, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 9.
Per claim 24, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 12.
Per claim 25, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 13.
Per claim 26, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 14.
Per claim 27, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 15.
Per claim 28, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 16.
Per claim 29, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0201, non transitory medium.
Per claim 30, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647