DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202111206046.5, filed on 10/14/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Jaggies can also be referred to as “Stair-stepping”, “aliasing”, “Rasterization artifacts”, “Jagged edges/artifacts”, or “Spatial Aliasing”. Gaussian blur is a type of low-pass filter used in image processing. Gaussian blur can also be referred to as one-dimensional filter. Anti-aliasing or (filtering) is a technique used for correcting Jaggies in images/videos/pictures. A right-angle parallelogram is a rectangle shape or also called rhomb(i).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim 9 recites the limitation of “A readable storage medium,” however, readable is reciting limitations that are not one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter, such as software per se.
Claim 10 recites the limitation of “A computer program product, comprising: computer program instructions, the computer program instructions being stored in a readable storage medium,” and contains similar issues as claim 1. A “readable storage medium is something other than a computer, such as software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo (US 10410326 B2, Pub Date: Sep. 10, 2019).
Regarding independent claim 1, Guo teaches: An image processing method, comprising: acquiring an image to be processed, (Guo − [Col. 1, ll. 5-7] The present invention relates to the technical field of image and video processing,) wherein the image to be processed comprises jaggies; (Guo − [Col. 1, ll. 10-15] image and video processed has jagginess occur near edges)
and performing a one-dimensional blur processing on the image to be processed in a target direction to acquire a target image, (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter along the edge direction
wherein the target direction has an association relationship with a shape of the jaggies. (Guo − FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering, wherein the black dots are original image pixels, P is the pixel to be filtered, and the coordinates of intersection points of a line Lp that goes through P along the edge direction and the horizontal scanning lines (H0, H1, H2, H3, H4 in FIG. 6) neighboring P are calculated according to the edge direction of the pixel P to be filtered, and temporary pixels (P0, P1, P2, P3, P4) at the intersection points, as indicated by the stars in FIG. 6, are interpolated by means of a horizontal interpolation method, then the pixel P is filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction to obtain the final directional filtering result.). horizontal orientation of the jaggies pixel to be filtered. Fig. 6 is a shape where jaggies occur.
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 1, Guo teaches: wherein the one-dimensional blur processing is any one selected from a group consisting of Gaussian blur, median blur and mean blur. (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter is Gaussian blur
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 1, Guo teaches: wherein, before the performing the one-dimensional blur processing on the image to be processed in the target direction to acquire the target image, the method further comprises: (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter along the edge direction
determining a parameter corresponding to the one-dimensional blur processing according to a blur degree of the image to be processed, wherein the parameter comprises a target blur radius and/or a target sampling step length. (Guo − [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention; [Col. 2 ll. 25-29] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction and outputs the low-angle directional filtering result.)
Regarding independent claim 7, is direct to an image processing apparatus. Claim 7 have similar/same technical features/limitations as claim 1. Claim 7 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding independent claim 8, is direct to an electronic device. Claim 8 have similar/same technical features/limitations as claim 1. Claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 1, Guo teaches: A readable storage medium, comprising: computer program instructions, wherein, upon the computer program instructions being executed by at least one processor of an electronic device, the computer program instructions cause the electronic device to implement the method according to claim 1. (Guo – Fig. 1).
Regarding dependent claim 10, depends on claim 1, Guo teaches: A computer program product, comprising: computer program instructions, the computer program instructions being stored in a readable storage medium, at least one processor of an electronic device reading the computer program instructions from the readable storage medium, and the at least one processor executing the computer program instructions to cause the electronic device to implement the method according to claim 1. (Guo – Fig. 1).
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 7, Guo teaches: wherein the one-dimensional blur processing is any one selected from a group consisting of Gaussian blur, median blur and mean blur.
(Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter is Gaussian blur
Regarding dependent claim 18, depends on claim 7, Guo teaches: wherein the processing module is further configured to: determine a parameter corresponding to the one-dimensional blur processing according to a blur degree of the image to be processed, wherein the parameter comprises a target blur radius and/or a target sampling step length. (Guo − [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention; [Col. 2 ll. 25-29] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction and outputs the low-angle directional filtering result.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 11-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 10410326 B2, Pub Date: Sep. 10, 2019) in view of ISO (US 20120250993 A1, Pub Date: Mar. 20, 2012).
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Guo does not explicitly teach: the shape of the jaggies being a right-angled parallelogram
However, ISO teaches: wherein, in case of the shape of the jaggies being a right-angled parallelogram, the target direction is any diagonal direction of the right-angled parallelogram. (ISO − [0029] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating occurrence of jaggedness as a problem of the pixel number reduction process;) Fig. 3 illustrate rectangular jaggies in image pixelation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 1, Guo teaches: wherein, the performing the one-dimensional blur processing on the image to be processed in the target direction to acquire the target image, comprises: and a convolution kernel corresponding to the one-dimensional blur processing. (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter along the edge direction
Guo does not explicitly teach: determining a center pixel point corresponding to each step of the blur processing according to a target sampling step length;
However, ISO teaches: determining a center pixel point corresponding to each step of the blur processing according to a target sampling step length; (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] Fig 1A/1B, a Gb pixel center, and surrounding pixels of the jaggedness-occurring image. [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
acquiring a pixel value of the center pixel point and pixel values of surrounding pixel points for each step of the blur processing, wherein the surrounding pixel points comprise pixel points along the target direction within a target blur radius centered on the center pixel point; (ISO − [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
and acquiring a value of a center pixel point in the target image by calculating according to the pixel value of the center pixel point, the pixel values of the surrounding pixel points, (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 3, Guo does not explicitly teach: wherein, the acquiring the pixel value of the center pixel point and the pixel values of surrounding pixel points for each step of the blur processing, comprises:
However, ISO teaches: wherein, the acquiring the pixel value of the center pixel point and the pixel values of surrounding pixel points for each step of the blur processing, comprises: determining the pixel points along the target direction within the target blur radius centered on the center pixel point as candidate pixel points for each center pixel point; (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] Fig 1A/1B, a Gb pixel center, and surrounding pixels of the jaggedness-occurring image. [0055-0059] [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
determining the surrounding pixel points from the candidate pixel points according to an amount relationship between a preset threshold value and each element in the convolution kernel; (ISO − [0213] [0220] The blending process unit 105 computes, for the luminance high frequency component information 84 input from the edge extraction unit 104, a blending rate according to the luminance high frequency component information in each pixel unit based on a weight (blending rate) distribution function that linearly changes threshold values using the upper-limit threshold value (th.sub.upper) and the lower-limit threshold value (th.sub.lower) that are determined in advance.)
and acquiring the pixel value of the center pixel point and the pixel values of the surrounding pixel points. (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] Fig 1A/1B, a Gb pixel center, and surrounding pixels of the jaggedness-occurring image. [0055-0059] [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 2, Guo teaches: wherein the one-dimensional blur processing is any one selected from a group consisting of Gaussian blur, median blur and mean blur. (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter is Gaussian blur
Regarding dependent claim 12, depends on claim 3, Guo teaches: wherein the one-dimensional blur processing is any one selected from a group consisting of Gaussian blur, median blur and mean blur. (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter is Gaussian blur
Regarding dependent claim 13, depends on claim 4, Guo teaches: wherein the one-dimensional blur processing is any one selected from a group consisting of Gaussian blur, median blur and mean blur. (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter is Gaussian blur
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 7, Guo does not explicitly teach: the shape of the jaggies being a right-angled parallelogram
However, ISO teaches: wherein, in case of the shape of the jaggies being a right-angled parallelogram, the target direction is any diagonal direction of the right-angled parallelogram. (ISO − [0029] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating occurrence of jaggedness as a problem of the pixel number reduction process;) Fig. 3 illustrate rectangular jaggies in image pixelation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Regarding dependent claim 15, depends on claim 7, Guo teaches: and a convolution kernel corresponding to the one-dimensional blur processing. (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter along the edge direction
Guo does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing module is further configured to: determine a center pixel point corresponding to each step of the blur processing according to a target sampling step length;
However, ISO teaches: wherein the processing module is further configured to: determine a center pixel point corresponding to each step of the blur processing according to a target sampling step length; (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] Fig 1A/1B, a Gb pixel center, and surrounding pixels of the jaggedness-occurring image. [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
acquire a pixel value of the center pixel point and pixel values of surrounding pixel points for each step of the blur processing, wherein the surrounding pixel points comprise pixel points along the target direction within a target blur radius centered on the center pixel point; (ISO − [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
and acquire a value of a center pixel point in the target image by calculating according to the pixel value of the center pixel point, the pixel values of the surrounding pixel points, (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 15, Guo does not explicitly teach: determine the pixel points along the target direction within the target blur radius centered on the center pixel point as candidate pixel points for each center pixel point
However, ISO teaches: wherein the processing module is further configured to: determine the pixel points along the target direction within the target blur radius centered on the center pixel point as candidate pixel points for each center pixel point; (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] Fig 1A/1B, a Gb pixel center, and surrounding pixels of the jaggedness-occurring image. [0055-0059] [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
determine the surrounding pixel points from the candidate pixel points according to an amount relationship between a preset threshold value and each element in the convolution kernel; (ISO − [0213] [0220] The blending process unit 105 computes, for the luminance high frequency component information 84 input from the edge extraction unit 104, a blending rate according to the luminance high frequency component information in each pixel unit based on a weight (blending rate) distribution function that linearly changes threshold values using the upper-limit threshold value (th.sub.upper) and the lower-limit threshold value (th.sub.lower) that are determined in advance.)
and acquire the pixel value of the center pixel point and the pixel values of the surrounding pixel points. (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] Fig 1A/1B, a Gb pixel center, and surrounding pixels of the jaggedness-occurring image. [0055-0059] [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Regarding dependent claim 19, depends on claim 8, Guo does not explicitly teach: the shape of the jaggies being a right-angled parallelogram
However, ISO teaches: wherein, in case of the shape of the jaggies being a right-angled parallelogram, the target direction is any diagonal direction of the right-angled parallelogram. (ISO − [0029] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating occurrence of jaggedness as a problem of the pixel number reduction process;) Fig. 3 illustrate rectangular jaggies in image pixelation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Regarding dependent claim 20, depends on claim 8, Guo teaches: a wherein, the performing the one- dimensional blur processing on the image to be processed in the target direction to acquire the target image, comprises: (Guo − [Col. 1 ll. 62-67] filters the pixel to be filtered by a one-dimensional filter using the temporary pixels along the edge direction (target direction) and outputs the directional filtering result (a target image). [Col. 2 ll. 60-65] FIG. 6 is a schematic drawing of directional filtering according to the present invention;) filtering by a one-dimensional filter along the edge direction
Guo does not explicitly teach: determining a center pixel point corresponding to each step of the blur processing according to a target sampling step length;
However, ISO teaches: determining a center pixel point corresponding to each step of the blur processing according to a target sampling step length; (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] Fig 1A/1B, a Gb pixel center, and surrounding pixels of the jaggedness-occurring image. [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
acquiring a pixel value of the center pixel point and pixel values of surrounding pixel points for each step of the blur processing, wherein the surrounding pixel points comprise pixel points along the target direction within a target blur radius centered on the center pixel point; (ISO − [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
and acquiring a value of a center pixel point in the target image by calculating according to the pixel value of the center pixel point, the pixel values of the surrounding pixel points, (ISO − [0012] [0055-0059] [0136-0140] Next, (A) a pixel value x of a noted position (i, j) in the image prior to the jaggedness occurrence and (B) pixel values y1, y2, . . . , yn of the n peripheral pixels in the position (i, j) in the image after the jaggedness occurrence are respectively observed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Guo, and ISO as each invention in the same field of image processing and filtering out noise within an imagery. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modification to improve accuracy of which pixel calculated in adjusting and reducing jaggies in image processing (0009).
Conclusion
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178