Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 9-16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-8 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/30/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/3/2024 and 3/11/2025 have been considered and initialed copies are enclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of “at least a portion of an antigen-antibody reaction between an antigen derived from the target bacterium and the labeling antibody in the sample liquid to form a first complex” is not clear because the specification does not define what “at least a portion of an antigen-antibody reaction” is. What is a portion of an antigen-antibody reaction?
In claim 8, how does the labeling antibody and bacteriolysis agent dissolve in the sample liquid if they are respectively attached to the labeling antibody-attached member and the bacteriolysis agent-attached member?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maehana et al. US 2015/0160212 06/11/2015 cited in IDS.
Claim 1: Maehana et al disclose a method for detecting a target bacterium in a sample of milk using an antibody antigen reaction using an immunochromatographic device, comprising the steps of:
Immersing in a large volume of milk (paragraph 43) at least a portion of a test strip i.e. “a labeling antibody-attached member” to which a labeled first antibody directed to said bacteria (see paragraph 40) is attached, in the milk to thereby cause at least a portion of an antigen-antibody reaction between an antigen derived from the target bacterium and the first labelled antibody in the milk to form a first complex. See paragraphs 30-33 and paragraph 46.
In paragraph 37-38, Maehana et al disclose the first complex can be detected by using a second capture antibody immobilized on the immunochromatographic device wherein the capture antibody is also directed to the antigen derived from bacteria in a sandwich format such that said second capture antibody also binds to the antigen derived from the bacteria thus forming a second complex, thereby detecting the bacterium based on the label of the labeling (see paragraph 39 for labels) antibody. See paragraph 46, and paragraphs 56-95.
Claim 2: Maehana et al disclose that the test strip part comprising the labeled antibody (labeling antibody attached member), the bacteriolysis agent attached member to which a bacteriolysis agent is attached (i.e. a lytic enzyme immobilized on the test strip) is immersed in the milk. See paragraph 44, 46, 47 and 48.
Claim 3: Maehana et al disclose at least a portion of the labeling antibody-attached member (the test strip comprising the labeled antibody) and the bacteriolysis agent attached member (same test strip also comprising the lytic enzyme) are immersed in the milk at the same time such that the lytic enzyme acts on the milk and the antigen is released from the bacteria cells. See paragraph 44, 46, 47 and 48-50.
Claim 5-7: Maehana et al disclose that the antigen released from the bacteria is ribosomal L7/L12 intracellular protein. See paragraph 52.
Claim 8: The labeling antibody attached to the test strip and the bacteriolysis agent attached to the test strip will necessarily also dissolve in the sample liquid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maehana et al. US 2015/0160212 06/11/2015.
Claim 1: Maehana et al disclose a method for detecting a target bacterium in a sample of milk using an antibody antigen reaction using an immunochromatographic device, comprising the steps of:
Immersing in a large volume of milk (paragraph 43) at least a portion of a test strip i.e. “a labeling antibody-attached member” to which a labeled first antibody directed to said bacteria (see paragraph 40) is attached, in the milk to thereby cause at least a portion of an antigen-antibody reaction between an antigen derived from the target bacterium and the first labelled antibody in the milk to form a first complex. See paragraphs 30-33 and paragraph 46.
In paragraph 37-38, Maehana et al disclose the first complex can be detected by using a second capture antibody immobilized on the immunochromatographic device wherein the capture antibody is also directed to the antigen derived from bacteria in a sandwich format such that said second capture antibody also binds to the antigen derived from the bacteria thus forming a second complex, thereby detecting the bacterium based on the label of the labeling (see paragraph 39 for labels) antibody. See paragraph 46, and paragraphs 56-95.
Maehana et al does not disclose agitating the sample liquid after the immersion and before the detection.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to have agitated the milk after the immersion of the labeling antibody-attached member (test strip) d before detection, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so is to make sure that the labeling antibody attached member (test strip) is wetted with the milk sample and thus the labeling antibody comes in contact with sufficient amounts of the antigen in the sample.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10048262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘262 claims disclose
Claim 1: detecting a bacterium in milk using an immunochromatographic device comprising the steps of immersing at least a portion of the test strip labeling antibody-attached member (contacting the milk at the third part or further upstream part… flowing the milk up to the second part or a further downstream part) to which a labeled first antibody is attached to cause a an antigen-antibody reaction between the antigen in the milk derived from bacteria and the labeled antibody to form a first complex[ and causing a reaction between a second antibody immobilized on the test strip and the first complex to form a second complex, thereby detecting the bacteria based on the label of the labeled antibody.
Claim 2-3: the ‘262 claims disclose the test strip (labeling antibody attached member), a lytic enzyme attached member (the same test strip) to which a lytic enzyme is attached is immersed in the milk at the same time (contacting the milk at the third part or further upstream part… flowing the milk up to the second part or a further downstream part).
Claim 4: the ‘262 claims do not disclose agitating the sample liquid after the immersion and before the detection. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to have agitated the milk after the immersion of the labeling antibody-attached member (test strip) so that the milk and before detection, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so is to make sure that the labeling antibody attached member (test strip) is wetted with the milk sample and thus the labeling antibody comes in contact with sufficient amounts of the antigen in the sample.
Claims 5: the ‘262 claims disclose the antigen is a component exposed out from a cell of a staphylococcus, thus is intracellular and the lytic enzyme is lysostaphin.
Claim 8: The labeling antibody attached to the test strip and the bacteriolysis agent attached to the test strip will necessarily also dissolve in the sample liquid.
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10048262 in view of Maehana et al. US 2015/0160212 06/11/2015 cited in IDS. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘262 claims is disclosed above but does not disclose that the intracellular antigen is a ribosome protein, wherein the ribosome protein is L7/L12 protein.
Maehana et al disclose an immunochromatographic device comprising a lytic enzyme lysostaphin and that when the presence of Staphylococcus aureus is especially suspected as an etiologic bacterium of mastitis, it may be preferable to use lysostaphin that specifically exhibits a bacteriolytic action against Staphylococcus aureus. See claims and paragraph 51. Maehana et al disclose when a lysostaphin is used as the lytic enzyme, for example, an antigen consisting of the ribosomal L7/L12 protein of Staphylococcus aureus can be detected by the immunochromatographic method. See paragraph 52.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention that in the “262 claims Staphylococcus aureus L7/L12 ribosome protein can be detected in the sample due to the lysostaphin lysis as taught by Maehana et al, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The teaching to do so is that Maehana et al disclose when a lysostaphin is used as the lytic enzyme, for example, an antigen consisting of the ribosomal L7/L12 protein of Staphylococcus aureus can be detected by the immunochromatographic method.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are rejected. Claims 9-16 are withdrawn.
/OLUWATOSIN A OGUNBIYI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645