Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to independent claims 7, 12-14:
Applicant submitted that “The Examiner recognizes on page 9 of the Office Action that Zhou does not disclose the above-referenced limitations.” See Remarks 11-12.
The Examiner notes that the newly introduced limitations do not correspond to any previously submitted claim. The Examiner understands that Applicant is alluding to claim 11 (Office Action, page 9), however the new amendment(s) do not match the previously submitted dependent claim 11.
Applicant submitted that Zhou fails to disclose "wherein, in response to detecting that the configuration for the DL-BWP for the RedCapUE is not configured in the system information, the processor determines that setting using a configuration of a DL-BWP for a non-RedCapUE is executable, the configuration of the DL-BWP for the non-RedCapUE being configured by the system information, and wherein, in response to detecting that the configuration for the UL-BWP for the RedCapUE is not configured in the system information, the processor determines that setting using a configuration of a UL-BWP for the non-RedCapUE is executable, the configuration of the UL-BWP for the nonRedCapUE being configured by the system information,". See Remarks 13. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhou ([0320-0326]) discloses that a reduced capability (Redcap) UE determines, using parameters provided in a master information block MIB, that a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1) dedicated for the capability-reduced wireless device type is not transmitted by the base station and that no access of the Redcap wireless device type is provided. As a result, the Redcap UE falls back to apply configuration parameters of the MIB message as a normal capability wireless device. The configuration parameters may comprise configuration parameters of an initial downlink/uplink BWP of the cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20240008050).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses a terminal comprising: a transceiver that receives system information; and a processor (UE210, Fig. 2A) that
determines that setting using a configuration of a downlink bandwidth part (DL-BWP) for a reduced capability User Equipment (RedCapUE) and a configuration of an uplink bandwidth part (UL-BWP) for the RedCapUE is executable, wherein the configuration of the DL-BWP for the RedCapUE and the configuration of the UL-BWP for the RedCapUE are configured by the system information (UE may be configured with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs. downlink BWP from a set of configured downlink BWPs may be linked with an uplink BWP from a set of configured uplink BWPs. For unpaired spectra, a UE may expect that a center frequency for a downlink BWP is the same as a center frequency for an uplink BWP. Wireless device may be a capability-reduced wireless device type. base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages (e.g., MIB, SIB1, SIB2, etc.) comprising configuration parameters of a cell; [0130-0131, 0313, 0321]),
wherein, in response to detecting that the configuration for the DL-BWP for the RedCapUE is not configured in the system information, the processor determines that setting using a configuration of a DL-BWP for a non-RedCapUE is executable, the configuration of the DL-BWP for the non-RedCapUE being configured by the system information (In response to the one or more R bits of the MIB message being set to second value(s), the capability-reduced wireless device may determine that the second SIB1 message, dedicated for the capability-reduced wireless device type, is not transmitted by the base station and/or the base station does not support an access of the capability-reduced wireless device type. In an example, the capability-reduced wireless device may perform a cell search procedure for finding another cell transmitting a MIB having the one or more R bits being set to the first value(s). In an example, the capability-reduced wireless device may fall back to apply configuration parameters of the MIB message as a normal capability wireless device. the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise configuration parameters of one or more RA search spaces (e.g., ra-SearchSpace) of a control resource set (CORESET) on an initial downlink BWP of the cell; [0320, 0326]), and
wherein, in response to detecting that the configuration for the UL-BWP for the RedCapUE is not configured in the system information, the processor determines that setting using a configuration of a UL-BWP for the non-RedCapUE is executable, the configuration of the UL-BWP for the non-RedCapUE being configured by the system information (In response to the one or more R bits of the MIB message being set to second value(s), the capability-reduced wireless device may determine that the second SIB1 message, dedicated for the capability-reduced wireless device type, is not transmitted by the base station and/or the base station does not support an access of the capability-reduced wireless device type. In an example, the capability-reduced wireless device may perform a cell search procedure for finding another cell transmitting a MIB having the one or more R bits being set to the first value(s). In an example, the capability-reduced wireless device may fall back to apply configuration parameters of the MIB message as a normal capability wireless device. the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise one or more 4-step RA RACH configurations (rach-ConfigCommon) for the 4-step RA on an initial (uplink) BWP of the cell. the configuration parameters may comprise one or more 2-step RA RACH configurations (RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA) for a RA with a 2-step RA type on an initial (uplink) BWP of the cell; [0320-0323]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses wherein the processor determines that a center frequency of the DL-BWP for the RedCapUE is a same as a center frequency of the ULBWP for the RedCapUE (UE may expect that a center frequency for a downlink BWP is the same as a center frequency for an uplink BWP. Wireless device may be a capability-reduced wireless device type; [0130-0131, 0313]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses wherein the processor executes setting using the configuration of the UL-BWP for the RedCapUE (base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages (e.g., BWP-UplinkCommon IE) comprising configuration parameters of a RA procedure on an uplink BWP of a cell (e.g., PCell, or a SCell); [0272]), and
wherein the transceiver transmits a message of a random access in the UL-BWP for the RedCapUE (configuration parameters of the cell may comprise one or more 4-step RA RACH configurations (rach-ConfigCommon) for the 4-step RA on an initial (uplink) BWP of the cell. Each rach-ConfigCommon may comprise a maximum number (e.g., preambleTransMax) of RA preamble transmission performed, for a 4-step RA type, before declaring a failure of the RA procedure; [0322]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses wherein the processor determines that the DL-BWP for the RedCapUE is an active BWP for a connected mode (for FDD systems, when configured with BA, one UL BWP for each uplink carrier and one DL BWP may be active at a time in an active serving cell. In an example, for TDD systems, one DL/UL BWP pair may be active at a time in an active serving cell. Operating on the one UL BWP and the one DL BWP (or the one DL/UL pair) may improve wireless device battery consumption. BWPs other than the one active UL BWP and the one active DL BWP that the wireless device may work on may be deactivated; [0248]), and
wherein the transceiver receives a synchronization signal in the DL-BWP for the RedCapUE (the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise configuration parameters of one or more RA search spaces (e.g., ra-SearchSpace) of a control resource set (CORESET) on an initial downlink BWP of the cell. Configuration parameters of each RA search space may comprise an SSB index or an SSB group index, indicating the RA search space is associated with an SSB identified by the SSB index, or a group of SSBs identified by the SSB group index; [0326]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as in claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is a combination of the terminal of claim 7 and the base station of claim 12, thus it is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as in claims 7 and 12.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chien et al. (US 20250048442), “UE receives an inquiry of device type related information from a base station and transmits device type related information from the extended device type UE.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413