Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2024, and 09/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations “communication unit configured to receive”, “control unit configured to expect”, “control unit expects”, “communication unit transmits,” “communication unit receives,” “communication unit configured to transmit,” and “control unit uses”, have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “receive”, “expect”, “transmit,” “receive,” and “use” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 7-13 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows lack of sufficient and adequate structure (or material or algorithm) for performing the above functions.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 112(b) because the specification does not disclose adequate and sufficient structure (or material or acts or algorithm) for performing the recited functions (invoking the 112, sixth paragraph) in the claims resulting in no definite boundaries.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20240008050).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses a terminal (UE210, Fig. 2A) comprising:
a communication unit configured to receive system information (UE may request one or more system information blocks; [0183]); and
a control unit configured to expect that a configuration using a configuration related to DL-BWP (Downlink Bandwidth part) for RedCap UE (Reduced Capability UE) and a configuration related to UL-BWP (Uplink Bandwidth part) for RedCap UE that are configured by the system information can be used (UE may be configured with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs. downlink BWP from a set of configured downlink BWPs may be linked with an uplink BWP from a set of configured uplink BWPs. For unpaired spectra, a UE may expect that a center frequency for a downlink BWP is the same as a center frequency for an uplink BWP. Wireless device may be a capability-reduced wireless device type; [0130-0131, 0313]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses wherein the control unit expects that a center frequency of the DL-BWP for RedCap UE is to be same as a center frequency of the UL-BWP for RedCap UE (UE may expect that a center frequency for a downlink BWP is the same as a center frequency for an uplink BWP. Wireless device may be a capability-reduced wireless device type; [0130-0131, 0313]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses wherein the control unit uses a configuration that uses the configuration related to the UL-BWP for RedCap UE (base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages (e.g., BWP-UplinkCommon IE) comprising configuration parameters of a RA procedure on an uplink BWP of a cell (e.g., PCell, or a SCell); [0272]), and
the communication unit transmits a message related to random access in the UL-BWP for RedCap UE (configuration parameters of the cell may comprise one or more 4-step RA RACH configurations (rach-ConfigCommon) for the 4-step RA on an initial (uplink) BWP of the cell. Each rach-ConfigCommon may comprise a maximum number (e.g., preambleTransMax) of RA preamble transmission performed, for a 4-step RA type, before declaring a failure of the RA procedure; [0322]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses wherein the control unit expects that the DL-BWP for RedCap UE is to be an active BWP in a connected mode (for FDD systems, when configured with BA, one UL BWP for each uplink carrier and one DL BWP may be active at a time in an active serving cell. In an example, for TDD systems, one DL/UL BWP pair may be active at a time in an active serving cell. Operating on the one UL BWP and the one DL BWP (or the one DL/UL pair) may improve wireless device battery consumption. BWPs other than the one active UL BWP and the one active DL BWP that the wireless device may work on may be deactivated; [0248]), and
the communication unit receives a synchronization signal in the DL-BWP for RedCap UE (the configuration parameters of the cell may comprise configuration parameters of one or more RA search spaces (e.g., ra-SearchSpace) of a control resource set (CORESET) on an initial downlink BWP of the cell. Configuration parameters of each RA search space may comprise an SSB index or an SSB group index, indicating the RA search space is associated with an SSB identified by the SSB index, or a group of SSBs identified by the SSB group index; [0326]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as in claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is a combination of the terminal of claim 7 and the base station of claim 12, thus it is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as in claims 7 and 12.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20240008050) in view of Lee et al. (US 20250280452).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou does not expressly disclose wherein the control unit expects that a configuration using a configuration related to DL-BWP for non-RedCap UE configured by the system information can be used in a case where the configuration related to the DL-BWP for RedCap UE is not configured by the system information, and expects that a configuration using a configuration related to UL-BWP for non-RedCap UE configured by the system information can be used in a case where the configuration related to the UL-BWP for RedCap UE is not configured by the system information.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the control unit expects that a configuration using a configuration related to DL-BWP for non-RedCap UE configured by the system information can be used in a case where the configuration related to the DL-BWP for RedCap UE is not configured by the system information (it is assumed that the RedCap UE is configured with an initial UL/DL BWP based on SIB1 shared with or separated from that of the legacy UE. The initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE may be set smaller than the initial BWP of the legacy UE. The initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE may completely or partially overlap with the initial BWP of the legacy UE. The RedCap UE and legacy UE may share a resource (e.g., random access occasion (RO)) for transmitting a PRACH preamble in the initial UL BWP; [0088]), and
expects that a configuration using a configuration related to UL-BWP for non-RedCap UE configured by the system information can be used in a case where the configuration related to the UL-BWP for RedCap UE is not configured by the system information (ROs of the RedCap UE are completely included in ROs of the legacy UE, but the number of ROs of the RedCap UE may be set differently (to be small) due to the smaller initial UL BWP of the RedCap UE. In the frequency domain, the initial DL BWP of the RedCap UE may be configured such that the initial DL BWP of the RedCap UE is smaller than the initial BWP of the legacy UE and completely or partially overlaps with the initial BWP of the legacy UE; [0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Zhou in order to ensure that a random access procedure can be performed more efficiently in a wireless communication system in which terminals of different types coexist (Lee; [0016]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Turtinen et al. (US 20230133904), “ENABLING ACCESS FOR A REDUCED CAPABILITY NEW RADIO (NR) DEVICE.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413