DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority to EP21198036.2 filed 09/21/2021. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/075362 filed 03/13/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 08/01/2024 and 04/22/2026 both comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP §609. Accordingly, they have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akinpelu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20130344006 A1).
Akinpelu recites Example 3 (Akinpelu at [0097]) reproduced below, which recites a composition that falls within the claimed limitations.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bentley et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20170367962 A1).
Bentley et al recites a composition on Table 3 (Bentley at [0173]) reproduced below, which recites a composition that falls within the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akinpelu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20130344006 A1).
Akinpelu recites Example 3 (Akinpelu at [0097]) reproduced below.
Akinpelu recites a hair treatment composition comprising an acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive consisting essentially of a random copolymers comprising: i) an acrylic group having a side-chain with at least 4 carbons (eg n-butyl acrylate or 2-ethylhexyl acrylate) and; ii) a C1-C6 side-chain acrylic such as methyl acrylate; the weight ratio of short side chain acrylic group ii) to the acrylic group i) is from 1.9:98.1 to 4.0:96.0. (Akinpelu at claim 1). Akinpelu recites in which the weight ratio of C1-C6 side chain acrylic group ii) to the acrylic group i) is from 1.9 to 98:1 to 2.5:97.5 (Akinpelu at claim 2). Akinpelu recites which further comprises a cationic conditioning surfactant (Akinpelu at claim 3). Akinpelu recites which further comprises an emollient (Akinpelu at claim 4). Akinpelu recites which further comprises a volatile silicone (Akinpelu at claim 5). Akinpelu recites which is a leave on composition (Akinpelu at claim 6). Akinpelu recites which further comprises hydrocarbon propellant (Akinpelu at claim 7). Akinpelu recites a method for styling hair which comprises contacting the hair with a composition in accordance with claim 1 (Akinpelu at claim 8). Akinpelu recites the use of an acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive consisting essentially of a random copolymers comprising: i) an acrylic group having a side-chain with at least 4 carbons (eg n-butyl acrylate or 2-ethylhexyl acrylate), and; ii) a C1-C6 side-chain acrylic such as methyl acrylate, the weight ratio of C1-C6 side chain acrylic group ii) to the acrylic group i) is from 1.9:98.1 to re-style hair (Akinpelu at claim 9). Akinpelu teaches the use of “Pressure sensitive adhesive” (PSA) materials are permanently tacky at room temperature and able to develop measurable adhesion to a surface simply upon contact or by the application of a light pressure. Generally they do not require heat. No chemical reaction takes place between the adhesive and the adherent, no curing of the adhesive is necessary and no solvent is required to be lost during the adhesion process (Akinpelu at [0013]). Akinpelu teaches water-born acrylic sensitive pressure adhesives include Roderm MD-5800 ex Rohm and Haas (Akinpelu at [0022]). Akinpelu teaches the acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive is present at levels from 0.01% to 10% by weight of the total composition. More preferred amounts of acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive in the compositions of the invention are from 0.1% to 5% by weight of the composition, even more preferably from 0.5% to 3.5% by weight (Akinpelu at [0023]). Akinpelu teaches that surfactants which are suitable for use in the compositions of the invention may be nonionic, cationic, anionic, zwitterionic or a mixture of such surfactants depending on the product form (Akinpelu at [0028]). Akinpelu teaches compositions of the invention preferably comprise a non-ionic surfactant, in an amount of up to 5%, preferably from 0.01% to 1%, most preferably from 0.02% to 0.8% by weight based on total weight (Akinpelu at [0028]). Akinpelu teaches that water will typically be present in amounts ranging from 30% to 98%, preferably from 50% to 95% by weight (Akinpelu at [0031]). Akinpelu teaches that emollients such as hydrocarbons, esters, silicone fluids, may be included in the compositions of the invention. Emollients may typically be present in compositions of the invention in amounts of from 0.001% to 10% by weight, preferably 0.1% to 3% by weight. Emollients may be single compounds or mixtures of two or more compounds from the same class or different general classes (Akinpelu at [0033]).
Akinpelu is discussed in the Anticipation Rejection supra. Akinpelu differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Akinpelu to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 1, Akinpelu teaches compositions of the invention preferably comprise a non-ionic surfactant, in an amount of up to 5%, preferably from 0.01% to 1%, most preferably from 0.02% to 0.8% by weight based on total weight (Akinpelu at [0028]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 1% to 50%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Akinpelu teaches water-born acrylic sensitive pressure adhesives include Roderm MD-5800 ex Rohm and Haas (Akinpelu at [0022]). Akinpelu teaches the acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive is present at levels from 0.01% to 10% by weight of the total composition (Akinpelu at [0023]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 0.1% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Akinpelu recites which further comprises a volatile silicone (Akinpelu at claim 5). Akinpelu teaches that emollients such as hydrocarbons, esters, silicone fluids, may be included in the compositions of the invention. Emollients may typically be present in compositions of the invention in amounts of from 0.001% to 10% by weight, preferably 0.1% to 3% by weight (Akinpelu at [0033]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 0.5% to 3%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 2, Akinpelu teaches water-born acrylic sensitive pressure adhesives include Roderm MD-5800 ex Rohm and Haas (Akinpelu at [0022]). Akinpelu teaches the acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive is present at levels from 0.01% to 10% by weight of the total composition (Akinpelu at [0023]). Akinpelu recites which further comprises a volatile silicone (Akinpelu at claim 5). Akinpelu teaches that emollients such as hydrocarbons, esters, silicone fluids, may be included in the compositions of the invention. Emollients may typically be present in compositions of the invention in amounts of from 0.001% to 10% by weight, preferably 0.1% to 3% by weight (Akinpelu at [0033]). Pressure sensitive adhesives and silicones in these ranges are able to be in a ratio of 4:1 to 1:4. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding instant claim 3, Akinpelu teaches compositions of the invention preferably comprise a non-ionic surfactant, in an amount of up to 5%, preferably from 0.01% to 1%, most preferably from 0.02% to 0.8% by weight based on total weight (Akinpelu at [0028]).
Regarding instant claim 4, Akinpelu teaches water-born acrylic sensitive pressure adhesives include Roderm MD-5800 ex Rohm and Haas (Akinpelu at [0022]).
Regarding instant claim 5, Akinpelu teaches water-born acrylic sensitive pressure adhesives include Roderm MD-5800 ex Rohm and Haas (Akinpelu at [0022]).
Regarding instant claim 6, Akinpelu teaches water-born acrylic sensitive pressure adhesives include Roderm MD-5800 ex Rohm and Haas (Akinpelu at [0022]). Akinpelu teaches the acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive is present at levels from 0.01% to 10% by weight of the total composition (Akinpelu at [0023]). Akinpelu recites which further comprises a volatile silicone (Akinpelu at claim 5). Akinpelu teaches that emollients such as hydrocarbons, esters, silicone fluids, may be included in the compositions of the invention. Emollients may typically be present in compositions of the invention in amounts of from 0.001% to 10% by weight, preferably 0.1% to 3% by weight (Akinpelu at [0033]). Pressure sensitive adhesives and silicones in these ranges are able to be in a ratio of 3:1 to 1:3. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding instant claim 7, Akinpelu teaches water-born acrylic sensitive pressure adhesives include Roderm MD-5800 ex Rohm and Haas (Akinpelu at [0022]). Akinpelu teaches the acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive is present at levels from 0.01% to 10% by weight of the total composition (Akinpelu at [0023]). Akinpelu recites which further comprises a volatile silicone (Akinpelu at claim 5). Akinpelu teaches that emollients such as hydrocarbons, esters, silicone fluids, may be included in the compositions of the invention. Emollients may typically be present in compositions of the invention in amounts of from 0.001% to 10% by weight, preferably 0.1% to 3% by weight (Akinpelu at [0033]). Pressure sensitive adhesives and silicones in these ranges are able to be in a ratio of 2:1 to 1:2. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding instant claim 8, Akinpelu teaches that water will typically be present in amounts ranging from 30% to 98%, preferably from 50% to 95% by weight (Akinpelu at [0031]) , which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 50% to 98%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 9, Akinpelu recites a method for styling hair which comprises contacting the hair with a composition (Akinpelu at claim 8).
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentley et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20170367962 A1).
Bentley et al recites a composition on Table 3 (Bentley at [0173]) reproduced below.
Bently recites a rinse off hair treatment composition comprising; a. a pressure sensitive adhesive emulsion comprising one or more pressure sensitive polymer, wherein the pressure sensitive polymer is not silicone pressure sensitive polymer, b. at least one material selected from the group consisting of i) a hair conditioning agent; and ii) a hair cleansing agent, and c. a deposition aid (Bentley at claim 1). Bently recites wherein the particle size of the Pressure Sensitive Adhesive in emulsion is 1 nm to 1 um (Bentley at claim 2). Bently recites wherein the composition comprises 0.01 to 10 w.t. % of active Pressure Sensitive Adhesive (Bentley at claim 3). Bently recites wherein the Pressure Sensitive Adhesive is an acrylic Pressure Sensitive Adhesive (Bentley at claim 4). Bently recites wherein the Pressure Sensitive Adhesive comprises:
a. an acrylic group having a side-chain with at least 4 carbons; and
b. a side chain acrylic (Bentley at claim 5). Bently recites wherein the acrylic group is butylacrylate and the C1-C6 side-chain acrylic acid is methacrylic acid (Bentley at claim 6). Bently recites wherein the rinse off composition is a shampoo or conditioner composition (Bentley at claim 7). Bently recites which is a shampoo, wherein the deposition aid is selected from cationic cellulose and cationic guar gum derivatives (Bentley at claim 8). Bently recites which is a shampoo, wherein the pH is 7 or greater (Bentley at claim 9). Bently recites wherein the composition is a shampoo composition comprising a miscellar structured liquid having a viscosity in the range of from 1000 cPs to 15000 cPs as measured on a Brookfield DV2T Helipath viscometer, at 30° C. using a RV5 spindle at 20 RPM (Bentley at claim 10). Bently recites wherein the composition is a conditioning composition comprising a miscellar structured liquid having a viscosity in the range of from 1000 cPs to 450 000 cPs at measured on a Brookfield DV2T Helipath viscometer, at room temperature, using a TA/TB bar spindle with a helical path at 0.5 RPM (Bentley at claim 11). Bently recites a method of treating hair comprising the following steps; apply to hair a rinse off hair treatment composition, Leave on hair for less than one minute to 10 minutes Rinse composition off of hair (Bentley at claim 12). Bentley teaches that preferred acrylic pressure sensitive materials include Acudyne MD-5800 by Dow and Acudyne MD-5600 by Dow. (Bentley at [0034]). Bentley teaches that hair treatment composition preferably comprises 0.01 to 10 w.t. % active pressure sensitive adhesive (i.e. not including the weight of the emulsion liquid), more preferably 0.1 to 7 w.t. %, most preferably 0.25 to 5 w.t. % (Bentley at [0018]). Bentley teaches that the hair cleansing agent may be an anionic cleansing surfactant which is cosmetically acceptable and suitable for topical application to the hair (Bentley at [0041]). Bentley teaches that the total amount of anionic cleansing surfactant in compositions of the invention is generally from 1 to 30 w.t. %, preferably from 6 to 20 w.t. %, more preferably from 8 to 16 w.t. % (Bentley at [0045]). Bentley teaches that the composition can include other cleansing agents, to help impart aesthetic, physical or cleansing properties to the composition. A preferred example is an amphoteric or zwitterionic surfactant, which can be included in an amount ranging from 0 to 8 w.t. %, preferably from 1 to 4 w.t. %. (Bentley at [0047]). Bentley teaches that another preferred example is a nonionic surfactant, which can be included in an amount ranging from 0 to 8 w.t. %, preferably from 2 to 5 w.t. % (Bentley at [0049]). Bentley teaches that the composition may contain any other ingredient normally used in hair treatment formulations, including further silicone or non-silicone hair conditioning oils. These other ingredients may include viscosity modifiers, preservatives, colouring agents, polyols such as glycerine and polypropylene glycol, chelating agents such as EDTA, antioxidants, fragrances, antimicrobials and sunscreens. Each of these ingredients will be present in an amount effective to accomplish its purpose. Generally these optional ingredients are included individually at a level of up to 5% by weight of the total composition (Bentley at [0156]).
Bentley is discussed in the Anticipation Rejection supra. Bentley differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Bentley to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 1, Bentley teaches that the total amount of anionic cleansing surfactant in compositions of the invention is generally from 1 to 30 w.t. %, preferably from 6 to 20 w.t. %, more preferably from 8 to 16 w.t. % (Bentley at [0045]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 1% to 50%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Bentley teaches that preferred acrylic pressure sensitive materials include Acudyne MD-5800 by Dow and Acudyne MD-5600 by Dow. (Bentley at [0034]). Bentley teaches that hair treatment composition preferably comprises 0.01 to 10 w.t. % active pressure sensitive adhesive (i.e. not including the weight of the emulsion liquid), more preferably 0.1 to 7 w.t. %, most preferably 0.25 to 5 w.t. % (Bentley at [0018]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 0.1% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Bentley teaches that the composition may contain any other ingredient normally used in hair treatment formulations, including further silicone or non-silicone hair conditioning oils. Generally these optional ingredients are included individually at a level of up to 5% by weight of the total composition (Bentley at [0156]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 0.5% to 3%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 2, Bentley teaches that hair treatment composition preferably comprises 0.01 to 10 w.t. % active pressure sensitive adhesive (i.e. not including the weight of the emulsion liquid), more preferably 0.1 to 7 w.t. %, most preferably 0.25 to 5 w.t. % (Bentley at [0018]). Bentley teaches that the composition may contain any other ingredient normally used in hair treatment formulations, including further silicone or non-silicone hair conditioning oils. Generally these optional ingredients are included individually at a level of up to 5% by weight of the total composition (Bentley at [0156]). Pressure sensitive adhesives and silicones in these ranges are able to be in a ratio of 4:1 to 1:4. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding instant claim 3, Bentley teaches that the total amount of anionic cleansing surfactant in compositions of the invention is generally from 1 to 30 w.t. %, preferably from 6 to 20 w.t. %, more preferably from 8 to 16 w.t. % (Bentley at [0045]).
Regarding instant claim 4, Bentley teaches that preferred acrylic pressure sensitive materials include Acudyne MD-5800 by Dow and Acudyne MD-5600 by Dow. (Bentley at [0034]).
Regarding instant claim 5, Bentley teaches that preferred acrylic pressure sensitive materials include Acudyne MD-5800 by Dow and Acudyne MD-5600 by Dow. (Bentley at [0034]).
Regarding instant claim 6, Bentley teaches that hair treatment composition preferably comprises 0.01 to 10 w.t. % active pressure sensitive adhesive (i.e. not including the weight of the emulsion liquid), more preferably 0.1 to 7 w.t. %, most preferably 0.25 to 5 w.t. % (Bentley at [0018]). Bentley teaches that the composition may contain any other ingredient normally used in hair treatment formulations, including further silicone or non-silicone hair conditioning oils. Generally these optional ingredients are included individually at a level of up to 5% by weight of the total composition (Bentley at [0156]). Pressure sensitive adhesives and silicones in these ranges are able to be in a ratio of 3:1 to 1:3. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding instant claim 7, Bentley teaches that hair treatment composition preferably comprises 0.01 to 10 w.t. % active pressure sensitive adhesive (i.e. not including the weight of the emulsion liquid), more preferably 0.1 to 7 w.t. %, most preferably 0.25 to 5 w.t. % (Bentley at [0018]). Bentley teaches that the composition may contain any other ingredient normally used in hair treatment formulations, including further silicone or non-silicone hair conditioning oils. Generally these optional ingredients are included individually at a level of up to 5% by weight of the total composition (Bentley at [0156]). Pressure sensitive adhesives and silicones in these ranges are able to be in a ratio of 2:1 to 1:2. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding instant claim 8, Bentley recites Table 3 which provides a composition which falls within the instantly claimed range for water of 50% to 98%.
Regarding instant claim 9, Bently recites a method of treating hair comprising the following steps; apply to hair a rinse off hair treatment composition, Leave on hair for less than one minute to 10 minutes Rinse composition off of hair (Bentley at claim 12).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No.11,103,438 in view of Akinpelu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20130344006 A1). The instant application recites a hair cleansing composition comprising: a 1% to 50% by weight of one or more cleansing surfactants; b 0.1% to 5% by weight of a pressure sensitive adhesive, said pressure sensitive adhesive being a random copolymer comprising i an acrylic group having a side chain with at least 4 carbons; and ii a Ci-C6 side chain acrylic; and c 0.5% to 3% by weight of a silicone.
The reference patent recites a rinse off hair treatment composition consisting of:
a. a pressure sensitive adhesive emulsion comprising an active pressure sensitive polymer, wherein the active pressure sensitive polymer is not a silicone pressure sensitive polymer, and wherein the active pressure sensitive polymer is an acrylic pressure sensitive copolymer having: i) an acrylic group having a side-chain with at least 4 carbons; and ii) an acrylic group having a C1-C6 side chain, b. at least one material selected from the group consisting of i) a hair conditioning agent; and ii) a hair cleansing agent, and c. a deposition polymer selected from the group consisting of cationic cellulose and cationic guar gum derivatives, d. water, and e. optionally, other ingredients; wherein the active pressure sensitive polymer is present at 0.01 to 10 wt. % in the rinse off hair treatment composition (‘438 at claim 1). The reference patent recites wherein the particle size of the pressure sensitive adhesive emulsion is 1 nm to 1 um (‘438 at claim 2). The reference patent recites wherein the acrylic group having a side chain with at least 4 carbons is butyl acrylate and the acrylic group having a C1-C6 side chain is methacrylic acid (‘438 at claim 3). The reference patent recites wherein the rinse off composition is a shampoo or conditioner composition (‘438 at claim 4). The reference patent recites which is a shampoo, wherein the pH is 7 or greater (‘438 at claim 5). The reference patent recites wherein the composition is a shampoo composition comprising a micellar structured liquid having a viscosity in the range of from 1,000 cPs to 15,000 cPs as measured on a Brookfield DV2T Helipath viscometer, at 30° C. using a RV5 spindle at 20 RPM (‘438 at claim 6). The reference patent recites wherein the composition is a conditioning composition comprising a micellar structured liquid having a viscosity in the range of from 1,000 cPs to 450,000 cPs at measured on a Brookfield DV2T Helipath viscometer, at room temperature, using a TA/TB bar spindle with a helical path at 0.5 RPM (‘438 at claim 7). The reference patent recites a method of treating hair comprising: applying to the hair a rinse off hair treatment composition as defined in claim 1, leaving the composition on the hair for less than one minute to 10 minutes, and rinsing the composition off of the hair (‘438 at claim 8). The reference patent recites wherein the acrylic group having a side chain with at least 4 carbons is selected from the group consisting of n-butyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, n-hexyl acrylate, isooctyl acrylate and dodecyl acrylate, and the acrylic group having a C1-C6 side chain is selected from the group consisting of acrylic acid, methyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, methacrylic acid, ethyl acrylate, and butyl acrylate (‘438 at claim 9). The reference patent recites herein the other ingredients are selected from the group consisting of cationic surfactants, suspending agents, thickeners, viscosity modifiers, silicone hair conditioning oils, non-silicone hair conditioning oils, preservatives, stabilizers to inhibit darkening, coloring agents, polyols, chelating agents, antioxidants, fragrances, perfuming agents, antimicrobials, sunscreens, lactic acid, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, cetearyl alcohol, an alkali metal salt, sodium hydroxide, carbomer, sodium laureth sulphate, and cocamidopropyl betaine (‘438 at claim 10).
The reference patent differs from the instant application insofar as it does not specifically teach the amounts for the silicone or the surfactants. The teachings of Akinpelu cure this deficit.
The teachings of Akinpelu are discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the silicone and surfactants of the hair care composition of reference patent ‘438 in the ranges that are taught by Akinpelu to be useful in haircare compositions. See MPEP 2144.07. One would have a reasonable expectation of success because both ‘438 and Akinpelu teach haircare compositions comprising pressure sensitive adhesives, silicone, water, and surfactants.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612