DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to the application filed on 04/23/2026.
Claims 1-25 and 31-35 are pending in this application, with claims 1,14,31 and 34 being independent.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 26-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The Applicant elects claims 1-25 without traverse in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 3,5,8,17-18,20 and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 3,17,33, the claim recites “. . or each channel metric of the set of channel metrics based on . .” which is unclear to relate to the claimed invention
In claims 5,18, the claim recites “. . the message indicating . .” which is unclear to relate to the claimed invention
In claims 8,20, the claim recites “. . or each channel metric of the set of channel metrics based on . .” which is unclear to relate to the claimed invention
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,14,31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Salem et al. (WO 2020/030848 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Salem”).
Regarding Claims 1,14,31 and 34, Salem discloses methods for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Salem Fig.1 Page:3-4,37-38 A UE) and a base station (Salem Fig.1 Page:3-4,37-38 A base station), comprising: receiving by the UE a plurality of downlink messages from a base station (Salem Fig.1 Page:3-4,37-38 The base station sends reference signals and the UE receives); transmitting by the UE, to the base station and received by the base station, a message comprising an indication of a level of correlation between a set of channel metrics associated with the plurality of downlink messages (Salem Fig.1 Page:3-4,37-38 The UE measure a level of correlations among the received signals and informs the base station); and communicating with the base station based at least in part on transmitting the message comprising the indication of the level of correlation between the set of channel metrics (Salem Fig.1 Page:3-4,37-38 The UE and base station communicates as per the feedback scheme).
Specifically for claims 31 and 34, Salem discloses an apparatus that includes a processor (Salem Fig.20 Page:40) and a memory (Salem Fig.20 Page:40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5,10,15-18,22,32-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem in view of KIM et al. (US 2010/0034114 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding claims 2,16 and 32, Salem discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem does not explicitly disclose transmitting a report message indicating at least a portion of the set of channel metrics based at least in part on whether the level of correlation between the set of channel metrics satisfies a threshold.
However, Kim from the same field of invention discloses transmitting a report message indicating at least a portion of the set of channel metrics based at least in part on whether the level of correlation between the set of channel metrics satisfies a threshold (Kim Para[0039-40] The difference between CQI1 and CQI2 is less than a threshold then only one CQI is sent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “transmitting a report message indicating at least a portion of the set of channel metrics based at least in part on whether the level of correlation between the set of channel metrics satisfies a threshold” as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to reducing CQI reporting overhead (Kim Para[0003]).
Regarding claims 3,17 and 33, Salem discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem does not explicitly disclose wherein the report message indicates a subset of channel metrics from the set of channel metrics, a single channel metric for a group of the set of channel metrics, or each channel metric of the set of channel metrics based at least in part on whether the level of correlation satisfies the threshold.
However, Kim from the same field of invention discloses wherein the report message indicates a subset of channel metrics from the set of channel metrics, a single channel metric for a group of the set of channel metrics (Kim Para[0039-40] Only one CQI is sent out of multiple), or each channel metric of the set of channel metrics based at least in part on whether the level of correlation satisfies the threshold (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “wherein the report message indicates a subset of channel metrics from the set of channel metrics, a single channel metric for a group of the set of channel metrics, or each channel metric of the set of channel metrics based at least in part on whether the level of correlation satisfies the threshold” as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to reducing CQI reporting overhead (Kim Para[0003]).
Regarding claims 4,15 and 35, Salem discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem does not explicitly disclose cancelling a report message for indicating the set of channel metrics based at least in part on the level of correlation between the set of channel metrics satisfying a threshold.
However, Kim from the same field of invention discloses cancelling a report message for indicating the set of channel metrics based at least in part on the level of correlation between the set of channel metrics satisfying a threshold (Kim Para[0039-40] The difference between CQI1 and CQI2 is higher than a threshold then all CQIs are sent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “cancelling a report message for indicating the set of channel metrics based at least in part on the level of correlation between the set of channel metrics satisfying a threshold” as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to reducing CQI reporting overhead (Kim Para[0003]).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Salem discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem does not explicitly disclose transmitting the message comprising the indication of the level of correlation in a first stage uplink control information message, the message indicating a report size for a second stage uplink control information message comprising at least a portion of channel state information.
However, Kim from the same field of invention discloses transmitting the message comprising the indication of the level of correlation in a first stage uplink control information message, the message indicating a report size for a second stage uplink control information message comprising at least a portion of channel state information (Kim Para[0008,0054-58] The multiple uplink control channel transmissions for CQIs and TB size).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “transmitting the message comprising the indication of the level of correlation in a first stage uplink control information message, the message indicating a report size for a second stage uplink control information message comprising at least a portion of channel state information” as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to reducing CQI reporting overhead (Kim Para[0003]).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Salem discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem does not explicitly disclose wherein the level of correlation fails to satisfy a threshold, the method further comprising: transmitting a full report based at least in part on the level of correlation failing to satisfy the threshold.
However, Kim from the same field of invention discloses wherein the level of correlation fails to satisfy a threshold, the method further comprising: transmitting a full report based at least in part on the level of correlation failing to satisfy the threshold (Kim Para[0039-40] The CQI is not sent when it is bad and less than a threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “wherein the level of correlation fails to satisfy a threshold, the method further comprising: transmitting a full report based at least in part on the level of correlation failing to satisfy the threshold” as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to reducing CQI reporting overhead (Kim Para[0003]).
Claims 6-7,9,19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem in view of Kim and further in view of WU et al. (US 2022/0286257 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Wu”).
Regarding claim 6, Salem in view of Kim discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first stage uplink control information message indicates a same compression level for a plurality of second stage uplink control information messages within a window.
However, Wu from the same field of invention discloses wherein the first stage uplink control information message indicates a same compression level for a plurality of second stage uplink control information messages within a window (Wu Para[0028,0091,0096] A measurement time window for compressed CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem and Kim to have the feature of “wherein the first stage uplink control information message indicates a same compression level for a plurality of second stage uplink control information messages within a window” as taught by Wu. The motivation would have been to reduce resource consumption (Wu Para[0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Salem in view of Kim and Wu discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Wu further discloses receiving control signaling from the base station indicating a duration of the window (Wu Para[0028,0096-99] A measurement time window).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem and Kim to have the feature of “receiving control signaling from the base station indicating a duration of the window” as taught by Wu. The motivation would have been to reduce resource consumption (Wu Para[0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Salem in view of Kim discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first stage uplink control information message indicates a same compression level for a plurality of second stage uplink control information messages within a window, the method further comprising: transmitting control signaling to the UE indicating a duration of the window.
However, Wu from the same field of invention discloses wherein the first stage uplink control information message indicates a same compression level for a plurality of second stage uplink control information messages within a window, the method further comprising: transmitting control signaling to the UE indicating a duration of the window (Wu Para[0028,0091,0096-98] A measurement time window for compressed CSI report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem and Kim to have the feature of “wherein the first stage uplink control information message indicates a same compression level for a plurality of second stage uplink control information messages within a window, the method further comprising: transmitting control signaling to the UE indicating a duration of the window” as taught by Wu. The motivation would have been to reduce resource consumption (Wu Para[0002]).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Salem in view of Kim discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the level of correlation satisfies a threshold (Kim Para[0039-40] The difference between CQI1 and CQI2 is higher or less than a threshold).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “wherein the level of correlation satisfies a threshold” as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to reducing CQI reporting overhead (Kim Para[0003]).
Salem in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: transmitting a compressed report based at least in part on the level of correlation satisfying the threshold; or cancelling a full report based at least in part on the level of correlation satisfying the threshold.
However, Wu from the same field of invention discloses the method further comprising: transmitting a compressed report based at least in part on the level of correlation satisfying the threshold (Wu Para[0028,0091,0096] A compressed CSI report meeting correlation); or cancelling a full report based at least in part on the level of correlation satisfying the threshold Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem and Kim to have the feature of “wherein the level of correlation satisfies a threshold, the method further comprising: transmitting a compressed report based at least in part on the level of correlation satisfying the threshold” as taught by Wu. The motivation would have been to reduce resource consumption (Wu Para[0002]).
Claim 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem in view of PARKVALL et al. (US 2024/0430044 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Parkvall”).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Salem discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem does not explicitly disclose receiving control signaling indicating a first set of resources associated with a compressed report for reporting the set of channel metrics and a second set of resources associated with a full report for reporting the set of channel metrics; and transmitting the compressed report via the first set of resources or the full report via the second set of resources based at least in part on the message comprising the indication.
However, Parkvall from the same field of invention discloses receiving control signaling indicating a first set of resources associated with a compressed report for reporting the set of channel metrics and a second set of resources associated with a full report for reporting the set of channel metrics; and transmitting the compressed report via the first set of resources or the full report via the second set of resources based at least in part on the message comprising the indication (Parkvall Para[0025,0081] The uplink resource sets for sending feedback for compressed or non-compressed (i.e. full) modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “receiving control signaling indicating a first set of resources associated with a compressed report for reporting the set of channel metrics and a second set of resources associated with a full report for reporting the set of channel metrics; and transmitting the compressed report via the first set of resources or the full report via the second set of resources based at least in part on the message comprising the indication” as taught by Parkvall. The motivation would have been to indicate resource used for feedback (Parkvall Para[0002]).
Claims 11-13 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2020/0136747 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Salem discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Salem does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the level of correlation corresponds to a first compression level of a plurality of compression levels.
However, Zhou from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the level of correlation corresponds to a first compression level of a plurality of compression levels (Zhou Para[0185-187] The Compression index (i.e. level)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the level of correlation corresponds to a first compression level of a plurality of compression levels” as taught by Zhou. The motivation would have been to increase feedback accuracy (Zhou Para[0003]).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Salem in view of Zhou discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Zhou further discloses receiving control signaling from the base station indicating the plurality of compression levels; and selecting the first compression level based at least in part on the level of correlation, wherein transmitting the message comprising the indication is based at least in part on the selecting (Zhou Para[0039-40,0191] The multiple compression index from the base station).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “receiving control signaling from the base station indicating the plurality of compression levels; and selecting the first compression level based at least in part on the level of correlation, wherein transmitting the message comprising the indication is based at least in part on the selecting” as taught by Zhou. The motivation would have been to increase feedback accuracy (Zhou Para[0003]).
Regarding claims 13 and 25, Salem in view of Zhou discloses the method for the UE, the method for the base station, the UE and the base station as explained in the claim 1. Zhou further discloses wherein each of the plurality of compression levels corresponds to a respective resource, the respective resource having a size associated with a respective compression level of the plurality of compression levels (Zhou Para[0039-40] The MCS selected based compression a compression index).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Salem to have the feature of “wherein each of the plurality of compression levels corresponds to a respective resource, the respective resource having a size associated with a respective compression level of the plurality of compression levels” as taught by Zhou. The motivation would have been to increase feedback accuracy (Zhou Para[0003]).
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Additional References
The following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0224006 to Faxer
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/defau1Vfiles/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415