DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 14-15, and 45-58 are currently pending in this US patent application and were examined on their merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed in this application on 03/07/2025 has been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 14-15, and 45-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese patent application CN 111202842 filed by Liu, published 05/29/2020, in view of US patent application publication 2009/0311237 filed by Frost, published 12/17/2009.
Liu teaches a method of administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a hyaluronidase and aspirin through intravenous injection to an individual with hyaluronic acid vascular embolism, solving the problems of slow recovery, accelerating retinal embolism or cerebral embolism, bruising, and blurred vision (see entire document, including abstract; paragraphs [0007], [0010], and [0036]; cf. claim 1, 14-15, 45, 50-52, and 57-58). The hyaluronidase composition can be administered for vascular embolism symptoms in the face following facial injection of hyaluronic acid (paragraph [0033]).
However, Liu does not teach the concentrations of hyaluronidase recited in instant claims 1, 6-8, 45, 47-49, 52, and 54-56 or the injection location as recited in instant claims 4, 46, and 53.
Frost teaches the subcutaneous administration of compositions comprising soluble hyaluronidase in a concentration of 10-5000000 U/mL (see entire document, including page 1, paragraph 0008, and page 2, paragraph 0015; cf. claims 1, 4, 6-8, 45-49, and 52-56).
While Liu does not teach the administration of the concentrations of hyaluronidase recited in the instant claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so in the method of Liu because Frost teaches that concentrations of up to 5000000 U/mL of hyaluronidase can be administered to patients through injection. While Liu does not teach the administration of the hyaluronidase composition to a dermal portion of a skin region, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the composition to any location experiencing vascular occlusion as a result of hyaluronic acid injection, including the dermal region of the face, as taught by Liu. In addition, Frost teaches that hyaluronidase compositions may be injected subcutaneously. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that administering a hyaluronidase composition containing the concentration taught by Frost to the face of a patient experiencing vascular occlusion following hyaluronic acid administration as taught by Liu would successfully result in the amelioration of the vascular occlusion and the prevention of further ramifications of said occlusion in the patient.
Therefore, claims 1, 4, 6-8, 14-15, and 45-58 are rendered obvious by Liu in view of Frost and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation…103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions……the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-8, 14-15, 45, 47-52, and 54-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11878051. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘051 recite the administration of hyaluronidase to a specific tissue for the treatment of a blood vessel blockage, whereas the cited instant claims recite the administration of hyaluronidase to any tissue to treat a blood vessel blockage. As such, the instant claims are ‘anticipated’ by the cited claims of ‘051 and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1, 6-8, 14-15, 45, 47-52, and 54-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11890331. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘331 recite the administration of hyaluronidase to a specific tissue for the treatment of a blood vessel blockage, whereas the cited instant claims recite the administration of hyaluronidase to any tissue to treat a blood vessel blockage. As such, the instant claims are ‘anticipated’ by the cited claims of ‘331 and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1, 6-8, 14-15, 45, 47-52, and 54-58 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/392498. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘498 recite the administration of hyaluronidase to a specific tissue for the treatment of a blood vessel blockage, whereas the cited instant claims recite the administration of hyaluronidase to any tissue to treat a blood vessel blockage. As such, the instant claims are ‘anticipated’ by the cited claims of ‘498 and are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Erin M. Bowers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653 02/23/2026