REMARKS
1. On pages 7-8 of the remark Applicant argued prior art Wang does not mention the number of serving cells
In response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior art Wang at [0071]; [0110] discloses the network device configures 4 serving cell configurations for the terminal device through the RRC dedicated signaling, and each serving cell configuration includes 4 dedicated BWP configurations. Here RRC dedicated signaling corresponding to first indication and 4 serving cells corresponding to number of serving cells. Prior art Wang at [0115]-[01116] discloses there are four activated BWPs, of which BWP1 is associated with gap1, BWP2 is associated with gap2, BWP3 is associated with gap3, and BWP4 has no associated gap. Then, a gap with the highest priority is selected from gap1, gap2 and gap3 as the final activated or enabled measurement gap. Here priority of the gap associated with a particular cell corresponding to a state of the measurement gap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 recites the limitation "….the measurement gap…." at line 2 in claim 4. It is not clear from the claim language if the claimed measurement gap is the measurement gap as claimed at line 1 in claim 1 or the measurement gap as claimed at line 5 in claim 1 and therefore scope of the claim is not clear
Claim 9 recites the limitation "….the measurement gap…." at line 2 in claim 9. It is not clear from the claim language if the claimed measurement gap is the measurement gap as claimed at line 1 in claim 6 or the measurement gap as claimed at line 5 in claim 6 and therefore scope of the claim is not clear
Claim 14 recites the limitation "….the measurement gap…." at line 3 in claim 14. It is not clear from the claim language if the claimed measurement gap is the measurement gap as claimed at lines 3-4 in claim 11 or the measurement gap as claimed at line 6 in claim 11 and therefore scope of the claim is not clear
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-15 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No US 2017/0064576 to Kusashima et al. (hereinafter Kusashima) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2023/0328571 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)
As to claims 1, 6, 11, 15, 21 and 22, Kusashima discloses a method for scheduling a measurement gap, performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving first indication information for indicating a state of the measurement gap (Kusashima; [0317]; discloses the base station device transmits a measurement configuration message to the terminal device by using an RRC connection reconfiguration message of RRC signaling (radio resource control signal) and [0319] discloses the measurement configuration message includes a measurement gap. [0321] discloses the measurement gap configuration (meas Gap Config) is utilized for controlling a configuration of a measurement gap pattern and activation/deactivation of a measurement gap. In the measurement gap configuration (meas Gap Config), a gap pattern, a start system frame number (start SFN), and a start subframe number are notified as information in the case of activating the measurement gap).
Kusashima discloses a terminal device receiving indication that indicates measurement gap configuration, but fails to disclose wherein the first indication information indicates a state of a measurement gap of each of the serving cell. However, Wang discloses
wherein the first indication information is able to indicate a number of serving cells and a state of a measurement gap on each of the serving cells (Wang; [0071]; [0110] discloses the network device configures 4 serving cell configurations for the terminal device through the RRC dedicated signaling, and each serving cell configuration includes 4 dedicated BWP configurations. Here RRC dedicated signaling corresponding to first indication and 4 serving cells corresponding to number of serving cells. [0115]-[01116] discloses there are four activated BWPs, of which BWP1 is associated with gap1, BWP2 is associated with gap2, BWP3 is associated with gap3, and BWP4 has no associated gap. Then, a gap with the highest priority is selected from gap1, gap2 and gap3 as the final activated or enabled measurement gap. Here priority of the gap associated with a particular cell corresponding to a state of the measurement gap).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to select a measurement gap based on the priority and thus use the limited resources in an effective way
As to claims 3, 8 and 13, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kusashima-Wang discloses wherein receiving the first indication information comprises:
receiving the first indication information based on a measurement gap configuration signaling (Kusashima; [0321] discloses the measurement gap configuration (meas Gap Config) is utilized for controlling a configuration of a measurement gap pattern and activation/deactivation of a measurement gap. In the measurement gap configuration (meas Gap Config), a gap pattern, a start system frame number (start SFN), and a start subframe number are notified as information in the case of activating the measurement gap)
As to claims 4, 9 and 14, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kusashima-Wang discloses further comprising:
activating or deactivating the measurement gap based on the state of the measurement gap in the first indication information (Kusashima; [0321] discloses the measurement gap configuration (meas Gap Config) is utilized for controlling a configuration of a measurement gap pattern and activation/deactivation of a measurement gap. In the measurement gap configuration (meas Gap Config), a gap pattern, a start system frame number (start SFN), and a start subframe number are notified as information in the case of activating the measurement gap)
As to claims 5 and 23, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kusashima-Wang discloses further comprising:
receiving second indication information for indicating a switched BWP (Wang; [0057] discloses a terminal device in an RRC connected state, the terminal device may be configured with up to 4 uplink BWPs and up to 4 downlink BWPs through RRC dedicated signaling, but only one uplink BWP and one downlink BWP may be activated at a time. The first activated BWP of the configured BWPs may be indicated in the RRC dedicated signaling. Meanwhile, the terminal device, when being in the RRC connected state, may switch among different BWPs through Downlink Control Information (DCI)); and
activating or deactivating a measurement gap corresponding to the switched BWP based on a state of the measurement gap corresponding to the switched BWP in the second indication information (Wang; [0075] discloses when the terminal device is switched to a dedicated BWP, if the dedicated BWP is configured with an associated pre-configured measurement gap, the terminal device takes the pre-configured measurement gap as a measurement gap associated with the dedicated BWP and ignores a measurement gap configured in the MeasConfig. If the dedicated BWP is not configured with the associated pre-configured measurement gap, the terminal device takes the measurement gap configured in the MeasConfig as the measurement gap associated with the dedicated BWP)
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kusashima-Wang discloses further comprising:
transmitting second indication information for indicating a switched BWP (Wang; [0057] discloses a terminal device in an RRC connected state, the terminal device may be configured with up to 4 uplink BWPs and up to 4 downlink BWPs through RRC dedicated signaling, but only one uplink BWP and one downlink BWP may be activated at a time. The first activated BWP of the configured BWPs may be indicated in the RRC dedicated signaling. Meanwhile, the terminal device, when being in the RRC connected state, may switch among different BWPs through Downlink Control Information (DCI))
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478