DETAILED ACTION
The amendment, filed on 07/20/2026, has been received, entered, and made of record. Claims 12-13 and 15-20 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/20/2026, with respect to specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive because the title has been amended to correct the objection. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive because claims have been amended to correct the rejections. Therefore, the claim rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior art(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 14 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. US 2021/0321357 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Shrestha) in view of Liu US 2020/0205122 A1.
Referring to claim 1, Shrestha discloses a first device (figs.1 and 8, UE 115), comprising:
at least one processor (fig.8, Processor 840); and
at least one memory (fig.8, Memory 830) including computer program code (fig.8, computer-executable code 835), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor ([0168] and [0170]), cause the first device registered in a first tracking area ([0021]) to:
receive, from a second device (figs.1-4, satellite 120) serving as a cell for the first tracking area and a second tracking area (fig.3, second cell 310), second identification information for monitoring a second paging message associated with the second tracking area ([0005], [0082], [0091], [0097], and [0217]-[0219]) (Note: UE 115 receives, from a satellite serving as a cell for a first earth-fixed tracking area and a second earth-fixed tracking area, a second tracking area indicator (second identification information) for monitoring a paging message associated with the second earth-fixed tracking area);
determine, based on the second identification information, the second identification information is not associated with the first tracking area ([0219]) (Note: the UE 115 determines that the first earth-fixed tracking area is associated with the first tracking
area indicator and second earth-fixed tracking area associated with the second tracking area indicator. Thus, the second tracking area indicator associated with the second tracking area indicator is not associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area); and
based on the determining, refrain from monitoring, from the second device, the second paging message associated with the second tracking area ([0221]) (Note: the UE only monitors paging resources (for paging message) associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area based on determining that the UE was associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area and the second tracking area indicator is not associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area. Thus, the UE refrains from monitoring, from the satellite, a paging resource carrying the paging message associated with the second tracking area).
Shrestha fails to explicitly disclose channel carrying paging message.
However, in the field of endeavor of device art, Liu discloses a channel carrying paging message ([0045]) (Note: the UE may obtain the paging message by monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Shrestha with the concept of Liu to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide high reliability, minimal network congestion, and improve battery efficiency.
Referring to claim 2, Shrestha in view of Liu discloses the first device of claim 1.
Shrestha further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to:
receive, from the second device, configuration information about mapping between first identification information and the first tracking area; and wherein determining that the second identification information is not associated with the first tracking area comprises: determine, based on the configuration information and the second identification information, that the second identification information corresponds to the second tracking area ([0102] and [0152]-[0154]) (Note: the UE is configured to store tracking area indicators in association with the earth-fixed tracking areas based on the system information (SIB) received from the satellite; wherein the UE determines, based on the SIB, that the second tracking area indicator corresponds to the second earth-fixed area not the first earth-fixed area).
Referring to claim 3, Shrestha in view of Liu discloses the first device of claim 2.
Shrestha discloses wherein the first identification information comprises at least one of following:
an index of the first tracking area ([0081]) (Note: the first identification information comprises an earth-fixed tracking area indicator (e.g., first TAC) associated with a first earth-fixed tracking area),
Referring to claim 5, Shrestha in view of Liu discloses the first device of claim 1.
Shrestha discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: reselect to the cell, the cell broadcasting a code of the first tracking area and a second code of the second tracking area ([0098]-[0099] and [0105]) (Note: at time 2, the UE reselects to the cell 310-b, wherein the satellite may transmit a SIB message that includes a first tracking area indicator (e.g., first TAC) for the first earth-fixed tracking area 305-a and a second tracking area indicator (e.g., second TAC) for the second earth-fixed tracking area 305-b).
Referring to claim 6, Shrestha in view of Liu discloses the first device of claim 1.
Shrestha further discloses wherein the first device comprises a terminal device (figs.1 and 8, UE 115), and the second device comprises an access network device (figs.1-4, satellite 120).
Referring to claim 8, Shrestha discloses a second device (figs.1 and 12, base station 105) serving as a cell for a first tracking area and a second tracking area (fig.2, cell 310-b), the second device comprising:
at least one processor (fig.12, processor 1240); and
at least one memory (fig.12, memory 1230) including computer program code (fig.12, code 1235), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device to:
transmit, to a first device (figs.1 and 8, UE 115) registered to the first tracking area ([0021]), configuration information indicating a first mapping between first identification information and the first tracking area and a second mapping between second identification information and the second tracking area ([0102] and [0152]-[0154]) (Note: the UE is configured to store tracking area indicators in association with the earth-fixed tracking areas based on the system information (SIB) received from the satellite), the configuration information configured to:
enable the first device to monitor a first paging message associated with the first tracking area ([0221]) (Note: the system information enables the UE to only monitor paging resources (for paging message) associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area based on determining that the UE was associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area); and
enable the first device to refrain from monitoring a second paging message associated with the second tracking area ([0221]) (Note: the system information enables the UE to only monitor paging resources (for paging message) associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area based on determining that the UE was associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area and the second tracking area indicator is not associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area. Thus, the UE refrains from monitoring, from the satellite, a paging resource carrying the paging message associated with the second tracking area);
broadcast, in the cell, at least one of the first identification information for monitoring the first paging message and the second identification information for monitoring the second paging message ([0233]-[0234]) (Note: the base station may transmit, to a UE, system information that includes an indication that a first cell of an NTN is associated with a first tracking area indicator and a second tracking area indicator); and
broadcast, in the cell, at least one of the first paging message based on the first identification information and the second paging message based on the second identification information ([0236]) (Note: the base station may transmit one or more first paging messages associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area and one or more second paging messages associated with the second earth-fixed tracking area based on determining that the first cell serves the first earth-fixed tracking area and the second earth-fixed tracking area).
Shrestha fails to explicitly disclose channel carrying paging message.
However, in the field of endeavor of device art, Liu discloses a channel carrying paging message ([0045]) (Note: the UE may obtain the paging message by monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the device of Shrestha with the concept of Liu to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide high reliability, minimal network congestion, and improve battery efficiency.
Referring to claim 9, Shrestha in view of Liu discloses the second device of claim 8.
Shrestha further discloses wherein the second device is caused to broadcast the second paging message based on the configuration information ([0236]) (Note: the base station may transmit one or more first paging messages associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area and one or more second paging messages associated with the second earth-fixed tracking area based on determining that the first cell serves the first earth-fixed tracking area and the second earth-fixed tracking area).
Referring to claim 10, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 3 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 11, Shrestha in view of Liu discloses the second device of claim 8.
Shrestha further discloses wherein the first device comprises a terminal device (figs.1 and 8, UE 115), and the second device comprises an access network device (figs.1 and 12, base station 105).
Referring to claim 14, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 21, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Shrestha further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device registered in a first tracking area to:
receive, from a second device serving as a cell for the first tracking area and a second tracking area, first identification information for monitoring a first paging message associated with the first tracking area ([0005], [0082], [0091], [0097], and [0217]-[0219]) (Note: UE 115 receives, from a satellite serving as a cell for a first earth-fixed tracking area and a second earth-fixed tracking area, a first tracking area indicator (first identification information) for monitoring a paging message associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area);
determine, based on the first identification information, the first identification information is associated with the first tracking area ([0219]) (Note: the UE 115 determines that the first earth-fixed tracking area is associated with the first tracking
area indicator and second earth-fixed tracking area associated with the second tracking area indicator); and
based on the determining, monitor, from the second device, the first paging message associated with the first tracking area ([0221]) (Note: the UE only monitors paging resources (for paging message) associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area based on determining that the UE was associated with the first earth-fixed tracking area).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha in view of Liu, and further in view of BERGGREN et al. US 2023/0092687 A1 (hereinafter referred to as BERGGREN).
Referring to claim 4, Shrestha in view of Liu discloses the first device of claim 1, except wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: transmit, to a third device, an indication that the first device has capability for receiving identification information based on the first tracking area; and receive, from the third device, an indication that the receiving of the identification information is activated.
However, in the same field of endeavor, BERGGREN discloses a concept wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to:
transmit, to a third device (figs.5 and 11, Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 131), an indication that the first device has capability for receiving identification information based on the first tracking area ([0143]-[0144]) (Note: The UE 101 transmits a control message 4051 that is indicative of its capability to support WUS operation based on the paging area);
and receive, from the third device, an indication that the receiving of the identification information is activated ([0146]) (Note: the AMF 131 provides a WUS configuration as part of a respective control message 4052 to the UE 101. Optionally, the control message 4052 can include data that is indicative of the WUS activation information 791, i.e., provided by the AMF 131 to the UE 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Shrestha in view of Liu with the concept as taught by BERGGREN. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduce signaling load which optimizes network performance and power consumption.
Referring to claim 7, Shrestha in view of Liu and BERGGREN discloses the first device of claim 4. BERGGREN discloses wherein the third device comprises a core network device (figs.5 and 11, Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Shrestha in view of Liu with a core network device as taught by BERGGREN. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to deliver traffic between different subnetworks and data centers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683