DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 03/19/2024, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-14 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BERGGREN et al. (hereinafter referred to as BERGGREN, US 2023/0092687 A1).
Referring to claim 1, BERGGREN discloses a first device (figs.6 and 11-12, wireless communication device (UE) 101), comprising:
at least one processor (fig.6, control circuitry 1012); and
at least one memory (fig.6, memory 1013) including computer program code ([0101]) (Note: program code loaded on the memory 1013);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor ([0101]), cause the first device in a tracking area (fig.9, paging area 700) to:
receive, from a second device (figs.4 and 11-12, base station (BS) 112), identification information for monitoring a paging message associated with the tracking area, the first device being registered in the tracking area ([0038], [0041], [0079], fig.10 and [0139]-[0140]) (Note: UE 101 receives, from a base station 112, wake-up signal (WUS) (identification information) for monitoring a paging message associated with the paging area (tracking area), the UE being registered in the paging area); and
monitor, from the second device, the paging message based on the received identification information (fig.10 and [0140]-[0142]) (Note: the UE monitors the paging message, from the base station, based on the received wake-up signal (WUS)).
Referring to claim 2, BERGGREN discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to:
receive, from the second device, configuration information about mapping between the identification information and the tracking area ([0012], [0138], and [0146]) (Note: UE receives, from the base station, WUS configuration about mapping between the WUS and cell(s) in the paging area); and
wherein the first device is caused to monitor the paging message by: monitoring the paging message based on the configuration information (fig.10 and [0140]-[0142]) (Note: the UE monitors the paging message, from the base station, based on the wake-up signal (WUS) configuration).
Referring to claim 3, BERGGREN discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the identification information comprises at least one of following: wake-up signals, ([0006]) (Note: the identification information comprises wake-up signals (WUS)).
Referring to claim 4, BERGGREN discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to:
transmit, to a third device (figs.5 and 11, Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 131), an indication that the first device has capability for receiving the identification information based on the tracking area ([0143]-[0144]) (Note: The UE 101 transmits a control message 4051 that is indicative of its capability to support WUS operation based on the paging area); and
receive, from the third device, an indication that the receiving of the identification information is activated ([0146]) (Note: the AMF 131 provides a WUS configuration as part of a respective control message 4052 to the UE 101. Optionally, the control message 4052 can include data that is indicative of the WUS activation information 791, i.e., provided by the AMF 131 to the UE 101).
Referring to claim 6, BERGGREN discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises a terminal device (figs.6 and 11-12, wireless communication device (UE) 101), and the second device comprises an access network device (figs.4 and 11-12, base station (BS) 112).
Referring to claim 7, BERGGREN discloses the first device of claim 4, wherein the third device comprises a core network device (figs.5 and 11, Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 131).
Referring to claim 8, BERGGREN discloses a second device (figs.4 and 11-12, base station (BS) 112), comprising:
at least one processor (fig.4, control circuitry 1122); and
at least one memory (fig.4, memory 1123) including computer program code ([0099]) (Note: program code loaded from the memory 1123); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, ([0099]) cause the second device to:
transmit, to a first device (figs.6 and 11-12, wireless communication device (UE) 101) in a tracking area (fig.9, paging area 700), identification information for monitoring a paging message associated with the tracking area, the first device being registered in the tracking area ([0038], [0041], [0079], fig.10 and [0139]-[0140]) (Note: UE 101 receives, from a base station 112, wake-up signal (WUS) (identification information) for monitoring a paging message associated with the paging area (tracking area), the UE being registered in the paging area); and
transmit, to the first device, the paging message based on the identification information (fig.10 and [0140]-[0142]) (Note: the UE receives the paging message, from the base station, based on the received wake-up signal (WUS)).
Referring to claim 9, BERGGREN discloses the second device of claim 8, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to:
transmit, to the first device, configuration information about mapping between the identification information and the tracking area ([0012], [0138], and [0146]) (Note: UE receives, from the base station, WUS configuration about mapping between the WUS and cell(s) in the paging area); and
wherein the second device is caused to transmit the paging message by: transmitting the paging message based on the configuration information (fig.10 and [0140]-[0142]) (Note: the UE receives the paging message, from the base station, based on the wake-up signal (WUS) configuration).
Referring to claim 10, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 3 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 11, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 6 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 12, BERGGREN discloses a third device (figs.5 and 11, Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 131), comprising:
at least one processor (fig.5, control circuitry 1312); and
at least one memory (fig.5, memory 1313) including computer program code ([0100]) (Note: program code loaded from the memory 1313); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor ([0100]), cause the third device to:
receive, from a first device (figs.6 and 11-12, wireless communication device (UE) 101) in a tracking area (fig.9, paging area 700), an indication that the first device has capability for receiving identification information based on the tracking area, the identification information being used for monitoring a paging message associated with the tracking area, the first device being registered in the tracking area ([0038], [0041], [0079], fig.10, [0139]-[0140] and [0143]-[0144]) (Note: The UE 101 transmits a control message 4051 that is indicative of its capability to support WUS operation based on the paging area; wherein the WUS (identification information) being used for monitoring a paging message associated with the paging area (tracking area), and the UE being registered in the paging area); and
transmit, to the first device, an indication that the receiving of the identification information is activated ([0146]) (Note: the AMF 131 provides a WUS configuration as part of a respective control message 4052 to the UE 101. Optionally, the control message 4052 can include data that is indicative of the WUS activation information 791, i.e., provided by the AMF 131 to the UE 101).
Referring to claim 13, BERGGREN discloses the third device of claim 12, wherein the first device comprises a terminal device (figs.6 and 11-12, wireless communication device (UE) 101), the second device comprises an access network device (figs.4 and 11-12, base station (BS) 112), and the third device comprises a core network device (figs.5 and 11, Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 131).
Referring to claim 14, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over BERGGREN in view of Kuang et al. (hereinafter referred to as Kuang, US 2024/0031972 A1).
Referring to claim 5, Selvaganapathy discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: reselect a cell and wherein the first device is caused to monitor the paging message by: monitoring the paging message for the tracking area (fig.10 and [0136]-[0141]) (Note: the UE reselects a cell for monitoring the paging message for the paging area when WUS has not been received or paging indicator is not received for the current cell).
BERGGREN fails to explicitly disclose the cell broadcasting a code of the tracking area and a further code of a further tracking area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kuang discloses the cell broadcasting a code of the tracking area and a further code of a further tracking area ([0154] and [0174]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify BERGGREN with a concept wherein the cell broadcasting a code of the tracking area and a further code of a further tracking area as taught by Kuang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduced signaling load which optimizes network performance.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683