Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on pages 6-9, filed 7/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13, 16-17, and 20-24 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. U.S. Publication No. 20220182986 to Chen et al in view U.S. Publication No. 20230054786 to Islam et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63234966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, 12, 16, 17, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. U.S. Publication No. 20220182986 to Chen et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230054786 to Islam et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63234966).
Referring to claim 1, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 disclose a method for determining an initial BWP, performed by a terminal (UE), the method comprising:
Determining an initial BWP (target initial BWP) to be monitored in a cell the terminal camping on from a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP (a plurality of initial BWPs, which include the claimed “a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP”) configured by a network device (BS in S201). UE obtains information about a cell by using a cell defined SSB and accesses the cell according to the method of Figure 2. Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE, wherein the first indication information indicates configuration of a plurality of initial BWPs. Step S202: UE determines a target BWP from the plurality of initial BWPs based on the first indication information. Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP. Section 0106: Figure 2 discloses a camping operation of when UE is camping on a cell, wherein UE monitors the paging message in the target BWP.
Wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises:
In a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB … a paging … (paging message), determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP. Sections 0010, 0106, 0125, 0126, and 0140: BS transmits a first indication to UE on a PBCH and UE reads the PBCH when obtaining the first indication using a SSB. Using the SSB, UE can camp in the target BWP (claimed “second initial BWP), or first camp in the first initial BWP and then determine whether to switch to another BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”); (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB …, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”). Also, in Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”) and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with … a paging …, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”).
Or, in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the first initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Chen et al do not disclose … wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises: in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP; or in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the first initial BWP.
Islam et al disclose in Figures 1-14 a method of signaling using multiple BWPs for a UE, including a shared initial BWP, a separate initial BWP, and an active BWP (the active BWP reads on the claimed “the second initial BWP”). Sections 0010, 0035, 0043, 0061, 0094, 0108, 0141, 0160, 0169, 0174, 0186, 0189, 0200, and 0202-0204: UE receives SSBs on the shared initial BWP, the separate initial BWP, and the active BWP; the active BWP includes SSBs (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB …, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”). Sections 0010, 0035, 0043, 0174, and 0203: If the active BWP is configured with a paging search space, UE receives a PDCCH on the paging search space (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with … a paging search space, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”); if the active BWP is not configured with a paging search space, UE may periodically switch to the separate initial BWP to receive paging messages. So: UE monitors the active BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”), when the active BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”). Refer to Sections 0032-0216. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises: in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP; or in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the first initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can determine to monitor a second initial BWP based on the second initial BWP being configured with a SSB and a paging search space, thereby facilitating the process of UE camping on a particular initial BWP.
Referring to claim 3, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises:
Receiving (step S201) first indication information from the network device (BS). Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE.
Determining (step S202) the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on based on the first indication information. Step S202: UE determines a target BWP from a plurality of initial BWPs based on the first indication information. Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP. Section 0106: Figure 2 discloses a camping operation of when UE is camping on a cell, wherein UE monitors the paging message in the target BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Referring to claim 4, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises: determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on based on a predefined rule (preset camping rules of Sections 0113-0117 and 0153-0155). Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE, wherein the first indication information indicates a preset camping rule that UE uses to determine a target BWP from a plurality of initial BWPs. Section 0116: The camping rule is determining the mapping relationship between UE and the initial BWP; the first indication information generated based on the mapping relationship indicates that a target BWP of the first-type UE is the initial BWP of 5M and a target BWP of the second-type UE is the initial BWP of 10M. Section 0154: A camping rule can be a camping formula Mode(UE_ID, n); after receiving parameters n and m that are sent by BS, UE inputs the parameter n into the formula Mode(UE_ID, n), and compares a result of Mode(UE_ID, n) with the parameter m; if the result of Mode(UE_ID, n) is less than m, the target BWP of UE is the first initial BWP and if the result of Mode(UE_ID, n) is greater than or equal to m, the target BWP of UE is the second initial BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Referring to claim 9, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises: determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the first initial BWP. UE obtains information about a cell by using a cell defined SSB and accesses the cell according to the method of Figure 2. Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE. Step S202: UE determines a target BWP from a plurality of initial BWPs (which include the claimed “a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP”) based on the first indication information, so the determined target BWP can be the claimed “first initial BWP”. Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP (the claimed “first initial BWP”) and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP (the claimed “first initial BWP”). Section 0106: Figure 2 discloses a camping operation of when UE is camping on a cell, wherein UE monitors the paging message in the target BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Referring to claim 11, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 further comprising at least one of: performing a SSB measurement on the initial BWP to be monitored (not in reference; claim is in “or” form); or receiving a paging message on the initial BWP to be monitored (step S203). Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE. Step S202: UE determines a target BWP from a plurality of initial BWPs based on the first indication information. Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Referring to claim 12, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 a method for determining an BWP, performed by a network device (BS), the method comprising:
Configuring (step S201) a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP (a plurality of initial BWPs, which include the claimed “a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP”) for a terminal (UE).
Sending (step S201) first indication information to the terminal, wherein the first indication information indicates an initial BWP (target initial BWP) to be monitored in a cell the terminal camping on. UE obtains information about a cell by using a cell defined SSB and accesses the cell according to the method of Figure 2. Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE, which includes the configuration of a plurality of initial BWPs. Step S202: UE determines a target BWP from the plurality of initial BWPs based on the first indication information. Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP. Section 0106: Figure 2 discloses a camping operation of when UE is camping on a cell, wherein UE monitors the paging message in the target BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises:
In a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB … a paging … (paging message), the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP. Sections 0010, 0106, 0125, 0126, and 0140: BS transmits a first indication to UE on a PBCH and UE reads the PBCH when obtaining the first indication using a SSB. Using the SSB, UE can camp in the target BWP (claimed “second initial BWP), or first camp in the first initial BWP and then determine whether to switch to another BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”); (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB …, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP”). Also, in Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”) and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with … a paging …, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP”).
Or, in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as first second initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Chen et al do not disclose … wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises: in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP; or in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the first initial BWP.
Islam et al disclose in Figures 1-14 a method of signaling using multiple BWPs for a UE, including a shared initial BWP, a separate initial BWP, and an active BWP (the active BWP reads on the claimed “the second initial BWP”). Sections 0010, 0035, 0043, 0061, 0094, 0108, 0141, 0160, 0169, 0174, 0186, 0189, 0200, and 0202-0204: UE receives SSBs on the shared initial BWP, the separate initial BWP, and the active BWP; the active BWP includes SSBs (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB …, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP”). Sections 0010, 0035, 0043, 0174, and 0203: If the active BWP is configured with a paging search space, UE receives a PDCCH on the paging search space (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with … a paging search space, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP”); if the active BWP is not configured with a paging search space, UE may periodically switch to the separate initial BWP to receive paging messages. So: UE monitors the active BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”), when the active BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP”). Refer to Sections 0032-0216. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on comprises: in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the second initial BWP; or in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is determined by the terminal as the first initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can determine to monitor a second initial BWP based on the second initial BWP being configured with a SSB and a paging search space, thereby facilitating the process of UE camping on a particular initial BWP.
Referring to claim 16, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 a terminal device (UE) for determining an initial BWP, comprising:
A processor (processing module 13, processor 41).
A memory (storage module 12, memory 42) for storing processor executable instructions. Processing module 13 executes instructions stored in storage module 12 to perform UE functions. Processor 41 executes instructions stored in memory 42 to perform UE functions.
Wherein the processor is configured to: determine an initial BWP (target initial BWP) to be monitored in a cell the terminal camping on from a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP (a plurality of initial BWPs, which include the claimed “a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP”) configured by a network device (BS in S201). UE obtains information about a cell by using a cell defined SSB and accesses the cell according to the method of Figure 2. Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE, wherein the first indication information indicates configuration of a plurality of initial BWPs. Step S202: UE determines a target BWP from the plurality of initial BWPs based on the first indication information. Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP. Section 0106: Figure 2 discloses a camping operation of when UE is camping on a cell, wherein UE monitors the paging message in the target BWP.
The processor is further configured to:
In a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB … a paging … (paging message), determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP. Sections 0010, 0106, 0125, 0126, and 0140: BS transmits a first indication to UE on a PBCH and UE reads the PBCH when obtaining the first indication using a SSB. Using the SSB, UE can camp in the target BWP (claimed “second initial BWP), or first camp in the first initial BWP and then determine whether to switch to another BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”); (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB …, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”). Also, in Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”) and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with … a paging …, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”).
Or, in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the first initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Chen et al do not disclose … in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP; or in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the first initial BWP.
Islam et al disclose in Figures 1-14 a method of signaling using multiple BWPs for a UE, including a shared initial BWP, a separate initial BWP, and an active BWP (the active BWP reads on the claimed “the second initial BWP”). Sections 0010, 0035, 0043, 0061, 0094, 0108, 0141, 0160, 0169, 0174, 0186, 0189, 0200, and 0202-0204: UE receives SSBs on the shared initial BWP, the separate initial BWP, and the active BWP; the active BWP includes SSBs (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB …, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”). Sections 0010, 0035, 0043, 0174, and 0203: If the active BWP is configured with a paging search space, UE receives a PDCCH on the paging search space (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with … a paging search space, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”); if the active BWP is not configured with a paging search space, UE may periodically switch to the separate initial BWP to receive paging messages. So: UE monitors the active BWP (claimed “second initial BWP”), when the active BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space (claimed “in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP”). Refer to Sections 0032-0216. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … in a case that the second initial BWP is configured with a SSB and a paging search space, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the second initial BWP; or in a case that the second initial BWP is not configured with an SSB and a paging search space, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on is the first initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can determine to monitor a second initial BWP based on the second initial BWP being configured with a SSB and a paging search space, thereby facilitating the process of UE camping on a particular initial BWP.
Referring to claim 17, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 a network device (BS) for determining an initial BWP, comprising:
A processor (processing module 23, processor 51).
A memory (storage module 22, memory 52) for storing processor executable instructions.
Wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 12. Processing module 23 executes instructions stored in storage module 22 to perform BS functions. Processor 51 executes instructions stored in memory 52 to perform BS functions. Refer to the rejection of claim 12.
Referring to claim 21, wherein the processor is further configured to:
Receive (step S201) first indication information from the network device (BS). Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE.
Determine (step S202) the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on based on the first indication information. Step S202: UE determines a target BWP from a plurality of initial BWPs based on the first indication information. Step S203: UE monitors for a paging message in the target BWP and BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP. Section 0106: Figure 2 discloses a camping operation of when UE is camping on a cell, wherein UE monitors the paging message in the target BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Referring to claim 22, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the cell the terminal camping on based on a predefined rule (preset camping rules of Sections 0113-0117 and 0153-0155). Step S201: BS sends first indication information to UE, wherein the first indication information indicates a preset camping rule that UE uses to determine a target BWP from a plurality of initial BWPs. Section 0116: The camping rule is determining the mapping relationship between UE and the initial BWP; the first indication information generated based on the mapping relationship indicates that a target BWP of the first-type UE is the initial BWP of 5M and a target BWP of the second-type UE is the initial BWP of 10M. Section 0154: A camping rule can be a camping formula Mode(UE_ID, n); after receiving parameters n and m that are sent by BS, UE inputs the parameter n into the formula Mode(UE_ID, n), and compares a result of Mode(UE_ID, n) with the parameter m; if the result of Mode(UE_ID, n) is less than m, the target BWP of UE is the first initial BWP and if the result of Mode(UE_ID, n) is greater than or equal to m, the target BWP of UE is the second initial BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Claims 5-8, 10, 13, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. U.S. Publication No. 20220182986 to Chen et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230054786 to Islam et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240137827 to Li et al.
Referring to claim 5, Chen et al and Islam et al do not disclose further comprising: determining an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on, wherein the initial BWP comprises a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS (claimed “determining an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on”). The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “wherein the initial BWP comprises a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP”; claim is in “or” form so only one of the claimed “a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP” is indicated in the handover command). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: determining an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on, wherein the initial BWP comprises a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Referring to claim 6, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein determining the initial BWP to monitored in the … cell the terminal … camping on comprises: acquiring a SIB on the first initial BWP in the … cell (step S301); and in response to the SIB indicating the … cell is configured with the second initial BWP, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the … cell the terminal … camping on is the second initial BWP (step S302). Step S301: UE camps in a first initial BWP of a cell, and reads a SIB1 with first indication information in the first initial BWP. Step S302: UE reads the first indication information in the SIB1 in the first initial BWP, wherein BS indicates that a target BWP of UE is the first initial or a second initial BWP, wherein the second initial BWP is different from the first initial BWP. UE determines, based on the first indication information, that a target BWP is the second initial BWP. Section 0133: If UE determines that the target BWP is the second initial BWP, UE begins to camp on the second initial BWP instead of the first initial BWP. Step S303: BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP, which is the second initial BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Chen et al and Islam et al do not disclose wherein determining the initial BWP to monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on comprises: acquiring a SIB on the first initial BWP in the target cell; and in response to the SIB indicating the target cell is configured with the second initial BWP, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the second initial BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS. The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the second initial BWP”). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein determining the initial BWP to monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on comprises: acquiring a SIB on the first initial BWP in the target cell; and in response to the SIB indicating the target cell is configured with the second initial BWP, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the second initial BWP. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Referring to claim 7, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the … cell the terminal … camping on comprises: acquiring a SIB on the first initial BWP in the … cell (step S301); and in response to the SIB indicating the … cell is not configured with the second initial BWP, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the … cell the terminal … camping on is the first initial BWP (step S302). Step S301: UE camps in a first initial BWP of a cell, and reads a SIB1 with first indication information in the first initial BWP. Step S302: UE reads the first indication information in the SIB1 in the first initial BWP, wherein BS indicates that a target BWP of UE is the first initial or a second initial BWP, wherein the second initial BWP is different from the first initial BWP. UE determines, based on the first indication information, that a target BWP is the first initial BWP. Section 0135: If UE determines that the target BWP is the first initial BWP, UE still camps in the first initial BWP. Step S303: BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP, which is the first initial BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Chen et al and Islam et al do not disclose wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on comprises: acquiring a SIB on the first initial BWP in the target cell; and in response to the SIB indicating the target cell is not configured with the second initial BWP, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the first initial BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS. The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the first initial BWP”). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on comprises: acquiring a SIB on the first initial BWP in the target cell; and in response to the SIB indicating the target cell is not configured with the second initial BWP, determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the first initial BWP. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Referring to claim 8, Chen et al and Islam do not disclose wherein determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on comprises: receiving second indication information from a network device; and determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on based on the second indication information.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS. The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “receiving second indication information from a network device; and determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on based on the second indication information”). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving second indication information from a network device; and determining the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on based on the second indication information. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Referring to claim 10, Chen et al and Islam et al do not disclose further comprising: determining an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the first initial BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS. The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “determining an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the first initial BWP”). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: determining an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the first initial BWP. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Referring to claim 13, Chen et al and Islam et al do not disclose further comprising: sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal camping on.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS. The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal camping on.”). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal camping on. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Referring to claim 23, Chen et al and Islam et al do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: determine an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on, wherein the initial BWP comprises a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS (claimed “determine an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on”). The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “wherein the initial BWP comprises a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP”; claim is in “or” form so only one of the claimed “a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP” is indicated in the handover command). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor is further configured to: determine an initial BWP to be monitored in a target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on, wherein the initial BWP comprises a first initial BWP or a second initial BWP. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Referring to claim 24, Chen et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the processor is further configured to perform one of: acquire a SIB on the first initial BWP in the … cell (step S301); and in response to the SIB indicating the … cell is configured with the second initial BWP, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the … cell the terminal … camping on is the second initial BWP (step S302). Step S301: UE camps in a first initial BWP of a cell, and reads a SIB1 with first indication information in the first initial BWP. Step S302: UE reads the first indication information in the SIB1 in the first initial BWP, wherein BS indicates that a target BWP of UE is the first initial or a second initial BWP, wherein the second initial BWP is different from the first initial BWP. UE determines, based on the first indication information, that a target BWP is the second initial BWP. Section 0133: If UE determines that the target BWP is the second initial BWP, UE begins to camp on the second initial BWP instead of the first initial BWP. Step S303: BS sends the paging message to UE in the target BWP, which is the second initial BWP. Refer to Sections 0087-0224.
Chen et al and Islam et al do not disclose … acquire a SIB on the first initial BWP in the target cell; and in response to the SIB indicating the target cell is configured with the second initial BWP, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the second initial BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0056, 0082, 0086-0097, 0102, 0103, 0113, 0128, 0148-155, 0168, 0182, 0182, and 0184 wherein a first BS transmits a handover command to UE, wherein the handover command instructs UE to switch from a first cell corresponding to a first BS to a second cell corresponding to a second BS. The handover command includes information of an initial BWP of the second cell, such as the initial BWP and a CORESET associated with the initial BWP of the second cell (claimed “the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the second initial BWP”). UE then monitors a PDCCH transmitted by the BS based on a CORESET associated with an initial BWP of the second cell. Refer to Sections 0022-0286. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … acquire a SIB on the first initial BWP in the target cell; and in response to the SIB indicating the target cell is configured with the second initial BWP, determine the initial BWP to be monitored in the target cell the terminal reselecting to and camping on is the second initial BWP. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can reselect and camp onto a target cell and monitor the initial BWP of the target cell, thereby allowing UE to handover to a cell with better communication quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20220174723 to Wei et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Section 0070 wherein UE monitors PDCCH candidates according to one or more configured search space sets to decode the possible PDCCH transmitted by gNB; UE monitors a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs and/or Search Spaces on a DL BWP, such as on one initial BWP on a camped cell configured with PDCCH monitoring. Refer to Sections 0023-0159.
U.S. Publication No. 20210297985 to Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0116-0124 wherein UE performs reselection from cell A to cell B; UE performs PDCCH monitoring for paging according to an initial BWP of cell B and/or an initial BWP frequency-hopping pattern of cell B according to the initial BWP configuration B. Refer to Sections 0025-0172.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
July 23, 2026