DETAILED ACTION
Claims Pending
Claims 1-16 are currently under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 5, “300-500um” (line 3), should read -300-500µm- (Examiner's Note: Correcting the “u” to -µ-)
In Claim 11, “wherein that a” (line 2), should read -wherein a-
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9, and 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “of electrolyte isolation layer” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as -of the electrolyte isolation layer-.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the insulation sealant is one of hot melt adhesive and silica gel”, which fails to effectively define the metes and bounds of the claim as it is unclear as to what the insulant sealant is considered to be. For example, does the “one of…” part of the claim correspond to a joint combination of “hot melt adhesive and silica gel”, or does this refer to one option being “hot melt adhesive” and the other being “silica gel”. As such, the claim is indefinite as the applicant has failed to effectively define the metes and bounds of the claim. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as -wherein the insulation sealant is one of hot melt adhesive or silica gel- (Page 14, lines 4-7 of applicant’s spec., filed 03/20/2024) (Examiner's Note: Replacement of the “and” with -or-).
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a material of the upper outer shell or the lower outer shell is one of PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS and PU”, which fails to effectively define the metes and bounds of the claim as it is unclear as to what the material is intended to be. For example, does the “one of…” part of the claim correspond to a joint combination of “PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS and PU”, or does this refer to each individual of the materials “PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS and PU” as possibilities for the material. As such, the claim is indefinite as the applicant has failed to effectively define the metes and bounds of the claim. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as - a material of the upper outer shell or the lower outer shell is one of PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS or PU- (Examiner's Note: Replacement of the “and” with -or-) (Page 2, lines 6-5 from the bottom of the page of applicant’s spec., filed 03/20/2024).
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein the sensor comprises an internal part and an external part, and the internal part is bent with the external part”, which fails to effectively define the metes and bounds of the claim as it is unclear as to what is meant by the phrase “the internal part is bent with the external part”. What does it mean for one part to be bent with another part? Are they both bent at the same angle? Does this mean that they are angularly offset with one another? The applicant’s specifications states “the external part of the sensor is bent relative to the internal part” (Page 3, 4th to last line of applicant’s spec., filed 03/20/2024), which does not further clarify this as it is unclear if this refers to the axis between the two parts being offset or whether the external part itself has a bend. As such, the claim is indefinite as the applicant has failed to effectively define the metes and bounds of the claim. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as the internal part being angled relative to the external part (Page 14, 8-7th to last line of applicant’s spec., filed 03/20/2024).
Claims 13-14 are dependent on claim 12, and as such are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claims are generally directed towards an analyte detection device with a battery and a shell. The device comprises an outer shell, a circuit board with a transmitter, a battery cavity inside the shell, and a battery.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio (US Pub. No. 20170290546) hereinafter Antonio, and further in view of Liu (CN 108682755 A) hereinafter Liu and Liao (US Pub. No. 20180309168) hereinafter Liao.
Regarding claim 1, Antonio discloses An analyte detection device with battery and shell integrated (Fig. 2, 4,5, Par. 80,84 (sensing device – 100, battery -300, housing - 110)), comprising:
an outer shell (Fig. 2, Par. 80 (housing – 110)) comprising an upper outer shell (Fig. 2, 5 (lower housing – 130)) and a lower outer shell (Fig. 2, 5 (upper housing – 120)) (Par. 80, “housing 110 including an upper housing 120 with an upper major wall inside the upper housing, and a lower housing 130 with a lower major wall inside the lower housing”), wherein a sensor is arranged on the upper outer shell (Par. 83, “sensor 12 extending out of the housing through the patch 200, which may include a hole for the sensor 12 to pass through. The low profile/height of the housing 110 can be seen in FIG. 2”)(Fig. 2 (observable that sensor 12 is arranged on the outside of lower housing – 130));
a circuit board arranged inside the lower outer shell (Par. 84, “printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 320 fits inside the lower housing 130 and is supported by one of the major walls (upper or lower housing)….”)(Fig. 4, 5 (PCBA – 320) (PCBA 320 inside both housings));
a battery cavity arranged inside the lower outer shell (Fig. 4-5, Par. 85, “The lower shell/housing 130 has an interior lower major wall 135 and houses the electrical components, which include a battery 300 held into place by battery clip 302…” “…It is further possible to hold the battery in place by shaping the upper and/or lower housings in a way to confine the battery and prevent it from moving when the upper and lower housings are connected to each other.” (the battery cavity is arranged inside both housings)) and comprising a conductive strip (Par. 89, “Battery connector pads 204 on the PCBA are shorted together to connect the positive side of the battery 300 to the PCBA 320”).
Antonio fails to explicitly disclose a circuit board provided with a transmitter antenna, wherein the transmitter antenna is used for communicating with external devices.
However, Antonio does teach in an alternate embodiment a circuit board provided with a transmitter antenna (Par. 92, Fig. 12, antenna – 1704, PCBA -1320), wherein the transmitter antenna is used for communicating with external devices (Par. 14, “The transmitter transmits the sensor signals to a monitoring device, such as a handheld analyte monitor, which may have a display, or a smartphone.”) (Par. 92, “Also shown in FIG. 12 are electrical components that may be included in any configuration, including those discussed herein”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio with that of Antonio to include a circuit board provided with a transmitter antenna, wherein the transmitter antenna is used for communicating with external devices through the combination of embodiments as it would have yielded the predictable result of explicitly providing the computational structure needed for signal transmission (Antonio (Par. 14)).
Modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose a cavity shell, a diaphragm, an electrolyte, an anode plate, a cathode plate and a conductive strip, wherein the cavity shell comprises an upper cover shell and a lower shell.
However, Antonio does disclose a battery (Par. 84, “battery 300 is a coin cell battery, which is held using a battery clip 302. Any suitable battery that is small in size with sufficient life for the sensing device may be used…).
Liu teaches a cavity shell (Par. 43-44, Fig. 2, (first housing 11 and second housing 12)), a diaphragm (Par. 13, “the diaphragm is a battery separator.”) (Fig. 2,3, Par. 45, separator – 22), an electrolyte (Par. 48 (electrolyte inside of battery 100)), an anode plate (Fig. 2, 3, Par. 36, 45, positive electrode plate – 21)), a cathode plate (Fig. 2, 3, Par. 36, 45, negative electrode plate – 23)) and a conductive strip (Fig. 2,3, Par. 46, conductive terminal – 30, “conductive terminal 30 is connected to the battery cell 20; the conductive terminal 30 includes a positive terminal 31 and a negative terminal 32, which are respectively connected to the opposite sides of the battery cell 20; wherein the conductive terminal 30 is strip-shaped and can be folded.”), wherein the cavity shell comprises an upper cover shell (Par. 43-44, Fig. 2, (second housing 12)), and a lower shell (Par. 43-44, Fig. 2, (first housing 11)).
Liao teaches battery structures that are known in the art (Par. 48, “The electrolytes can be incorporated in a lithium ion electrochemical cell comprising a positive electrode (cathode), a negative electrode (anode), and a porous separator between the cathode and anode, with the electrolyte in contact with both the anode and cathode, as is well known in the battery art…”).
Antonio, Liu, and Liao are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention as they are involved with batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio with that of Liu as referenced by Liao to include a cavity shell, a diaphragm, an electrolyte, an anode plate, a cathode plate and a conductive strip, wherein the cavity shell comprises an upper cover shell and a lower shell through the substitution of the battery of Antonio for that of Liu as battery structures are well known in the art (Liao (Par. 48)) and would have yielded the same or similar result of providing power and yielded the predictable result of increasing energy density (Liu (Par. 6)).
Modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the upper cover shell and the lower shell meet at least one of the following structure: (1) the lower shell is integrated with the lower outer shell; (2) the upper cover shell is integrated with the upper outer shell.
However, Antonio does teach differing battery attachment configurations with a housing (Par. 85, “The lower shell/housing 130 has an interior lower major wall 135 and houses the electrical components, which include a battery 300 held into place by battery clip 302. Alternatively, the battery (or batteries) may be held into place by other methods such as integrated solder pads on a flex or rigid or rigid/flex circuit board. It is further possible to hold the battery in place by shaping the upper and/or lower housings in a way to confine the battery and prevent it from moving when the upper and lower housings are connected to each other. The PCBA 320 is electrically connected to the electrical components.”).
Liu teaches an upper cover shell (Par. 43-44, Fig. 2, (second housing 12)), and a lower shell (Par. 43-44, Fig. 2, (first housing 11)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Antonio and Liu to include the upper cover shell and the lower shell of Liu meet at least one of the following structure: (1) the lower shell is integrated with the lower outer shell; (2) the upper cover shell of Liu is integrated with the upper outer shell of Antonio through the combination of references and making upper cover shell of Liu integral with the upper outer shell of Antonio as differing battery attachment configurations are known in the art (Antonio (Par. 85)) and it would have yielded the predictable result of securing the battery.
Regarding claim 2, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Liu further teaches wherein an electrolyte isolation layer is arranged inside the cavity shell (Liu (Par. 45, “the separator 22 has electronic insulation to ensure mechanical isolation.”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Liu to include wherein an electrolyte isolation layer is arranged inside the cavity shell for the reasoning as indicated in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Antonio does disclose wherein a first end of the conductive strip is fixedly connected with the battery (Antonio (Par. 89, “Battery connector pads 204 on the PCBA are shorted together to connect the positive side of the battery 300 to the PCBA 320”)), and a second end of the conductive strip is electrically connected with the circuit board through the lower shell (Antonio (Par. 89, “Battery connector pads 204 on the PCBA are shorted together to connect the positive side of the battery 300 to the PCBA 320”)).
Liu further teaches a first end of the conductive strip is fixedly connected with the anode plate or the cathode plate (Liu (Fig. 2,3, Par. 46, conductive terminal – 30, “conductive terminal 30 is connected to the battery cell 20; the conductive terminal 30 includes a positive terminal 31 and a negative terminal 32, which are respectively connected to the opposite sides of the battery cell 20; wherein the conductive terminal 30 is strip-shaped and can be folded.”) (Par. 47, “one end of the positive electrode 21 is connected to the positive terminal 31 via a welding block…”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Liu to include wherein a first end of the conductive strip is fixedly connected with the anode plate or the cathode plate of Liu, and a second end of the conductive strip is electrically connected with the circuit board through the lower shell through the combination of references as it would have yielded the predictable result of providing power to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 8, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Antonio does disclose insulating sealant (Antonio (Par. 90, “water tight seals provided between various external components, preventing potential damage to internal components from moisture. FIG. 9 illustrates a cut-away view of the sensing device 100. In one embodiment, the entire perimeter between the upper housing 120 and the lower housing 130 is sealed with an ultrasonic weld joint 125…”)).
Liu further teaches wherein a connection between the conductive strip and the lower shell (Liu (Fig. 4, protective adhesive - 33, Par. 46, “Meanwhile, both the positive terminal 31 and the negative terminal 32 are provided with protective adhesive 33, which is used to protect the conductive terminal 30, thereby preventing damage to the conductive terminal 30 during the heat-sealing process of the first housing 11 and the second housing 12.”)) and a connection between the upper cover shell and the lower shell are coated with insulating sealant (Liu (Par. 48, “the connecting surfaces of the first housing 11 and the second housing 12 corresponding to the injection holes are heat fused to achieve the sealing treatment of the encapsulation housing 10,”) (Par. 8, “The first housing and the second housing are connected by heat fusion to seal the cell.”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Liu to include wherein a connection between the conductive strip and the lower shell and a connection between the upper cover shell and the lower shell are coated with insulating sealant through the combination of references as it would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that there is no leakage (Liu (Par. 9)).
Regarding claim 9, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Antonio does disclose hot melt adhesive (Antonio (Par. 90, “water tight seals provided between various external components, preventing potential damage to internal components from moisture. FIG. 9 illustrates a cut-away view of the sensing device 100. In one embodiment, the entire perimeter between the upper housing 120 and the lower housing 130 is sealed with an ultrasonic weld joint 125…” (ultrasonic welding adhesive))).
Liu further teaches wherein the insulation sealant is one of hot melt adhesive and silica gel (Liu (Par. 48, “the connecting surfaces of the first housing 11 and the second housing 12 corresponding to the injection holes are heat fused to achieve the sealing treatment of the encapsulation housing 10,”) (Par. 8, “The first housing and the second housing are connected by heat fusion to seal the cell.”)) (Liu (Fig. 4, protective adhesive - 33, Par. 46, “Meanwhile, both the positive terminal 31 and the negative terminal 32 are provided with protective adhesive 33, which is used to protect the conductive terminal 30, thereby preventing damage to the conductive terminal 30 during the heat-sealing process of the first housing 11 and the second housing 12.”))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Liu to include wherein the insulation sealant is one of hot melt adhesive and silica gel for the reasoning as indicated in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 10, modified Antonio further discloses wherein the second
end of the conductive strip is fixedly connected with the circuit board through solder or solder paste (Antonio (Par. 89, “Battery connector pads 204 on the PCBA are shorted together to connect the positive side of the battery 300 to the PCBA 320”)).
Regarding claim 11, modified Antonio further discloses wherein that a material of the upper outer shell or the lower outer shell is one of PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS and PU (Antonio (Par. 81, “housing 110 may be made out of a suitable rigid plastic that can safely and securely hold electrical components of the sensor. Suitable plastic materials include, as an example and in no way by limitation, ABS, nylon, an ABS/PC blend, PVC, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polypropylene, polyether ether ketone (PEEK), or the like,”)).
Regarding claim 12, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Antonio does teach in an alternated configuration wherein the sensor comprises an internal part (Antonio (Fig. 6-7, sensor – 12A, Par. 87, “The lower housing 130 shows lower housing sensor opening 132, through which the sensors 12A, 12B and, during insertion, a needle may extend.” (part of sensor 12A that extends through the opening and has sensor chemistry 123a)) and an external part (Antonio (Fig. 6-7, sensor -12a, (the part of sensor 12a that has contact pads 121a and is in contact with PCBA 320)) (Par. 87, “configuration of sensors for use in the sensing device 100 is shown in an exploded view in FIG. 6. Upper sensor 12A has its contact pads 121A facing up and its sensor chemistry 123A facing left.”)), and the internal part is bent with the external part (Antonio (Fig. 6 (observable that the part of sensor 12A with sensor chemistry 123a and contact pads 12a are angularly offset with one another))).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Antonio to include wherein the sensor comprises an internal part and an external part, and the internal part is bent with the external part through the combination of configurations as differing sensor structures are known in the art (Antonio (Par. 85)) and it would have yielded the same or similar result of sensing analytes.
Regarding claim 13, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Antonio does teach in an alternated configuration wherein the external part is tiled in the upper cover shell (Antonio (Fig. 6-7, sensor -12a, (the part of sensor 12a that has contact pads 121a and is in contact with PCBA 320, which is in the lower housing - 130)) (Par. 87, “configuration of sensors for use in the sensing device 100 is shown in an exploded view in FIG. 6. Upper sensor 12A has its contact pads 121A facing up and its sensor chemistry 123A facing left.”)), and the internal part passes through the upper outer shell to outside (Antonio (Fig. 6-7, sensor – 12A, Par. 87, “The lower housing 130 shows lower housing sensor opening 132, through which the sensors 12A, 12B and, during insertion, a needle may extend.” (part of sensor 12A that extends through the opening and has sensor chemistry 123a)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Antonio to include wherein the external part is tiled in the upper cover shell, and the internal part passes through the upper outer shell to outside for the reasoning as indicated in claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 14, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Antonio does teach in an alternated configuration wherein the external part is electrically connected to the circuit board (Antonio (Fig. 6-7, sensor -12a, (the part of sensor 12a that has contact pads 121a and is in contact with PCBA 320)) (Par. 87, “configuration of sensors for use in the sensing device 100 is shown in an exploded view in FIG. 6. Upper sensor 12A has its contact pads 121A facing up and its sensor chemistry 123A facing left.”)(Par. 87, “When the sensors are fitted into the housing with the remaining components, the sensor contact pads interact with the PCBA contact pads through direct touch connection”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Antonio to include wherein the external part is electrically connected to the circuit board for the reasoning as indicated in claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 15, modified Antonio further discloses wherein a shape of the circuit board corresponds to shapes of the lower outer shell and the lower shell (Antonio (Par. 84, “printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 320 fits inside the lower housing 130 and is supported by one of the major walls (upper or lower housing)….”)(Fig. 4, 5 (PCBA – 320) (PCBA inside both housings))).
Regarding claim 16, modified Antonio further discloses wherein a sticky patch is arranged on an outer side of the upper outer shell for sticking on an user's skin surface (Antonio (Par. 82, “The adhesive patch may be bonded to the lower housing along the entire footprint of the lower housing…”)).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio in view of Liu and Liao as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Liu (CN 102569680 A) hereinafter Liu 2.
Antonio, Liu, and Liao teach the device of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Liu 2 teaches wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is made of TPE or PET material (Par. 9, “insulating materials used, such as PET”).
Antonio, Liu, Liao, and Liu 2 are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention as they are involved with batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, and Liao with that of Liu 2 to include wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is made of TPE or PET material through the combination of references as it would have yielded the predictable result of improving the insulation protection capability from heat (Liu 2 (Par. 20, 35)).
Regarding claim 4, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Liu 2 further teaches wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a thin film coated on an inner wall of the cavity shell (Par. 20, “the present invention provides a lithium-ion secondary battery casing and a lithium-ion battery with an insulating and thermally conductive layer…”) (Par. 35 (thin film)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, Liao, and Liu 2 with that of Liu 2 to include wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a thin film coated on an inner wall of the cavity shell of Liu for the reasoning as indicated in claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 5, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Liu 2 further teaches wherein a thickness of electrolyte isolation layer is 300-500um (Par. 16, “the outer packaging insulation film made of PET or other materials, with a thickness between 0.1 and 0.5 mm…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, Liao, and Liu 2 with that of Liu 2 to include wherein a thickness of electrolyte isolation layer is 300-500um for the reasoning as indicated in claim 3 above and because in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a primary facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 6, modified Antonio fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim.
However, Liu 2 further teaches wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a closed shell independent of the cavity shell of Liu (Par. 20, “the present invention provides a lithium-ion secondary battery casing and a lithium-ion battery with an insulating and thermally conductive layer…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Antonio, Liu, Liao, and Liu 2 with that of Liu 2 to include wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a closed shell independent of the cavity shell for the reasoning as indicated in claim 3 above.
Conclusion
/ARI S PADDA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791