DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 8/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claims 2-7 recites the broad recitation and the claim also recites a narrower limitation (i.e., “preferably…”) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui (CN105140447A, translation attached), in view of Yang (US20200188892A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sui discloses a separator for lithium-sulfur batteries (“a functional composite separator for lithium-sulfur batteries” [0018, 0036]), comprising
a substrate film (a glass fiber separator in Example 1 [0056]; a separator 1 in Fig 1), which is not a “polymeric substrate film” as claimed. In this regard, Sui further discloses wherein the separator substrate may be selected from the list comprising polyethylene, polypropylene, PE/PP double-layer, a glass fiber separators [0017]. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have selected the polyethylene or polypropylene substrates (i.e., polymeric substrate film) as an alternative substrate to the glass fiber separator of Example 1, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Sui further discloses a composite layer disposed on one surface of the polymeric substrate film (functional modification layer 2 in Fig 1), wherein
the composite layer comprises inorganic oxide (e.g., LAGP [0056]).
Sui further explains that the inorganic oxide in the composite layer may be a zeolite [0041], and the inorganic oxide has a catalytic effect on lithium polysulfides, enabling rapid multi-step reactions during battery discharge and improving the battery’s rate performance, and further has a significant blocking and adsorption effect on lithium polysulfides, suppressing the shuttle effect and eliminating the corrosion phenomenon of the lithium anode caused by the reaction of lithium polysulfides with metallic lithium [0012, 0039]. Thus, a skilled artisan would that the inorganic oxide composite layer of Sui has a function similar to the claimed molecular sieve (note: the function of the molecular sieve in the instant application is explained in pg 6, lines 4-16).
Further, while Sui suggests that the metal oxide may be a zeolite [0041], Sui does not disclose wherein the zeolite is selected from a group consisting of SCM-14 and SCM-15.
In this regard, Yang teaches a SCM molecular sieve SCM-14, which is an inorganic crystalline microporous zeolite molecular sieve having defined 3D microporous channels with high specific surface area, suitable as an adsorbent or a catalyst (Yang [0035, 0054-0055]).
It therefore would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to have substituted the zeolite of Sui with the SCM-14 taught by Yang having high specific surface area, 3D micropore framework and function as an adsorbent to achieve predictable polysulfide trapping and Li transport. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.) {claim 6}.
Sui further discloses wherein the composite layer comprises a conductive carbon material (i.e., carbon nanotubes [0056]) – {claim 5}.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sui discloses the separator of claim 1, comprising a glass fiber membrane as the substrate [Sui 0056], which is not one of the materials claimed in the instant claim 2.
However, Sui further discloses wherein the substrate may be any one selected from the list comprising polyethylene separators, polypropylene separators, polyethylene/polypropylene double-layer separators, glass fiber membranes [Sui 0017]. Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected PE, PP, or PE/PP substrate as an alternative substrate to the glass fiber membrane of Example 1, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, modified Sui discloses the separator of claim 1. Sui does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the composite layer in its Examples, but discloses that the thickness may be between 100nm and 200μm to provide a barrier adsorption effect on lithium polysulfide [0042-0043], wherein the thickness encompasses the claimed range of “5-50 μm.” A skilled artisan would further understand that the thickness of the composite layer affects the total thickness of the separator, which further affects the battery resistance. It therefore would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have optimized the thickness of the composite layer, by way of routine experimentation, to arrive at a desired balance between the barrier adsorption effect and the battery resistance (MPEP 2144.05-II).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sui discloses the separator of claim 1, characterized in that, the composite layer comprises the conductive carbon material and the SCM molecular sieve (modified in claim 1 rejection above) in a mass ratio of 0.5:0.4 (i.e., 1:0.8; [0058]), which does not fall within the claimed range of 1:(1-9).
In this regard, Sui discloses that the mass ratio of the conductive material to the inorganic oxide is (1-9): (9-1), wherein the conductive materials play a major adsorption role while inorganic oxides play a catalytic role and also have a certain adsorption role [Sui 0039]. Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have controlled the mass ratio of the inorganic oxides and the conductive materials by way of routine experimentation to arrive at a desired balance between adsorption of polysulfides and promoting better utilization of the active materials in the electrode while adsorbing lithium polysulfides [0039].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui (CN105140447A, translation attached), in view of Yang (US20200188892A1) and Liu (CN107681091A, translation attached).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sui discloses the separator of claim 1 comprising the SCM molecular sieve. However, Sui does not disclose wherein the SCM molecular sieve further comprises cobalt, as claimed.
In this regard, Liu teaches a functionalized composite separator for lithium-sulfur battery, comprising a separator substrate and a functionalized coating coated on the separator substrate, wherein the functionalized coating comprises graphite and BMZIF as an adsorbent for polysulfides. Liu further teaches that the cobalt in the adsorbent chemically bonds with elemental sulfur, thereby further enhances the inhibition of polysulfides [Liu 0023]. It therefore would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have added cobalt in the SCM molecular sieve, with a reasonable expectation to chemically bond with element sulfur, thereby suppressing polysulfide ion shuttle effect [0023].
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/18/2026